DETAILED ACTION
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 3-11, 13-16, 18, and 19 and the cancellation of claims 2, 12, 17, and 20 filed August 12, 2025.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In Paragraph 27, line 6, the phrase “the blocking surface 41” should be changed to “the blocking surface 40a” based on applicant’s amendments to Paragraph 46.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bland et al. (EP 1069268 A1) in view of Perkins et al. (US Pub. No. 2011/0133491 A1), and further in view of Li et al. (CN 111119617 A).
In regards to claim 1, Bland et al. discloses a closure latch assembly for a motor vehicle, the closure latch assembly comprising: a strength plate unit 16 and 34; a ratchet 14 supported by the strength plate unit for pivotal movement about a ratchet pin 24 within a ratchet pivot plane (plane in which the ratchet pivots during operation, Figure 1) between a striker release position (Paragraph 13), whereat the ratchet is positioned to release a striker (Paragraphs 12 and 13), and a striker capture position (Figure 1), whereat the ratchet is positioned to retain the striker; a pawl 12 supported by the strength plate unit for pivotal movement about a pawl pin 20 within a pawl pivot plane (plane in which the pawl pivots during operation, Figure 2) between a ratchet holding position (Figure 1), whereat the pawl is positioned to hold the ratchet in the striker capture position (Paragraph 12), and a ratchet releasing position, whereat the pawl is located to permit pivotal movement of the ratchet within the ratchet pivot plane to the striker release position (Paragraph 13); wherein the strength plate unit has a bypass feature 36 positioned adjacent at least one of the pawl pivot plane and the ratchet pivot plane (Figure 2), the bypass feature having a length such that the bypass feature extends towards the ratchet and the pawl (Figure 2), the bypass feature preventing at least one of the ratchet from moving out of the ratchet pivot plane and the pawl from moving out of the pawl pivot plane while the pawl is in the ratchet holding position (Paragraph 17).
Bland et al. fails to specify that the ratchet is biased toward the striker release position and that the pawl is biased toward the ratchet holding position. Perkins et al. teaches a closure latch assembly including a ratchet 16 biased toward a striker release position (Paragraph 25) and a pawl 24 biased toward a ratchet holding position (Paragraph 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to specify that the ratchet and pawl are biased, with reasonable expectation of success, since it is known in the motor vehicle latch art to utilize biasing means or springs to bias ratchets and pawls to their open position and engaged position, respectively.
Bland et al. fails to disclose that the bypass feature has a reinforcing rib extending lengthwise toward the ratchet and the pawl, the reinforcing rib providing the bypass feature with a strength enhancing non-planar surface, as viewed in a cross-section taken generally along a plane parallel to the pawl pivot plane and the ratchet pivot plane. Li et al. teaches a vehicle latch structure 4 having a reinforcing rib (rib at indicator line for reference character 5, Figure 3) extending along the length of the structure (Figure 3), with the reinforcing rib providing the structure with a strength enhancing non-planar surface, as viewed in a cross-section taken generally along a plane extending into the structure 4 (apparent from Figure 3 that the rib changes the shape of the structure 4 at the point the rib is formed in the structure 4, with the surface of the structure being non-planar at the rib). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a reinforcing rib extending lengthwise or along the length of the bypass feature of Bland et al., with reasonable expectation of success, in order to eliminate stress concentration and increase the strength of the bypass feature and structures cooperating with the bypass feature.
In regards to claim 3, Bland et al. discloses that the strength plate unit includes a frameplate 16 and a backplate 34, wherein the ratchet and the pawl are supported for pivotal movement between the frameplate and the backplate (Figure 2), and the bypass feature is formed extending generally toward the ratchet and the pawl from the backplate (Figure 2), wherein the backplate has mounting features located on opposite sides of the bypass feature (mounting features that cooperate with pivots 20 and 24 that extend between and connect the frameplate and backplate on opposite sides of the bypass feature, Figures 1 and 2 and Paragraphs 9 and 11).
In regards to claim 4, Bland et al. discloses that the bypass feature is formed as a monolithic piece of material with the backplate (Paragraph 17).
In regards to claim 5, Bland et al. discloses that the bypass feature is formed as a bent piece of material of the backplate (Paragraph 17).
In regards to claim 6, Bland et al. discloses that the bypass feature is fixed to and extends from the backplate (fixed by being formed with the backplate, Figure 2 and Paragraph 17).
In regards to claim 7, Bland et al. discloses that the frameplate and the backplate extend generally parallel to one another (Figure 2), the bypass feature extending in inclined relation from the backplate (inclined relative to the backplate at an angle of at least 90 degrees, Figure 2).
In regards to claim 8, Bland et al. discloses that the bypass feature extends transversely from the backplate (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 9, Bland et al. discloses that the bypass feature extends to a free end (see Figure 2 below) arranged in side-by-side relation with a portion of the ratchet and the pawl (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 10, Bland et al. discloses that the free end blocks the ratchet from moving out of the ratchet pivot plane and blocks the pawl from the moving out of the pawl pivot plane while the pawl is in the ratchet holding position (Paragraph 17).
In regards to claim 11, Bland et al. discloses a method of preventing inadvertent movement of a latch for a motor vehicle from moving out of a latched state (Figure 1), whereat a pawl 12 holds a ratchet 14 in a striker capture position (Figure 1), the method comprising: inhibiting movement of at least one of the ratchet out of a ratchet pivot plane (plane in which the ratchet pivots during operation, Figure 2) about a ratchet pin 24 and the pawl out of a pawl pivot plane (plane in which the pawl pivots during operation, Figure 2) about a pawl pin 20 while the pawl is holding the ratchet in the striker capture position (Paragraph 17), and supporting the ratchet pin and the pawl pin with a strength plate unit 16 and 34, and positioning a bypass feature 36 adjacent at least one of the pawl pivot plane and the ratchet pivot plane (Figure 2), the bypass feature having a length such that the bypass feature extends towards the ratchet and the pawl (Figure 2), the bypass feature preventing at least one of the ratchet from moving out of the ratchet pivot plane and the pawl from moving out of the pawl pivot plane while the pawl is holding the ratchet in the striker capture position (Paragraph 17).
Bland et al. fails to disclose that the bypass feature has a reinforcing rib extending lengthwise toward the ratchet and the pawl, the reinforcing rib providing the bypass feature with a strength enhancing non-planar surface, as viewed in a cross-section taken generally along a plane parallel to the pawl pivot plane and the ratchet pivot plane. Li et al. teaches a vehicle latch structure 4 having a reinforcing rib (rib at indicator line for reference character 5, Figure 3) extending along the length of the structure (Figure 3), with the reinforcing rib providing the structure with a strength enhancing non-planar surface, as viewed in a cross-section taken generally along a plane extending into the structure 4 (apparent from Figure 3 that the rib changes the shape of the structure 4 at the point the rib is formed in the structure 4, with the surface of the structure being non-planar at the rib). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to include a reinforcing rib extending lengthwise or along the length of the bypass feature of Bland et al., with reasonable expectation of success, in order to eliminate stress concentration and increase the strength of the bypass feature and structures cooperating with the bypass feature.
In regards to claim 13, Bland et al. discloses that the method further includes providing the strength plate unit having a frameplate 16 and a backplate 34, with the ratchet supported for pivotal movement within the ratchet pivot plane and the pawl supported for pivotal movement within the pawl pivot plane between the frameplate and the backplate (Figure 2), and extending the bypass feature toward the ratchet and the pawl from the backplate (Figure 2), with the backplate having mounting features located on opposite sides of the bypass feature (mounting features that cooperate with pivots 20 and 24 that extend between and connect the frameplate and backplate on opposite sides of the bypass feature, Figures 1 and 2 and Paragraphs 9 and 11).
In regards to claim 14, Bland et al. discloses that the method further includes providing the bypass feature as a monolithic piece of material with the backplate (Paragraph 17).
In regards to claim 15, Bland et al. discloses that the method further includes providing the bypass feature as a bent piece of material of the backplate (Paragraph 17).
In regards to claim 16, Bland et al. discloses that the method further includes arranging the frameplate and the backplate extending generally parallel to one another (Figure 2), with the bypass feature extending in inclined relation from the backplate (inclined relative to the backplate at an angle of at least 90 degrees, Figure 2).
In regards to claim 18, Bland et al. discloses that the method further includes providing the bypass feature extending to a free end arranged in side-by-side relation with a portion of the ratchet and the pawl while the pawl is holding the ratchet in the striker capture position (see Figure 2 on Page 6 of the current Office Action).
In regards to claim 19, Bland et al. discloses that the method further includes proving a gap between the free end of the bypass feature and the ratchet and pawl (Figure 2), and sizing the gap to prevent the ratchet from moving out from the ratchet pivot plane when the ratchet impacts the free end of the bypass feature and preventing the pawl from moving out from the pawl pivot plane when the pawl impacts the free end of the bypass feature (Paragraph 17).
Response to Arguments
In light of applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 11, new rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are set forth in the current Office Action.
The examiner appreciates applicant’s amendments to the claims and specification, and therefore, the drawing objections, claim objections, and rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) set forth in the previous Office Action are withdrawn. The objection to the specification set forth in the previous Office Action is maintain and modified based on applicant’s amendments to the specification.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALYSON M MERLINO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675 November 10, 2025