DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed December 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11, 13, 14, 17, 18, and 19 have been amended.
Claims 1-10, 12, 15, 16, and 20 are cancelled.
Claims 21-33 have been newly added.
Claims 11, 13, 14, 17-19, and 21-33 are currently pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements submitted on December 9, 2025 and December 10, 2025 have been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, 14, 17-19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al. (hereinafter Ang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0205041 A1) in view of CHANG et al. (hereinafter Chang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0337051 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ang teaches a wireless device (UE, figures 1 and 10) comprising one or more processors (inherent component of UE, figure 10) and memory (inherent component of UE, figure 10) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell (cell, figure 1) ([0058]; “…configure one or more downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs) and one or more uplink BWPs for each UE-specific serving cell (e.g., a serving cell associated with a base station 105). In some cases, the one or more downlinks BWPs and the one or more uplink BWPs may be configured using dedicated radio resource control (RRC) for a UE…”),
wherein: the configuration parameters indicate a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) comprising a first BWP (non-zero BWP), a second BWP (zero BWP), and a default BWP (default BWP); the second BWP is different from the default BWP; and the second BWP is a designated BWP to be used when the cell is in dormancy ([0058]; “…configure one or more downlink bandwidth parts (BWPs) and one or more uplink BWPs for each UE-specific serving cell (e.g., a serving cell associated with a base station 105). In some cases, the one or more downlinks BWPs and the one or more uplink BWPs may be configured using dedicated radio resource control (RRC) for a UE…”; [0063]; “…Base station 105 may configure a secondary cell to be in a full activated state based on the transmitted first signal and the active BWP being a non-zero BWP…base station 105 may configure the secondary cell to be in a dormant state based on the transmitted first signal and the active BWP being a zero BWP…”; [0065]; [0067]; [0124]; teaches the UE receives via RRC signaling a plurality of BWPs including a default or initial BWP, an active and non-zero BWP, and a zero BWP to be used when the cell is in a dormant state, where the zero BWP is different from the default BWP); and
receive a first downlink control information (DCI) indicating an uplink grant or a downlink assignment of the first BWP of the cell; start, based on the first DCI, a BWP inactivity timer of the cell ([0065]; “…base station 105 may configure at least one bit of a field in a BWP DCI to indicate selections for activated or deactivated states for a secondary cell and a BWP selection for the base station, and transmit the BWP DCI to UE 115 based on the configuring. In some examples, the configuration may include base station 105 switching to a default BWP based on an expiration of a timer. The timer may be a BWP timer that may be associated with an active duration of a BWP for a primary cell and/or one or more secondary cells…”; [0129]; teaches the UE receives a DCI indicating the assignment of the BWP and starting a BWP timer).
However, Ang may not explicitly disclose receiving a second DCI comprising a dormancy indication of the cell; and based on the second DCI: stopping the BWP inactivity timer of the cell; and transmitting channel state information reports for a second BWP of the cell.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches and disclose receiving a second DCI (DCI) comprising a dormancy indication of the cell (deactivated state) ([0041]; [0043]); and based on the second DCI (DCI): stopping the BWP inactivity timer of the cell ([0113]; [0114]; “…when the UE receives a DCI command…Stopping the BWP inactivity timer…”; teaches receiving a second DCI indicating an deactivated indication of the cell and stopping the BWP inactivity timer); and transmitting channel state information reports for a second BWP of the cell ([0037]; [0113]; teaches transmitting the channel state indicator the second BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate receiving a second DCI indicating an deactivated indication of the cell and stopping the BWP inactivity timer and transmitting the channel state indicator the second BWP as taught by Chang with the method and apparatus receiving a DCI indicating DL assignment and starting the BWP inactivity timer based on the received DCI as disclosed by Ang for the purpose of processing BWP inactivity timer in new radio, as suggested by Chang.
Regarding claim 13, Ang, as modified by Chang, further teaches and suggests activating the cell in response to: a cell state of the cell being set to a first value indicating an active state of the cell; and/or receiving a medium access control control element (MAC CE) indicating an activation of the cell ([0005]; “…activation may be signaled to the UE using a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)…a bit field in the MAC CE may indicate an activation or deactivation status…”; [0052]; teaches activating the cell in response to receiving a MAC CE indicating activation of the cell).
Regarding claim 14, Ang, as modified by Chang, further teaches and suggests wherein the stopping the BWP inactivity timer of the cell is responsive to the cell being switched into a dormant state ([0063]; “…Base station 105 may configure a secondary cell to be in a full activated state based on the transmitted first signal and the active BWP being a non-zero BWP…base station 105 may configure the secondary cell to be in a dormant state based on the transmitted first signal and the active BWP being a zero BWP…”; [0065]; “…base station 105 may configure at least one bit of a field in a BWP DCI to indicate selections for activated or deactivated states for a secondary cell and a BWP selection for the base station, and transmit the BWP DCI to UE 115 based on the configuring. In some examples, the configuration may include base station 105 switching to a default BWP based on an expiration of a timer. The timer may be a BWP timer that may be associated with an active duration of a BWP for a primary cell and/or one or more secondary cells…”; [0129]; teaches stopping the timer based on the cell being switch to a dormant state).
Regarding claim 17, Ang, as modified by Chang, further teaches and suggests wherein the cell comprises a primary cell (PCell), a primary secondary cell (PSCell), or a secondary cell (SCell) ([0005]; [0063]; [0065]; teaches the cell comprises a secondary cell).
Regarding claim 18, Ang, as modified by Chang, further teaches and suggests deactivating the cell in response to: an expiry of a cell deactivation timer; and/or receiving a MAC CE indicating a deactivation of the cell ([0005]; “…activation may be signaled to the UE using a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE)…a bit field in the MAC CE may indicate an activation or deactivation status…”; [0052]; teaches deactivating the cell in response to receiving a MAC CE indicating deactivation of the cell).
Regarding claim 19, Ang, as modified by Chang, further teaches and suggests skipping transmitting sounding reference signal (SRS) for the second BWP of the cell; and skipping monitoring a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) of the cell ([0125]; “…UE 215 may refrain from monitoring a PDCCH on the secondary cell, and may not receive signaling within the cell…when an active BWP for the secondary cell is the zero BWP, UE 215 may not monitor the PDCCH…”; teaches refraining from and not monitoring the PDCCH based on the DCI).
Regarding claim 21, Ang, as modified by Chang, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to restart the cell deactivation timer based on receiving the first DCI ([0051]; [0064]; [0104]; teaches restarting a deactivation timer based on the received DCI).
Regarding claim 22, Ang, as modified by Chang, further teaches and suggests wherein the channel state information reports comprise at least one of: a channel quality indicator (CQI); a precoding matrix indicator (PMI); a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI); a SS/PBCH block resource indicator (SSBRI); a layer indicator (LI); a rank indicator (RI); and a layer 1 reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) ([0066]; [0127]; teaches the measurement report may include CQI or CSI measurement).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ang et al. (hereinafter Ang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0205041 A1) in view of CHANG et al. (hereinafter Chang) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0337051 A1), and further in view of Lee et al. (hereinafter Lee) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0357591 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Ang, as modified by Chang, teaches receiving configuration parameters indicating BWPs and transmitting measurement/CSI reports, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting the channel state information reports for the second BWP comprises periodically transmitting the channel state reports for the second BWP.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Lee teaches wherein the transmitting the channel state information reports for the second BWP comprises periodically transmitting the channel state reports for the second BWP ([0073]; [0081]; “…A periodic or semi-persistent CSI, associated with a DL BWP, scheduled for reporting in slot n, may be reported…”; teaches periodically transmitting the CSI report for the BWP).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate periodically transmitting the CSI report for the BWP as taught by Lee with the method and apparatus receiving configuration parameters indicating BWPs and transmitting measurement/CSI reports as disclosed by Ang, as modified by Chang, for the purpose of improving BWP operations in a 5G wireless system, as suggested by Lee.
Claims 24, 25, and 28-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSENG et al. (hereinafter Tseng) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0305867 A1) in view of SHIN et al. (hereinafter Shin) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0274536 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Tseng teaches and discloses a wireless device (UE figures 2 and 11) comprising: one or more processors (processor, figure 11); and memory (memory, figure 11) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:
receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages comprising configuration parameters of a cell ([0053]; “…base station (e.g., a gNB) may configure (e.g., through RRC signaling) one or more search spaces to a UE. The UE monitors the configured search spaces in order to receive (and decode) the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) candidates included in the search space(s)…”), wherein: the configuration parameters of the cell indicate:
a bandwidth part (BWP) of the cell (BWP, figure 1); one or more first search spaces (search space 1, figure 1); and one or more second search spaces (search space 2, figure 1) ([0005]; “…a method for search space monitoring by a user equipment (UE) is provided. The method comprises monitoring a first search space and a second search space…”; [0007]; “…the first search space and the second search space are configured in a same or different bandwidth parts (BWPs)…”; [0056]; figure 1; teaches a UE receives configuration information via RRC signaling, where the configuration information includes a BWP, a first search space, and a second search space); and
the configuration parameters of the cell comprise a timer value of a first timer (timer/time period; [0056]), wherein the first timer is for monitoring a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) according to the one or more first search spaces on the BWP before starting to monitor a second PDCCH according to the one or more second search spaces on the BWP; monitor, on the BWP, the second PDCCH according to the one or more second search spaces ([0016]; [0056]; “…the UE may monitor the search space 130 in the active BWP 110 up until time T1, and at time T1, when BWP 120 becomes active, the UE may switch to monitoring the search space 140 in the active BWP…”; [0062]; “…perform the PDCCH candidates decoding process 250 by either decoding the PDCCH candidates within a search space…”; [0063]; [0084]; teaches a time period for monitoring a first PDCCH of a first search space on the BWP then switching the monitoring to a second PDCCH of a second search space based on the time period);
based on receiving a downlink control information (DCI) via the second PDCCH according to the one or more second search spaces: start monitoring, on the BWP, the first PDCCH according to the one or more first search spaces; and start the first timer based on the timer value ([0016]; [0056]; “…the UE may monitor the search space 130 in the active BWP 110 up until time T1, and at time T1, when BWP 120 becomes active, the UE may switch to monitoring the search space 140 in the active BWP…”; [0062]; “…DCI may further indicate to the UE which search space(s) should be activated and/or deactivated. The UE 220, after receiving the configured DCI, may perform the PDCCH candidates decoding process 250 by either decoding the PDCCH candidates within a search space…”; [0063]; “…the activated search space may stay valid even after the corresponding BWP is deactivated (e.g., after the serving gNB sends a DCI message to indicate to the UE to switch to another BWP (or after the BWP switch timer…”; [0084]; teaches the UE receives a DCI via the second PDCCH and starts monitoring the first PDCCH on the BWP of the search space which activates a timer/time period for monitoring).
However, Tseng may not explicitly disclose based on an expiration of the first timer: stop monitoring, on the BWP, the first PDCCH according to the one or more first search spaces; and start monitoring, on the BWP, the second PDCCH according to the one or more second search spaces (although Tseng does suggest switching monitoring based on a timer).
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Shin teaches and suggests based on an expiration of the first timer: stop monitoring, on the BWP, the first PDCCH according to the one or more first search spaces; and start monitoring, on the BWP, the second PDCCH according to the one or more second search spaces ([0010]; “…monitoring at least one first candidate PDCCH in a first search space and at least one second candidate PDCCH in a second search space…”; [0572]; “…when only one search space of two is flexibly configured to be monitored at a specific time among the above-mentioned methods, a concept of a timer (e.g., a monitoring expired timer)…”; [0578]; “…the corresponding timer may be configured to monitor a search space which is indicated only for a specific time period (e.g., x ms) from a time configured by a base station through DCI or a timer may be configured to expire after a specific number of search spaces are generated from a time configured by a base station through DCI…”; [0579]; [0580]; teaches based on the expiration of the monitoring timer, stopping the monitoring of the PDCCH of the first search space and start monitoring the PDCCH on the second search space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate based on the expiration of the monitoring timer, stopping the monitoring of the PDCCH of the first search space and start monitoring the PDCCH on the second search space as taught by Shin with the method and apparatus a time period for monitoring a first PDCCH of a first search space on the BWP then switching the monitoring to a second PDCCH of a second search space based on the time period as disclosed by Tseng for the purpose of providing scheduling flexibility and improve the monitoring of PDCCH on the search spaces, as suggested by Shin.
Regarding claim 25, Tseng, as modified by Shin, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to start or restart the first timer according to the first timer value in response to receiving a second DCI via the first PDCCH according to the one or more first search spaces after the starting monitoring the first PDCCH ([0016]; [0056]; “…the UE may monitor the search space 130 in the active BWP 110 up until time T1, and at time T1, when BWP 120 becomes active, the UE may switch to monitoring the search space 140 in the active BWP…”; [0062]; “…DCI may further indicate to the UE which search space(s) should be activated and/or deactivated. The UE 220, after receiving the configured DCI, may perform the PDCCH candidates decoding process 250 by either decoding the PDCCH candidates within a search space…”; [0063]; “…the activated search space may stay valid even after the corresponding BWP is deactivated (e.g., after the serving gNB sends a DCI message to indicate to the UE to switch to another BWP (or after the BWP switch timer…”; [0084]; teaches starting the first timer in response to receiving the DCI according the search space).
Regarding claim 28, Tseng, as modified by Shin, further teaches and suggests wherein the one or more first search spaces and the one or more second search spaces are configured on the BWP of the cell ([0007]; “…the first search space and the second search space are configured in a same or different bandwidth parts (BWPs)…”; [0056]; figure 1; teaches the first and second search space are configured on the BWP of the cell).
Regarding claim 29, Tseng, as modified by Shin, further teaches and suggests wherein: the cell is identified by a physical cell identifier (PCI) and comprises one or more first frequency resource blocks; and the BWP is identified by a BWP identifier (ID) and comprises one or more second frequency resource blocks within the one or more first frequency resource blocks of the cell ([0053]; [0054]; [0076]; [0111]; teaches the a cell identifier and information identifying the BWP and frequency resource blocks).
Regarding claim 30, Tseng, as modified by Shin, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to activate the BWP of the cell as the active BWP of the cell based on at least one of: switching from a second BWP of the cell to the BWP of the cell as the active BWP of the cell; the BWP being configured as an initial downlink BWP of the cell; the BWP being configured as the first active BWP of the cell used when the cell is activated; an expiration of a BWP inactivity timer; initiating a random access procedure; and receiving a second DCI indicating a downlink assignment on the BWP ([0016]; [0056]; “…the UE may monitor the search space 130 in the active BWP 110 up until time T1, and at time T1, when BWP 120 becomes active, the UE may switch to monitoring the search space 140 in the active BWP…”; [0062]; “…DCI may further indicate to the UE which search space(s) should be activated and/or deactivated. The UE 220, after receiving the configured DCI, may perform the PDCCH candidates decoding process 250 by either decoding the PDCCH candidates within a search space…”; [0063]; “…the activated search space may stay valid even after the corresponding BWP is deactivated (e.g., after the serving gNB sends a DCI message to indicate to the UE to switch to another BWP (or after the BWP switch timer…”; [0084]; teaches activating the BWP based on the DCI and timer).
Regarding claim 31, Tseng, as modified by Shin, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to deactivate the BWP of the cell based on at least one of: the expiration of the BWP inactivity timer; and receiving a third DCI indicating an active BWP switching from the BWP to a third BWP of the cell ([0016]; [0056]; “…the UE may monitor the search space 130 in the active BWP 110 up until time T1, and at time T1, when BWP 120 becomes active, the UE may switch to monitoring the search space 140 in the active BWP…”; [0062]; “…DCI may further indicate to the UE which search space(s) should be activated and/or deactivated. The UE 220, after receiving the configured DCI, may perform the PDCCH candidates decoding process 250 by either decoding the PDCCH candidates within a search space…”; [0063]; “…the activated search space may stay valid even after the corresponding BWP is deactivated (e.g., after the serving gNB sends a DCI message to indicate to the UE to switch to another BWP (or after the BWP switch timer…”; [0084]; teaches deactivating the BWP based on the DCI and timer).
Regarding claim 32, Tseng, as modified by Shin, further teaches and suggests wherein the configuration parameters of the cell comprise a second timer value for the BWP inactivity timer, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to start or restart the BWP inactivity timer according to the second timer value based on at least one of: the receiving the DCI; the receiving the second DCI; or the receiving the third DCI ([0016]; [0056]; “…the UE may monitor the search space 130 in the active BWP 110 up until time T1, and at time T1, when BWP 120 becomes active, the UE may switch to monitoring the search space 140 in the active BWP…”; [0062]; “…DCI may further indicate to the UE which search space(s) should be activated and/or deactivated. The UE 220, after receiving the configured DCI, may perform the PDCCH candidates decoding process 250 by either decoding the PDCCH candidates within a search space…”; [0063]; “…the activated search space may stay valid even after the corresponding BWP is deactivated (e.g., after the serving gNB sends a DCI message to indicate to the UE to switch to another BWP (or after the BWP switch timer…”; [0084]; teaches starting the first timer in response to receiving the DCI according the search space).
Regarding claim 33, Tseng, as modified by Shin, further teaches and suggests wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device to stop monitoring PDCCHs on the BWP based on the deactivating the BWP ([0059]; [0063]; “…the activation/deactivation of the BWP including the search space may further influence the search space (de)activation procedure…the activated search space may stay valid even after the corresponding BWP is deactivated (e.g., after the serving gNB sends a DCI message to indicate to the UE to switch to another BWP…”; [0069]; teaches stopping the monitoring of the PDCCH based on deactivating the BWP).
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSENG et al. (hereinafter Tseng) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2019/0305867 A1) in view of SHIN et al. (hereinafter Shin) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0274536 A1), and further in view of Gong et al. (hereinafter Gong) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0201727 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Tseng, as modified by Shin, discloses a time period for monitoring a first PDCCH of a first search space on the BWP then switching the monitoring to a second PDCCH of a second search space based on the time period, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the starting monitoring the first PDCCH is based on switching from a first mode to a second mode based on the receiving the DCI, wherein: the instructions further cause the wireless device to monitor, in the first mode and when the first BWP is the active BWP of the cell, the first PDCCH according to the one or more first search spaces; and the instructions further cause the wireless device to monitor, in the second mode and when the first BWP is the active BWP of the cell, the second PDCCH according to the one or more second search spaces.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Gong teaches and suggests wherein the starting monitoring the first PDCCH is based on switching from a first mode to a second mode based on the receiving the DCI, wherein: the instructions further cause the wireless device to monitor, in the first mode and when the first BWP is the active BWP of the cell, the first PDCCH according to the one or more first search spaces; and the instructions further cause the wireless device to monitor, in the second mode and when the first BWP is the active BWP of the cell, the second PDCCH according to the one or more second search spaces ([0074]; “…the PDCCH monitoring mode comprises one of a first PDDCH monitoring mode that corresponds to monitoring different PDCCH in different CORESET for at least two PDCCH for PUSCH or at least two PDCCH for PUSCH based on a predefined association between PDCCH and CORESET or a second PDDCH monitoring mode corresponds to monitoring one, or multiple, PDCCH in all CORESET that are configured for one search space type…”; [0319]; [0320]; teaches a first monitoring mode for monitoring a first PDCCH of the search space and a second monitoring mode monitoring a second PDDCH of the search space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a first monitoring mode for monitoring a first PDCCH of the search space and a second monitoring mode monitoring a second PDDCH of the search space as taught by Gong with the method and apparatus a time period for monitoring a first PDCCH of a first search space on the BWP then switching the monitoring to a second PDCCH of a second search space based on the time period as disclosed by Tseng, as modified by Shin, for the purpose of improve the monitoring of PDCCH on the search spaces, as suggested by Gong.
Regarding claim 27, Tseng, as modified by Shin, discloses a time period for monitoring a first PDCCH of a first search space on the BWP then switching the monitoring to a second PDCCH of a second search space based on the time period, but may not explicitly disclose the instructions further cause the wireless device to switch from the second mode to the first mode based on the expiration of the first timer, wherein based on the switching from the second mode to the first mode.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, Gong teaches and suggests the instructions further cause the wireless device to switch from the second mode to the first mode based on the expiration of the first timer, wherein based on the switching from the second mode to the first mode ([0074]; “…the PDCCH monitoring mode comprises one of a first PDDCH monitoring mode that corresponds to monitoring different PDCCH in different CORESET for at least two PDCCH for PUSCH or at least two PDCCH for PUSCH based on a predefined association between PDCCH and CORESET or a second PDDCH monitoring mode corresponds to monitoring one, or multiple, PDCCH in all CORESET that are configured for one search space type…”; [0234]; [0319]; [0320]; teaches a first monitoring mode for monitoring a first PDCCH of the search space and a second monitoring mode monitoring a second PDDCH of the search space and switching based on a timer period).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a first monitoring mode for monitoring a first PDCCH of the search space and a second monitoring mode monitoring a second PDDCH of the search space and switching based on a timer period as taught by Gong with the method and apparatus a time period for monitoring a first PDCCH of a first search space on the BWP then switching the monitoring to a second PDCCH of a second search space based on the time period as disclosed by Tseng, as modified by Shin, for the purpose of improve the monitoring of PDCCH on the search spaces, as suggested by Gong.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 11, 13, 14, 17-19, and 21-33 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
April 2, 2026
/CHIRAG G SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2477