Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-29, 38, and 41-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites “wherein the thermal storage medium comprises a plurality of blocks”. Claim 27 depends from claim 26, which recites “the thermal storage medium comprising at least one block of carbon, graphite, carbide, or other carbon-based material.” It is unclear if claim 27 intends to require that the already recited “at least one block” be a plurality of blocks, or instead it is introducing an additional required plurality of blocks with no material restriction on top of the already required at least one block of carbon-based material.
Claim 28 depends from claim 26 and recites “each of the plurality of blocks” without antecedent basis since claim 26 merely requires “at least one” block.
Claim 29 similarly lacks antecedent basis for its “one or more of the plurality of blocks” recitation.
Claim 38 lacks antecedent basis for the term “the heat engine”. For examination purposes, the Office will assume the claim was intended to depend from claim 32, not from claim 31.
Claims 41-43 also recite “the heat engine” without antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-34, 44, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0363138 to Catalano (“Catalano”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20150267321 to Lee (“Lee”). Regarding claim 26, Catalano discloses a thermal battery including a heat sink material comprised of one or more blocks of graphite. Catalano at Abstract and paragraphs [0141] and [0165]. The heat sink material is housed within a housing that includes a lining made of a refractory insulating material. Id. at paragraphs [0151] and [0161]. The inside of the housing is filled with an inert atmosphere of argon. The graphite blocks may be provided with heat energy from, in some embodiments, a bank of resistance heaters provided with current from an outside power source. Id. at paragraph [0023].
Catalano is silent regarding the refractory material of the housing being one of the recited materials, or that the resistance heaters for radiating thermal energy into the heat sink are made of graphite resistors. Nonetheless, graphite felt was a commonly known refractory material for use in insulating similar high temperature vessels, and graphite was a commonly known material for use in making a resistance heater such as those used in Catalano. See, e.g., Lee at paragraphs [0029], [0030], and [0058]. Thus, use of graphite felt as the refractory insulating material in Catalano and graphite as the material for the resistance heater bank are considered to be nothing more than the obvious use of commonly known materials for their intended purpose to achieve a predictable result.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Catalano discloses providing an array of a plurality of smaller blocks of graphite in donut-type structures, which will have circular cross-sectional areas as donuts do.
Further regarding claim 29, the Office interprets the claim to allow for the recited at least one block to be comprised of a collection of smaller blocks, such as the plurality of smaller donut-shaped graphite blocks just described.
Further regarding claim 30 because argon is provided into the chamber, it is considered to be present at a positive pressure.
Further regarding claim 31, Catalano discloses a source for providing argon or other inert gas to the interior of the housing, and in other embodiments a system that further includes inlet and outlets allowing the inert gas to be conveyed from inside the housing to a heat exchanger exterior to the housing and back to the interior of the housing.
Further regarding claim 32, Catalano discloses using the heat stored in the heat sink to then drive a steam turbine generator to convert the heat energy into electrical energy. Catalano at paragraphs [0179]-[0183].
Further regarding claims 33 and 34, in operation a condenser is used as part of the steam turbine engine to cool/condense the steam in the engine before sending it back to the heat exchanger where it receives heat from the heat sink material. Although Catalano doesn’t disclose the specific operation of the condenser, the Office finds use of a heat exchanger/radiator and coolant circulating into the heat exchanger to receive heat from the steam before circulating out of the heat exchanger as heated coolant, is nothing more than a commonly known method of implementing such a condenser.
Regarding claim 44, as noted above Catalano discusses the importance of insulating the housing to prevent heat being lost from the heat sink material. Although Catalano does not specifically disclose lining the interior of the housing with a reflective material, the Office finds that the use of such commonly known insulation techniques aimed at preventing a radiating body like the graphite heat sinks of Catalano from radiating heat outside of the housing to be nothing more than the use of a commonly known insulation technique in its intended manner to achieve the described result of insulating the housing.
Regarding claim 45, although Catalano does not disclose steel for the outer shell of its housing, the use of commonly known vessel forming materials for an insulated vessel aimed at holding pressured gas and hot graphite structures to be nothing more than the obvious use of common materials for their intended purpose.
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C section 103 as being unpatentable over Catalano and Lee and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0060604 to Boriskina (“Boriskina”). Catalano and Lee are applied as described above. As discussed above, Catalano discloses using thermal energy stored in its heat sink material to generate electricity via a steam turbine generator. Catalano is silent regarding powering a thermophotovoltaic device with the stored thermal energy to generate electricity. Nonetheless, because use of thermopholtaic devices to generate electricity from stored thermal energy was a common alternative means of using such stored thermal energy, substitution of a thermophotovoltaic heat engine for the steam turbine engine of Catalano is considered to be nothing more than the obvious substitution of a commonly known alternative structure for its intended purpose to achieve a predictable result. Boriskina at paragraph [0004].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35-37, 39, and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 35-37, Catalano is silent regarding a gantry for supporting or moving its steam turbine generator.
Regarding claims 39 and 40, Catalano is silent regarding providing an insulating wall inside its housing to separate the inside of the housing into a main chamber holding the heat sink material and an ancillary chamber.
/WYATT P MCCONNELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727