DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 15-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 10, 14 of U.S. Patent No. 11848722. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed patent discloses the limitation of claim 1 of application such as receiving a synchronizing signal and determining a time to next cycle based on received synchronizing signal and scheduling the next cycle excepting some elements being omitted such as NEXT interference and opening receive window in order to broaden the claims. Therefore, the applicant is attempting to broaden the parent application's claims by eliminating some of the claim elements in the continuation at issue here. If allowed, the application at bar would unjustly extend applicant patent protection beyond the statutory period of the patent while, at the same time, granting broader protection to the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] in view of Wong [US 2010/0111113].
As claims 1 and 18, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses a method comprising: receiving a synchronization signal from a reference master node of a network [Par. 0113 discloses a sync is received from grandmaster at a node, Fig 9, S21]; determining a time to a next cycle based on based on the synchronization signal, includes the clock frequency of the reference master node, from the reference master node of the network [Par. 0113 discloses determining a time to start of next communication cycle based on receiving sync signal from grandmaster at a node wherein the sync signal includes the clock frequency of the grandmaster to be used for timing, Par. 0090]; and scheduling, based on the synchronization signal, the next cycle for a communication [Par. 0113 discloses scheduling next communication cycle based on the determined time based on received sync from grandmaster at a node]. However, Sakaue fails to disclose the synchronization signal indicating a clock frequency of the reference master. In the same field of endeavor, Wong [US 2010/0111113]. discloses the synchronization signal indicating a clock frequency of the reference master [Par. 0072].
Since a method and system for indicating clock frequency of master node in the sync message for using to synchronizing with another clock is well known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for indicating the clock frequency of the master node in the sync message as disclosed by Wong [US 2010/0111113] into the teaching of Sakaue. The motivation would have been to prevent data loss.
As claims 2 and 20, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the synchronization signal from the reference master node of the network includes information relating to an internal clock of the reference master node [Fig 3-4 discloses internal system clock for using as time grandmaster, Par. 0008].
As claim 3, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the information relating to the internal clock of the reference master node is relative to a time at which the synchronization signal was generated at the reference master node [Par. 0113 discloses time of sync signal is related to grandmaster time].
As claim 4, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the information relating to the internal clock of the reference master node is relative to a time at which the synchronization signal was transmitted by reference master node [Par. 0113 discloses time of sync signal is related to grandmaster time, 1:00 is transmission time].
As claim 5, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the time to the next cycle is determined in view of the information relating to the internal clock of the reference master node [Par. 0113 discloses time to starting of next cycle based on time of grandmaster].
As claim 6, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the synchronization signal from the reference master node of the first network includes a value related to an internal clock of the reference master node that relates to a time when the next cycle of the first network is expected to start [Par. 0113 discloses time to starting of next cycle based on time of grandmaster, 1:00 and start time is 1:30].
As claim 8, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses determining a clock deviation for a neighbor node using the synchronization signal [Par. 0069 discloses a time different between grandmaster and local time].
As claim 9, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the clock deviation for a neighbor node is determined using the synchronization signal and an internal clock of the neighbor node when the synchronization signal is received from the reference master node [Par. 0069 discloses a time different between grandmaster and local time]..
As claims 15 and 19, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the time to the next cycle is determined based on a local clock frequency of a neighbor node [Par. 0090 and 0113].
As claim 16, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the time to the next cycle is determined based on a clock deviation of a neighbor node [Par. 0069 and 0079 discloses the local clock can be advanced or retarded “acceleration or deceleration”].
As claim 17, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses determining the time to the next cycle includes determining a value for a local clock for a neighbor node [Par. 0069 and 0079 discloses the local clock can be advanced or retarded “acceleration or deceleration”].
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crocker [US 7065779] in view of Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] and Svevar [US 2017/0026446].
As claims 1 and 18, Crocker discloses a method comprising: receiving a synchronization signal from a reference master node of a first network [Fig. 3, Ref 350 send sync signal to Ref 306]. However, Crocker fails to disclose determining a time to a next cycle based on based on the synchronization signal from the reference master node of the first network; and scheduling, based on the synchronization signal, the next cycle for a communication. In the same field of endeavor, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] determining a time to a next cycle based on based on the synchronization signal, includes the clock frequency of the reference master node, from the reference master node of the network [Par. 0113 discloses determining a time to start of next communication cycle based on receiving sync signal from grandmaster at a node]; and scheduling, based on the synchronization signal, the next cycle for a communication [Par. 0113 discloses scheduling next communication cycle based on the determined time based on received sync from grandmaster at a node by setting a time for starting a nex communication cycle]. However, Crocker and Sakaue fail to disclose the synchronization signal indicating a clock frequency of the reference master. In the same field of endeavor, Svevar [US 2017/0026446] discloses the synchronization signal indicating a clock frequency of the reference master [Par. 0040, 0045, 0058 discloses time-stamp indicating a clock frequency of clock of transmitter to receiver node].
Since a method and system for indicating clock frequency of master node in the sync message for using to synchronizing with another clock is well known and expected in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to apply a method and system for indicating the clock frequency of the master node in the sync message as disclosed by Svevar into the teaching of Sakaue which discloses a method and system for determining a time to start a communication cycle into the teaching of Crocker. The motivation would have been to reduce communication error..
As claims 2 and 20, Crocker discloses the synchronization signal from the reference master node of the first network includes information relating to an internal clock of the reference master node [Fig 3 discloses current timestamp of master is relative to internal time reference of MAC, Col. 9:5-27].
As claim 3, Crocker discloses the information relating to the internal clock of the reference master node is relative to a time at which the synchronization signal was generated at the reference master node [Fig 3 discloses current timestamp of master is relative to internal time reference of MAC, Col. 9:5-27].
As claim 4, Crocker discloses the information relating to the internal clock of the reference master node is relative to a time at which the synchronization signal was transmitted by reference master node [Fig 3 discloses current timestamp of master is relative to internal time reference of MAC, Col. 9:5-27].
As claim 5, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the time to the next cycle is determined in view of the information relating to the internal clock of the reference master node [Par. 0113 discloses time to starting of next cycle based on time of grandmaster].
As claim 6, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the synchronization signal from the reference master node of the first network includes a value related to an internal clock of the reference master node that relates to a time when the next cycle of the first network is expected to start [Par. 0113 discloses time to starting of next cycle based on time of grandmaster, 1:00 and start time is 1:30].
As claim 8, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses determining a clock deviation for a neighbor node using the synchronization signal [Par. 0069 discloses a time different between grandmaster and local time].
As claim 9, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the clock deviation for a neighbor node is determined using the synchronization signal and an internal clock of the neighbor node when the synchronization signal is received from the reference master node [Par. 0069 discloses a time different between grandmaster and local time]..
As claims 15 and 19, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the time to the next cycle is determined based on a local clock frequency of a neighbor node [Par. 0090 and 0113].
As claim 16, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses the time to the next cycle is determined based on a clock deviation of a neighbor node [Par. 0069 and 0079 discloses the local clock can be advanced or retarded “acceleration or deceleration”].
As claim 17, Sakaue [US 2021/0152322] discloses determining the time to the next cycle includes determining a value for a local clock for a neighbor node [Par. 0069 and 0079 discloses the local clock can be advanced or retarded “acceleration or deceleration”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bingham [US 5680394] discloses system clock for synchronizing with local transceiver clock.
In [US 2012/0044827] discloses synchronizing the scheduling of nodes.
Zadicaro [US 8301760] discloses a method and system for synchronizing the scheduling of nodes.
Moreno [US 2018/0138943] discloses a method and system for synchronizing the scheduling of nodes.
/STEVEN HIEU D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414