DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Calafiore et al (US 2022/0019015 A1). Calafiore teaches:
1/11. A method for forming a diffractive waveguide and the corresponding device (500, Figs. 4-5, 15), comprising:
providing a transparent waveguide substrate (420, 510) having a first working surface (top/bottom at 430, 440);
disposing a polymer resin layer (part of 430, 440; 520) having a plurality of nanoparticles at one or more portions of the first working surface of the waveguide substrate (420, 510) (P0025, 0030), and
wherein the plurality of nanoparticles comprises:
a metal core composed of a first metal material (titanium or zirconium oxides P0354); and
a plurality of ligands disposed on at least a portion of the metal core (Fig. 15, P0354); and
implementing one or more optical features at the polymer resin layer (diffractive grating couplers, P0184-0185).
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical features are diffractive optical components (430, 440; diffractive grating couplers, P0184-0185).
5/12. The method of claim 4/11, wherein the diffractive optical components (430, 440) form an input coupler (430) and an output coupler (440).
6/16. The method of claim 1/11, further comprising:
disposing the polymer resin layer (part of 430, 440; 520) having the plurality of nanoparticles at one or more portions of a second working surface of the waveguide substrate (first is at 430 and second is at 440), and
wherein the second working surface (at 440) is located opposite the first working surface (430) (see Fig. 4).
7/13. The method of claim 1/11, wherein the plurality of nanoparticles each has a size of about 50 nm to about 100 nm (P0006). Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP § 2131.02.
8/14. The method of claim 1/14, wherein the plurality of nanoparticles each has a size of about 2 nm to about 50 nm (P0006). Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP § 2131.02.
9/17. The method of claim 1/16, wherein a surface of the metal core has a metal shell formed thereon (P0354).
10. A method for forming a diffractive waveguide (420, 500) comprising:
providing a waveguide substrate (420, 510) having a first working surface (top/bottom, at 430, 440);
implementing one or more optical features (gratings) at one or more portions of the first working surface of the waveguide substrate (at 430, 440);
disposing a polymer resin layer (520) having a plurality of nanoparticles on the one or more optical features, and
wherein the plurality of nanoparticles comprise:
a metal core composed of a first metal material (titanium or zirconium oxides P0354); and
a plurality of ligands disposed on at least a portion of the metal core (Fig. 15, P0354).
15. The optical device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of nanoparticles each has a size of about 5 nm to about 20 nm (P0006). Prior art which teaches a range within, overlapping, or touching the claimed range anticipates if the prior art range discloses the claimed range with sufficient specificity. See MPEP § 2131.02.
18. The optical device of claim 16, wherein the metal core is composed of a second material (Fig. 15, P0354).
19. The optical device of claim 11, wherein the polymer resin layer has an ultraviolet (UV) light absorbing material (P0006).
20. The optical device of claim 11, wherein the transparent substrate (420, 510) has the polymer resin layer with the plurality of nanoparticles adjacent to a second surface of the substrate (at 440).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calafiore as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Park et al (US 2024/0160023 A1).
Calafiore teaches the method of forming a diffractive waveguide as previously discussed.
Calafiore does not teach expressly:
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising: forming a lens by disposing the waveguide substrate between a first transparent body and a second transparent body.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the first transparent body and the second transparent body are composed of an ultraviolet (UV) light absorbing material.
Park teaches the same display device (see Fig. 3A of Park and Fig. 3 of Calafiore) wherein
a lens is formed by disposing a waveguide substrate between a first transparent body (602)and a second transparent body (604) that are UV blocking (P0071-0073).
Calafiore and Park are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, optical display devices (see Fig. 3A of Park and Fig. 3 of Calafiore).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method for forming the diffractive waveguide as taught by Calafiore to place the waveguide between transparent UV blocking bodies (lenses).
The motivation for doing so would have been to protect a user’s eye from UV rays.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach diffractive waveguides with nanoparticles having a metal core surrounded by ligands: US 2020/0247073, US 11262495, US 2022/0204790, US 2022/0334289, US 2022/0334302, US 11543584, US 2023/0041380, US 12085741, US 12392940.
Contact Information
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874