Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lester (US-2674346-A).
Regarding claim 12, Lester discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a conveyor system (“upper trackway” Col. 4, lines 70-75) within a cavity (Sectional view Fig. 3) defined by a table housing of a table (“serving station” Col. 4, lines 55-59), one or more dishes (69) sequentially via an ingress opening (opening defined by frame 12, as shown in Fig. 2) in the table housing, wherein the table housing is configured to conceal (“cover” Col. 5, lines 53-55) the cavity;
conveying, via the conveyor system, each of the one or more dishes to a corresponding target position (69, as shown in Fig. 2) along the conveyor system; and
actuating one or more lifters (17) to lift each dish from its corresponding target position through a respective table top port (“opening being defined by a rectangular frame 68” Col. 6, lines 7-8) to a surface (61) of the table.
Regarding claim 15, Lester discloses the method of claim 12, comprising:
actuating the one or more respective lifters (17) to cause the one or more dishes (69) to descend from the surface of the table (61) through the respective table top ports (“opening being defined by a rectangular frame 68” Col. 6, lines 7-8) to the conveyor system (“upper trackway” Col. 4, lines 70-75); and
conveying, via the conveyor system, each of the one or more dishes to an egress opening (opening defined by frame 12, as shown in Fig. 2) in the table housing.
Regarding claim 16, Lester discloses the method of claim 15, comprising:
conveying, via the conveyor system (“upper trackway” Col. 4, lines 70-75), each of the one or more dishes (69) to a dish receptacle (“returning the dirty dishes to the kitchen” Col. 10 line 73 through Col. 11 line 8) via the egress opening (opening defined by frame 12, as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, Lester discloses a serving presentation table, comprising:
a table housing (“serving station” Col. 4, lines 55-59) defining a table cavity (Sectional view Fig. 3) with an entry port (opening defined by frame 12, as shown in Fig. 2) on a side surface of the table housing and a table top port (“opening being defined by a rectangular frame 68” Col. 6, lines 7-8) on a top surface of the table housing, the entry port and the table top port configured to allow a serving (69) to enter and exit the table cavity therethrough;
a table conveyor system (“upper trackway” Col. 4, lines 70-75) disposed within the table cavity and configured to convey the serving into the table cavity through the entry port;
a lifter (17) configured to transition the serving from the table cavity through the table top port; and
a concealer (“cover” Col. 5, lines 53-55) configured to conceal the table top port during transition of the serving through the table to port and to open to reveal the serving when the serving is positioned in or above the table top port.
Regarding claim 18, Lester discloses the serving presentation table of claim 17, wherein the table conveyor system comprises a plurality of conveyor segments (10) and each segment of the plurality of conveyor segments comprises a respective lifter (17) configured to be actuated to lift a respective serving (69) into a respective table top port (“opening being defined by a rectangular frame 68” Col. 6, lines 7-8) of a plurality of table top ports (plurality of openings, as shown in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Lester discloses the serving presentation table of claim 18, wherein the plurality of conveyor segments (10) comprises one or more belt conveyors (“endless belt” Col. 1, lines 19-21), roller conveyors, chain conveyors, motorized conveyors, or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 20, Lester discloses the serving presentation table of claim 17, wherein each respective lifter (17) comprises a scissor lifter, a pulley lifter (“belt and pulley connection” Col. 7, lines 48-49), or a hydraulic lifter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-11, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lester (US-2674346-A) in view of Carmona-Puga (US-20200122836-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lester discloses a table comprising a table housing (“serving station” Col. 4, lines 55-59) defining a table cavity (Sectional view Fig. 3) and a table surface (61) with a table top port (“opening being defined by a rectangular frame 68” Col. 6, lines 7-8) configured to receive the serving (69) therethrough;
a second port (opening defined by frame 12, as shown in Fig. 2) in the table housing that is configured to align and/or engage with the first port to define a passage between the cart cavity and the table cavity;
a table conveyor system (“upper trackway” Col. 4, lines 70-75) disposed within the table cavity and configured to convey the serving into the table cavity from the cart conveyor; and
a lifter (17) configured to transition the serving from the table cavity through the table top port.
Regarding claim 1, Lester does not disclose a mobile cart comprising
a cart housing defining a cart cavity;
a first port in the cart housing;
a cart conveyor system disposed within the cart cavity and configured to convey a serving from the cart cavity toward the first port. However, Carmona-Puga discloses a mobile cart comprising
a cart housing (10) defining a cart cavity (11);
a first port in the cart housing (12);
a cart conveyor system (24) disposed within the cart cavity and configured to convey a serving (20) from the cart cavity toward the first port. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving table taught by Lester with the mobile cart taught by Carmona-Puga. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that a mobile loading cart would allow for quicker swapping of dishes than a stationary serving area.
Regarding claim 6, Lester does not disclose, but Carmona-Puga discloses wherein the cart conveyor system (24) comprises a loader (24 and Paragraph 15, lines 5-6) configured to convey the serving into the cart cavity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving table taught by Lester with the loader taught by Carmona-Puga. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that a loader within the mobile cart would more easily allow for transfer of dishes between the mobile cart and serving table.
Regarding claim 7, Lester in view of Carmona-Puga teaches the serving presentation system of claim 1. Carmona-Puga further teaches a first door (30) of the first port (12). Lester further teaches a second door (“Panels” Col. 25, lines 23-26) of the second port (opening defined by frame 12, as shown in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation system of claim 1 taught by Lester in view of Carmona-Puga with the first and second doors taught by Lester and Carmona-Puga, respectively. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that having doors to cover the first and second ports would allow for blocking unwanted items from passage through the mobile cart into the serving table.
Regarding claim 8, Lester in view of Carmona-Puga teaches the serving presentation system of claim 1. Lester further teaches wherein, in an engaged system configuration, the table conveyor system (“upper trackway” Col. 4, lines 70-75) is configured to extend into the table cavity (Sectional view Fig. 3) and/or the cart conveyor system is configured to extend into the table cavity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the part prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation system of claim 1 taught by Lester in view of Carmona-Puga with the table conveyor system extending into the table cavity taught by Lester. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that the table conveyor system extending into the table cavity would allow for transfer of servings along the entire length of the table.
Regarding claim 9, Lester in view of Carmona-Puga teaches the serving presentation of claim 1. Lester discloses wherein the table conveyor system comprises a plurality of conveyor segments (10) and each segment of the plurality of conveyor segments comprises a respective lifter (17) configured to be actuated to lift a respective serving (69) into a respective table top port (“opening being defined by a rectangular frame 68” Col. 6, lines 7-8) of a plurality of table top ports (plurality of openings, as shown in Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation of Lester and Carmona-Puga with the lifters of Lester. Oen of ordinary skill in the art would identify that each conveyor segment comprising a lifter would allow multiple dishes to be lifted to the serving table simultaneously, rather than one at a time if the conveyor system only contained one lifter.
Regarding claim 10, Lester in view of Carmona-Puga teaches the serving presentation of claim 1. Lester discloses wherein the table top port (“opening being defined by a rectangular frame 68” Col. 6, lines 7-8) is one of a plurality of table top ports plurality of openings defined by 68, as shown in figure 2) and each respective table top port of the plurality of table top ports comprises a respective concealment (“cover” Col. 5, lines 53-55) configured to be actuated to cover or expose the respective table top port. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation system of claim 1 taught by Lester and Carmona-Puga with the concealment taught by Lester. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that concealing the table top port while the dish is being lifted to the table would prevent loose articles from falling into the top table port, potentially interfering with the operation of the lifter and conveying system.
Regarding claim 11, Lester does not disclose, however Carmona-Puga discloses comprising one or more sensors (29) configured to monitor positioning of the serving (20) relative to the table top port (12) and actuate the lifter (26) based on the positioning (Paragraph 33, lines 18-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation system of claim 1 taught by Lester in view of Carmona-Puga with the sensor taught by Carmona-Puga. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that actuating the lifter based on the detection of a serving would allow for automation of the transfer process between the mobile cart and serving table.
Regarding claim 13, Lester discloses the method of claim 12. Lester does not disclose, however Carmona-Puga discloses monitoring, via one or more sensors (29), respective positions of each of the one or more dishes (20) as each of the one or more dishes is conveyed via the conveyor system (26); and determining, via the one or more sensors, that the one or more dishes are in position for lifting to trigger actuating the one or more lifters (Paragraph 33, lines 18-20). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of claim 12 taught by Lester with the sensing steps taught by Carmona-Puga. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that actuating the lifter based on the detection of a dish would allow for more precision in determining when to activate the elevating mechanism.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lester (US-2674346-A) in view of Carmona-Puga (US-20200122836-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Foster (US-3981511-A).
Lester in view of Carmona-Puga teaches the serving presentation system of claim 1. Lester in view of Carmona-Puga does not teach, but Foster teaches a shelf (18) which tilts when actuated (Col. 2, lines 25-34). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation system of claim 1 taught by Lester in view of Carmona-Puga with the tilting shelf taught by Foster. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify tilting as an obvious method of conveying dishes to the front port.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lester (US-2674346-A) in view of Carmona-Puga (US-20200122836-A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Yan (CN-110638295-A).
Lester in view of Carmona-Puga teaches the method of claim 13. Lester in view of Carmona-Puga does not teach, however Yan teaches wherein the one or more sensors (27) comprise one or more pressure sensors (17) configured to monitor pressures along the conveyor system at each of the corresponding target positions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the method of claim 13 taught by Lester in view of Carmona-Puga with the pressure sensor taught by Yan. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that a pressure sensor would be an obvious sensor to use for detection of dish location along the conveyor.
Claim(s) 2, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lester (US-2674346-A) in view of Carmona-Puga (US-20200122836-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ding (CN-113229615-A).
Regarding claim 2, Lester in view of Carmona-Puga discloses the serving presentation of claim 1. Lester in view of Carmona-Puga does not disclose, but Ding discloses wherein the cart conveyor system (1) comprises a cartridge (2) comprising a plurality of shelves (207) configured to hold a plurality of servings (5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation of claim 1 taught by Lester and Carmona-Puga with the cart conveyor system of Ding. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that a cartridge having multiple shelves would allow for easier distribution of the servings from the mobile cart to the serving table.
Regarding claim 3, Lester in view of Carmona-Puga and further in view of Ding discloses the serving presentation of claim 2. Ding further discloses wherein each shelf (207) of the plurality of shelves comprises a respective conveyor portion (“Transmission roller belt” 207) configured to be cycled into an active position by the cartridge such that the respective conveyor portion can transition a respective serving toward the first port. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation of claim 2 taught by Lester in view of Carmona-Puga and Ding with the conveying shelves taught by Ding. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that the plurality of shelves being capable of conveying the servings would increase the number of servings that could be conveyed within one mobile cart.
Regarding claim 5, Lester in view of Carmona-Puga discloses the serving presentation of claim 1. Lester further discloses the table conveyor system comprises a second conveyor belt (“upper trackway” Col. 4, lines 70-75). Lester in view of Carmona-Puga does not disclose, but Ding discloses wherein the cart conveyor system comprises a first conveyor belt (207). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the serving presentation of claim 1 taught by Lester in view of Carmona-Puga with the cart conveyor system of Ding. One of ordinary skill in the art would identify that the cart containing a conveyor belt would make transfer from the mobile cart to the serving table easier and quicker.
Conclusion
/J.R.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653