DETAILED ACTION
________________________________________
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed August 11, 2026, and August 19, 2026 have been considered.
________________________________________
Claim Interpretation
(f) ELEMENT IN CLAIM FOR A COMBINATION.—An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a mechanism that is configured to move the at least some of the ties that are skew or otherwise not arranged in a common plane to arrange the ties in the common plane" in claim 4 and "a planarizing mechanism" in claim 12.
For the mechanism in claim 4 and the planarizing mechanism in claim 12, the corresponding structure is planarizing body 224 or 324 supported above the conveyor transport plane at a height that engages improperly oriented ties, acting with the conveying elements to deflect those ties into alignment, as described in paragraphs [0033] and [0044]-[0047] and shown in Figures 2A and 3A-3B. The construction includes structural equivalents of that contact-correction arrangement. Claim 13 further requires a horizontal bar.
The common plane is interpreted in light of the aligned support orientation described in paragraphs [0044]-[0048] and [0098]. It does not require mathematical identity of every surface of the ties. The claimed stages still require the recited order of collection, conveying, grouping and delivery.
________________________________________
References Used
Reference 1 (Primary) - US 2020/0385934 A1.
Reference 2 - US 8,876,457 B1.
Reference 3 - US 3,894,625 A.
Reference 4 - US 5,417,265 A.
Reference 5 - DE 2529975 A1.
________________________________________
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A tie-arrangement system, comprising: a conveyor assembly configured to receive ties for placement in a track for rail vehicles, the conveyor assembly configured to receive the ties in a common plane relative to each other; (L2) an accumulator assembly configured to receive the ties in the common plane from the conveyor assembly, the accumulator assembly configured to arrange the ties in a same orientation in groups and to move the groups of the ties out of the accumulator assembly; (L3) and a delivery assembly configured to receive the groups of the ties arranged by the accumulator assembly into the same orientation, the delivery assembly configured to place the groups of the ties onto a surface off the tie-arrangement system for placement of the ties in the track for the rail vehicles.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches railway wagon 1, platform 3 and carriage 4, with collection station 20, collection conveyor 22, auxiliary conveyor 15 and first conveyor 5 moving sleepers T toward unloading device 40 (paragraphs [0096]-[0103], [0145]-[0155]; Figs. 1-4 and 8). Sleepers T are railway ties intended for placement in the track. The conveyor support surfaces carry the ties side by side in a common support plane; the parallel, horizontally supported tie feed and layer formation are additionally explicit in Reference 2, columns 11-14 and Figures 30-50. (L2) Reference 1 has stacked device 30, but paragraphs [0093]-[0095] place it on the worn-sleeper return path from return conveyor 12 to auxiliary conveyor 15. Reference 1 does not expressly provide the claimed forward-path, same-orientation group accumulator between the incoming conveyor and unloading device 40. Reference 2 supplies tie accumulation chain deck 126, staging station 128, layer accumulation station 130, stack layer lift 132 and stack accumulation lift 134 (cols. 11-14; Figs. 30-50). Station 130 forms layers 116, 120 and 122 of parallel ties, and arms 154 of lift 132 move each layer out of that station onto lift 134. Each layer is a same-orientation group received from the common-plane conveyor feed. (L3) Reference 1 teaches unloading device 40, whose parallel grip members 41a and 41b define a support surface, receive a predetermined number of sleepers from conveyors 5/6 and lower them onto railway ballast (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; Figs. 1 and 8). In the combination, the ordered layers formed by Reference 2 are transferred from the accumulator to that receiving support and deposited off the wagon. The modification supplies formed groups to the existing plural-tie unloader rather than treating return-path stacked device 30 as the forward accumulator. The support spacing, transfer elevation and load capacity are matched to the selected layer size; no pressure vessel or treatment yard is part of the combination.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place the layer-forming portion of Reference 2 in the forward tie flow of Reference 1 before unloading device 40. Reference 1 already transports and unloads predetermined numbers of sleepers, and Reference 2 provides controlled formation and transfer of parallel tie layers. Forming those layers before the receiving support of device 40 reduces irregular spacing and repeated individual transfers at the unloader, preserving an orderly batch for placement. Return-path stacked device 30 does not perform that forward-feed function. The layer station, transfer arms and vertically indexed lift handle the same railroad ties; matching conveyor height and supporting capacity retains their disclosed motions. Only that handling portion is used, not the stationary treatment installation. The result is predictable forward grouping followed by the existing off-wagon deposit.
________________________________________
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 1, further comprising a collection assembly configured to receive the ties in skew or different orientations and to move the ties into the common plane, the collection assembly configured to deliver the ties in the common plane to the conveyor assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 teaches collection station 20, platform 21 and collection conveyor 22 delivering sleepers through auxiliary conveyor 15 to first conveyor 5 (paragraphs [0096]-[0102]; Figs. 1-4). Reference 1 does not expressly correct incoming edgewise or leaning ties into a common plane. Reference 3 teaches sorter conveyor chains 18 with hooks 28 and skid plates 140 that rise above the chains, contact on-edge or leaning wooden boards and jolt them into the desired flat position (cols. 11-12; Figs. 2 and 6). At collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1, the corresponding passive contact correction presents the wooden ties flat before transfer through auxiliary conveyor 15 toward conveyor 5 and the accumulator. The scale and contact clearance are selected for the tie cross section; the lumber-sorter bins and overhead infeed are not imported.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the passive board-orientation correction of Reference 3 at collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1 upstream of the Reference 2 layer station. Reference 3 identifies on-edge or leaning boards as an insertion problem and uses contact during conveyor travel to make them lie flat. Wooden ties present the same rectangular-section handling problem when received edgewise. Correcting that condition before the downstream conveyor reduces unstable support and misfeeds at the layer accumulator. Tie-sized contact surfaces and conveyor loads preserve the disclosed correction function without requiring the lumber sorting installation.
________________________________________
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 2, wherein the conveyor assembly is a first conveyor assembly, and the collection assembly includes a second conveyor assembly configured to move the ties received in the skew or different orientations relative to the common plane, the collection assembly including a planarizing body configured to move at least some of the ties from the different orientations and into the common plane.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 2 analysis is incorporated. First conveyor 5 is the claimed first conveyor assembly; collection conveyor 22 with movement device 24 is the distinct second conveyor within the collection assembly of Reference 1 (paragraphs [0096]-[0102]; Figs. 1-4). Reference 3 supplies skid plates 140 as the contact planarizing body along that collection conveyor. Their engagement moves at least some incoming on-edge or leaning members into the common flat support plane before transfer to conveyor 5. This claim does not itself require passage beneath the body.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the passive board-orientation correction of Reference 3 at collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1 upstream of the Reference 2 layer station. Reference 3 identifies on-edge or leaning boards as an insertion problem and uses contact during conveyor travel to make them lie flat. Wooden ties present the same rectangular-section handling problem when received edgewise. Correcting that condition before the downstream conveyor reduces unstable support and misfeeds at the layer accumulator. Tie-sized contact surfaces and conveyor loads preserve the disclosed correction function without requiring the lumber sorting installation.
________________________________________
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 3, wherein the planarizing body includes a mechanism that is configured to move the at least some of the ties that are skew or otherwise not arranged in a common plane to arrange the ties in the common plane.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 3 analysis is incorporated. The mechanism is construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as explained in Claim Interpretation. Reference 3 depicts skid plates 140 below the workpiece, not an overhead bar. The rejection relies on the overhead contact variant of that passive planarizing arrangement, not a finding that passage over a skid is passage beneath it. The contact body is supported above collection conveyor 22 at a clearance that passes a flat tie but intercepts an edgewise or leaning tie. Continued conveyor feed against the upper contact restrains the elevated portion while advancing the supported portion, tipping the tie onto its broad face; the corrected tie then passes beneath the body. This is the above-conveyor, continuous-contact modification of the skid-plate correction identified in the prior rejection. It uses the same conveyor-driven engagement of an elongated rectangular wooden member to correct its support orientation before downstream handling. The supported overhead contact body in this modified arrangement, acting with the conveyor, corresponds to body 224/324 and its conveyor-driven deflection; reliance is on that concrete structure, not functional identity between an unmodified underside skid and the disclosed mechanism.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the passive board-orientation correction of Reference 3 at collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1 upstream of the Reference 2 layer station. Reference 3 identifies on-edge or leaning boards as an insertion problem and uses contact during conveyor travel to make them lie flat. Wooden ties present the same rectangular-section handling problem when received edgewise. Correcting that condition before the downstream conveyor reduces unstable support and misfeeds at the layer accumulator. Tie-sized contact surfaces and conveyor loads preserve the disclosed correction function without requiring the lumber sorting installation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement that passive contact correction with its contact face over, rather than under, the tie path. An overhead clearance allows already flat ties to proceed without being lifted by a bump and intercepts only ties projecting above the desired profile. With the conveyor continuing to advance the supported portion, the elevated portion is restrained and the tie tips flat before passing beneath the contact face. The technical reason is continuous correction before the layer station without deliberately bouncing every incoming tie. This is a reasoned change in contact location for the rectangular members and conveyor feed of Reference 3, not an assertion that all mechanisms performing the same function are interchangeable. The contact body and conveyor in that modified arrangement have the supported overhead-contact structure identified in Claim Interpretation.
________________________________________
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 1, wherein the conveyor assembly includes one or more limiting bodies positioned to maintain the ties in the common plane during movement of the ties to the accumulator assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 does not expressly provide the claimed limiting bodies. Reference 4 teaches hold-down means 46 comprising frame 48, lower face 48a and rollers 50 over bridge belt conveyor 42, to prevent bouncing and preserve the alignment of conveyed lumber (cols. 7-8; Figs. 9-10). Mounted over the downstream tie conveyor of Reference 1, these are limiting bodies retaining the ties against their supporting conveyor during movement to the Reference 2 accumulator. Reference 4 is relied on for maintaining the established plane, not for an express disclosure that an on-edge tie is thereby flattened.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to mount the hold-down frame and rollers of Reference 4 over the downstream tie conveyor of Reference 1 before the Reference 2 accumulator. Reference 4 expressly prevents conveyed lumber from bouncing and losing alignment. Restraining already planarized wooden ties against their support preserves the established plane during mobile conveyor transfer and provides stable presentation to the layer station. Roller contact allows feed to continue; height and capacity are set for the tie section.
________________________________________
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 1, wherein the accumulator assembly includes an elevator assembly configured to vertically move relative to the common plane of the ties, the elevator assembly configured to vertically move after each of the groups is loaded into the accumulator assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 2 teaches stack accumulation lift 134 lowering as each successive layer transferred by lift 132 is deposited, so that the next layer can be received above it (cols. 12-14; Figs. 38-50). This is vertical movement relative to the incoming common plane after each group is loaded. Retaining lift 134 in the forward-path accumulator of the combination supplies the claimed elevator.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain the vertically indexed stack accumulation lift 134 of Reference 2 in the forward-path accumulator of Reference 1. Lowering after each received layer clears the fixed incoming transfer plane for the next layer, allowing several groups to be accumulated without extending the conveyor by the total stack length. That is the disclosed indexing operation and predictably conserves longitudinal wagon space.
________________________________________
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 1, wherein the delivery assembly is configured to receive several of the groups of the ties from the accumulator assembly at a common time.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 2 expressly accumulates several layers 116/120/122 together on stack accumulation lift 134 (cols. 11-14; Figs. 32 and 38-50). Reference 1 receives a predetermined plural number of sleepers on the support defined by members 41a/41b of unloading device 40 (paragraph [0103]). The combination configures that receiving support and its transfer elevation for a completed load containing several accumulated layers, rather than removing only one layer per transfer. Those constituent groups are then received at a common transfer time. Neither reference alone is asserted to depict that particular multi-layer transfer to device 40.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to size and position the receiving support of unloading device 40 of Reference 1 to accept several layers accumulated by lift 134 of Reference 2 in one transfer. Both references already handle plural numbers of the same ties, and taking the completed accumulated load reduces repeated unloading cycles. Supporting the bottom layer with members 41a/41b supports the layers above it, with the support elevation and capacity matched to the selected load. The batch-transfer adaptation preserves Reference 1's lowering deposit and Reference 2's ordered layers.
________________________________________
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 1, wherein the delivery assembly is configured to tilt to move the groups of the ties off the delivery assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 does not expressly tilt unloading device 40. Reference 5 teaches longitudinal conveyor 7 with parts 8/9 connected at joint 10, cable arrangement 13 and drive 14 for changing the inclination of projecting part 8 and end 23 (description pp. 4-5 and 10-14; claims 2-3; Figs. 1-2 and 6). It also teaches gravity transport on inclined roller conveyor track 16 and transporting sleeper groups with laying beam 38 (description pp. 12-17; Figs. 1 and 6-7). The proposed combination gives the group-receiving support of unloading device 40 a pivoted, inclination-adjustable mounting of the type taught by part 8/joint 10 and a discharge edge. Inclining that support tilts the supported group and moves it off the assembly onto ballast with gravity assisting release. Reference 5 is not described as expressly dumping a completed multilayer stack: the tiltable group-support adaptation is the stated modification.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to give the receiving support of unloading device 40 of Reference 1 an inclination-adjustable pivot mounting based on part 8, joint 10 and cable arrangement 13 of Reference 5. Reference 5 supplies railway-specific articulated sleeper support, gravity transport on inclined track 16 and handling of grouped sleepers with beam 38. Applying an adjustable inclination to the support receiving the Reference 2 groups lowers its discharge edge and lets gravity assist movement of the heavy ties onto ballast, reducing a separate pushing or lifting stroke. Parallel support members sized to the layer keep the ties supported during inclination. The modification does not require that the groups be banded or that Reference 5 expressly disclose a finished-stack dumping machine.
________________________________________
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 1, wherein the conveyor assembly, the accumulator assembly, and the delivery assembly are configured to be coupled with each other and configured to be positioned on a rail car configured to move along the track.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 1 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 teaches platform 3 supported by carriage 4 on rails R and its mutually communicating conveyors and unloading device 40 (paragraphs [0048]-[0049], [0103], [0145]-[0155]; Figs. 1 and 8). Mounting the Reference 2 layer station and lifts between the tie feed and delivery support couples the conveyor, accumulator and delivery stages on a rail car. The adaptation retains the tie-sized handling stages and their transfer motions, not an air-seasoning yard or treatment vessel.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place the layer-forming portion of Reference 2 in the forward tie flow of Reference 1 before unloading device 40. Reference 1 already transports and unloads predetermined numbers of sleepers, and Reference 2 provides controlled formation and transfer of parallel tie layers. Forming those layers before the receiving support of device 40 reduces irregular spacing and repeated individual transfers at the unloader, preserving an orderly batch for placement. Return-path stacked device 30 does not perform that forward-feed function. The layer station, transfer arms and vertically indexed lift handle the same railroad ties; matching conveyor height and supporting capacity retains their disclosed motions. Only that handling portion is used, not the stationary treatment installation. The result is predictable forward grouping followed by the existing off-wagon deposit. The rail-car mounting makes the group-forming and unloading stages travel together between work locations; vertical accumulation limits the longitudinal space occupied by stored groups.
________________________________________
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) A method, comprising: receiving ties for placement in a track for rail vehicles, the ties received in a common plane relative to each other; (L2) dividing the ties received in the common plane into one or more groups in which the ties of each group have a same orientation; (L3) and placing the one or more groups of ties onto a surface for placement of the ties adjacent to the track for the rail vehicles.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches railway wagon 1, platform 3 and carriage 4, with collection station 20, collection conveyor 22, auxiliary conveyor 15 and first conveyor 5 moving sleepers T toward unloading device 40 (paragraphs [0096]-[0103], [0145]-[0155]; Figs. 1-4 and 8). Sleepers T are railway ties intended for placement in the track. The conveyor support surfaces carry the ties side by side in a common support plane; the parallel, horizontally supported tie feed and layer formation are additionally explicit in Reference 2, columns 11-14 and Figures 30-50. Receiving the ties at that conveyor stage is the first step of the method. (L2) Reference 1 has stacked device 30, but paragraphs [0093]-[0095] place it on the worn-sleeper return path from return conveyor 12 to auxiliary conveyor 15. Reference 1 does not expressly provide the claimed forward-path, same-orientation group accumulator between the incoming conveyor and unloading device 40. Reference 2 supplies tie accumulation chain deck 126, staging station 128, layer accumulation station 130, stack layer lift 132 and stack accumulation lift 134 (cols. 11-14; Figs. 30-50). Station 130 forms layers 116, 120 and 122 of parallel ties, and arms 154 of lift 132 move each layer out of that station onto lift 134. Each layer is a same-orientation group received from the common-plane conveyor feed. Accumulating the incoming ties into successive layers divides the common-plane flow into the recited groups. (L3) Reference 1 teaches unloading device 40, whose parallel grip members 41a and 41b define a support surface, receive a predetermined number of sleepers from conveyors 5/6 and lower them onto railway ballast (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; Figs. 1 and 8). In the combination, the ordered layers formed by Reference 2 are transferred from the accumulator to that receiving support and deposited off the wagon. The modification supplies formed groups to the existing plural-tie unloader rather than treating return-path stacked device 30 as the forward accumulator. The support spacing, transfer elevation and load capacity are matched to the selected layer size; no pressure vessel or treatment yard is part of the combination. The ballast receiving location is adjacent to the track for subsequent tie placement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place the layer-forming portion of Reference 2 in the forward tie flow of Reference 1 before unloading device 40. Reference 1 already transports and unloads predetermined numbers of sleepers, and Reference 2 provides controlled formation and transfer of parallel tie layers. Forming those layers before the receiving support of device 40 reduces irregular spacing and repeated individual transfers at the unloader, preserving an orderly batch for placement. Return-path stacked device 30 does not perform that forward-feed function. The layer station, transfer arms and vertically indexed lift handle the same railroad ties; matching conveyor height and supporting capacity retains their disclosed motions. Only that handling portion is used, not the stationary treatment installation. The result is predictable forward grouping followed by the existing off-wagon deposit.
________________________________________
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 10, further comprising: previously receiving the ties in different orientations; (L2) and individually moving the ties into the common plane.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 10 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 does not expressly correct incoming edgewise or leaning ties into a common plane. Reference 3 teaches sorter conveyor chains 18 with hooks 28 and skid plates 140 that rise above the chains, contact on-edge or leaning wooden boards and jolt them into the desired flat position (cols. 11-12; Figs. 2 and 6). At collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1, the corresponding passive contact correction presents the wooden ties flat before transfer through auxiliary conveyor 15 toward conveyor 5 and the accumulator. The scale and contact clearance are selected for the tie cross section; the lumber-sorter bins and overhead infeed are not imported. (L2) The contact with skid plates 140 corrects each on-edge or leaning member as it advances, rather than merely reorienting an already formed group. Applied before auxiliary conveyor 15 and first conveyor 5, it individually moves previously differently oriented ties into the common plane before grouping.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the passive board-orientation correction of Reference 3 at collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1 upstream of the Reference 2 layer station. Reference 3 identifies on-edge or leaning boards as an insertion problem and uses contact during conveyor travel to make them lie flat. Wooden ties present the same rectangular-section handling problem when received edgewise. Correcting that condition before the downstream conveyor reduces unstable support and misfeeds at the layer accumulator. Tie-sized contact surfaces and conveyor loads preserve the disclosed correction function without requiring the lumber sorting installation.
________________________________________
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 11, wherein individually moving the ties into the common plane includes moving the ties beneath a planarizing mechanism.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 11 analysis is incorporated. The planarizing mechanism is construed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Reference 3 depicts skid plates 140 below the workpiece, not an overhead bar. The rejection relies on the overhead contact variant of that passive planarizing arrangement, not a finding that passage over a skid is passage beneath it. The contact body is supported above collection conveyor 22 at a clearance that passes a flat tie but intercepts an edgewise or leaning tie. Continued conveyor feed against the upper contact restrains the elevated portion while advancing the supported portion, tipping the tie onto its broad face; the corrected tie then passes beneath the body. This is the above-conveyor, continuous-contact modification of the skid-plate correction identified in the prior rejection. It uses the same conveyor-driven engagement of an elongated rectangular wooden member to correct its support orientation before downstream handling. In that modified structure the tie is moved beneath the supported contact body while its orientation is corrected, satisfying both the stated passage and the corresponding mechanical arrangement.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the passive board-orientation correction of Reference 3 at collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1 upstream of the Reference 2 layer station. Reference 3 identifies on-edge or leaning boards as an insertion problem and uses contact during conveyor travel to make them lie flat. Wooden ties present the same rectangular-section handling problem when received edgewise. Correcting that condition before the downstream conveyor reduces unstable support and misfeeds at the layer accumulator. Tie-sized contact surfaces and conveyor loads preserve the disclosed correction function without requiring the lumber sorting installation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement that passive contact correction with its contact face over, rather than under, the tie path. An overhead clearance allows already flat ties to proceed without being lifted by a bump and intercepts only ties projecting above the desired profile. With the conveyor continuing to advance the supported portion, the elevated portion is restrained and the tie tips flat before passing beneath the contact face. The technical reason is continuous correction before the layer station without deliberately bouncing every incoming tie. This is a reasoned change in contact location for the rectangular members and conveyor feed of Reference 3, not an assertion that all mechanisms performing the same function are interchangeable. The contact body and conveyor in that modified arrangement have the supported overhead-contact structure identified in Claim Interpretation.
________________________________________
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3 and Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 12, wherein the ties are moved beneath a horizontal bar of the planarizing mechanism to move at least some of the ties that are not arranged in a common plane to the common plane for arranging the ties in the common plane.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 12 analysis is incorporated. Reference 3 does not expressly show an overhead horizontal bar, and Reference 4 alone describes retaining alignment rather than correcting an edgewise tie. Reference 4 nevertheless supplies the concrete over-conveyor frame 48 with horizontal lower face 48a at bridge belt conveyor 42 (cols. 7-8; Figs. 9-10). Implementing the overhead contact variant already explained for claim 12 as a horizontal bar extending along the tie length gives a continuous contact face above the collection conveyor. A flat tie clears the face, while an elevated edgewise or leaning tie contacts it and is tipped flat by continuing feed. Thus at least some ties not in the common plane are moved into it before passing beneath the bar. This is the combined contact-correction/overhead-member modification, not literal flattening by the unmodified hold-down alone.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement that passive contact correction with its contact face over, rather than under, the tie path. An overhead clearance allows already flat ties to proceed without being lifted by a bump and intercepts only ties projecting above the desired profile. With the conveyor continuing to advance the supported portion, the elevated portion is restrained and the tie tips flat before passing beneath the contact face. The technical reason is continuous correction before the layer station without deliberately bouncing every incoming tie. This is a reasoned change in contact location for the rectangular members and conveyor feed of Reference 3, not an assertion that all mechanisms performing the same function are interchangeable. The contact body and conveyor in that modified arrangement have the supported overhead-contact structure identified in Claim Interpretation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the overhead frame teaching of Reference 4 as a horizontal contact bar for that correction. Frame 48/lower face 48a provides an upper constraint over a moving wooden member. A bar spanning the tie length provides a robust continuous face, and setting its clearance between the flat and edgewise heights makes contact selective to the unwanted orientation. The conveyor supplies the tipping motion already explained for claim 12; the bar is not relied on merely as an anti-bounce roller after alignment.
________________________________________
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 10, further comprising maintaining the ties in the common plane during movement of the ties by moving the ties beneath one or more limiting bodies during the movement of the ties.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 10 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 does not expressly provide the claimed limiting bodies. Reference 4 teaches hold-down means 46 comprising frame 48, lower face 48a and rollers 50 over bridge belt conveyor 42, to prevent bouncing and preserve the alignment of conveyed lumber (cols. 7-8; Figs. 9-10). Mounted over the downstream tie conveyor of Reference 1, these are limiting bodies retaining the ties against their supporting conveyor during movement to the Reference 2 accumulator. Reference 4 is relied on for maintaining the established plane, not for an express disclosure that an on-edge tie is thereby flattened. In the method, the ties move beneath those limiting bodies during transport before grouping.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to mount the hold-down frame and rollers of Reference 4 over the downstream tie conveyor of Reference 1 before the Reference 2 accumulator. Reference 4 expressly prevents conveyed lumber from bouncing and losing alignment. Restraining already planarized wooden ties against their support preserves the established plane during mobile conveyor transfer and provides stable presentation to the layer station. Roller contact allows feed to continue; height and capacity are set for the tie section.
________________________________________
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 10, further comprising moving each group of ties while maintaining the ties in the group in a common plane that is defined by the orientation of the ties.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 10 analysis is incorporated. Reference 2 teaches arms 154 of stack layer lift 132 supporting and translating an entire parallel layer from station 130 to stack accumulation lift 134 (cols. 12-14; Figs. 38-50). The ties retain their common plane and orientation during that movement. In the combined forward flow, those supported layers are transferred toward unloading device 40 without rearranging individual ties.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to preserve the common supporting plane during the layer transfer by arms 154 of Reference 2 when feeding unloading device 40 of Reference 1. Keeping the formed layer supported avoids undoing the grouping and having to realign ties at the unloader. It retains the disclosed coordinated transfer motion and predictably maintains the same-orientation group.
________________________________________
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The method of claim 10, wherein placing the groups of the ties includes tilting the groups of the ties.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 10 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 does not expressly tilt unloading device 40. Reference 5 teaches longitudinal conveyor 7 with parts 8/9 connected at joint 10, cable arrangement 13 and drive 14 for changing the inclination of projecting part 8 and end 23 (description pp. 4-5 and 10-14; claims 2-3; Figs. 1-2 and 6). It also teaches gravity transport on inclined roller conveyor track 16 and transporting sleeper groups with laying beam 38 (description pp. 12-17; Figs. 1 and 6-7). The proposed combination gives the group-receiving support of unloading device 40 a pivoted, inclination-adjustable mounting of the type taught by part 8/joint 10 and a discharge edge. Inclining that support tilts the supported group and moves it off the assembly onto ballast with gravity assisting release. Reference 5 is not described as expressly dumping a completed multilayer stack: the tiltable group-support adaptation is the stated modification. During the proposed method, inclination of the support rotates the supported group before release, so the placing step includes tilting the group itself, not merely changing an empty conveyor setting.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to give the receiving support of unloading device 40 of Reference 1 an inclination-adjustable pivot mounting based on part 8, joint 10 and cable arrangement 13 of Reference 5. Reference 5 supplies railway-specific articulated sleeper support, gravity transport on inclined track 16 and handling of grouped sleepers with beam 38. Applying an adjustable inclination to the support receiving the Reference 2 groups lowers its discharge edge and lets gravity assist movement of the heavy ties onto ballast, reducing a separate pushing or lifting stroke. Parallel support members sized to the layer keep the ties supported during inclination. The modification does not require that the groups be banded or that Reference 5 expressly disclose a finished-stack dumping machine.
________________________________________
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) A tie-arrangement system configured to be disposed onboard a vehicle, the tie-arrangement system comprising: a collection assembly configured to receive ties for placement in a track for rail vehicles, the collection assembly configured to receive the ties in different planes, the collection assembly including a first conveyor assembly configured to move the ties in the different planes beneath a planarizing body that moves the ties into a common plane; (L2) a second conveyor assembly configured to receive the ties in the common plane from the collection assembly and to move the ties away from the collection assembly; (L3) an accumulator assembly configured to receive the ties in the common plane from the second conveyor assembly, the accumulator assembly configured to arrange the ties in a same orientation in groups and to move the groups of the ties out of the accumulator assembly; (L4) and a delivery assembly configured to receive the groups of the ties arranged by the accumulator assembly into the same orientation, the delivery assembly configured to place the groups of the ties onto a surface off the tie-arrangement system for placement of the ties in the track for the rail vehicles.
Analysis
(L1) Reference 1 teaches an onboard tie-handling system on platform 3/carriage 4, collection station 20 and collection conveyor 22 (paragraphs [0096]-[0103]; Figs. 1-4). It does not expressly receive ties in different planes and correct them beneath a planarizing body. Reference 3 supplies passive correction of on-edge or leaning wooden members by conveyor chains 18/hooks 28 and skid plates 140 (cols. 11-12; Figs. 2 and 6). Reference 3 depicts skid plates 140 below the workpiece, not an overhead bar. The rejection relies on the overhead contact variant of that passive planarizing arrangement, not a finding that passage over a skid is passage beneath it. The contact body is supported above collection conveyor 22 at a clearance that passes a flat tie but intercepts an edgewise or leaning tie. Continued conveyor feed against the upper contact restrains the elevated portion while advancing the supported portion, tipping the tie onto its broad face; the corrected tie then passes beneath the body. This is the above-conveyor, continuous-contact modification of the skid-plate correction identified in the prior rejection. It uses the same conveyor-driven engagement of an elongated rectangular wooden member to correct its support orientation before downstream handling. Collection conveyor 22 is the first conveyor within the collection assembly in this claim. (L2) Reference 1 teaches the separate downstream conveyor through auxiliary conveyor 15 and first conveyor 5, receiving sleepers from collection conveyor 22 and moving them away from collection station 20 toward the forward delivery path (paragraphs [0096]-[0103], [0145]-[0155]; Figs. 1-4). The correction is performed at conveyor 22 before this downstream transfer. The second conveyor carries the corrected ties before group formation; no movement of preformed groups is substituted for this limitation. (L3) Reference 1 has stacked device 30, but paragraphs [0093]-[0095] place it on the worn-sleeper return path from return conveyor 12 to auxiliary conveyor 15. Reference 1 does not expressly provide the claimed forward-path, same-orientation group accumulator between the incoming conveyor and unloading device 40. Reference 2 supplies tie accumulation chain deck 126, staging station 128, layer accumulation station 130, stack layer lift 132 and stack accumulation lift 134 (cols. 11-14; Figs. 30-50). Station 130 forms layers 116, 120 and 122 of parallel ties, and arms 154 of lift 132 move each layer out of that station onto lift 134. Each layer is a same-orientation group received from the common-plane conveyor feed. Here station 130 receives the corrected common-plane ties from the distinct downstream conveyor. (L4) Reference 1 teaches unloading device 40, whose parallel grip members 41a and 41b define a support surface, receive a predetermined number of sleepers from conveyors 5/6 and lower them onto railway ballast (paragraphs [0103]-[0104]; Figs. 1 and 8). In the combination, the ordered layers formed by Reference 2 are transferred from the accumulator to that receiving support and deposited off the wagon. The modification supplies formed groups to the existing plural-tie unloader rather than treating return-path stacked device 30 as the forward accumulator. The support spacing, transfer elevation and load capacity are matched to the selected layer size; no pressure vessel or treatment yard is part of the combination.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place the layer-forming portion of Reference 2 in the forward tie flow of Reference 1 before unloading device 40. Reference 1 already transports and unloads predetermined numbers of sleepers, and Reference 2 provides controlled formation and transfer of parallel tie layers. Forming those layers before the receiving support of device 40 reduces irregular spacing and repeated individual transfers at the unloader, preserving an orderly batch for placement. Return-path stacked device 30 does not perform that forward-feed function. The layer station, transfer arms and vertically indexed lift handle the same railroad ties; matching conveyor height and supporting capacity retains their disclosed motions. Only that handling portion is used, not the stationary treatment installation. The result is predictable forward grouping followed by the existing off-wagon deposit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the passive board-orientation correction of Reference 3 at collection conveyor 22 of Reference 1 upstream of the Reference 2 layer station. Reference 3 identifies on-edge or leaning boards as an insertion problem and uses contact during conveyor travel to make them lie flat. Wooden ties present the same rectangular-section handling problem when received edgewise. Correcting that condition before the downstream conveyor reduces unstable support and misfeeds at the layer accumulator. Tie-sized contact surfaces and conveyor loads preserve the disclosed correction function without requiring the lumber sorting installation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to implement that passive contact correction with its contact face over, rather than under, the tie path. An overhead clearance allows already flat ties to proceed without being lifted by a bump and intercepts only ties projecting above the desired profile. With the conveyor continuing to advance the supported portion, the elevated portion is restrained and the tie tips flat before passing beneath the contact face. The technical reason is continuous correction before the layer station without deliberately bouncing every incoming tie. This is a reasoned change in contact location for the rectangular members and conveyor feed of Reference 3, not an assertion that all mechanisms performing the same function are interchangeable. The contact body and conveyor in that modified arrangement have the supported overhead-contact structure identified in Claim Interpretation.
________________________________________
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3 and Reference 4.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 17, wherein the second conveyor assembly includes one or more limiting bodies positioned to maintain the ties in the common plane during movement of the ties to the accumulator assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 17 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 does not expressly provide the claimed limiting bodies. Reference 4 teaches hold-down means 46 comprising frame 48, lower face 48a and rollers 50 over bridge belt conveyor 42, to prevent bouncing and preserve the alignment of conveyed lumber (cols. 7-8; Figs. 9-10). Mounted over the downstream tie conveyor of Reference 1, these are limiting bodies retaining the ties against their supporting conveyor during movement to the Reference 2 accumulator. Reference 4 is relied on for maintaining the established plane, not for an express disclosure that an on-edge tie is thereby flattened. For this claim the frame/rollers are located over auxiliary conveyor 15 or first conveyor 5, after the collection-stage planarizer and before station 130, so the limiting bodies belong to the recited second conveyor assembly.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to mount the hold-down frame and rollers of Reference 4 over the downstream tie conveyor of Reference 1 before the Reference 2 accumulator. Reference 4 expressly prevents conveyed lumber from bouncing and losing alignment. Restraining already planarized wooden ties against their support preserves the established plane during mobile conveyor transfer and provides stable presentation to the layer station. Roller contact allows feed to continue; height and capacity are set for the tie section.
________________________________________
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 17, wherein the accumulator assembly includes an elevator assembly configured to vertically move relative to the common plane of the ties, the elevator assembly configured to vertically move after each of the groups is loaded into the accumulator assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 17 analysis is incorporated. Reference 2 teaches stack accumulation lift 134, vertically lowering after each layer from lift 132 is deposited (cols. 12-14; Figs. 38-50). Incorporated in the onboard accumulator, it moves relative to the common-plane feed after each group is loaded.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to retain the vertically indexed stack accumulation lift 134 of Reference 2 in the forward-path accumulator of Reference 1. Lowering after each received layer clears the fixed incoming transfer plane for the next layer, allowing several groups to be accumulated without extending the conveyor by the total stack length. That is the disclosed indexing operation and predictably conserves longitudinal wagon space.
________________________________________
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reference 1 in view of Reference 2 and Reference 3 and Reference 5.
Claim Text
(L1) The tie-arrangement system of claim 17, wherein the delivery assembly is configured to tilt to move the groups of the ties off the delivery assembly.
Analysis
(L1) The claim 17 analysis is incorporated. Reference 1 does not expressly tilt unloading device 40. Reference 5 teaches longitudinal conveyor 7 with parts 8/9 connected at joint 10, cable arrangement 13 and drive 14 for changing the inclination of projecting part 8 and end 23 (description pp. 4-5 and 10-14; claims 2-3; Figs. 1-2 and 6). It also teaches gravity transport on inclined roller conveyor track 16 and transporting sleeper groups with laying beam 38 (description pp. 12-17; Figs. 1 and 6-7). The proposed combination gives the group-receiving support of unloading device 40 a pivoted, inclination-adjustable mounting of the type taught by part 8/joint 10 and a discharge edge. Inclining that support tilts the supported group and moves it off the assembly onto ballast with gravity assisting release. Reference 5 is not described as expressly dumping a completed multilayer stack: the tiltable group-support adaptation is the stated modification.
Motivation
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to give the receiving support of unloading device 40 of Reference 1 an inclination-adjustable pivot mounting based on part 8, joint 10 and cable arrangement 13 of Reference 5. Reference 5 supplies railway-specific articulated sleeper support, gravity transport on inclined track 16 and handling of grouped sleepers with beam 38. Applying an adjustable inclination to the support receiving the Reference 2 groups lowers its discharge edge and lets gravity assist movement of the heavy ties onto ballast, reducing a separate pushing or lifting stroke. Parallel support members sized to the layer keep the ties supported during inclination. The modification does not require that the groups be banded or that Reference 5 expressly disclose a finished-stack dumping machine.
________________________________________
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the amendments resolve the antecedent-basis defects in claims 13 and 17 (Remarks, pp. 6-7). The argument is persuasive. Claim 13 now introduces "at least some" without the unsupported definite article. Claim 17 now states that the second conveyor moves the ties away from the collection assembly before the accumulator forms groups. The rejection of claims 13 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn. The separate obviousness grounds remain for the reasons stated in the individual claim analyses.
Applicant argues that Reference 1 already groups sleepers using stacked device 30 and grip device 31, so the rationale for adding Reference 2 rests on an incorrect absence-of-grouping premise (Remarks, pp. 7-8). The existence of that stacker is acknowledged; an unqualified assertion that Reference 1 has no grouping device is not maintained. Paragraphs [0093]-[0095] place device 30 on the worn-sleeper return path from conveyor 12 to auxiliary conveyor 15. Paragraphs [0103] and [0145]-[0155] separately describe the forward supply of new sleepers to unloading device 40. Reference 2's station 130 and lifts 132/134 are used to form parallel layers in that forward flow before device 40. Its existing return stacker does not eliminate the reason to supply ordered forward-feed batches to the plural-tie unloader. The maintained ground is this forward-path layer formation and transfer, not an assertion that any stacker is absent.
Applicant argues that Reference 2 is a large stationary treatment or air-seasoning installation, is nonanalogous, and would conflict with Reference 1's compact, lightweight mobile wagon and curve-handling operation (Remarks, pp. 7-8). The argument is not persuasive. Reference 2 directly handles railroad ties and forms parallel layers at station 130 with transfer lift 132 and indexed lift 134; it is in the railroad-tie handling field and is reasonably pertinent to the problem of forming orderly tie groups for transfer. The proposed modification uses those tie-sized handling stages, not a pressure vessel, yard or entire stationary installation. Their feed and discharge heights are matched to Reference 1's conveyors and receiving support, and vertical accumulation reduces longitudinal storage space. Reference 1's articulated or extendable inter-wagon conveyors remain available; nothing in the claimed rail-car arrangement requires eliminating curve accommodation. The reason for integration is stable forward-feed batch transfer at device 40, and the independent-claim analyses identify the structures and modifications rather than merely placing unrelated machines together.
Applicant argues that amended claim 17 requires a distinct second conveyor moving ungrouped ties between the collection assembly and accumulator and that the combination does not establish that sequence without hindsight (Remarks, pp. 8-9). The argument is not persuasive. Reference 1's collection conveyor 22 supplies auxiliary conveyor 15 and first conveyor 5 before forward delivery (paragraphs [0096]-[0103], [0145]-[0155]; Figs. 1-4). The proposed collection-stage correction is at conveyor 22; conveyors 15/5 carry those corrected ties away from collection station 20 to the added station 130 of Reference 2. This is the individual-tie reading expressly addressed in the prior claim 17 rejection, not the alternative preformed-group reading removed by the amendment. The separate stages are therefore mapped in their claimed order without using group movement to satisfy tie movement.
Applicant argues that Reference 3's underside skid plates do not disclose the claimed planarizing arrangement, particularly passage beneath a planarizing mechanism (Remarks, p. 9). The physical distinction is acknowledged, but it does not overcome the stated obviousness modification. Skid plates 140 expressly correct on-edge or leaning wooden members to a flat position by contact during conveyor movement (cols. 11-12; Figs. 2 and 6). Claims 2, 3 and 11 do not themselves require an overhead body. For the narrower mechanism/beneath limitations, the prior rejection already proposed the above-conveyor variant, not literal passage beneath an underside skid. The contact face is placed at a clearance that passes flat ties and restrains the elevated portion of an edgewise tie; continuing feed tips the tie flat before it passes beneath. This selects contact by the unwanted height and avoids lifting each already flat tie over a bump. The claim 4/12 analyses identify the supported overhead body and conveyor arrangement for the 112(f) construction; functional similarity alone is not the basis. For claim 13, Reference 4 supplies the over-conveyor frame/lower face used as the horizontal contact member, with correction supplied by that stated combined arrangement.
Applicant argues that the additional teachings of References 4 and 5 cannot cure the independent-claim deficiencies and that the dependent claims are allowable for at least the reasons advanced for their parents (Remarks, pp. 8-9). The argument is not persuasive because the parent combinations are maintained on the specific findings above, and each dependent limitation is separately addressed. Reference 4's frame 48 and rollers 50 preserve an established plane in claims 5, 14 and 18; its overhead member is used with the contact-correction modification in claim 13, not asserted to flatten an edgewise tie by itself. Reference 5 supplies articulated inclination adjustment at part 8/joint 10, gravity transport on inclined track 16, and group handling by beam 38. Claims 8, 16 and 20 apply those teachings by pivoting the group-receiving support of device 40 to assist discharge; they do not depend on an assertion that Reference 5 literally dumps a finished tie stack. The dependent claims therefore remain unpatentable for their own mapped limitations as well as the incorporated parent grounds. No declaration, test data or objective-indicia evidence accompanies these arguments.
________________________________________
Finality
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
________________________________________
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected. No claims are canceled, withdrawn, objected to or indicated as containing allowable subject matter. The rejection of claims 13 and 17-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the Office action mailed July 1, 2026 is withdrawn because the October 1, 2026 amendments resolve the antecedent-basis defects. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained as explained above.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Its relevance is explained below.
________________________________________
Art Considered but Not Applied
US 5,415,087 A describes rail-mounted bundle conveyors and lateral dumping arms. It is pertinent to grouped tie delivery, but the maintained combination already supplies railway conveyance and off-wagon placement through Reference 1 and layer formation through Reference 2. Its distinct bundle-dump arrangement is not substituted for that combination.
US 2020/0346875 A1 describes an overhead stop that straightens and separates wooden members before a downstream conveyor. It is pertinent to collection-stage contact correction. The present grounds retain the passive correction and above-conveyor modification of Reference 3 rather than relying on a new straightening/singulating combination.
US 2022/0275587 A1 describes railway tie distribution with a descrambler and individual-tie outfeed. It does not provide as direct a forward-feed layer formation and group transfer teaching as the maintained combination of References 1 and 2.
/Jason C Smith/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615