DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 51 of the originally filed specification erroneously refers to numeral 720 as “the receptacle”. However, in Figure 7, numeral 720 is the computing device. It does not appear that “the receptacle” has a numeral in Figure 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claims 3 and 4
“the at least one connection mechanism is configured to removably connect the at least one housing to the at least one receptacle” (as found in claim 3)
The generic placeholder is “mechanism”, with transition phrase “configured to”, and functional language “removably connect the at least one housing to the at least one receptacle”. It is noted that additional functional language is found in claim 4 for this same term.
Paragraph 39 of the PGPUB 2025/0195907 states that “the first connection mechanism 130 may be configured to facilitate completion of an electrical circuit between a power source and the light source 110. In some aspects, the connection mechanism may comprise one or more magnets, one or more clasps, or one or more hook and loop mechanisms, as non-limiting examples.” Additionally, it teaches that “In some aspects, the first connection mechanism 130 may be electrically connected to the light source 110 via one or more electrical connections. In some embodiments, the wearable therapeutic device 100 may comprise a second at least one connection mechanism. In some aspects, the one or more electrical connections may comprise electrical wires, threads, or any other mechanism that may facilitate an electrical connection.”
See the rejection below regarding this limitation under 35 USC 112(b).
Claims 9 and 20
“At least one transportation apparatus” … “configured to facilitate movement of the at least one housing within the at least one receptacle”
The generic placeholder is “apparatus”, with transition phrase “configured to”, and functional language “facilitate movement of the at least one housing within the at least one receptacle”.
Paragraph 54 of the PGPUB 2025/0195907 states “the transportation apparatus may comprise at least one of: a track, a grid system, a belt system, or a pulley system, as non-limiting examples.”
Claims 14 and 16
“the first at least one connection mechanism … completes an electrical circuit between the at least one light source and the at least one power source”
The generic placeholder is “mechanism”, with transition phrase “configured to”, and functional language “completes an electrical circuit between the at least one light source and the at least one power source”.
Paragraph 39 of the PGPUB 2025/0195907 states that “the first connection mechanism 130 may be configured to facilitate completion of an electrical circuit between a power source and the light source 110. In some aspects, the connection mechanism may comprise one or more magnets, one or more clasps, or one or more hook and loop mechanisms, as non-limiting examples.” Additionally, it teaches that “In some aspects, the first connection mechanism 130 may be electrically connected to the light source 110 via one or more electrical connections. In some embodiments, the wearable therapeutic device 100 may comprise a second at least one connection mechanism. In some aspects, the one or more electrical connections may comprise electrical wires, threads, or any other mechanism that may facilitate an electrical connection.”
See the rejection below regarding this limitation under 35 USC 112(b).
“the second at least one connection mechanism … completes an electrical circuit between the at least one light source and the at least one power source”
The generic placeholder is “mechanism”, with transition phrase “configured to”, and functional language “completes an electrical circuit between the at least one light source and the at least one power source”.
Paragraph 39 of the PGPUB 2025/0195907 states that “the first connection mechanism 130 may be configured to facilitate completion of an electrical circuit between a power source and the light source 110. In some aspects, the connection mechanism may comprise one or more magnets, one or more clasps, or one or more hook and loop mechanisms, as non-limiting examples.” Additionally, it teaches that “In some aspects, the first connection mechanism 130 may be electrically connected to the light source 110 via one or more electrical connections. In some embodiments, the wearable therapeutic device 100 may comprise a second at least one connection mechanism. In some aspects, the one or more electrical connections may comprise electrical wires, threads, or any other mechanism that may facilitate an electrical connection.”
See the rejection below regarding this limitation under 35 USC 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4, 14 and 16, the terms “at least one connection mechanism”, “the first at least one connection mechanism” and “the second at least one connection mechanism” each invoke 35 USC 112(f), as stated above. As described above, the specification describes that connection mechanism as one of “one or more magnets, one or more clasps, or one or more hook and loop mechanisms, as non-limiting examples” or “electrical wires, threads, or any other mechanism that may facilitate an electrical connection”. Its unclear how these are the same and how they would perform a similar function, and therefore the claim is unclear and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siegel et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0263395).
Regarding claim 1, Siegel discloses a modular low-level light therapy system employing semiconductor light sources (see Title). Figure 2 illustrates “illumination system body 20 comprises an area containing the light source 14, circuit 16, and the at least one conduit 18 electrically coupling the light source 14 to the circuit 16” (see paragraph 41). “In one embodiment, the circuit 16 is configured to provide power to the light source 14” (see paragraph 38). Therefore, Siegel teaches a therapeutic device that comprises at least one light source configured to provide a therapeutic effect and at least one power source configured to power that at least one light source. Additionally, paragraph 42 discusses the various options for substrates that are used to create illumination system body 20, which reads on “at least one receptacle… configured to at least partially enclose the at least one light source and the at least one power source”, as claimed. With regard to the wherein clause, it is noted that paragraph 49 teaches “As shown [in Fig. 7], the shirt 70 includes a shirt body 72 having at least one low-level light therapy system coupled thereto or included thereon. In the illustrated embodiment, a first one low-level light therapy system 74 and a second one low-level light therapy system 76 are detachably coupled to the shirt 70.” It is additionally noted that “As shown in FIGS. 4-8, the low-level light therapy system disclosed herein may be attached to or otherwise incorporated into any number of garment, braces, and the like. Exemplary garments include, without limitations, shirts, pants shorts, socks, headbands, skull caps, scarves, hats, caps, gloves, and the like” (see paragraph 51).
Regarding claim 2, it is noted that paragraph 43 of Siegel discusses that the power supply of system 20 may be rechargeable and, as such “may be recharged by conventional means through a wired connection (e.g., utilizing a standardized connector such as a micro USB port). This teaches that there is “at least one connection mechanism”. Additionally, numeral 18 in Figure 2 illustrates a connection mechanism between the light source and the circuit.
Regarding claim 5, it is re-iterated that Siegel teaches that the device 20 comprises at least one circuit board (see element 16 in Figure 2 and paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 6, Siegel teaches that “in one embodiment at least one power supply system is included within circuit 16 of the illumination system 20. Exemplary power supply systems include, for example, batteries. In one embodiment, the power supply system may be rechargeable” (see paragraph 43). This teaches that one component of the circuit 16 is a power supply, and Figure 2 illustrates conduit 18 electrically coupling the light source 14 to the circuit 16 (see paragraph 41). Therefore, this reads on the claim.
Regarding claim 10, it is initially noted that lines 2-11 are the same as claim 1, and as such are rejected for the same basis as is described above for claim 1. Claim 10 then adds the limitation of “one or more articles of clothing” for which the at least one wearable therapeutic device is configured to be at least temporarily secured. It is re-iterated that in additional to the specific shirt shown in Figure 7, Siegel teaches “As shown in FIGS. 4-8, the low-level light therapy system disclosed herein may be attached to or otherwise incorporated into any number of garment, braces, and the like. Exemplary garments include, without limitations, shirts, pants shorts, socks, headbands, skull caps, scarves, hats, caps, gloves, and the like” (see paragraph 51).
Regarding claim 11, it is re-iterated that Siegel teaches that the device 20 comprises at least one circuit board (see element 16 in Figure 2 and paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 12, Siegel teaches that “in one embodiment at least one power supply system is included within circuit 16 of the illumination system 20. Exemplary power supply systems include, for example, batteries. In one embodiment, the power supply system may be rechargeable” (see paragraph 43). This teaches that one component of the circuit 16 is a power supply, and Figure 2 illustrates conduit 18 electrically coupling the light source 14 to the circuit 16 (see paragraph 41). Therefore, this reads on the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, in view of Gu et al. (EP 4302822).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Siegel is described above with respect to claim 1. However, Siegel does not teach a connection mechanism that reads on the connection mechanism may comprise one or more magnets, one or more clasps, or one or more hook and loop mechanisms, as non-limiting examples. And more specifically, Siegel fails to teach a housing comprising the light source, such that the connection mechanism is configured to removably connect that at least one housing to the receptacle, as in claim 3.
Gu teaches “a personal treatment device for performing low-level light therapy (LLLT) on a subject. Specifically, a connection assembly has been proposed that allows the releasable coupling of a light source module to a shell… The connection assembly allows the placement of the light source module in a plurality of different positions whilst ensuring an electrical connection of the light source module to an electrical power source” (see Abstract). The light source module 120 shown below comprises a housing (which connects an actual source of light to a connection assembly 130:
As can be seen in the annotated figures above, the light source modules illustrated show two distinct connection assemblies. In the figures, “the depicted example also includes an anode 144 and a cathode 144 of the light source module 120. These may be connected (either physically or inductively) to electrode tracks 142. These electrode tracks 142 may facilitate the connection between the light source module 120 and the electrical power source” (see paragraph 63). Therefore, this teaches “at least one connection mechanism” as in claim 2, as well as a housing where the housing comprises the light source and the connection mechanism removably connects the at least one housing to at least one receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the removable light sources, as taught by Gu, into the system of Siegel because “the capability to selectively couple a light source module at a plurality of locations on the shell may improve such devices, while avoiding costs associated with increasing the number of provided light sources at non target locations” (see paragraph 8).
Regarding claim 4, it is re-iterated that ““the depicted example also includes an anode 144 and a cathode 144 of the light source module 120. These may be connected (either physically or inductively) to electrode tracks 142. These electrode tracks 142 may facilitate the connection between the light source module 120 and the electrical power source” (see paragraph 63).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 11, it is noted that in addition to Siegel teaching circuits 16, Gu also teaches that “In some embodiments, the connection assembly may be provided on a printed circuit board (PCB). This may provide a cost effective and secure means for releasable coupling the light source module and the shell. Indeed, the shell may be a FPCB, or flexible PCB” (see paragraph 29).
Regarding claim 12, it is re-iterated that Gu teaches that “the depicted example also includes an anode 142 and a cathode 144 of the light source module 120. These may be connected (either physically or inductively) to electrode tracks 142. These electrode tracks 142 may facilitate the connection between the light source module 120 and the electrical power source” (see paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 14, it is noted that the claimed “first at least one connection mechanism” is illustrated in Figures 1 and 4 of Gu as numeral 144, while the claimed “second at least one connection mechanism” is illustrated as numeral 142. And “the depicted example also includes an anode 142 and a cathode 144 of the light source module 120. These may be connected (either physically or inductively) to electrode tracks 142. These electrode tracks 142 may facilitate the connection between the light source module 120 and the electrical power source” (see paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 15, it is re-iterated that in the annotated figures above, it can be seen that the light source modules illustrated show two distinct connection assemblies. In the figures, “the depicted example also includes an anode 144 and a cathode 144 of the light source module 120. These may be connected (either physically or inductively) to electrode tracks 142. These electrode tracks 142 may facilitate the connection between the light source module 120 and the electrical power source” (see paragraph 63). Therefore, this teaches “at least one connection mechanism” as in claim 2, as well as a housing where the housing comprises the light source and the connection mechanism removably connects the at least one housing to at least one receptacle.
Claims 7-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Kim (WO 2008/097062).
Regarding claims 7 and 13, Siegel is described above with respect to claims 1 and 10. However, Siegel does not explicitly teach the use of a lens with the light source.
Kim teaches “a laser diode assembly for medical therapy and a medical therapy sheet” (see Technical Field on page 1) and relates to semiconductor laser diodes (see page 1, lines 21-23) in low level laser therapy (see page 2, lines 16-22). As such, Kim is in the same field of endeavor as Siegel. Kim specifically teaches “a medical therapy laser diode assembly and a medical therapy sheet that can allow laser diodes to be easily installed… and also allow the laser diodes to be easily separated from the medical therapy mat, resulting in increased ease of maintenance” (see page 3, line 22 through page 4, line 2). As illustrated in several figures, there is a laser diode illustrated in which there is a housing 110/120 that surrounds the laser diode (see Figs. 2, 4, 6-9, 11 and 16-17). Most importantly, in the embodiment shown in Figure 7, “The hemispherical lenses 420d are made of transparent material so as to diffuse laser beams emitted from the laser diode in a large area” (see page 16, lines 4-15). Additionally, Kim states that “A lens (not shown) , which allows the light from the light source to pass therethrough, is provided to an upper end portion of the light penetration hole of the cylindrical cover 150b” (see page 10, lines 1-4). Also see page 27, lines 17-26 for additional discussion of the lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a lens, as taught by Kim, with the system of Siegel as a means of sealing the housing around the laser and circuit board (see “upper portions of the laser diodes 150 are sealed by the lenses 420d of the second housing 420, so that it is possible to prevent moisture or mist from intruding into the laser diodes 150 or the driving circuit boards 160” – see page 18, line 25 through page 19, line 3).
Regarding claim 8, at least Figures 7 and 8 illustrate the lens 420d integrated as part of the housing, along with the light itself.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel as applied to claim 1 and 10 above, in view of Gu and Kim.
Regarding claim 16, Siegel discloses a modular low-level light therapy system employing semiconductor light sources (see Title). Figure 2 illustrates “illumination system body 20 comprises an area containing the light source 14, circuit 16, and the at least one conduit 18 electrically coupling the light source 14 to the circuit 16” (see paragraph 41). “In one embodiment, the circuit 16 is configured to provide power to the light source 14” (see paragraph 38). Therefore, Siegel teaches a therapeutic device that comprises at least one light source configured to provide a therapeutic effect and at least one power source configured to power that at least one light source. Additionally, paragraph 42 discusses the various options for substrates that are used to create illumination system body 20, which reads on “at least one receptacle… configured to at least partially enclose the at least one light source and the at least one power source”, as claimed. With regard to the wherein clause, it is noted that paragraph 49 teaches “As shown [in Fig. 7], the shirt 70 includes a shirt body 72 having at least one low-level light therapy system coupled thereto or included thereon. In the illustrated embodiment, a first one low-level light therapy system 74 and a second one low-level light therapy system 76 are detachably coupled to the shirt 70.” It is additionally noted that “As shown in FIGS. 4-8, the low-level light therapy system disclosed herein may be attached to or otherwise incorporated into any number of garment, braces, and the like. Exemplary garments include, without limitations, shirts, pants shorts, socks, headbands, skull caps, scarves, hats, caps, gloves, and the like” (see paragraph 51).
However, Siegel does not teach a connection mechanism that reads on the connection mechanism may comprise one or more magnets, one or more clasps, or one or more hook and loop mechanisms, as non-limiting examples. And more specifically, Siegel fails to teach a housing comprising the light source, such that the connection mechanism is configured to removably connect that at least one housing to the receptacle. Nor does Siegel teach a lens that is additionally part of the housing.
Gu teaches “a personal treatment device for performing low-level light therapy (LLLT) on a subject. Specifically, a connection assembly has been proposed that allows the releasable coupling of a light source module to a shell… The connection assembly allows the placement of the light source module in a plurality of different positions whilst ensuring an electrical connection of the light source module to an electrical power source” (see Abstract). The light source module 120 shown below comprises a housing (which connects an actual source of light to a connection assembly 130:
As can be seen in the annotated figures above, the light source modules illustrated show two distinct connection assemblies. In the figures, “the depicted example also includes an anode 144 and a cathode 144 of the light source module 120. These may be connected (either physically or inductively) to electrode tracks 142. These electrode tracks 142 may facilitate the connection between the light source module 120 and the electrical power source” (see paragraph 63). Therefore, this teaches “at least one connection mechanism” as in claim 2, as well as a housing where the housing comprises the light source and the connection mechanism removably connects the at least one housing to at least one receptacle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the removable light sources, as taught by Gu, into the system of Siegel because “the capability to selectively couple a light source module at a plurality of locations on the shell may improve such devices, while avoiding costs associated with increasing the number of provided light sources at non target locations” (see paragraph 8).
However, neither Siegel nor Gu teach a lens that is additionally part of the housing.
Kim teaches “a laser diode assembly for medical therapy and a medical therapy sheet” (see Technical Field on page 1) and relates to semiconductor laser diodes (see page 1, lines 21-23) in low level laser therapy (see page 2, lines 16-22). As such, Kim is in the same field of endeavor as Siegel. Kim specifically teaches “a medical therapy laser diode assembly and a medical therapy sheet that can allow laser diodes to be easily installed… and also allow the laser diodes to be easily separated from the medical therapy mat, resulting in increased ease of maintenance” (see page 3, line 22 through page 4, line 2). As illustrated in several figures, there is a laser diode illustrated in which there is a housing 110/120 that surrounds the laser diode (see Figs. 2, 4, 6-9, 11 and 16-17). Most importantly, in the embodiment shown in Figure 7, “The hemispherical lenses 420d are made of transparent material so as to diffuse laser beams emitted from the laser diode in a large area” (see page 16, lines 4-15). Additionally, Kim states that “A lens (not shown) , which allows the light from the light source to pass therethrough, is provided to an upper end portion of the light penetration hole of the cylindrical cover 150b” (see page 10, lines 1-4). Also see page 27, lines 17-26 for additional discussion of the lens.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a lens, as taught by Kim, with the system of Siegel as a means of sealing the housing around the laser and circuit board (see “upper portions of the laser diodes 150 are sealed by the lenses 420d of the second housing 420, so that it is possible to prevent moisture or mist from intruding into the laser diodes 150 or the driving circuit boards 160” – see page 18, line 25 through page 19, line 3).
Regarding claim 17, it is noted that Siegel teaches that “one or more sensors in communication with at least one device circuit and configured to measure one or more treatment parameter from an area of interest of a body of a patient may be included on or in communication with the modular low-level light system” (see paragraph 7; noting that the use of sensors is additionally discussed in other portions of Siegel, such as in paragraph 49 – “the circuit 16 includes one or more physiological sensors configured to provide biological information and/or data received from the treatment area of the user”).
Regarding claim 18, Siegel teaches that “the circuit 16 may act as a conduit configured to provide information to and receive information from the external control device and the sensor wirelessly and/or via a conduit” (see paragraph 38). Therefore, the circuit includes at least one transmitting device, since it can communicate wirelessly.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel in view of Gu and Kim as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Gertner et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2006/0206173).
Siegel in combination with Gu and Kim is described above with regard to claim 18. However, none of these references discuss a memory (i.e., storage medium) thereon.
Gertner teaches devices for radiation treatment via a target body surface (see Title), in which an array of radiation sources are found on an applicator with a controller and power source (see Fig. 3). Figure 4 illustrates the controller, which includes memory 404 (see paragraph 82-86).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include a memory in the controller/circuit of a radiation/light therapy device, as taught by Gertner, and to include this in the system of Siegel as combined with Gu and Kim to store various different operating programs/parameters for use by the light sources, and to allow a doctor or patient to make changes to such programs (see paragraph 85 of Gertner), thereby increasing the utility of the device.
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel in view of Kim as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Anderson et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2017/0225006).
Siegel in combination with Kim is described above with regard to claim 8. However, none of these references discuss a transportation apparatus to move the housing.
Anderson teaches apparatus for phototherapy to treat skin disorders (see Abstract). Importantly, it is noted that Anderson teaches that “LEDs may be moved manually or automatically to focus on the patch on the skin and the calculated radiance on the patch may be used to calculate the amount of time needed to deliver a therapeutic dose of light” (see paragraph 156).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide automatic movement of the LEDs in a phototherapy device, as taught by Anderson, within the system and methods of Siegel with Kim, in order to ensure that the proper amount of time and optical energy is delivered to the target location (as stated in the quote from paragraph 156 above).
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siegel in view of Gu and Kim as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Anderson.
Siegel in combination with Gu and Kim is described above with regard to claim 16. However, none of these references discuss a transportation apparatus to move the housing.
Anderson teaches apparatus for phototherapy to treat skin disorders (see Abstract). Importantly, it is noted that Anderson teaches that “LEDs may be moved manually or automatically to focus on the patch on the skin and the calculated radiance on the patch may be used to calculate the amount of time needed to deliver a therapeutic dose of light” (see paragraph 156).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide automatic movement of the LEDs in a phototherapy device, as taught by Anderson, within the system and methods of Siegel with Gu and Kim, in order to ensure that the proper amount of time and optical energy is delivered to the target location (as stated in the quote from paragraph 156 above).
Conclusion
/JAMES KISH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792