Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et al (US PGPub No. 2020/0109616) in view of Vicknair et al (US PGPub. No. 2015/0354322) in further view of Oehring et al (US Patent No. 12,221,872).
Oehring teaches:
limitations from claim 1, a system (400), comprising: an open-air skid (FIG. 4), further comprising: an electric drive (paragraph 74, “VFD’s” 418); wherein the electric drive (418) provides electrical power to one or more natural gas compressors (pump 404; paragraph 72, the system provides power to a pump and therefore is capable of providing power to a compressor; paragraph 83 further teaches that the system can include various types and numbers of pumps); wherein the open-air skid further comprises a plurality of motor control cabinets (MCC 423) and an input cabinet that provides utility power from a high voltage power line to the electric drive and sync reactor (see cabinet about transformer 424; FIG. 3-4);
Oehring ‘616 teaches that multiple pumps can be used (paragraph 83) and the use of control cabinets (MCC 426), but does not each multiple dedicated motor control cabinets or specifically four pumps;
However, Oehring ‘872 teaches:
limitations from claims 1 and 4, a mobile power supply (FIG. 3) in which individual pumps (10) are respectively provided with VFD and controls (see C. 3 Line 62 through C. 4 Line 4);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of power supply systems to provide multiple control cabinets in the system of Oehring ‘616, such that each pump has a dedicated control and drive as taught by Oehring ‘872, in order to independent control and redundancy in case of failure (C. 4 Lines 5-15 of Oehring ‘872); Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize multiple pumps (see paragraph 83 of Oehring ‘616 and C. 7 Lines 46-48 of Oehring ‘872 teaching two or more pumps per trailer), such as four pumps, in order to control the output of the pumping assembly; it has been held that the mere duplication of parts alone is not patentably significant: MPEP 2144.04 Section VI.B).
Oehring teaches relying on a power grid amongst other power sources to provide power to the system (paragraphs 51, 83), but does not teach a sync reactor;
Vicknair teaches a mobile substation providing conditioned power from a grid, wherein synchronizers (48) are utilized to synchronize the power provided from multiple sources including a power grid to supply power to a user (paragraph 15);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of power supply systems at the time the invention was filed to provide a sync reactor (synchronizer) in the system of Oehring ‘616, as taught by Vicknair, in order to synchronized the frequency of multiple sources and users.
Oehring ‘616 further teaches:
limitations from claim 8, wherein the skid further comprises: a height in between, and including, 11 feet to 13 feet, a length in between and including 40 feet to 43 feet, and a width in between and including 10 feet to 15 feet (Oehring does not teach particular dimensions for the skid; However, at paragraph 88, Oehring teaches that sizing a trailer effectively can reduce the permitting required; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of power supply systems to choose skid dimensions both to fit all required components of the system as well as to remain within permitted restrictions);
limitations from claim 9, wherein the skid does not comprise side walls (see FIG. 4-5);
limitations from claim 10, wherein the open-air skid further comprises, a step-down transformer (424), and a remote cooling unit (428); wherein the remote cooling unit cools the electric drive (paragraph 84);
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et al (US PGPub No. 2020/0109616) in view of Vicknair et al (US PGPub. No. 2015/0354322) in view of Oehring et al (US Patent No. 12,221,872) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and in further view of Gable et al (US Patent No. 11,852,133).
Oehring ‘616 teaches a “black start generator”, but does not teach a particular start-up of multiple pumps;
Gable teaches:
limitations from claim 5, a power system (FIG. 1-2) including multiple pumps (224) driven by motors (212) powered by VFD’s (216); and wherein the electric drive and the sync reactor provide electrical power to the one or more natural gas compressors comprises: providing start-up power to a first natural gas compressor of the one or more natural gas compressors via the electric drive and the sync reactor (see Vicknair teaching synchronizers; see FIG. 8 steps 304-312; C. 9 Lines 48-57); transferring the first natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet; and providing start-up power to a second natural gas compressor of the one or more natural gas compressors via the electric drive and the sync reactor (see FIG. 8 steps 316-332; C. 9 Lines 57-63 and C. 11 Lines 22-64); and providing start-up power to a third natural gas compressor of the second set of one or more natural gas compressors via the electric drive and sync reactor; transferring the third natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet, providing start-up power to a fourth natural gas compressor of the second set of one or more natural gas compressors via the electric drive and the sync reactor, and transferring the fourth natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet (Oehring ‘616 teaches that multiple pumps can be used, paragraph 83; see FIG. 8; C. 11 Lines 22-64 of Gable);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of power supply systems at the time the invention was filed to start each pump at a time utilizing a “soft-start” to ramp up the power system of Oehring ‘616, as taught by Gable, in order to safely and efficiently start the system/pumps from cold.
Oehring ‘616 further teaches:
limitations from claim 7, wherein each of the four natural gas compressors exerts up to 2500 horsepower (paragraph 66);
Claim(s) 11-12 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oehring et al (US PGPub No. 2020/0109616) in view of Vicknair et al (US PGPub. No. 2015/0354322) in view of Gable et al (US Patent No. 11,852,133).
Oehring teaches:
limitations from claim 11, a system (400), comprising: an open-air skid (FIG. 4), further comprising: an electric drive (paragraph 74, “VFD’s” 418); wherein the electric drive (418) provides electrical power to four natural gas compressors (pump 404; paragraph 72, the system provides power to a pump and therefore is capable of providing power to a compressor; paragraph 83 further teaches that the system can include various types and quantities of pumps); an input cabinet that provides utility power from a high voltage power line to the electric drive and sync reactor (see cabinet about transformer 424; FIG. 3-4), a control cabinet (MCC 426; paragraph 78 teaching a control enclosure for the MCC);
Oehring teaches relying on a grid amongst other power sources to provide power to the system (paragraphs 51, 83), but does not teach a sync reactor;
Vicknair teaches a mobile substation providing conditioned power from a grid, wherein synchronizers (48) are utilized to synchronize the power provided from multiple sources including the grid to supply power to a user (paragraph 15);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of power supply systems at the time the invention was filed to provide a sync reactor (synchronizer) in the system of Oehring, as taught by Vicknair, in order to synchronized the frequency of multiple sources and users.
Oehring ‘616 teaches a “black start generator” and the use of multiple pumps (paragraph 83), but does not teach a particular start-up of multiple pumps;
Gable teaches:
limitations from claim 11, a power system (FIG. 1-2) including multiple pumps (224) driven by motors (212) powered by VFD’s (216); and wherein the electric drive and the sync reactor provide electrical power to the multiple pumps, comprises: providing start-up power to a first pump of the pumps via the electric drive and the sync reactor (see Vicknair teaching synchronizers; see FIG. 8 steps 304-312; C. 9 Lines 48-57); transferring the first natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet; and providing start-up power to a second pump via the electric drive and the sync reactor (see FIG. 8 steps 316-332; C. 9 Lines 57-63 and C. 11 Lines 22-64); further comprising: providing start-up power to a third pump via the electric drive and the sync reactor; transferring the third natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet; providing start-up power to a fourth pump via the electric drive and the sync reactor; and transferring the fourth natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet (Oehring ‘616 teaches that multiple pumps can be used, paragraph 83; see FIG. 8; C. 11 Lines 22-64 of Gable);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of power supply systems at the time the invention was filed to utilize a “soft-start” to ramp up the power system of Oehring ‘616, as taught by Gable, in order to safely and efficiently start the system/pumps from cold. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize multiple pumps (see paragraph 83 of Oehring ‘616 and C. 7 Lines 46-48 of Oehring ‘872 teaching two or more pumps per trailer), such as four pumps, in order to control the output of the pumping assembly. Further, it has been held that the mere duplication of parts alone is not patentably significant: MPEP 2144.04 Section VI.B).
Gable further teaches:
limitations from claim 12, wherein transferring the first natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet comprises: syncing, by the sync reactor (via the combination with Vicknair), a power and frequency of the first natural gas compressor with a power and frequency of the utility power, removing the start-up power provided by the electric drive and sync reactor, and connecting the utility power with the synced first natural gas compressor (Oehring ‘616 teaches that multiple pumps can be used, paragraph 83; see FIG. 8; C. 11 Lines 22-64 of Gable);
limitations from claim 16, further comprising: transporting the open-air skid to a second site (Oehring teaches a mobile skid, FIG. 4 for example; Gable teaches a mobile unit, FIG. 2A; therefore the skids are capable of movement to different site locations) having a second set of one or more natural gas compressors; providing start-up power to a first pump of the pumps via the electric drive and the sync reactor (see Vicknair teaching synchronizers; see FIG. 8 steps 304-312; C. 9 Lines 48-57); transferring the first natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet; and providing start-up power to a second pump via the electric drive and the sync reactor (see FIG. 8 steps 316-332; C. 9 Lines 57-63 and C. 11 Lines 22-64), and providing start-up power to a third natural gas compressor of the second set of one or more natural gas compressors via the electric drive and sync reactor; transferring the third natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet, providing start-up power to a fourth natural gas compressor of the second set of one or more natural gas compressors via the electric drive and the sync reactor, and transferring the fourth natural gas compressor from start-up power to utility power provided by the input cabinet (Oehring ‘616 teaches that multiple pumps can be used, paragraph 83; see FIG. 8; C. 11 Lines 22-64 of Gable);
Oehring further teaches:
limitations from claim 14, wherein the skid further comprises: a height in between, and including, 11 feet to 13 feet, a length in between and including 40 feet to 43 feet, and a width in between and including 10 feet to 15 feet (Oehring does not teach particular dimensions for the skid; However, at paragraph 88, Oehring teaches that sizing a trailer effectively can reduce the permitting required; It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of power supply systems to choose skid dimensions both to fit all required components of the system as well as to remain within permitted restrictions);
limitations from claim 15, wherein the skid does not comprise side walls (see FIG. 4-5);
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has amended the claims to include limitations that four compressors and associated cabinets are provided in the system. Applicant argues that Oehring ‘616 does not teach how multiple pumps are powered, and as such does not teach multiple pumps connected to a single power source (page 10 of the response).
The examiner maintains that Oehring ‘616, and in particular the combination of Oehring ‘616 with Oehring ‘872 teaches the limitations requiring power to be provided to multiple pump drives. Oehring ‘616 teaches providing grid power to the pumps (paragraphs 51 and 83 disclose single-source power as an alternative to plural sources; see also FIG. 3 in which 1 power source can power multiple pieces of equipment); Oehring ‘872 teaches the use of two or more pumps (C. 7 Lines 46-48; and also FIG. 5 teaching multiple pumps 210A powered by a single generator through dedicated cabinets 223A) driven by a VFD/power source discrete to each pump (C. 6 Lines 40-43). Therefore, the combination of the Oehring references leads to a system having a single power source for multiple pumps.
Gable additionally teaches providing selective power to multiple pumps through a VFD (see above rejection, and abstract of Gable).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2023/0272700 teaches providing grid power (paragraph 36) to a multitude of pumps (paragraph 23, 27, 55) and a single source power (paragraph 58);
US 2022/0162933 teaches multiple pumps (56) on a single trailer;
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER S BOBISH/Examiner, Art Unit 3746