DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Remarks
The amendment filed on 09/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 2-7 and 9-13 were amended, claims 2, 8, and 20 have been canceled, claims 14-19 and 21-22 are withdrawn and amended by applicant. Therefore, claims 2-7, 9-19 and 21-22 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-13 have been amended to overcome the objection cited in the Office Action mailed on 06/26/2026. Therefore, the objection of said claims is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-7 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO8605202A1-Dean et al. (hereafter, “Dean”).
Regarding claim 2, Dean discloses a reactor comprising a plurality of sections in sequential order (serial arrangement of individual reactors 100, page 5, paragraph 5, Fig. 4) in which a first section includes a gas input port (inlet 30, page 4, paragraph 1, Fig. 1) and a second section includes a gas output port (outlet 32, paragraph 4, Fig. 1). It is noted that neither the manner of operating a disclosed device nor material or article worked upon further limit an apparatus claim. Said limitations do not differentiate apparatus claims from prior art. It has been well established that it is fundamental that an apparatus claim defines the structure of the invention and not how the structure is used in a process, or what materials the structure houses in carry out the process. It is further noted that a recitation directed to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be used does not distinguish the claimed apparatus from the prior art, if the prior art has the capability to so perform. See MPEP §2144 and 2115.
“wherein each section of the plurality includes: a packing material”: Dean discloses biocatalyst beads 136 (page 5, paragraph 2, Fig. 4).
“a liquid recirculation circuit of the section including a fluid line that carries liquid from below the packing material to above the packing material;”: Dean discloses side loops 160 from each reactor (also, corresponds to 16 in Fig. 1, page 5, paragraph 5, Fig. 4), where Fig. 4 shows loops 160 carrying fluid from below beads 136 and to above beads 136 in each reactor 100.
“and a gas recirculation circuit of the section including a gas line that carries gas from above the packing material to below the packing material, the gas recirculation circuit including a blower or a fan configured to recirculate gas within the section;”: Figure 4 includes tubing on both sides of each reactor 100. Further, Dean discloses cooling fans (page 4, paragraph 7).
“wherein a flow rate in the gas line is in a range from 2x to 10x a volumetric flow of gas at the gas input port.”: Dean discloses the recirculation rate needed in any cell culture application is a function of many variables (page 8, paragraph 2). Also, Dean discloses valves of the system to control the rate (page 9, paragraph 2).
Regarding claim 3, Dean discloses the plurality of section of reactors 100 are oriented vertically (shown in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Dean discloses biocatalyst beads (136 page 5, paragraph 2), where Fig. 4 shows that due to the orientation of the reactors 100, liquid would occur under gravity feed.
Regarding claim 5, Dean discloses via Fig. 4 the biocatalyst beads 136, where the beads cab be arranged either structured or random.
Regarding claim 6, Dean discloses product stream passes through an in-line microporous filter 321 to remove cells and cell debris and is collected in storage vessel 318 (page 9, paragraph 7).
Regarding claim 7, Dean discloses the liquid is recirculated using pumps 235 to the fluidized bed through heat exchangers (page 7, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 10, Dean discloses a duct where the reactors 100 are connected to each other via connectors 162 shown in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 11, Dean discloses multiple sections of the device as shown in Fig. 4; where Fig. 4 depicts multiple reactors having sections of the reactors. Further, Dean discloses multiple control valves 161, shown Fig. 4 to control the flow rate of the recirculation loops 160.
Regarding claim 12, Dean discloses anaerobic processes are contemplated also (page 5, paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 13, Dean discloses control of the rate of medium and flow rate of the recirculating culture liquid (page 5, paragraph 5); also, Dean discloses multiple control valves 161 in Fig. 4.
Therefore, the reference of Dean meet the limitations of claims 2-7 and 10-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO8605202A1-Dean et al. (hereafter, “Dean”).
Regarding claim 9, Dean discloses the invention discussed above in claim 1. Further, Dean discloses a recirculation circuit and a barrier, also discussed above. However, Dean does not explicitly disclose a gas port in the barrier.
For claim 9, a different embodiment of Dean discloses ports 262 in the reactors 200 (page 6, paragraph 6, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the ports 262 of another embodiment of Dean in order to allow removal of product removal from the reactor as taught by the other embodiment of Dean (page 6, paragraph 6, Fig. 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. More specifically, the current rejection above pertains to new reference(s) relied upon to address the newly amended claim limitations; the arguments filed rely on the reference or combination of references not currently being used in the present Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LENORA A ABEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799