DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
This application claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/629,952, filed December 18, 2022. Claims 8-10 and 19-20 are disclosed in the provisional application, and as such would have an effective filing date of December 18, 2022. Claims 1-7 and 15-18 are much broader in scope such that one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it readily apparent that the inventors possessed said level of scope at the time of filing the provisional application, and as such would have an effective filing date of December 18, 2023.
Response to Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 28, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 28, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 1, line 3, remove “having” from “coating having disposed on the conductive substrate”.
In Claim 1, lines 3-4, “the carbon capture material” should read “the composite carbon capture material coating”.
In Claim 20, line 1, “methods” should read “method”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a high surface-area carbon capture material” in line 4. The term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no reference value, or standard for comparison, for “high”.
Claims 2-10 are rejected due to their dependence on the rejected claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “a high surface area substrate” in line 2. The term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no reference value, or standard for comparison, for “high”. (maybe not rejected because of the selected from limitation?)
Claim 3 recites the limitation “hybrid materials such as metal-organic frameworks” in lines 3-4. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 3-8 recite the limitation “the high surface-area carbon capture material” in lines 1-2. The term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no reference value, or standard for comparison, for “high”.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "zeolites" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “a high surface-area carbon capture material” in line 3. The term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no reference value, or standard for comparison, for “high”.
Claims 16-20 are rejected due to their dependence on the rejected claim 15.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a high surface area substrate” in line 1. The term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no reference value, or standard for comparison, for “high”. (maybe not rejected because of the selected from limitation?)
Claim 17 recites the limitation “hybrid materials such as metal-organic frameworks” in lines 3-4. The phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 17-19 recite the limitation “the high surface-area carbon capture material” in line 1. The term “high” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no reference value, or standard for comparison, for “high”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 10, 15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lively et al. (US 2025/0276279 A1) in view of Gadkaree et al. (US 2019/0262762 A1).
With regard to Claims 1, 3-4, 8, 15, and 17-18, Lively teaches sorbent coated carbon fibers for CO2 capture (Abstract).
Lively teaches the CO2 capture material comprising a carbon fiber comprising multi-walled or single-walled carbon nanotubes (Paragraph 0013).
Lively teaches the CO2 capture material comprising a porous support, wherein the porous support comprises a zeolite (Paragraph 0016).
Lively teaches the CO2 capture material comprising an adsorbent material, wherein the adsorbent material comprises polyethyleneimine, or PEI (Paragraph 0018).
Lively teaches the method of forming the composite carbon capture material mixture, comprising sorbent-coated carbon fibers (carbon nanotubes) and mesoporous silica as a high surface-area carbon capture material (Paragraph 0083).
Lively discloses modifying sorbent-coated carbon fibers with PEI (Paragraph 0084).
Lively is silent to a conductive substrate and a power supply electrically connected with the conductive substrate, wherein application of a current from the power supply to the conductive substrate results in resistive heating of the carbon capture material.
Lively is silent to coating a conductive substrate and electrically connecting a power supply with the conductive substrate.
Gadkaree, in a sorbent structure with resistive heating capability, teaches the sorbent structure wherein the sides of the structure are conductive and electrically connect to a power supply (Figs. 1a, 1b, 2; Paragraph 0041).
Gadkaree teaches embodiments wherein the sides of the structure are coated with a paste or a strip of metal is attached with an adhesive, serving as the conductive substrate (Paragraph 0062).
Gadkaree notes that direct heating of the sorbent structure improves CO2 desorption efficiency through thermal energy generation (Paragraph 0038).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for Lively to teach a conductive substrate in connection with a power supply, wherein application of a current from the power supply to the conductive substrate results in resistive heating of the carbon capture material, as taught in Gadkaree, to improve CO2 desorption efficiency.
With regard to Claims 10 and 20, Gadkaree teaches the current from the power supply being capable of heating the carbon capture sorption element from temperatures above 220°C, i.e. 300°C (Paragraph 0071).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lively et al. (US 2025/0276279 A1) in view of Gadkaree et al. (US 2019/0262762 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (“High-Durable AgNi Nanomesh Film for a Transparent Conducting Electrode”).
With regard to Claims 2 and 16, modified Lively is silent to the conductive substrate selected from carbon foam and metal mesh.
Kim teaches an AgNi nanomesh structure, which achieves strong adhesion and high thermal and chemical stability (3. Conclusion; high-durable AgNi nano mesh TCE that exhibit strong adhesion… The flexible AgNi nanomesh TCE exhibited optical and electrical properties comparable to those of ITO, long-term stability to oxidation, as well as thermal and chemical stability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for modified Lively to teach a metal mesh structure, as taught in Kim, to achieve strong adhesion and high thermal and chemical stability.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6 and 7 would be allowable outside of the above 112(b) rejection. Claims 9 and 19 are dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claims 5, 9 and 19, the closest prior art to this claim is: Ma et al. (“A novel activating strategy to achieve highly porous carbon monoliths for CO2 capture”), Lively et al. (US 2025/0276279 A1), and Gadkaree et al. (US 2019/0262762 A1).
Ma teaches highly porous carbon monoliths with sodium alginate for CO2 capture (Abstract). However, Ma does not teach or suggest the sodium alginate present in a concentration of 10 to 40 wt%, or of up to 30 wt%. Further, Lively and Gadkaree do not teach or suggest the material comprising sodium alginate present in a concentration of 10 to 40 wt%, or of up to 30 wt%.
As to claim 6, the closest prior art to this claim is: Lively et al. (US 2025/0276279 A1) and Gadkaree et al. (US 2019/0262762 A1). None of the prior art teach or suggest, alone or in combination, the high surface-area carbon capture material dispersed within the coating such that an average distance between zeolites is between 0.5 and 5 μm.
As to claim 7, the closest prior art to this claim is: Arellano et al. (“Carbon dioxide adsorption by zinc-functionalized ionic liquid impregnated into bio-templated mesoporous silica beads”), Li et al. (“Control of lipase digestibility of emulsified lipids by encapsulation within calcium alginate beads”)Lively et al. (US 2025/0276279 A1) and Gadkaree et al. (US 2019/0262762 A1).
Arellano teaches a hybrid CO2 sorbent which uses calcium alginate beads as a template (Abstract). However, the alginate nature is removed from the bead template, and there is no motivation for the alginate to remain in the final CO2 sorbent product.
Li notes that the use of calcium alginate beads provides a chemically inert environment to enable entrapment of various chemical compounds (Page 123 of Li, 1. Introduction; it has been shown that the chemically inert environment present within alginate beads allows for the entrapment of a wide range of bioactive substances, cells and drug molecules). However, Li is non-analogous art to the instant invention. Further, Lively and Gadkaree do not teach or suggest the material comprising calcium alginate polymer beads.
Conclusion
/A.Y.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/RICHARD M RUMP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759