DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHOI et al. US 20190051875 A1.
In reference to claim 1, CHOI teaches a battery pack assembly (shown in figure 4), comprising: a header base of a header assembly, the header base (310, 320; fig. 4) connectable to a battery pack enclosure (110, 120; fig. 3); and a grounding link (700; fig. 4) of the header assembly, the grounding link contained within the header base (see fig. 4), the grounding link establishing a ground path between the battery pack enclosure (110, 120) and one or more vehicle connectors (600; fig. 4) that are coupled to the header assembly.
In reference to claim 5, CHOI teaches the battery pack assembly of claim 1, wherein the grounding link is a metal or metal alloy.
In reference to claim 6, CHOI teaches the battery pack assembly of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of mechanical fasteners (400; fig. 4) that secure the header base to the battery pack enclosure.
In reference to claim 7, CHOI teaches the battery pack assembly of claim 6, wherein a portion of the grounding link is sandwiched between the battery pack enclosure (110, 120) and the header base (310, 320).
In reference to claim 8, CHOI teaches the battery pack assembly of claim 1, wherein the battery pack enclosure includes a tray (pertaining to 320), the header base (pertaining to 310) connectable to the tray (see fig. 5 where 310 is connected to 320 by bolts 400).
In reference to claim 9, CHOI teaches the battery pack assembly of claim 8, wherein the tray is a metal or metal alloy.
In reference to claim 16, CHOI teaches the battery pack assembly of claim 1, further comprising, the battery pack enclosure, and a battery array (see [0045] which motions a plurality of secondary batteries) held within an interior area of the battery pack enclosure.
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dunn et al. US 20240429543 A1.
In reference to claim 17, Dunn teaches a battery pack connection method, comprising: securing a header base (305; fig. 7) of a header assembly (220; fig. 7) to a battery pack enclosure (110; fig. 2) such that the header base is disposed over an opening in the battery pack (i.e. the openings in 110 that receive 305) enclosure and sandwiches a portion of a grounding link (405; fig. 4, 5, 12. 805 connects to 405 and serves as a grounding path. See [0044]) against the battery pack enclosure, the grounding link establishing a ground path (805 connects to 405 and serves as a grounding path. See [0044]) between the battery pack enclosure and one or more vehicle connectors (i.e. the connectors mounted inside 305. See figs. 7-10) that are coupled to the header assembly.
In reference to claim 18, Dunn teaches the battery pack connection method of claim 17, further comprising securing the header base to the battery pack enclosure using at least one mechanical fastener (605; fig. 9).
In reference to claim 19, Dunn teaches the battery pack connection method of claim 17, further comprising securing a plurality of header connectors (i.e. the connectors mounted inside 305; fig. 7) to the header base (305), each of the header connectors each having a header housing and at least one electrical terminal (see the terminals in fig. 9), the grounding link electrically coupled to the at least one electrical terminal (i.e. the terminals inside of 305. See [0044] which explains that 805 connects to the header 305).
In reference to claim 20, Dunn teaches the battery pack connection method of claim 19, further comprising coupling the one or more vehicle connectors to the header connectors to electrically couple a vehicle to the battery pack.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHOI et al. US 20190051875 A1
In reference to claim 4, CHOI substantially teaches the claimed invention.
However CHOI does not teach wherein the grounding link is more conductive than the header base.
It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Modifying the material of the grounding link in order to arrive at the results of claim 4 is seen as an obvious modification.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Modifying the material of the grounding link in order to arrive at the results of claim 4. The grounding link still provides a grounding path, therefore new results are not produced.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRAVIS S CHAMBERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831 08/27/2026