DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2023 has been fully considered by examiner and made of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail et al (US 2022/0109537), in view of Xiong et al (US 2022/0094496).
Regarding Claim 1, Zewail teaches a method of designing a reference signal for phase noise estimation in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) communication system ([0092], Fig. 6), the method comprising:
acquiring a magnitude of a frequency bandwidth of phase noise ([0094], at 610, the BS 105-b may transmit a CSI-RS to the UE 115-b. At 615, in some implementations in which the BS 105-b transmits CSI-RS, the UE 115-b may measure the CSI-RS across multiple sub-bands. In some implementations, the multiple sub-bands may correspond to a set of frequency resources that are configured for communications between the UE 115-b and the BS 105-b. In some implementations, at 620, the UE 115-b may transmit a measurement report to the BS 105-b. The measurement report may include channel measurements based on the CSI-RS across the multiple sub-bands, and may be used to select a particular sub-band that has more favorable channel conditions than other of the multiple sub-bands);
acquiring a magnitude of a subcarrier ([0093], at 605, the BS 105-b optionally may transmit configuration information to the UE 115-b. The configuration information may include, for example, a set of frequency resources that are configured for communications between the UE 115-b and the BS 105-b. The configuration information also may include information related to a number of available PTRS patterns, locations, or combinations thereof, that may be selected for PTRS transmissions. Additionally, or alternatively, the configuration information may include an activation or deactivation indication, that activates or deactivates adaptive PTRS transmissions using a subset of frequency resources as described herein);
comparing the magnitudes of the subcarrier and the frequency bandwidth ([0095], At 630, the BS 105-b may allocate PDSCH resources across the set of frequency resources. At 635, the BS 105-b select a subset of frequency resources that are to be used for PTRS transmissions. In some implementations, the selection of the subset of frequency resources may be based on channel measurements made at the BS 105-b based on the SRS, based on a received measurement report from the UE 115-b, scheduling parameters for one or more other UEs that are served by the BS 105-b, or any combinations thereof. In some implementations, at 640, the BS 105-b select a TBS of the PDSCH based on a signaled overhead value and the subset of frequency resources for PTRS transmission);
selecting one of a first phase compensation scheme and a second phase compensation scheme based on the comparison result ([0096], At 650, the UE 115-b may identify the subset of resources that include PTRS transmissions. In some implementations, the UE 115-b may identify the subset of resources based on the index value provided in the scheduling DCI. At 650, the BS 105-b may transmit the PDSCH. The PDSCH may be transmitted using the set of frequency resources, and may include PTRS transmission that are located in the subset of frequency resources according to the indication provided in the scheduling DCI, [0098], At 660, the UE 115-b may select a phase noise compensation based on the PTRS transmission in the subset of frequency resources. In some implementations, the UE 115-b may select a TBS for the PDSCH based on PTRS overhead, and the actual PTRS transmissions in the subset of frequency resources), and transmitting the OFDM symbol including the reference signal ([0097-0098], At 670, the UE 115-b may demodulate and decode the PDSCH based on the selected phase noise compensation, PTRS transmitted on PDSCG in 655).
Zewail fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Xiong teaches inserting the reference signal into an OFDM symbol based on the selected phase compensation scheme ([0024], NR Rel-15, a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) is inserted in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), which may be used to phase shift compensation in each symbol caused by phase noise and frequency offset. The PT-RS pattern in time and frequency may be determined in accordance with the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and data transmission bandwidth).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inserting of the PT-RS symbol, as taught in Xiong, in the system of Zewail, in order to increase efficiency and accuracy of phase compensation schemes.
Regarding Claim 2, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches the method of claim 1, Zewail further teaches wherein the inserting the reference signal into the OFDM symbol includes selecting the first phase compensation scheme when the magnitude of the subcarrier is less than the magnitude of the frequency bandwidth ([0040], One such reference signal may be a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) that may be used at a UE to compensate for oscillator phase noise. Oscillator phase noise may increase as a function of oscillator carrier frequency, and PTRS may be utilized at higher carrier frequencies, such as millimeter wave (mmW) frequencies for example, to mitigate such phase noise. Phase noise compensation may have performance losses in cases where a PTRS experiences interference or frequency selective fading. In some implementations, a BS may transmit a PTRS using one or more frequency sub-bands that are a subset of a total number of frequency sub-bands used for communications with a UE. The subset of frequency sub-bands may be selected as one or more sub-bands that have relatively good channel conditions compared to other of the total number of frequency sub-bands. The BS may provide an indication of the selected one or more sub-bands to the UE, and the UE may measure the PTRS in the one or more indicated sub-bands and perform phase noise compensation based on the measured PTRS).
Regarding Claim 3, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches method of claim 2, Zewail further teaches wherein the first phase compensation scheme is a scheme that a transmitter allocates a first (phase tracking-reference signal) PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to a transmission/reception point (TRP), and allocates a second PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to the remaining TRPs not to overlap in a frequency axis with the first PT-RS set ([0089], In a first example 405 of FIG. 4, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=1 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in each symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. The subset of resources 415 also include demodulation reference signal (DMRS) 435 resources, and PDSCH 440 resources. In a second example 410, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=2 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in every second symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. In some implementations, the PTRS configurations may be configured in a configuration message and may repeat across all subsets of frequency resources of a set of frequency resources), wherein the transmitter vacates resources for PT-RSs corresponding to in a frequency axis to the first PT-RS set and resources for data subcarriers adjacent to the resources for the PT-RSs, in the remaining TRP ([0043], by enabling the activation or deactivation of PTRS transmissions in selected subsets of frequency resources, such techniques may be activated based on channel conditions or particular frequency resources associated with the BS and UE. Accordingly, the BS and the UE may facilitate greater communications efficiency and higher reliability based on the described techniques for PTRS transmission in selected subset of frequency resources).
Regarding Claim 4, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches method of claim 2, Zewail further teaches wherein the first phase compensation scheme is a scheme that a transmitter allocates a first PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to one TRP and does not vacate resources corresponding to a frequency axis with the first PT-RS set to the remaining TRPs, and allocate a second PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RS to the resources of the remaining TRPs ([0089], In a first example 405 of FIG. 4, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=1 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in each symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. The subset of resources 415 also include demodulation reference signal (DMRS) 435 resources, and PDSCH 440 resources. In a second example 410, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=2 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in every second symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. In some implementations, the PTRS configurations may be configured in a configuration message and may repeat across all subsets of frequency resources of a set of frequency resources).
Regarding Claim 7, Zewail teaches a device for designing a reference signal for phase noise estimation in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) communication system ([0092], Fig. 6), the device comprising: a memory including instructions; and a processor that executes the instructions ([0134]) to:
obtain a magnitude of a frequency bandwidth of phase noise ([0094], at 610, the BS 105-b may transmit a CSI-RS to the UE 115-b. At 615, in some implementations in which the BS 105-b transmits CSI-RS, the UE 115-b may measure the CSI-RS across multiple sub-bands. In some implementations, the multiple sub-bands may correspond to a set of frequency resources that are configured for communications between the UE 115-b and the BS 105-b. In some implementations, at 620, the UE 115-b may transmit a measurement report to the BS 105-b. The measurement report may include channel measurements based on the CSI-RS across the multiple sub-bands, and may be used to select a particular sub-band that has more favorable channel conditions than other of the multiple sub-bands);
obtain a magnitude of a subcarrier ([0093], at 605, the BS 105-b optionally may transmit configuration information to the UE 115-b. The configuration information may include, for example, a set of frequency resources that are configured for communications between the UE 115-b and the BS 105-b. The configuration information also may include information related to a number of available PTRS patterns, locations, or combinations thereof, that may be selected for PTRS transmissions. Additionally, or alternatively, the configuration information may include an activation or deactivation indication, that activates or deactivates adaptive PTRS transmissions using a subset of frequency resources as described herein);
compare the magnitudes of the subcarrier and the frequency bandwidth ([0095], At 630, the BS 105-b may allocate PDSCH resources across the set of frequency resources. At 635, the BS 105-b select a subset of frequency resources that are to be used for PTRS transmissions. In some implementations, the selection of the subset of frequency resources may be based on channel measurements made at the BS 105-b based on the SRS, based on a received measurement report from the UE 115-b, scheduling parameters for one or more other UEs that are served by the BS 105-b, or any combinations thereof. In some implementations, at 640, the BS 105-b select a TBS of the PDSCH based on a signaled overhead value and the subset of frequency resources for PTRS transmission);
select one of a first phase compensation scheme and a second phase compensation scheme based on the comparison result ([0096], At 650, the UE 115-b may identify the subset of resources that include PTRS transmissions. In some implementations, the UE 115-b may identify the subset of resources based on the index value provided in the scheduling DCI. At 650, the BS 105-b may transmit the PDSCH. The PDSCH may be transmitted using the set of frequency resources, and may include PTRS transmission that are located in the subset of frequency resources according to the indication provided in the scheduling DCI, [0098], At 660, the UE 115-b may select a phase noise compensation based on the PTRS transmission in the subset of frequency resources. In some implementations, the UE 115-b may select a TBS for the PDSCH based on PTRS overhead, and the actual PTRS transmissions in the subset of frequency resources), and transmit the OFDM symbol including the reference signal ([0097-0098], At 670, the UE 115-b may demodulate and decode the PDSCH based on the selected phase noise compensation, PTRS transmitted on PDSCG in 655).
Zewail fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Xiong teaches inserting the reference signal into an OFDM symbol based on the selected phase compensation scheme ([0024], NR Rel-15, a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) is inserted in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), which may be used to phase shift compensation in each symbol caused by phase noise and frequency offset. The PT-RS pattern in time and frequency may be determined in accordance with the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and data transmission bandwidth).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inserting of the PT-RS symbol, as taught in Xiong, in the system of Zewail, in order to increase efficiency and accuracy of phase compensation schemes.
Regarding Claim 8, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches device of claim 7, Zewail further teaches wherein the processor selects the first phase compensation scheme when the magnitude of the subcarrier is less than the magnitude of the frequency bandwidth ([0040], One such reference signal may be a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) that may be used at a UE to compensate for oscillator phase noise. Oscillator phase noise may increase as a function of oscillator carrier frequency, and PTRS may be utilized at higher carrier frequencies, such as millimeter wave (mmW) frequencies for example, to mitigate such phase noise. Phase noise compensation may have performance losses in cases where a PTRS experiences interference or frequency selective fading. In some implementations, a BS may transmit a PTRS using one or more frequency sub-bands that are a subset of a total number of frequency sub-bands used for communications with a UE. The subset of frequency sub-bands may be selected as one or more sub-bands that have relatively good channel conditions compared to other of the total number of frequency sub-bands. The BS may provide an indication of the selected one or more sub-bands to the UE, and the UE may measure the PTRS in the one or more indicated sub-bands and perform phase noise compensation based on the measured PTRS).
Regarding Claim 9, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches device of claim 8, Zewail further teaches wherein the first phase compensation scheme is a scheme that a transmitter allocates a first PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to a transmission/reception point (TRP), and allocates a second PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to the remaining TRPs not to overlap in a frequency axis with the first PT-RS set ([0089], In a first example 405 of FIG. 4, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=1 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in each symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. The subset of resources 415 also include demodulation reference signal (DMRS) 435 resources, and PDSCH 440 resources. In a second example 410, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=2 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in every second symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. In some implementations, the PTRS configurations may be configured in a configuration message and may repeat across all subsets of frequency resources of a set of frequency resources), wherein the transmitter vacates resources for PT-RSs corresponding to in a frequency axis to the first PT-RS set and resources for data subcarriers adjacent to the resources for the PT-RSs, in the remaining TRP ([0043], by enabling the activation or deactivation of PTRS transmissions in selected subsets of frequency resources, such techniques may be activated based on channel conditions or particular frequency resources associated with the BS and UE. Accordingly, the BS and the UE may facilitate greater communications efficiency and higher reliability based on the described techniques for PTRS transmission in selected subset of frequency resources).
Regarding Claim 10, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches device of claim 8, Zewail further teaches the first phase compensation scheme is a scheme that a transmitter allocates a first PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to one TRP and does not vacate resources corresponding to a frequency axis with the first PT-RS set to the remaining TRPs, and allocate a second PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RS to the resources of the remaining TRPs ([0089], In a first example 405 of FIG. 4, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=1 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in each symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. The subset of resources 415 also include demodulation reference signal (DMRS) 435 resources, and PDSCH 440 resources. In a second example 410, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=2 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in every second symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. In some implementations, the PTRS configurations may be configured in a configuration message and may repeat across all subsets of frequency resources of a set of frequency resources).
Regarding Claim 13, Zewail teaches a method of designing a reference signal for phase noise estimation in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) communication system ([0092], Fig. 6), the method comprising:
receiving a signal; extracting a reference signal from the signal; and estimating an OFDM symbol based on the reference signal, wherein the OFDM symbol is generated by acquiring a magnitude of a frequency bandwidth of phase noise ([0094], at 610, the BS 105-b may transmit a CSI-RS to the UE 115-b. At 615, in some implementations in which the BS 105-b transmits CSI-RS, the UE 115-b may measure the CSI-RS across multiple sub-bands. In some implementations, the multiple sub-bands may correspond to a set of frequency resources that are configured for communications between the UE 115-b and the BS 105-b. In some implementations, at 620, the UE 115-b may transmit a measurement report to the BS 105-b. The measurement report may include channel measurements based on the CSI-RS across the multiple sub-bands, and may be used to select a particular sub-band that has more favorable channel conditions than other of the multiple sub-bands),
acquiring a magnitude of a subcarrier ([0093], at 605, the BS 105-b optionally may transmit configuration information to the UE 115-b. The configuration information may include, for example, a set of frequency resources that are configured for communications between the UE 115-b and the BS 105-b. The configuration information also may include information related to a number of available PTRS patterns, locations, or combinations thereof, that may be selected for PTRS transmissions. Additionally, or alternatively, the configuration information may include an activation or deactivation indication, that activates or deactivates adaptive PTRS transmissions using a subset of frequency resources as described herein),
comparing the magnitudes of the subcarrier and the frequency bandwidth ([0095], At 630, the BS 105-b may allocate PDSCH resources across the set of frequency resources. At 635, the BS 105-b select a subset of frequency resources that are to be used for PTRS transmissions. In some implementations, the selection of the subset of frequency resources may be based on channel measurements made at the BS 105-b based on the SRS, based on a received measurement report from the UE 115-b, scheduling parameters for one or more other UEs that are served by the BS 105-b, or any combinations thereof. In some implementations, at 640, the BS 105-b select a TBS of the PDSCH based on a signaled overhead value and the subset of frequency resources for PTRS transmission),
selecting one of a first phase compensation scheme and a second phase compensation scheme based on the comparison result ([0096], At 650, the UE 115-b may identify the subset of resources that include PTRS transmissions. In some implementations, the UE 115-b may identify the subset of resources based on the index value provided in the scheduling DCI. At 650, the BS 105-b may transmit the PDSCH. The PDSCH may be transmitted using the set of frequency resources, and may include PTRS transmission that are located in the subset of frequency resources according to the indication provided in the scheduling DCI, [0098], At 660, the UE 115-b may select a phase noise compensation based on the PTRS transmission in the subset of frequency resources. In some implementations, the UE 115-b may select a TBS for the PDSCH based on PTRS overhead, and the actual PTRS transmissions in the subset of frequency resources), and transmitting the OFDM symbol including the reference signal ([0097-0098], At 670, the UE 115-b may demodulate and decode the PDSCH based on the selected phase noise compensation, PTRS transmitted on PDSCG in 655).
Zewail fails to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Xiong teaches inserting the reference signal into an OFDM symbol based on the selected phase compensation scheme ([0024], NR Rel-15, a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) is inserted in the physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) and physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), which may be used to phase shift compensation in each symbol caused by phase noise and frequency offset. The PT-RS pattern in time and frequency may be determined in accordance with the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) and data transmission bandwidth).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inserting of the PT-RS symbol, as taught in Xiong, in the system of Zewail, in order to increase efficiency and accuracy of phase compensation schemes.
Regarding Claim 14, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches method of claim 13, Zewail further teaches wherein the inserting the reference signal into the OFDM symbol includes selecting the first phase compensation scheme when the magnitude of the subcarrier is less than the magnitude of the frequency bandwidth ([0040], One such reference signal may be a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) that may be used at a UE to compensate for oscillator phase noise. Oscillator phase noise may increase as a function of oscillator carrier frequency, and PTRS may be utilized at higher carrier frequencies, such as millimeter wave (mmW) frequencies for example, to mitigate such phase noise. Phase noise compensation may have performance losses in cases where a PTRS experiences interference or frequency selective fading. In some implementations, a BS may transmit a PTRS using one or more frequency sub-bands that are a subset of a total number of frequency sub-bands used for communications with a UE. The subset of frequency sub-bands may be selected as one or more sub-bands that have relatively good channel conditions compared to other of the total number of frequency sub-bands. The BS may provide an indication of the selected one or more sub-bands to the UE, and the UE may measure the PTRS in the one or more indicated sub-bands and perform phase noise compensation based on the measured PTRS).
Regarding Claim 15, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches method of claim 14, Zewail further teaches wherein the first phase compensation scheme is a scheme that a transmitter allocates a first PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to a transmission/reception point (TRP), and allocates a second PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to the remaining TRPs not to overlap in a frequency axis with the first PT-RS set ([0089], In a first example 405 of FIG. 4, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=1 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in each symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. The subset of resources 415 also include demodulation reference signal (DMRS) 435 resources, and PDSCH 440 resources. In a second example 410, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=2 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in every second symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. In some implementations, the PTRS configurations may be configured in a configuration message and may repeat across all subsets of frequency resources of a set of frequency resources), wherein the transmitter vacates resources for PT-RSs corresponding to in a frequency axis to the first PT-RS set and resources for data subcarriers adjacent to the resources for the PT-RSs, in the remaining TRP ([0043], by enabling the activation or deactivation of PTRS transmissions in selected subsets of frequency resources, such techniques may be activated based on channel conditions or particular frequency resources associated with the BS and UE. Accordingly, the BS and the UE may facilitate greater communications efficiency and higher reliability based on the described techniques for PTRS transmission in selected subset of frequency resources).
Regarding Claim 16, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches method of claim 14, Zewail further teaches wherein the first phase compensation scheme is a scheme that a transmitter allocates a first PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to one TRP and does not vacate resources corresponding to a frequency axis with the first PT-RS set to the remaining TRPs, and allocate a second PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RS to the resources of the remaining TRPs ([0089], In a first example 405 of FIG. 4, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=1 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in each symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. The subset of resources 415 also include demodulation reference signal (DMRS) 435 resources, and PDSCH 440 resources. In a second example 410, a PTRS configuration with K=2 and L=2 is provided, which results in a subset of resources 415 that includes a first PTRS tone 425-a and a second PTRS tone 425-b that include PTRS 430 transmissions in every second symbol 420 that has PDSCH 440 REs. In some implementations, the PTRS configurations may be configured in a configuration message and may repeat across all subsets of frequency resources of a set of frequency resources).
Claims 5-6, 11-12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zewail et al (US 2022/0109537), in view of Xiong et al (US 2022/0094496), and further in view of Bai et al (US 2022/0360387).
Regarding Claims 5, 11, and 17, Zewail, modified by Xiong, teaches the inventions of Claims 1, 7, and 13 above, except the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Bai teaches wherein the inserting the reference signal into the OFDM symbol includes selecting the second phase compensation scheme when the magnitude of the subcarrier is greater than or equal to the magnitude of the frequency bandwidth ([0084], UE RS component 252 can receive the RRC table including the list of multiple clusters (and/or information related to identifying the frequency tones that are in each cluster). In an example, the RRC table can include clusters to use for different MCSs and/or bandwidths. [0031], bundling tones (or resource blocks (RBs) used for reference signal transmission, which can improve support of high modulation and coding schemes in higher order frequency ranges. In wireless communication technologies such as fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR), phase tracking reference signals (PTRS) are provided for tracking phase noise in millimeter wave (mmW) communications. In this example, a user equipment (UE) can transmit a PTRS to a base station over frequency and time resources allocated for PTRS transmission. The frequency and time resources can include a portion of frequency, such as a resource element (RE), which is also referred to as a subcarrier or frequency tone, within a system bandwidth, over a portion of time, such as a symbol (e.g., orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol, single carrier frequency division multiplexing (SC-FDM) symbol, etc.), a portion of a symbol, multiple symbols, a slot of multiple consecutive symbols in time, a frame of multiple slots, etc., and/or combinations of frequency and time, which can include one or more REs in a given symbol, one or more resource blocks (RBs) of one or more REs in a given symbol, etc. In a specific example, in 5G NR, a RB can include 12 REs (or subcarriers) in a symbol).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the allocation of non-overlapping frequencies and use of guards, as taught in Bai, in the system of Zewail and Xiong, in order to compensate for leakage and noise in the PTRS without impacting other communications.
Regarding Claims 6, 12, and 16, Zewail, modified by Xiong and Bai, teach the inventions of Claims 5, 11, and 17 above, Bai further teaches wherein the second phase compensation scheme is a scheme that a transmitter allocates a first PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to a transmission/reception point (TRP), and allocates a second PT-RS set consisting of a plurality of PT-RSs to the remaining TRPs not to overlap in a frequency axis with the first PT-RS set ([0097-0098], method 400, optionally at Block 420, a second PTRS for a second antenna port can be transmitted over a second cluster of multiple PTRS frequency tones in the symbol or a different symbol of the slot as well. In an aspect, UE RS component 252, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 212, memory 216, transceiver 202, UE communicating component 242, etc., can transmit the second PTRS for the second antenna port over the second cluster of multiple PTRS frequency tones in the symbol or the different symbol of the slot. In another aspect, BS RS component 352, e.g., in conjunction with processor(s) 312, memory 316, transceiver 302, BS communicating component 342, etc., can transmit the second PTRS for the second antenna port over the second cluster of multiple PTRS frequency tones in the symbol or the different symbol of the slot, UE RS component 252, or BS RS component 352, can transmit the PTRS and the second PTRS in respective clusters of PTRS frequency tones where the respective clusters do not overlap in frequency), wherein the transmitter reserves resources for PT-RSs corresponding in a frequency axis to the first PT-RS set, in the remaining TRP ([0091], in transmitting the PTRS over the cluster of multiple PTRS frequency tones, UE RS component 252, or BS RS component 352, can determine or include a guard band of one or more guard tones on either side of the cluster. Using guard band, for example, can compensate for possible leakage from signals transmitted in the PTRS cluster on either side of the cluster in frequency without significant impact to other communications).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the allocation of non-overlapping frequencies and use of guards, as taught in Bai, in the system of Zewail and Xiong, in order to compensate for leakage and noise in the PTRS without impacting other communications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zhang et al (US 2019/0140729) discloses Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PT-RS) is used to compensate for the phase shift caused by phase noise and carrier frequency offset (CFO). One PT-RS Antenna Port (AP) can share the same precoder with one Demodulation Reference Signal (DM-RS) AP. Since the common phase error (CPE) caused by the phase noise can be common for multiple APs, the number of PT-RS APs can be smaller than that of DM-RS AP(s) ([0066]).
/MARGARET G WEBB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641