DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenner, JR. (US 2007/0285040 and Jenner hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Jenner discloses an integrate-and-fire neuron circuit [10, fig. 1] implementing an integrate-and-fire operation, comprising: a first NPN device [Q3, par. 0010 and 0042]; a second NPN device connected in parallel to the first NPN device [Q1]; a transistor [Q2] whose one end is connected to a cathode node of the second NPN device and other end is grounded [46]; a first capacitor [C4] connected in parallel to the first NPN device and the second NPN device; and a second capacitor [C2] connected in parallel to the cathode node of the second NPN device together with the transistor. Jenner does not explicitly disclose MOS transistor. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the transistor Q2 of Jenner with metal-oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor [MOS transistor] because such a modification would have been merely a replacement with a well-known, art-recognized functionally equivalent transistor device.
Regarding claim 2, Jenner discloses wherein an anode terminal of the first NPN device [Q3] is connected in parallel to the first capacitor [C4] and an anode terminal of the second NPN device, and a cathode end of the first NPN device [Q3] is connected to a ground, and the anode terminal of the second NPN device [Q1] is connected in parallel to the first capacitor and the anode terminal of the first NPN device, and a cathode end of the second NPN device is connected in parallel to the MOS transistor and the second capacitor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Jenner, JR.
Regarding claim 4, Jenner discloses an integrate-and-fire neuron circuit [10, fig. 1] implementing an integrate-and-fire operation, comprising: a first NPN device [Q2, par. 0010 and 0042]; a second NPN device [Q1] connected in parallel to the first NPN device; a capacitor [C2] connected in parallel to the first NPN device and the second NPN device; and an output resistor [R6] connected in series to the cathode node of the second NPN device.
Regarding claim 5, Jenner discloses wherein an anode terminal of the first NPN device is connected in parallel to the capacitor [C2] and an anode terminal of the second NPN device, and a cathode end of the first NPN device is connected to a ground [46], and the anode terminal of the second NPN device is connected in parallel to the capacitor and the anode terminal of the first NPN device, and a cathode end of the second NPN device is connected in series to the output resistor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Jenner does not explicitly disclose, wherein the first NPN device and the second NPN device include: a first N-type semiconductor; a P-type semiconductor whose one end is heterogeneously bonded to one end of the first N-type semiconductor; a second N-type semiconductor whose one end is heterogeneously bonded to the other end of the P-type semiconductor; a control gate formed on top of the P-type semiconductor; an anode contacting the first N-type semiconductor through an ohmic junction; a cathode contacting the second N-type semiconductor through the ohmic junction, and the first N-type semiconductor and the second N-type semiconductor have a relatively higher concentration than the P-type semiconductor, and the P-type semiconductor has a smaller band gap than the first N-type semiconductor and the second N-type semiconductor.
Conclusion
Other prior art references such as Kim et al. (US 20220006448 A1) teach features similar to the claimed invention, but do not teach the claimed invention as a whole.
/METASEBIA T RETEBO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836