DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Aluminum” should read aluminum. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Finger et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3831837).
Regarding Claim 1, Finger et al. discloses a cover 2 (Figure 1) for cooking vessels 1 (Figure 1), the cover comprising: a sheet comprised of a malleable heat resistant, heat conductive metal (Figure 1, column 2, line 18); a plurality of reinforcing members formed on one or more sides of the sheet 2d/2e (Figure 1), the reinforcing members extending across an internal portion of the sheet (Figure 1), and stopping short a margin area of the sheet (Figure 1); the reinforcing members forming a grid area sized to extend over a top opening of a cooking vessel (Figure 1); and the margin configured to engage an upper rim of the cooking vessel (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 2, Finger et al. discloses a first group of reinforcing members run across a second group of reinforcing members on the sheet (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Finger et al. discloses the first group of reinforcing members are substantially perpendicular to the second group of reinforcing members (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Finger et al. discloses the first and second groups of reinforcing members form a grid pattern (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Finger et al. discloses the grid pattern is an orthogonal grid pattern (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Finger et al. discloses the orthogonal grid pattern covers a substantially rectangular area (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Finger et al. discloses a system for covering a cooking vessel (Figure 1), the system comprising: a non-toxic, food-safe, metal sheet member 2 (Figure 1, Column 2, line 18); a plurality of reinforcing members formed into a grid on a first side of the sheet member to create a reinforcing pattern 2d/2e (figure 1); margins established around at least some of the first side of the sheet (Figure 2), the margins being substantially flat (Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 19, Finger et al. discloses said reinforcing members are comprised of the same material to the sheet member and the reinforcing members are integral with respect to the sheet member (figure 1; column 2, line 18).
Regarding Claim 20, Finger et al. discloses the margins comprise a width sufficient to enable the margins to be either folded or crimped around an edge of the cooking vessel (Figure 1).
Claim(s) 1, 7-14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stiebling (DK2829490).
Regarding Claim 1, Stiebling discloses a cover 1 (Figure 1) for cooking vessels, the cover comprising: a sheet comprised of a malleable heat resistant, heat conductive metal 3 (Figure 1); a plurality of reinforcing members 7 (Figure 1) formed on one or more sides of the sheet, the reinforcing members extending across an internal portion of the sheet (Figure 1), and stopping short a margin area of the sheet (Figure 7); the reinforcing members forming a grid area sized to extend over a top opening of a cooking vessel (Figure 7); and the margin configured to engage an upper rim of the cooking vessel (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Stiebling discloses margin area exists about substantially the entire periphery of the sheet (Figure 7).
Regarding Claim 8, Stiebling discloses the reinforcing members form a grid leaving substantially flat areas between the reinforcing members on the sheet (Figure 1 and 7).
Regarding Claim 9, Stiebling discloses the substantially flat areas between the reinforcing members areas in at least portions of the sheet are uniformly shaped (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Stiebling discloses the substantially flat areas between the reinforcing members areas in at least portions of the sheet are diversely shaped (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Stiebling discloses the reinforcing members are spaced apart and waved (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 12, Stiebling discloses the reinforcing members each have a substantially semi-circular cross section (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 13, Stiebling discloses the malleable heat resistant, heat conductive metal is aluminum (page 3, line 33).
Regarding Claim 14, Stiebling discloses the reinforcing members are integrally formed along with the sheet (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Stiebling discloses a system for covering a cooking vessel 1/2(Figure 1), the system comprising: a non-toxic, food-safe, metal sheet member (figure 1, page 3, line 33); a plurality of reinforcing members 7 (Figure 1) formed into a grid on a first side of the sheet member to create a reinforcing pattern (Figure 7); margins established around at least some of the first side of the sheet (Figure 7), the margins being substantially flat (Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 19, Stiebling discloses said reinforcing members are comprised of the same material to the sheet member and the reinforcing members are integral with respect to the sheet member (page 3, line 33).
Regarding Claim 20, Stiebling discloses the margins comprise a width sufficient to enable the margins to be either folded or crimped around an edge of the cooking vessel (Figure 1).
Applicant is duly reminded that a complete response must satisfy the requirements of 37 C.F. R. 1.111, including: “The reply must present arguments pointing out the specific distinctions believed to render the claims, including any newly presented claims, patentable over any applied references. A general allegation that the claims “define a patentable invention” without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references does not comply with the requirements of this section. Moreover, “The prompt development of a clear Issue requires that the replies of the applicant meet the objections to and rejections of the claims.” Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP 2163.06 II(A), MPEP 2163.06 and MPEP 714.02. The ''disclosure'' includes the claims, the specification and the drawings.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J VOLZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3733