DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/18/2023.
Claims 1- 30 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 12/18/2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sedin et al. (US 20230054655 A1), hereinafter “Sedin”; and in further view of Lin et al. (US 20240049307 A1), hereinafter “Lin”.
Regarding claim 1, Sedin teaches A user equipment (UE) [Fig. 17], comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to [Sedin: Fig. 17; items 114,116,118]:
receive control information indicating one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion configurations for a first message of a two-step random access channel procedure [Sedin: Fig. 13; Par. 146 teaches receiving msg with PUSCH configurations], wherein the one or more PUSCH occasion configurations are associated with a plurality of synchronization signal block indices [Sedin: Fig. 6; Par. 73, 74 teaches PUSCH occasion ae based on indexes associated with SSB in mapping]; and
However, Sedin does not teach transmit, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmit, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration [Lin: Fig. 3A; ar. 103-105 teaches of transmit two-step random access in PRACH preamble in the message; Par. 151 teaches PUSCH resources are also allocated] , wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Lin for associating two-step procedure with signal block index. The teaching of Lin, when implemented in the Sedin system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide SS blocks associating with valid occasion [Lin; Par. 119].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches receive a first information element indicating the first PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a first quantity of PUSCH occasions [Sedin: Fig. 15; Par. 172 teaches receiving msg including PUCH message indicates PUSCH occasions (Par. 177); and
receive a second information element indicating the second PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the second PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a second quantity of PUSCH occasions different from the first quantity [Sedin: Par. 82 teaches msg PUSCH occasions can have two different PUSCH occasions].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches herein the first information element comprises an indication of the first synchronization signal block index, and wherein the second information element comprises an indication of the second synchronization signal block index [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 3. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first information element comprises an indication of a third synchronization signal block index associated with a third beam, and wherein a third PUSCH occasion configuration for the third beam is associated with the first quantity of PUSCH occasions [Sedin: Par. 82 teaches msg PUSCH occasions can have two different PUSCH occasions].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches identify a mapping between the first synchronization signal block index and the first PUSCH occasion configuration based at least in part on the first attribute [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches receive a first information element comprising a first parameter indicating the first PUSCH occasion configuration and a second parameter indicating the second PUSCH occasion configuration [Sedin: Fig. 2; Par. 70 teaches receiving msg2, msg 4 with information of PUSCH occasions], wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a first quantity of PUSCH occasions and the second PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a second quantity of PUSCH occasions different from the first quantity [Sedin: Par. 82 teaches msg PUSCH occasions can have two different PUSCH occasions].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 6. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first information element comprises an indication of a mapping between the first synchronization signal block index and the first parameter and a mapping between the second synchronization signal block index and the second parameter [Sedin: Par. 72-74 teaches mapping of SSBs and PBCH and other parameters].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 7. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first information element comprises an indication of a mapping between the first parameter and a third synchronization signal block index associated with a third beam, and wherein a third PUSCH occasion configuration for the third beam is associated with the first quantity of PUSCH occasions [Lin: Par. 151-153 teaches receiving of PUSCH resources and mapping for different beams correspondingly].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 6. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches identify a mapping between the first synchronization signal block index and the first PUSCH occasion configuration based at least in part on the first attribute [See Sedin: Par. 72 and Lin: Par. 151].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches receive an information element indicating a quantity of PUSCH occasions associated with the plurality of synchronization signal block indices [Sedin: Fig. 6; Par. 73, 74 teaches PRACH occasion ae based on indexes associated with SSB in mapping].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches select a first subset of the quantity of PUSCH occasions based at least in part on the first attribute and a second subset of the quantity of PUSCH occasions based at least in part on the second attribute, wherein the first subset comprises the first PUSCH occasion configuration and the second subset comprises the second PUSCH occasion configuration [Lin: Par. 101, 102 teaches UE selecting PUSCH for terminal identification and transmit the preamble on same resource].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 11. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches receive a control message indicating one or more thresholds, wherein selecting the first subset and the second subset is based at least in part on the one or more thresholds [Lin: Par. 93 teaches about threshold need for performances].
Regarding claim 13, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches receive a control message indicating a first quantity of PUSCH occasions in the first subset and a second quantity of PUSCH occasions in the second subset, wherein the first quantity and the second quantity are associated with the first synchronization signal block index and the second synchronization signal block index, respectively, and wherein selecting the first subset and the second subset is based at least in part on the first quantity and the second quantity [Lin: Par. 151-153 teaches receiving of PUSCH resources and mapping for different beams correspondingly].
Regarding claim 14, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first attribute and the second attribute comprise a first quantity of random access channel occasions associated with the first synchronization signal block index and a second quantity of random access channel occasions associated with the second synchronization signal block index, respectively [Lin: Par. 120 teaches of index associated with each SS/PBCH].
Regarding claim 15, Sedin teaches A network entity, comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to [Sedin: Fig. 18]:
output control information indicating one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion configurations for a first message of a two-step random access channel procedure [Sedin: Fig. 13; Par. 146 teaches receiving msg with PUSCH configurations], wherein the one or more PUSCH occasion configurations are associated with a plurality of synchronization signal block indices [Sedin: Fig. 6; Par. 73, 74 teaches PRACH occasion ae based on indexes associated with SSB in mapping];
However, Sedin does not teach obtain, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches obtain, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration [Lin: Fig. 3A; ar. 103-105 teaches of transmit two-step random access in PRACH preamble in the message; Par. 151 teaches PUSCH resources are also allocated] , wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Lin for associating two-step procedure with signal block index. The teaching of Lin, when implemented in the Sedin system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide SS blocks associating with valid occasion [Lin; Par. 119].
Regarding claim 16, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 17. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches output a first information element indicating the first PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a first quantity of PUSCH occasions; [Sedin: Fig. 15; Par. 172 teaches receiving msg including PUCH message indicates PUSCH occasions (Par. 177); and
output a second information element indicating the second PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the second PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a second quantity of PUSCH occasions different from the first quantity [Sedin: Par. 82 teaches msg PUSCH occasions can have two different PUSCH occasions].
Regarding claim 17, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 16. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches herein the first information element comprises an indication of the first synchronization signal block index, and wherein the second information element comprises an indication of the second synchronization signal block index [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots].
Regarding claim 18, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 17. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first information element comprises an indication of a third synchronization signal block index associated with a third beam, and wherein a third PUSCH occasion configuration for the third beam is associated with the first quantity of PUSCH occasions [Sedin: Par. 82 teaches msg PUSCH occasions can have two different PUSCH occasions].
Regarding claim 19, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 16. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches identify a mapping between the first synchronization signal block index and the first PUSCH occasion configuration based at least in part on the first attribute [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots].
Regarding claim 20, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches output a first information element comprising a first parameter indicating the first PUSCH occasion configuration and a second parameter indicating the second PUSCH occasion configuration [Sedin: Fig. 2; Par. 70 teaches receiving msg2, msg 4 with information of PUSCH occasions], wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a first quantity of PUSCH occasions and the second PUSCH occasion configuration is associated with a second quantity of PUSCH occasions different from the first quantity [Sedin: Par. 82 teaches msg PUSCH occasions can have two different PUSCH occasions].
Regarding claim 21, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 20. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first information element comprises an indication of a mapping between the first synchronization signal block index and the first parameter and a mapping between the second synchronization signal block index and the second parameter [Sedin: Par. 72-74 teaches mapping of SSBs and PBCH and other parameters].
Regarding claim 22, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 21. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first information element comprises an indication of a mapping between the first parameter and a third synchronization signal block index associated with a third beam, and wherein a third PUSCH occasion configuration for the third beam is associated with the first quantity of PUSCH occasions [Lin: Par. 151-153 teaches receiving of PUSCH resources and mapping for different beams correspondingly].
Regarding claim 23, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 20. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches identify a mapping between the first synchronization signal block index and the first PUSCH occasion configuration based at least in part on the first attribute [See Sedin: Par. 72 and Lin: Par. 151].
Regarding claim 24, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches output an information element indicating a quantity of PUSCH occasions associated with the plurality of synchronization signal block indices [Sedin: Fig. 6; Par. 73, 74 teaches PRACH occasion ae based on indexes associated with SSB in mapping].
Regarding claim 25, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches select a first subset of the quantity of PUSCH occasions based at least in part on the first attribute and a second subset of the quantity of PUSCH occasions based at least in part on the second attribute, wherein the first subset comprises the first PUSCH occasion configuration and the second subset comprises the second PUSCH occasion configuration [Lin: Par. 101, 102 teaches UE selecting PUSCH for terminal identification and transmit the preamble on same resource].
Regarding claim 26, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 25. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches output a control message indicating one or more thresholds, wherein selecting the first subset and the second subset is based at least in part on the one or more thresholds [Lin: Par. 93 teaches about threshold need for performances].
Regarding claim 27, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 25. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches output a control message indicating a first quantity of PUSCH occasions in the first subset and a second quantity of PUSCH occasions in the second subset, wherein the first quantity and the second quantity are associated with the first synchronization signal block index and the second synchronization signal block index, respectively, and wherein selecting the first subset and the second subset is based at least in part on the first quantity and the second quantity [Lin: Par. 151-153 teaches receiving of PUSCH resources and mapping for different beams correspondingly].
Regarding claim 28, the combined Sedin in view of Lin teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Sedin in view of Lin further teaches wherein the first attribute and the second attribute comprise a first quantity of random access channel occasions associated with the first synchronization signal block index and a second quantity of random access channel occasions associated with the second synchronization signal block index, respectively [Lin: Par. 120 teaches of index associated with each SS/PBCH].
Regarding claim 29, Sedin teaches A method for wireless communications by a user equipment (UE), comprising [Sedin: Fig. 17; items 114,116,118]:
receiving control information indicating one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion configurations for a first message of a two-step random access channel procedure [Sedin: Fig. 13; Par. 146 teaches receiving msg with PUSCH configurations], wherein the one or more PUSCH occasion configurations are associated with a plurality of synchronization signal block indices [Sedin: Fig. 6; Par. 73, 74 teaches PRACH occasion ae based on indexes associated with SSB in mapping]; and
However, Sedin does not teach transmitting, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmitting, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration [Lin: Fig. 3A; ar. 103-105 teaches of transmit two-step random access in PRACH preamble in the message; Par. 151 teaches PUSCH resources are also allocated] , wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Lin for associating two-step procedure with signal block index. The teaching of Lin, when implemented in the Sedin system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide SS blocks associating with valid occasion [Lin; Par. 119].
Regarding claim 30, Sedin teaches A method for wireless communications by a network entity, comprising [Sedin: Fig. 18]:
outputting control information indicating one or more physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) occasion configurations for a first message of a two-step random access channel procedure [Sedin: Fig. 13; Par. 146 teaches receiving msg with PUSCH configurations], wherein the one or more PUSCH occasion configurations are associated with a plurality of synchronization signal block indices [Sedin: Fig. 6; Par. 73, 74 teaches PRACH occasion ae based on indexes associated with SSB in mapping];
However, Sedin does not teach obtaining, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration, wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam.
Nevertheless, Lin, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches obtaining, based at least in part on the control information, the first message of the two-step random access channel procedure via a first beam associated with a first synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices and according to a first PUSCH occasion configuration [Lin: Fig. 3A; ar. 103-105 teaches of transmit two-step random access in PRACH preamble in the message; Par. 151 teaches PUSCH resources are also allocated] , wherein the first PUSCH occasion configuration is different from a second PUSCH occasion configuration for a second beam associated with a second synchronization signal block index of the plurality of synchronization signal block indices based at least in part on a first attribute of the first beam being different than a second attribute of the second beam [Lin: Par. 109-110, 120 teaches PUSCH occasions are associated with index of SS block and mapped in different slots ].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Lin for associating two-step procedure with signal block index. The teaching of Lin, when implemented in the Sedin system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to provide SS blocks associating with valid occasion [Lin; Par. 119].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412