DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2023 has been considered by the examiner and made of record
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chu et al (US 2021/0266891).
Regarding Claim 1, Chu teaches a method of a first device (Figs. 11-12), the method comprising:
receiving a first frame from a second device in a first transmit opportunity (TXOP) of a first link; receiving a second frame from the second device in a second TXOP of a second link ([0003], at a multi-link station device that has a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR STA MLD) that supports multiple links, exchanging frames on multiple links with a multi-link access point device (AP MLD) that has at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a simultaneous transmission and reception (STR) capability);
performing a first backoff operation for transmission of a first reception response frame for the first frame on the first link ([0006], avoiding simultaneous transmit while receive at the NSTR STA MLD further involves indicating, by the NSTR STA MLD, parameters for a responding frame in a High Efficiency (HE) Control field of a Physical Layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU), and transmitting the PPDU to the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability); and
in response that the first backoff operation is completed and reception of the second frame is completed ([0010], maintaining the link state at the NSTR STA MLD further involves, at the NSTR STA MLD, finishing a transmission on a second link, link2, while a backoff counter of a first link, link1, is not zero, deferring link1's backoff until at least one of a PPDU with Transmission Opportunity (TXOP) duration information is received on link2 and a time of NAVSyncDelay passes without detection of the PPDU, and resuming the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD),
transmitting the first reception response frame to the second device on the first link ([0021], wherein maintenance of the link state further involves completion of the transmission on link2, reception of an announcement that indicates activity on link1 during the transmission on link2 from the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, advancement of the backoff counter of link1 in response to the announcement from the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, wherein the announcement reports the AP MLD's NAV timer of link1, and resumption of the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD),
wherein the first TXOP is shorter than the second TXOP, and a reception completion time of the second frame is after a reception completion time of the first frame ([0110], Fig. 11A, after a first backoff 1118-1 by STA MLD1 on link1 1102-1 (shown by “STA MLD1's backoff”), STA MLD1 may transmit a first UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD, such that transmission of UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1 begins a first TXOP owned by STA MLD1 1110-1 (shown as “TXOP owned by STA MLD1”). In some embodiments, after a second backoff 1118-2 by the AP MLD on link2 (shown by “AP MLD's backoff”), the AP MLD may transmit a DL A-MPDU frame, DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104, to a second STA MLD, STA MLD2, on link2 1102-2. In such an embodiment, transmission of DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104 begins a second TXOP owned by the AP MLD 1110-2 (shown as “TXOP owned by AP MLD”) on link2 1102-2).
Regarding Claim 2, Chu teaches method of claim 1, wherein an acknowledgement (ACK) policy field included in a medium access control (MAC) header of the first frame is set to a value indicating non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) multi-link (ML) ACK, and the ACK policy field set to the value indicating the NSTR ML ACK indicates to transmit the first reception response frame after completion of the reception of the second frame ([0010], maintaining the link state at the NSTR STA MLD further involves, at the NSTR STA MLD, finishing a transmission on a second link, link2, while a backoff counter of a first link, link1, is not zero, deferring link1's backoff until at least one of a PPDU with Transmission Opportunity (TXOP) duration information is received on link2 and a time of NAVSyncDelay passes without detection of the PPDU, and resuming the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD, [0066], the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414) or the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400) may be a TXOP holder. When the AP MLD is the TXOP holder, each AP (e.g., AP1 404-1 and AP2 404-2) affiliated with the AP MLD may be a TXOP holder, and when the STA MLD is the TXOP holder, each STA (e.g., STA1 410-1 and STA2 410-2) affiliated with the STA MLD may be a TXOP holder. In some embodiments, when the TXOP holder is affiliated with the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414), the STA MLD may indicate parameters for a responding frame (e.g., DL BA1 408-1 or DL BA2 408-2) in an HE Control field of frames carried in a soliciting PPDU (e.g., frames in UL A-MPDU1 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-1, frames in UL A-MPDU2 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-2, frames in UL A-MPDU3 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-3, or frames in UL A-MPDU4 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-4) and transmit the PPDU to the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400). As an example, parameters for the responding frame may include a PPDU length (e.g., value in a Legacy-Length (L-Length) field of a PHY header)).
Regarding Claim 5, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first backoff operation is repeatedly performed until the reception of the second frame is completed; when the first backoff operation is completed before the reception of the second frame is completed, a backoff counter value for the first backoff operation is maintained at 0 until the reception of the second frame is completed; or the first backoff operation is performed after the reception of the second frame is completed ([0110], Fig. 11A, after a first backoff 1118-1 by STA MLD1 on link1 1102-1 (shown by “STA MLD1's backoff”), STA MLD1 may transmit a first UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD, such that transmission of UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1 begins a first TXOP owned by STA MLD1 1110-1 (shown as “TXOP owned by STA MLD1”). In some embodiments, after a second backoff 1118-2 by the AP MLD on link2 (shown by “AP MLD's backoff”), the AP MLD may transmit a DL A-MPDU frame, DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104, to a second STA MLD, STA MLD2, on link2 1102-2. In such an embodiment, transmission of DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104 begins a second TXOP owned by the AP MLD 1110-2 (shown as “TXOP owned by AP MLD”) on link2 1102-2, [0112], after receiving DL Trigger 1114 on link2 1102-2 and DL BA1 1108-1 on link1 1102-1 at STA MLD1, STA MLD1 may transmit a third UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU3 from STA MLD1 1106-3, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD and a fourth UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU4 from STA MLD1 1106-4, on link2 1102-2 to the AP MLD. In such an embodiment, after receiving UL A-MPDU3 from STA MLD1 1106-3 on link1 1102-1 and UL A-MPDU4 from STA MLD1 1106-4 on link2 1102-2 at the AP MLD, the AP MLD transmits a third DL BA frame, DL BA3 1108-3, on link1 1102-1 to STA MLD1 and a fourth DL BA frame, DL BA4 1108-4, on link2 1102-2 to STA MLD1, such that DL BA3 1108-3 and DL BA4 1108-4 are each received at STA MLD1).
Regarding Claim 6, Chu teaches the method of claim 1, wherein in response that the first device is an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD), the second device is a station (STA) MLD, and in response that the first device is an STA MLD, the second device is an AP MLD; the AP MLD supports a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) operation on the first link and the second link; and the STA MLD does not support the STR operation on the first link and the second link ([0003], at a multi-link station device that has a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR STA MLD) that supports multiple links, exchanging frames on multiple links with a multi-link access point device (AP MLD) that has at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a simultaneous transmission and reception (STR) capability).
Regarding Claim 8, Chu teaches a method of a first device (Figs. 11-12), the method comprising: receiving a first frame from a second device in a first transmit opportunity (TXOP) of a first link; receiving a second frame from the second device in a second TXOP of a second link ([0003], at a multi-link station device that has a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR STA MLD) that supports multiple links, exchanging frames on multiple links with a multi-link access point device (AP MLD) that has at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a simultaneous transmission and reception (STR) capability); and
in response that information included in the first frame indicates that a first reception response for the first link is transmitted on the second link ([0010], maintaining the link state at the NSTR STA MLD further involves, at the NSTR STA MLD, finishing a transmission on a second link, link2, while a backoff counter of a first link, link1, is not zero, deferring link1's backoff until at least one of a PPDU with Transmission Opportunity (TXOP) duration information is received on link2 and a time of NAVSyncDelay passes without detection of the PPDU, and resuming the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD, [0066], the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414) or the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400) may be a TXOP holder. When the AP MLD is the TXOP holder, each AP (e.g., AP1 404-1 and AP2 404-2) affiliated with the AP MLD may be a TXOP holder, and when the STA MLD is the TXOP holder, each STA (e.g., STA1 410-1 and STA2 410-2) affiliated with the STA MLD may be a TXOP holder. In some embodiments, when the TXOP holder is affiliated with the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414), the STA MLD may indicate parameters for a responding frame (e.g., DL BA1 408-1 or DL BA2 408-2) in an HE Control field of frames carried in a soliciting PPDU (e.g., frames in UL A-MPDU1 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-1, frames in UL A-MPDU2 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-2, frames in UL A-MPDU3 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-3, or frames in UL A-MPDU4 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-4) and transmit the PPDU to the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400). As an example, parameters for the responding frame may include a PPDU length (e.g., value in a Legacy-Length (L-Length) field of a PHY header)),
transmitting the first reception response for the first frame and a second reception response for the second frame to the second device on the second link ([0021], wherein maintenance of the link state further involves completion of the transmission on link2, reception of an announcement that indicates activity on link1 during the transmission on link2 from the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, advancement of the backoff counter of link1 in response to the announcement from the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, wherein the announcement reports the AP MLD's NAV timer of link1, and resumption of the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD),
wherein the first TXOP is shorter than the second TXOP, and a reception completion time of the second frame is after a reception completion time of the first frame (Fig. 11A, after a first backoff 1118-1 by STA MLD1 on link1 1102-1 (shown by “STA MLD1's backoff”), STA MLD1 may transmit a first UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD, such that transmission of UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1 begins a first TXOP owned by STA MLD1 1110-1 (shown as “TXOP owned by STA MLD1”). In some embodiments, after a second backoff 1118-2 by the AP MLD on link2 (shown by “AP MLD's backoff”), the AP MLD may transmit a DL A-MPDU frame, DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104, to a second STA MLD, STA MLD2, on link2 1102-2. In such an embodiment, transmission of DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104 begins a second TXOP owned by the AP MLD 1110-2 (shown as “TXOP owned by AP MLD”) on link2 1102-2).
Regarding Claim 9, Chu teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the information is an acknowledgement (ACK) policy field included in a medium access control (MAC) header of the first frame, and the ACK policy field is set to a value indicating non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) multi-link (ML) ACK ([0010], maintaining the link state at the NSTR STA MLD further involves, at the NSTR STA MLD, finishing a transmission on a second link, link2, while a backoff counter of a first link, link1, is not zero, deferring link1's backoff until at least one of a PPDU with Transmission Opportunity (TXOP) duration information is received on link2 and a time of NAVSyncDelay passes without detection of the PPDU, and resuming the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD, [0066], the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414) or the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400) may be a TXOP holder. When the AP MLD is the TXOP holder, each AP (e.g., AP1 404-1 and AP2 404-2) affiliated with the AP MLD may be a TXOP holder, and when the STA MLD is the TXOP holder, each STA (e.g., STA1 410-1 and STA2 410-2) affiliated with the STA MLD may be a TXOP holder. In some embodiments, when the TXOP holder is affiliated with the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414), the STA MLD may indicate parameters for a responding frame (e.g., DL BA1 408-1 or DL BA2 408-2) in an HE Control field of frames carried in a soliciting PPDU (e.g., frames in UL A-MPDU1 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-1, frames in UL A-MPDU2 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-2, frames in UL A-MPDU3 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-3, or frames in UL A-MPDU4 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-4) and transmit the PPDU to the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400). As an example, parameters for the responding frame may include a PPDU length (e.g., value in a Legacy-Length (L-Length) field of a PHY header)).
Regarding Claim 11, Chu teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the transmitting to the second device includes: generating one reception response frame including the first reception response and the second reception response; and transmitting the one reception response frame to the second device ([0110], Fig. 11A, after a first backoff 1118-1 by STA MLD1 on link1 1102-1 (shown by “STA MLD1's backoff”), STA MLD1 may transmit a first UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD, such that transmission of UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1 begins a first TXOP owned by STA MLD1 1110-1 (shown as “TXOP owned by STA MLD1”). In some embodiments, after a second backoff 1118-2 by the AP MLD on link2 (shown by “AP MLD's backoff”), the AP MLD may transmit a DL A-MPDU frame, DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104, to a second STA MLD, STA MLD2, on link2 1102-2. In such an embodiment, transmission of DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104 begins a second TXOP owned by the AP MLD 1110-2 (shown as “TXOP owned by AP MLD”) on link2 1102-2, [0112], after receiving DL Trigger 1114 on link2 1102-2 and DL BA1 1108-1 on link1 1102-1 at STA MLD1, STA MLD1 may transmit a third UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU3 from STA MLD1 1106-3, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD and a fourth UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU4 from STA MLD1 1106-4, on link2 1102-2 to the AP MLD. In such an embodiment, after receiving UL A-MPDU3 from STA MLD1 1106-3 on link1 1102-1 and UL A-MPDU4 from STA MLD1 1106-4 on link2 1102-2 at the AP MLD, the AP MLD transmits a third DL BA frame, DL BA3 1108-3, on link1 1102-1 to STA MLD1 and a fourth DL BA frame, DL BA4 1108-4, on link2 1102-2 to STA MLD1, such that DL BA3 1108-3 and DL BA4 1108-4 are each received at STA MLD1).
Regarding Claim 12, Chu teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the transmitting to the second device includes: transmitting a first reception response frame including the first reception response to the second device; and transmitting a second reception response frame including the second reception response to the second device ([0110], Fig. 11A, after a first backoff 1118-1 by STA MLD1 on link1 1102-1 (shown by “STA MLD1's backoff”), STA MLD1 may transmit a first UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD, such that transmission of UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1 begins a first TXOP owned by STA MLD1 1110-1 (shown as “TXOP owned by STA MLD1”). In some embodiments, after a second backoff 1118-2 by the AP MLD on link2 (shown by “AP MLD's backoff”), the AP MLD may transmit a DL A-MPDU frame, DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104, to a second STA MLD, STA MLD2, on link2 1102-2. In such an embodiment, transmission of DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104 begins a second TXOP owned by the AP MLD 1110-2 (shown as “TXOP owned by AP MLD”) on link2 1102-2, [0112], after receiving DL Trigger 1114 on link2 1102-2 and DL BA1 1108-1 on link1 1102-1 at STA MLD1, STA MLD1 may transmit a third UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU3 from STA MLD1 1106-3, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD and a fourth UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU4 from STA MLD1 1106-4, on link2 1102-2 to the AP MLD. In such an embodiment, after receiving UL A-MPDU3 from STA MLD1 1106-3 on link1 1102-1 and UL A-MPDU4 from STA MLD1 1106-4 on link2 1102-2 at the AP MLD, the AP MLD transmits a third DL BA frame, DL BA3 1108-3, on link1 1102-1 to STA MLD1 and a fourth DL BA frame, DL BA4 1108-4, on link2 1102-2 to STA MLD1, such that DL BA3 1108-3 and DL BA4 1108-4 are each received at STA MLD1).
Regarding Claim 13, Chu teaches the method of claim 8, wherein in response that the first device is an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD), the second device is a station (STA) MLD, and in response that the first device is an STA MLD, the second device is an AP MLD; the AP MLD supports a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) operation on the first link and the second link; and the STA MLD does not support the STR operation on the first link and the second link ([0003], at a multi-link station device that has a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR STA MLD) that supports multiple links, exchanging frames on multiple links with a multi-link access point device (AP MLD) that has at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a simultaneous transmission and reception (STR) capability).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al (US 2021/0266891), in view of Wentink (US 2010/0220654).
Regarding Claims 3 and 10, Chu teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1 and 8 above. While Chu teaches indicating to transmit the first reception response frame after completion of the reception of the second frame ([0010, 0021]), Chu fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Wentink teaches wherein the first frame includes a block ACK request (BAR) indicating NSTR ML ACK ([0071], According to the exchange in FIG. 10, the AP may start a downlink SDMA TXOP, during which the AP transmits an A-MPDU 1010 to stations 1-4. The A-MPDU 1010 may contain a DI and a BAR. The BAR may request that a BA be transmitted by the stations as an SIFS response after the pending downlink SDMA TXOP. The BAR may specify the Normal ACK policy. During the uplink SDMA TXOP, the stations may send the requested BAs 1004 to the AP. The BAs 1004 may acknowledge prior data received from the AP. After the uplink SDMA TXOP, the AP may start a second downlink SDMA TXOP. During the second downlink SDMA TXOP, the AP may send an A-MPDU 1012 with downlink UDP frames to stations 1-4 with Block ACK policy).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of block ack requests to establish backoff parameters and ensure device operation only within set parameters, as taught in Wentink, in the system of Chu, in order to further avoid collision between multiple links and conserve device power.
Regarding Claim 7, Chu teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 6 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Wentink teaches wherein a station (STA) 1 affiliated with the STA MLD performs a low-power operation on the first link in a period from an end time of the first frame to an end time of the second frame ([0081], The PSMP frame 1418 may indicate which stations will be receiving data during the downlink SDMA TXOP. Stations not included in the PSMP frame may enter a sleep mode for the duration of the PSMP sequence, or until the scheduled occurrence of a subsequent PSMP frame).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of block ack requests to establish backoff parameters and ensure device operation only within set parameters, as taught in Wentink, in the system of Chu, in order to further avoid collision between multiple links and conserve device power.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al (US 2021/0266891), in view of Naribole et al (US 2021/0076412).
Regarding Claim 4, Chu teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claim 1 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Naribole teaches wherein the first backoff operation is performed using an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameter for an access category (AC) of the first frame ([0105], multi-link station utilizes the aggregated link for transmission only if its backoff countdown is less than or equal to a pre-defined aggregation threshold. This threshold may be set by the access point and be advertised through regularly broadcast beacons (similar to the 802.11ax MU EDCA). In some examples, the access point may dynamically set the aggregation threshold for each link based on the number of single-link stations associated on that link to maintain fairness, [0108], multi-link station performs a particular aggregated link backoff procedure to ensure fairness in channel access. In the baseline 802.11 spec, the typical backoff procedure after a successful transmission is to reset the contention window (CW) to the CW minimum parameter, which is advertised by the access point and to generate a new random count to which the backoff countdown is reset to. Performing this same operation for an aggregated link may lead to significant unfairness to single-link stations especially in a congested scenario. As used herein, the backoff countdown is a randomly selected number between 0 and a maximum value referred to as the contention window. The minimum contention widow value may depend on the access category, and the each link may have an independent contention window parameter for each access category).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determination of connection and backoff parameters according to access category of the device, as taught in Naribole, in the system of Chu, in order to allow network access more fairly and equitably according to device categories and demands.
Claims 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al (US 2021/0266891), in view of Jang et al (US 2023/0164842).
Regarding Claim 14, Chu teaches a method of a first device (Figs. 11-12), the method comprising: receiving a first frame from a second device in a first transmit opportunity (TXOP) of a first link; receiving a second frame from the second device in a second TXOP of a second link ([0003], at a multi-link station device that has a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR STA MLD) that supports multiple links, exchanging frames on multiple links with a multi-link access point device (AP MLD) that has at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a simultaneous transmission and reception (STR) capability); and
in response that information included in the first frame requests to transmit a first reception response frame for the first frame ([0010], maintaining the link state at the NSTR STA MLD further involves, at the NSTR STA MLD, finishing a transmission on a second link, link2, while a backoff counter of a first link, link1, is not zero, deferring link1's backoff until at least one of a PPDU with Transmission Opportunity (TXOP) duration information is received on link2 and a time of NAVSyncDelay passes without detection of the PPDU, and resuming the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD),
transmitting the first reception response frame to the second device ([0021], wherein maintenance of the link state further involves completion of the transmission on link2, reception of an announcement that indicates activity on link1 during the transmission on link2 from the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, advancement of the backoff counter of link1 in response to the announcement from the AP MLD that has at least one of the simultaneous transmission capability and the STR capability, wherein the announcement reports the AP MLD's NAV timer of link1, and resumption of the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD, [0110], Fig. 11A, after a first backoff 1118-1 by STA MLD1 on link1 1102-1 (shown by “STA MLD1's backoff”), STA MLD1 may transmit a first UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD, such that transmission of UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1 begins a first TXOP owned by STA MLD1 1110-1 (shown as “TXOP owned by STA MLD1”). In some embodiments, after a second backoff 1118-2 by the AP MLD on link2 (shown by “AP MLD's backoff”), the AP MLD may transmit a DL A-MPDU frame, DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104, to a second STA MLD, STA MLD2, on link2 1102-2. In such an embodiment, transmission of DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104 begins a second TXOP owned by the AP MLD 1110-2 (shown as “TXOP owned by AP MLD”) on link2 1102-2).
Chu fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Jang teaches wherein the response is transmitted on a third link that does not have a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair relationship with the first link ([0171], 6 GHz band may be called in other terms such as a third band or the like, [0253], plurality of links used for ML communication may be set in various ways. For example, a plurality of links supported by one STA for ML communication may be a plurality of channels in a 2.4 GHz band, a plurality of channels in a 5 GHz band, and a plurality of channels in a 6 GHz band. Alternatively, a plurality of links supported by one STA for ML communication may be a combination of at least one channel in the 2.4 GHz band (or 5 GHz/6 GHz band) and at least one channel in the 5 GHz band (or 2.4 GHz/6 GHz band)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate operation over a third link, including links in the 2.4, 5, and 6, GHz bands, as taught in Jang, in the system of Chu, in order to comply with evolving industry standards and take best advantage of all available resources.
Regarding Claim 15, Chu, modified by Jang, teaches the method of claim 14, Chu further teaches wherein the first link and the second link are a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair ([0003], at a multi-link station device that has a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR STA MLD) that supports multiple links, exchanging frames on multiple links with a multi-link access point device (AP MLD) that has at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a simultaneous transmission and reception (STR) capability), the first TXOP is shorter than the second TXOP, and a reception completion time of the second frame is after a reception completion time of the first frame Fig. 11A, after a first backoff 1118-1 by STA MLD1 on link1 1102-1 (shown by “STA MLD1's backoff”), STA MLD1 may transmit a first UL A-MPDU frame, UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1, on link1 1102-1 to the AP MLD, such that transmission of UL A-MPDU1 from STA MLD1 1106-1 begins a first TXOP owned by STA MLD1 1110-1 (shown as “TXOP owned by STA MLD1”). In some embodiments, after a second backoff 1118-2 by the AP MLD on link2 (shown by “AP MLD's backoff”), the AP MLD may transmit a DL A-MPDU frame, DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104, to a second STA MLD, STA MLD2, on link2 1102-2. In such an embodiment, transmission of DL A-MPDU2 to STA MLD2 1104 begins a second TXOP owned by the AP MLD 1110-2 (shown as “TXOP owned by AP MLD”) on link2 1102-2).
Regarding Claim 19, Chu, modified by Jang, teaches the method of claim 14, Chu further teaches wherein the information is an acknowledgment (ACK) policy field included in a medium access control (MAC) header of the first frame, and the ACK policy field is set to a value indicating NSTR multi-link (ML) ACK ([0010], maintaining the link state at the NSTR STA MLD further involves, at the NSTR STA MLD, finishing a transmission on a second link, link2, while a backoff counter of a first link, link1, is not zero, deferring link1's backoff until at least one of a PPDU with Transmission Opportunity (TXOP) duration information is received on link2 and a time of NAVSyncDelay passes without detection of the PPDU, and resuming the link state of link1 at the NSTR STA MLD, [0066], the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414) or the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400) may be a TXOP holder. When the AP MLD is the TXOP holder, each AP (e.g., AP1 404-1 and AP2 404-2) affiliated with the AP MLD may be a TXOP holder, and when the STA MLD is the TXOP holder, each STA (e.g., STA1 410-1 and STA2 410-2) affiliated with the STA MLD may be a TXOP holder. In some embodiments, when the TXOP holder is affiliated with the STA MLD (e.g., NSTR STA MLD 414), the STA MLD may indicate parameters for a responding frame (e.g., DL BA1 408-1 or DL BA2 408-2) in an HE Control field of frames carried in a soliciting PPDU (e.g., frames in UL A-MPDU1 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-1, frames in UL A-MPDU2 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-2, frames in UL A-MPDU3 of TID2 to AP MLD1 406-3, or frames in UL A-MPDU4 of TID1 to AP MLD1 406-4) and transmit the PPDU to the AP MLD (e.g., STR AP MLD1 400). As an example, parameters for the responding frame may include a PPDU length (e.g., value in a Legacy-Length (L-Length) field of a PHY header)).
Regarding Claim 20, Chu, modified by Jang, teaches the method of claim 14, Chu further teaches wherein in response that the first device is an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD), the second device is a station (STA) MLD, and in response that the first device is an STA MLD, the second device is an AP MLD; the AP MLD supports a simultaneous transmit and receive (STR) operation on the first link and the second link; and the STA MLD does not support the STR operation on the first link and the second link ([0003], at a multi-link station device that has a non-simultaneous transmission and reception capability (NSTR STA MLD) that supports multiple links, exchanging frames on multiple links with a multi-link access point device (AP MLD) that has at least one of a simultaneous transmission capability and a simultaneous transmission and reception (STR) capability).
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al (US 2021/0266891), in view of Jang et al (US 2023/0164842), and further in view of Naribole et al (US 2021/0076412).
Regarding Claim 16, Chu, modified by Jang, teaches method of claim 14, wherein the transmitting to the second device comprises; selecting the third link not having an NSTR link pair relationship with the first link from among links.
The combination fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Naribole teaches choosing from among links mapped to an access category (AC) of the first frame ([0258], MLD (AP MLD and/or non-AP MLD) may transmit, through ML setup, information on a link that the corresponding MLD can support. Link information may be configured in various ways. For example, information on the link may include at least one of 1) information on whether the MLD (or STA) supports simultaneous RX/TX operation, 2) information on the number/upper limit of uplink/downlink links supported by the MLD (or STA), 3) information on the location/band/resource of the uplink/downlink Link supported by the MLD (or STA), 4) information on the frame type (management, control, data, etc.) available or preferred in at least one uplink/downlink link, 5) information on ACK policy available or preferred in at least one uplink/downlink link, and 6) information on an available or preferred traffic identifier (TID) in at least one uplink/downlink Link. The TID is related to the priority of traffic data and is expressed as eight types of values according to the conventional wireless LAN standard. That is, eight TID values corresponding to four access categories (ACs) (AC_Background (AC_BK), AC_Best Effort (AC_BE), AC_Video (AC_VI), AC_Voice (AC_VO)) according to the conventional WLAN standard may be defined);
performing a first backoff operation for transmission of the first reception response frame on the third link; and in response that the first backoff operation is completed, transmitting the first reception response frame to the second device on the third link ([0105], multi-link station utilizes the aggregated link for transmission only if its backoff countdown is less than or equal to a pre-defined aggregation threshold. This threshold may be set by the access point and be advertised through regularly broadcast beacons (similar to the 802.11ax MU EDCA). In some examples, the access point may dynamically set the aggregation threshold for each link based on the number of single-link stations associated on that link to maintain fairness, [0108], multi-link station performs a particular aggregated link backoff procedure to ensure fairness in channel access. In the baseline 802.11 spec, the typical backoff procedure after a successful transmission is to reset the contention window (CW) to the CW minimum parameter, which is advertised by the access point and to generate a new random count to which the backoff countdown is reset to. Performing this same operation for an aggregated link may lead to significant unfairness to single-link stations especially in a congested scenario. As used herein, the backoff countdown is a randomly selected number between 0 and a maximum value referred to as the contention window. The minimum contention widow value may depend on the access category, and the each link may have an independent contention window parameter for each access category).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determination of connection and backoff parameters according to access category of the device, as taught in Naribole, in the system of Chu and Jang, in order to allow network access more fairly and equitably according to device categories and demands.
Regarding Claim 17, Chu, modified by Jang and Naribole, teaches the method of claim 16, Naribole further teaches wherein the third link is selected based on traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping ([0258], MLD (AP MLD and/or non-AP MLD) may transmit, through ML setup, information on a link that the corresponding MLD can support. Link information may be configured in various ways. For example, information on the link may include at least one of 1) information on whether the MLD (or STA) supports simultaneous RX/TX operation, 2) information on the number/upper limit of uplink/downlink links supported by the MLD (or STA), 3) information on the location/band/resource of the uplink/downlink Link supported by the MLD (or STA), 4) information on the frame type (management, control, data, etc.) available or preferred in at least one uplink/downlink link, 5) information on ACK policy available or preferred in at least one uplink/downlink link, and 6) information on an available or preferred traffic identifier (TID) in at least one uplink/downlink Link. The TID is related to the priority of traffic data and is expressed as eight types of values according to the conventional wireless LAN standard. That is, eight TID values corresponding to four access categories (ACs) (AC_Background (AC_BK), AC_Best Effort (AC_BE), AC_Video (AC_VI), AC_Voice (AC_VO)) according to the conventional WLAN standard may be defined).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determination of connection and backoff parameters according to access category of the device, as taught in Naribole, in the system of Chu and Jang, in order to allow network access more fairly and equitably according to device categories and demands.
Regarding Claim 18, Chu, modified by Jang and Naribole, teaches the method of claim 16, Naribole further teaches wherein the first backoff operation on the third link is performed using an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) parameter for an AC of the first frame ([0105], multi-link station utilizes the aggregated link for transmission only if its backoff countdown is less than or equal to a pre-defined aggregation threshold. This threshold may be set by the access point and be advertised through regularly broadcast beacons (similar to the 802.11ax MU EDCA). In some examples, the access point may dynamically set the aggregation threshold for each link based on the number of single-link stations associated on that link to maintain fairness, [0108], multi-link station performs a particular aggregated link backoff procedure to ensure fairness in channel access. In the baseline 802.11 spec, the typical backoff procedure after a successful transmission is to reset the contention window (CW) to the CW minimum parameter, which is advertised by the access point and to generate a new random count to which the backoff countdown is reset to. Performing this same operation for an aggregated link may lead to significant unfairness to single-link stations especially in a congested scenario. As used herein, the backoff countdown is a randomly selected number between 0 and a maximum value referred to as the contention window. The minimum contention widow value may depend on the access category, and the each link may have an independent contention window parameter for each access category).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determination of connection and backoff parameters according to access category of the device, as taught in Naribole, in the system of Chu and Jang, in order to allow network access more fairly and equitably according to device categories and demands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Xia et al (US 2022/0312506) teaches Enhanced Multi-Link Operation (MLO) is performed in this protocol in which non-simultaneous transmit/receive (NSTR) Multi-Link Devices (MLDs) cooperate with each other in sharing a portion of their available Transmit Opportunity (TXOP) toward reducing contention and competition for channel access across the group of cooperating MLDs. The shared TXOP is performed at an MLD level after all links for an NSTR MLD are obtained by stations which do not need to be in part of the same NSTR MLD, thus synchronized transmissions and receptions are performed which eliminate in-device coexistence (IDC) interference in any single NSTR MLD (Abstract)
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641