DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Final Office Action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to the amendment received 3/13/2026.
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments are sufficient to overcome the claim objections and/or 35 USC 112(b)/second paragraph rejections set forth in the previous office action.
Applicant’s amendments are sufficient to overcome the double patenting rejections set forth in the previous office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: delete “each spine of the plurality of spines configured to turn inwardly toward the longitudinal axis such that the second end is disposed near the first end and” in ll. 1-3 as this limitation recites the same limitation as claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claims 8-11 be found allowable, claims 12-15 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 1 recites the limitation “each spine…, in the expanded configuration, comprising…(i) a second region….bending inwardly so as to face towards the longitudinal axis such that the second ends of the plurality of spines converge near the first ends of the plurality of spines”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “each spine of the plurality of spines configured to turn inwardly toward the longitudinal axis such that the second end is disposed near the first end”. Thus, claim 8 recites the same limitation as claim 1 (e.g., the spines turn inwardly and the second ends are disposed near the first ends). Claim 8 further recites “each spine bows radially outward from the longitudinal axis when deployed from an insertion sheath”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “each spine of the plurality of spines configured to bow radially outward from the longitudinal axis when deployed from an insertion sheath” which is the same limitation as claim 8.
Thus, since the first limitation of claim 8 is duplicative of a limitation in claim 1, upon which claim 8 directly depends, and the second limitation of claim 8 is duplicative of the limitation in claim 12, which also directly depends from claim 1, claim 12 is a substantial duplicate of claim 8. Claims 13-15 follow claims 9-11 as also being substantial duplicates.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-15 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Tegg (2020/0060569).
Concerning claim 1, as illustrated in at least Figs. 1, 4 & 6, Tegg discloses a medical probe (high density electrode mapping catheter 200; [0067]) comprising:
a tube comprising a proximal end and a distal end, the tube extending along a longitudinal axis (catheter shaft 214 has a proximal end 216 and distal end 218 extending along a longitudinal axis gg; [0069]);
a plurality of spines disposed at the distal end of the tube (side-by-side arms 206, 208, 210, 212 form flexible framework 204; [0068]), each spine of the plurality of spines comprising a first end that is fixed in relation to the tube (distal end 218 can include a connector 220, which can couple the distal end 218 of the catheter shaft 214 to a proximal end of the flexible framework 204; [0069]) and a second end that is unattached in relation to the tube (electrode-carrier arms are not connected to one another at the distal ends; [0068]), each spine of the plurality of spines configured to transition between a collapsed configuration and an expanded configuration (flexible framework 204 can be protracted and/or retracted from a distal end 218 of a catheter shaft 214, which can also include a proximal end 216, or, in some embodiments, the flexible framework 204 can be deployed from an introducer into a body; [0069]), the plurality of spines forming a basket when each spine of the plurality of spines is in the expanded configuration (flexible framework 204 forms a basket; [0069]), each spine of the plurality of spines, in the expanded configuration, comprising (i) a first region that bends outwardly away from the longitudinal axis so as to bow radially outward from the longitudinal axis (proximal ends of arms 206, 208, 210, 212 bend outwardly away from the longitudinal axis gg; Fig. 4) and (ii) a second region extending from the first region and bending inwardly so as to face towards the longitudinal axis such that the second ends of the plurality of spines converge near the first ends of the plurality of spines (distal ends of arms 206, 208, 210, 212 bend inwardly toward the longitudinal axis gg and converge near the proximal ends of arms 206, 208, 210, 212; Fig. 4); and
a plurality of electrodes attached to the plurality of spines (electrodes 202 are disposed on arms 206, 208, 210, 212; [0067-0068]).
Concerning claim 5, Tegg discloses the plurality of electrodes (202) being disposed along each spine of the plurality of spines (206, 208, 210, 212) ([0067-0068]; Fig. 4).
Concerning claim 6, Tegg discloses the plurality of electrodes (202) being configured to detect electrophysiological signals ([0078]).
Concerning claim 7, Tegg discloses the plurality of electrodes (202) being configured to deliver ablative energy to tissue ([0078]).
Concerning claim 8, Tegg discloses each spine of the plurality of spines (206, 208, 210, 212) configured to turn inwardly toward the longitudinal axis such that the second end is disposed near the first end and each spine bows radially outward from the longitudinal axis when deployed from an insertion sheath (introducer) ([0069]; Fig. 4).
Concerning claim 9, Tegg discloses the plurality of electrodes (202) being disposed along the plurality of spines (206, 208, 210, 212) from the first end to a point along the spine approximately at a distal end of the basket when in the expanded configuration (e.g., electrode 202-7) (Fig. 4).
Claim 10 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 6.
Claim 11 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 7.
Claim 12 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 8.
Claim 13 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 9
Claim 14 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 6.
Claim 15 is rejected upon the same rationale as applied to claim 7.
Concerning claim 17 Tegg discloses each spine of the plurality of spines (206, 208, 210, 212) comprising a shape memory material ([0050], [0073]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tegg (2020/0060569), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Thompson et al. (6,071,274).
Concerning claim 16, while Tegg discloses alternative embodiments with distal ends tethered to the shaft (Fig. 3A-E), Tegg fails to specifically disclose each spine of the plurality of spines comprising an anchor disposed at the second end, each anchor configured to attach to the insertion sheath when in the expanded configuration. However, Thompson et al. disclose a medical probe comprising a spline (454) comprising an anchor (threaded distal end 470) disposed at a second end (470) of the spline and configured to attach to an insertion sheath (472) when in an expanded position. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Tegg such that each spine of the plurality of spines comprising an anchor disposed at the second end, each anchor configured to attach to the insertion sheath when in the expanded position in order to provide the benefit of forming a loop that can readily adopt to different contours and geometries within the body region and is capable of exerting a force on the tissue surface of interest as taught by Thompson et al. (Col. 1, II. 49-53, Col. 33-34, II. 52-45; Fig. 94-96)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYMI E DELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794
JAYMI E. DELLA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3794