DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-5, 8-10 and 12-19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over United States Application Publication No. 2011/0312102, hereinafter Jo in view of WO 2012/012779, hereinafter Wilson and United States Application Publication No. 2001/0019826, hereinafter Ammann.
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches an apparatus for incubating a plurality of receptacles (figure 8), the apparatus comprising: one or more thermally-conductive receptacle holders (item 1120), each of the receptacle holders having a top and bottom (the top and bottom of item 1120) and opposed front and back sides (two opposing sides of item 112), wherein each of the receptacle holders comprises a plurality of receptacle wells (the openings where item 1110 rest, figure 8), each of the receptacle wells being open to the top of the corresponding receptacle holder (figure 8) and configured to receive a receptacle (item 1110), and wherein each of the receptacle wells has a through-hole (item 1160 in item 1120) extending from an inner surface of the receptacle well through bottom of the corresponding receptacle holder (figure 8); a heat sink (item 1140) in thermal communication with each support (figure 8), wherein the heat sink comprises a plurality of through-holes (item 1160 in item 1140), each of the through- holes of the heat sink being aligned with a corresponding one of the through-holes of the associated support (figure 8); and a plurality of optical fibers (item 1280) associated with each of the receptacle holders (figure 8), each of the optical fibers having a first end and a second end (figure 9), the first end of each optical fiber being positioned adjacent to or within a through-hole of an associated one of the receptacle wells (figure 8), wherein each of the optical fibers extends through the through-holes of the associated support and the associated heat sink aligned with the corresponding through-hole of the associated receptacle well (figure 8).
Jo fails to teach a thermally-conductive support associated with each of the receptacle holders, wherein each of the receptacle holders is held in a fixed position with respect to the associated support, and wherein the associated support includes a plurality of through-holes, each of the through- holes of the associated support being aligned with a corresponding one of the through-holes extending from the inner surface of each of the receptacle wells and a thermal element associated with each of the receptacle holders and its associated support, wherein each thermal element is positioned between a portion of the associated support and the back side of the associated receptacle holder.
Wilson teaches a cartridge heater with thermal elements (each of items 3027 in figure 20(b) which provides thermal energy though the lateral side surface to each of the plurality of receptacle wells and one or more force-applying bodies positioned to provide a compressive force to a second lateral side surface (paragraph [00519], the left hand heater, item 3027, and the force applying body on the right side) with the thermal element coupled to a lateral side surface of a support (item 3007(b)) extending up from a base (figure 20(a)). Wilson further teaches the one or more force-applying bodies comprise one or cross-braces (item 3007(c)) and each of the force applying bodies comprise a linker (the both within the spring as seen in figure 20(b) and a low thermal conductive body (item 3017) coupled to a second support (item 3007(a)) and the receptacle holders are in sliding engagement with the support (figures 20(a) and 20(b)). The left hand heater component and the force applying bodies allow for the heater to be opened and closed and to press the cartridge against the left hand heater component (paragraphs [00519] and [00520]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have utilized the both of the thermal elements, with one of the thermal elements coupled to a first support in sliding arrangement with the receptacle holders and the force applying bodies comprising cross-bracing, a linker, a low thermal conductive body all coupled to a second support of Wilson in the device of Jo to apply heat to the side of the of the receptacle holder because it would allow for the heater to be opened and closed and to press the cartridge against the left hand heater component (paragraphs [00519] and [00520]).
Jo and Wilson fail to teach the heat sink comprises a plurality of spaced-apart fins and wherein each of the optical fibers is positioned between two adjacent fins of the plurality of fins.
Ammann teaches an automated diagnostic analyzer with a heat sink which has fins which dissipate heat (Ammann, paragraph [0244]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have added a plurality of spaced-apart fins because it would dissipate heat. Further, as the fins are on the bottom of the heat sink as well as the through holes, the optical fibers would be positioned between at least two adjacent fins.
Regarding claim 2, Jo teaches the through-hole of each of the receptacle wells is positioned at a bottom-center of the receptacle well (figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, modified Jo teaches each associated support comprises: a base portion disposed on top of the heat sink (item 1130), wherein the through-holes of the holder are formed in the base portion (figure 8); and an upright portion extending from the base portion (Wilson, item 3007(a)), wherein the thermal element is positioned between the upright portion of the associated support and the back side of the associated receptacle holder (Wilson figure 20(b)).
Regarding claim 4, Jo teaches the second end of each of the optical fibers is in optical communication with at least one of an excitation signal source (item 1120) and an emission signal detector (optional).
Regarding claim 5, Jo teaches each of the through-holes of each associated support forms a channel supporting a fixed or moveable ferrule (item 1170) and through which a corresponding one of the optical fibers passes (figure 8).
Regarding claim 8, modified Jo teaches further comprising one or more force-applying bodies associated with each of the receptacle holders (see supra), each of the force-applying bodies being positioned to provide a compressive force to only the front side of the receptacle holder in a direction toward the thermal element positioned between the upright portion of the associated support and the back side of the receptacle holder (see supra).
Regarding claim 9, modified Jo teaches each of the force-applying bodies comprise one or more cross-braces associated with each of the receptacle holders (see supra), each of the cross-braces being coupled to the associated support such that the receptacle holder held in a fixed position with respect to the associated support is positioned between the cross-brace and upright portion of the support (see supra).
Regarding claim 10, modified Jo teaches each of the force-applying bodies comprises a linker and a low thermal conductive body (see supra), each linker and low thermal conductive body having a first portion coupled to a second support separate from the associated support with respect to which the receptacle holder is fixed and a second portion coupled to the front side of the receptacle holder (see supra).
Regarding claim 12, Jo teaches each of the receptacle holders is held in a fixed position with respect to each associated support so that there is a gap between the bottom of the receptacle holder and a top of the associated heat sink (figure 8).
Regarding claim 13, modified Jo teaches each of the receptacle holders is held in a fixed position with respect to each associated support so that there is a gap between the bottom of the receptacle holder and a top of the base portion of the associated support (figure 8 and see supra).
Regarding claim 14, modified Jo teaches each associated thermal element is a Peltier device (Wilson, paragraph [00536]).
Regarding claim 15, Jo teaches further comprising one or more thermal devices (item 1440) disposed within each associated heat sink (figure 9) for pre-heating the heat sink (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)).
Regarding claim 16, Jo teaches each of the one or more thermal devices comprises a cartridge heater (item 1440) embedded in the associated heat sink (figure 8).
Regarding claim 17, Jo teaches further comprising a first controller (paragraph [0182]) electrically connected to each associated thermal element to cycle the temperature of the thermal element (paragraph [0182]).
Regarding claim 18, Jo, as modified above, teaches all limitations of claim 17; however Jo, as modified above fails to teach one or more thermistors disposed in contact with each receptacle holder.
Ammann teaches an automated diagnostic analyzer in which thermistors are utilized and provided within a housing to monitor the temperature (Ammann, paragraph [0245]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have added one or more thermistors in contact with each receptacle holder so that they can monitor the temperature (Ammann, paragraph [0245]).
Regarding claim 19, Jo, Wilson and Ammann discloses the claimed invention except for two or more receptacle holders. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have duplicated the receptacle holder and all respective structures, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim 11 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Jo, Wilson and Ammann as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of United States Application Publication No. 2005/0206895, hereinafter Salmelainen.
Regarding claim 11, Modified Jo fails to disclose that the first end of the optical fiber is movable with respect to one of the through-holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the first end of the optical fiber movable, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP §2144.04 (V)(D). See for example, Salmelainen which is provided to show that making the optical fiber adjustable is routine in the art because it would allow the height position of the end of the optical fiber to be adjusted to a distance from the sample so that the conical light beam coming from the optical fiber produces on the bottom of the sample well a light spot exactly the size of the bottom (Salmelainen, paragraph [0079]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 10,961,572 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference claim anticipates or renders obvious the examined claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art of record is Jo which teaches a thermally conductive receptacle holder, a heat sink and a plurality of optical fibers and Wilson which teaches a thermally-conductive support and thermal element. However, the prior art does not disclose, teach or suggest the claimed combination of a spring biased against each ferrule which is movably supported in the channel so that the spring urges the first end of the corresponding optical fiber into the associated receptacle well.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796