DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informality: a missing period at the end of claim 14. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the clamps" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 16 is rejected for the above reason by virtue of its claim dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-8, 11-12, 14-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuida (US 6452335).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Tsuida discloses an apparatus with a corresponding method, comprising: a support substrate (5/32); a field emitter device (33) disposed on the support substrate, including a gate (41) and a contact (46) electrically connected to the gate; a conductive plate (with 20), including: a protrusion (3) electrically connected to the contact (46) of the field emitter device (col. 4:12-13); and a clamp (with 4 and 6) coupled to the support substrate and the conductive plate such that the conductive plate electrically connects to the contact of the field emitter device (col. 4:44-48; via the cathode, which is held between 4 and 6, thereby rendering the connection of 3 to pads 46).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuida discloses wherein: the support substrate includes a depression (with 5); and the field emitter device (33) is disposed in the depression.
Regarding claim 4, Tsuida discloses wherein: a number of protrusions (some of 3) of the conductive plate (20) is different from a number of contacts (all of 46) of the field emitter device.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Tsuida discloses a focus aperture cup (4); wherein: the support substrate (32), the field emitter device (33), the conductive plate (20), and the clamp (with 6) are disposed in the focus aperture cup (4).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuida discloses a plurality of fasteners (7 and 22) coupling the clamp (with 6) to the focus aperture cup (4).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Tsuida discloses wherein: the focus aperture cup (4) includes a plurality of tabs (3); the clamp includes a plurality of notches (with 4 adjacent to 3); and each of the tabs (3) is disposed in a corresponding one of the notches (with 4 adjacent to 3).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuida discloses an insulator (51/52) connected to the focus aperture cup (4).
Regarding claim 11, Tsuida discloses wherein: the field emitter device is one of a plurality of field emitter devices (40), each including a gate (41) and a contact (46) electrically connected to the gate.
Regarding claim 12, Tsuida discloses wherein: the protrusion (3) is one of a plurality of protrusions of the conductive plate (20); and for each of the field emitter devices (on 33), the contact (46) is electrically connected to a corresponding one of the protrusions (3) of the conductive plate (20).
Regarding claim 19, Tsuida discloses an apparatus, comprising: a support substrate (5/32); a field emitter device including a field emitter (33) and disposed on the support substrate; a conductive plate (20 with 3); and a clamp (with 4 and 6) coupling the support substrate (5/32) to the conductive plate (20); wherein when the clamp (with 6) couples the support substrate (5/32) to the conductive plate (20), the field emitter (33 with 46) is electrically connected to the conductive plate (via 3).
Regarding claim 20, Tsuida discloses wherein: the conductive plate (with 3 and 20) deforms when the clamp (with 6) couples the support substrate (5/32) to the conductive plate (with 3 and 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuida as applied to claims 5 and 15 above, and further in view of Price et al. (US 2003/0198318; hereinafter Price).
Tsuida discloses claim 5. Tsuida further discloses the focus aperture cup (4).
However, Tsuida fails to disclose a vacuum enclosure; and a target configured to emit x-rays (14) disposed within the vacuum enclosure; wherein: the field emitter device is disposed within the vacuum enclosure such that electrons emitted from the field emitter device are incident on the target.
Espinosa teaches a vacuum enclosure (76); and a target (72) configured to emit x-rays (14) disposed within the vacuum enclosure; wherein: the field emitter device (74 and fig. 6) is disposed within the vacuum enclosure such that electrons emitted from the field emitter device are incident on the target (figs. 3-4).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Tsuida with the teaching of Price, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for more applications (Price: pars. 3 and 49).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuida as applied to claim 11 above.
Tsuida discloses claim 11. Tsuida further discloses wherein: the conductive plate is a conductive plate (20), each conductive plate including: a protrusion (3) electrically connected to the contact (46) of a corresponding one of the field emitter devices (on 33); and a plurality of compliant tabs (3) disposed on a perimeter of the conductive plate (20).
However, Tsuida fails to disclose a plurality.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify Tsuida with a plurality, since such a modification would have only constructed a formerly integral structure into various elements, which involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to make such a modification for less costly repair, by replacing less material.
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuida as applied to claims 8 and 15 above, and further in view of Birnbach (US 2009/0285362).
Tsuida discloses claims 8 and 15. Tsuida further discloses support by the insulator (51/52) including a first conductor electrically connected to the focus aperture cup (for the Wehnelt electrode 4); support by the insulator including a second conductor electrically connected to the conductive plate (20: col. 4:29-34); and support by the insulator including a third conductor electrically connected to the support substrate (for emitter electrode 5).
However, Tsuida fails to disclose insulated feedthroughs.
Birnbach teaches insulated feedthroughs (par. 33).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to further modify Tsuida with the teaching of Birnbach, since one would have been motivated to make such a modification for facilitating voltage introduction (Birnbach: par. 33).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art fails to disclose or fairly suggest an apparatus, including: wherein: the clamp is one of a plurality of clamps coupled to the support substrate and the conductive plate; the conductive plate further comprises a plurality of compliant tabs disposed on a perimeter of the conductive plate; the compliant tabs of the conductive plate are separated by a plurality of notches; the support substrate includes a plurality of notches; and each of the clamps includes a portion extending within a corresponding one of the notches of the conductive plate and a corresponding one of the notches of the support substrate, in combination with all of the other recitations in the claim.
Conclusion
/Chih-Cheng Kao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884