DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 1, 17 and 20 is/are independent.
Priority
No priority has been claimed in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2023 and 2/25/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Picard (U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0084833) (hereinafter “Picard”) in view of Cella et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0339686) (hereinafter “Cella”).
Regarding claim 1 and corresponding claim 17, Picard teaches a non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by at least one data processor of a computing system, cause the computing system (Fig. 1 - - layers consist of computing processors executing instructions stored on memory)
to: receive, by a feedback loop interface, a request for an update of a data set (Para. 418 - - request for update is made in synchronization process; Para. 588 - - feedback loop can be used for synchronization)
…wherein the…engine includes a synchronizer configured to control sequences in a recurring cycle of a network, (Para. 588 - - feedback loop can be used for synchronization, where feedback loop is a control loop to control sequences in a recurring network cycle)
and wherein the synchronizer is configured to communicate with a configuration manager or receive configuration information from nodes in the network for managing the data set; (Para. 613 - - synchronization process receives configuration information with respect to network nodes and managing the data)
transmit, by the feedback loop interface, the request for the update of the data set to an actor node in the network; (Para. 418 - - request for update is made in synchronization process; Para. 588 - - feedback loop can be used for synchronization)
receive, by the feedback loop interface, an indication regarding the update of the data set from the actor node; (Para. 418 - - information related to update is received; Para. 588 - - feedback loop can be used for synchronization)
and transmit, by the feedback loop interface, the indication regarding the update of the data set via the…engine in the recurring cycle. (Para. 418 - - update is made in synchronization process; Para. 588 - - feedback loop can be used for synchronization, where feedback loop is a control loop to control sequences in a recurring network cycle)
But Picard does not explicitly teach via a data-acquisition-and-computing (DAC) engine in an edge computing device,
However, Cella teaches via a data-acquisition-and-computing (DAC) engine in an edge computing device, (Para. 285 - - edge computing is used; Para. 311 - - data acquisition device is controlled by a computer)
Picard and Cella are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and/or functional similarities. They both contain analyzing data in a network setting.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above limitation(s) as taught by Picard, by incorporating the above limitation(s) as taught by Cella.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide data collection in an industrial setting using existing format of data, as suggested by Cella (Para. 281).
Regarding claim 2, Cella teaches wherein the actor node is a producer node, wherein the producer node is configured to retrieve or receive the data set from one or more data sources, (Para. 311 - - data acquisition device is controlled by a computer)
and wherein the data set is generated from a sensor of a turbine. (Para. 386 - - data is monitored in a gas turbine arrangement; Para. 389 - - sensor is used)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to provide data collection in an industrial setting using existing format of data, as suggested by Cella (Para. 281).
Regarding claim 3 and corresponding claim 18, Picard teaches wherein the actor node is an asset association node, and wherein the asset association node is configured to associate one or more additional data sets from the producer node in the network for processing the update of the data set. (Para. 413, 418 - - update process includes network nodes associating additional data sets from broadcast, i.e. producer, nodes)
Regarding claim 4, Picard teaches wherein the actor node is a computing node, and wherein the computing node is configured to generate a new data to complement the data set. (Para. 312, 697 - - network layers/nodes generate new data related to existing data set, i.e. complementing the data set)
Regarding claim 5, Picard teaches wherein the actor node is a computing node, and wherein the computing node is configured to process or elaborate data according to a nature of the computing node or the configuration information received to generate a new data to complement the data set. (Para. 312, 697 - - network layers/nodes generate new data related to existing data set, i.e. complementing the data set)
Regarding claim 6, Picard teaches wherein the actor node is a computing node, wherein the computing node is configured to process or elaborate data according to data set dependencies to generate a new data to complement the data set. (Para. 312, 697 - - network layers/nodes generate new data related to existing data set, i.e. complementing the data set)
Regarding claim 7, Picard teaches wherein the actor node is a computing node, and wherein the computing node is configured to perform arithmetic of mathematical operations. (Para. 486, 606, 1131 - - mathematical operations are performed)
Regarding claim 8, Picard teaches wherein the actor node is a computing node, wherein the computing node is configured to evaluate one or more conditional statement, mathematical function or models, statistical function or models, time-series models, programable code functions, and a machine learning or derivative function. (Para. 301 - - conditions are evaluated; Para. 486, 606, 1131 - - mathematical operations are performed; Para. 727 - - statistical data processing is used; Para. 279 - - time based model is used; Para. 212 - - programmable code function is used; Para. 246 - - derivative function is used)
Regarding claim 9, Picard teaches wherein the asset association node is further configured to perform a data normalization process on the data set via the configuration manager, in response to the update of the data set. (Para. 1139 - - data is normalized)
Regarding claim 10, Picard teaches wherein the data normalization process includes one or more of the following: identifying irregular data entries in the data set and adjusting identified irregular data entries; verifying data entries associated with the dataset based on a threshold; adjusting a format of the data set; converting a unit of the data set; and adjusting a range of the data set. (Para. 486, 606, 1131 - - mathematical operations are performed)
Regarding claim 11, Picard teaches wherein the nodes in the network include a consumer node. (Fig. 2A - - various network elements include consumer node)
Regarding claim 19, Picard teaches wherein the asset association node is further configured to perform a data normalization process on the data set, in response to the update of the data set, wherein the data normalization process includes at least one of the following: verifying data entries associated with the data set based on a threshold; adjusting a format of the data set; converting a unit of the data set; and adjusting a range of the data set; (Para. 211 - - data format is adjusted)
and wherein the computing node is further configured to generate and elaborate new data in response to the update of the data set, wherein the data generating and elaborating process includes at least one of the following: performing arithmetic of mathematical operations; evaluating one or more conditional statement; evaluating or computing mathematical function or models; evaluating or computing statistical function or models; evaluating or computing time-series models; evaluating or computing programable code functions; evaluating or computing a machine learning or derivative function. (Para. 486, 606, 1131 - - mathematical operations are performed)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim(s), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim(s) and any intervening claim(s).
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
While Picard discloses real time clock distribution and recovery including protocol subject matter for advanced metering infrastructure,
and while Cella discloses data collection, learning and streaming of machine signals for analytics and maintenance using the industrial internet of things,
none of these references taken either alone or in combination with the prior art of record disclose, in combination with the remaining elements and features of the claimed invention, data synchronization via edge computing including:
Claim 12 (along with claim 1 on which claim 12 depends),
receive, by a feedback loop interface, a request for an update of a data set via a data-acquisition-and-computing (DAC) engine in an edge computing device, wherein the DAC engine includes a synchronizer configured to control sequences in a recurring cycle of a network, and wherein the synchronizer is configured to communicate with a configuration manager or receive configuration information from nodes in the network for managing the data set;
transmit, by the feedback loop interface, the request for the update of the data set to an actor node in the network;
receive, by the feedback loop interface, an indication regarding the update of the data set from the actor node; and
transmit, by the feedback loop interface, the indication regarding the update of the data set via the DAC engine in the recurring cycle.
wherein the data set is a first data set, wherein the request is a first request, wherein the actor node is a first actor node, wherein the indication is a first indication, wherein the update is a first update, and wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the feedback loop interface, a second request for a second update of a second data set via the DAC engine in the edge computing device;
transmitting, by the feedback loop interface, the second request for the second update of the second data set to a second actor node in the network;
receiving, by the feedback loop interface, a second indication regarding the second update of the second data set from the second actor node; and
transmitting, by the feedback loop interface, the second indication regarding the second update of the second data set to via the DAC engine in the recurring cycle.
Independent Claim 20,
data synchronization, comprising:
receiving, by a feedback loop interface, a first request for a first update of a first data set via a data-acquisition-and-computing (DAC) engine in an edge computing device;
receiving, by the feedback loop interface, a second request for a second update of a second data set via the DAC engine in the edge computing device, wherein the DAC engine includes a synchronizer configured to control sequences in a recurring cycle of a network, and wherein the synchronizer is configured to communicate with a configuration manager or receive configuration information from nodes in the network for managing the first and second data sets;
transmitting, by the feedback loop interface, the first request for the first update of the first data set to a first actor node in the network;
transmitting, by the feedback loop interface, the second request for the second update of the second data set to a second actor node in the network;
receiving, by the feedback loop interface, a first indication regarding the first update of the first data set from the first actor node;
receiving, by the feedback loop interface, a second indication regarding the second update of the second data set from the second actor node;
transmitting, by the feedback loop interface, the first indication regarding the first update of the first data set to the synchronizer of the DAC engine; and
transmitting, by the feedback loop interface, the second indication regarding the second update of the second data set to the synchronizer of the DAC engine,
wherein the synchronizer is configured to transmit a confirmation to a third actor node indicating that the first update and the second update are complete, in response to the first indication and the second indication.
It is for these reasons that the applicant’s invention defines over the prior art of record.
Claim(s) 13-16, being definite, further limiting, and fully enabled by the specification, depend on the above allowable claim(s) 12, and thus are also allowable.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 9,423,822 by Singh et al., which discloses automatic data acquisition subsystem synchronization and sample rate arbitration (Title/Abstract).
U.S. Pat. No. 8,942,300 by Castro Scorsi et al., which discloses integrated digitizer system with streaming interface (Title/Abstract).
Conclusion
/SAAD M KABIR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119