Detail Action
This office action is a response to an amendment submitted on 04/02/2026.
Claims 1- 209 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/19/2023. These drawings are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 9, 15 and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
The objection to title has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amended title.
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized a following;
Applicant argued that Prior Arts Zhu in view of Chu “does not teach or suggest that an electro-magnetic signal can be broadcast periodically… “
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the current above arguments.
In response to applicant's argument, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, Applicant’s arguments focus on whether the Prior Arts disclosed the exact claim language in isolation, rather than whether the claimed subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art. The rejection properly relies on the combined Prior Arts Zhu and Chu, where both teach periodic transmission and D2D authentication features. Applicant argued that Zhu does not expressly teach a Bluetooth transceiver broadcasting an electro-magnetic signal periodically. However, one in the ordinary skill in the art understood that BLUETOOTH technology already transmit electromagnetic signals periodically as part of its ordinary operation. Therefore, the added recitation of “broadcast an electro-magnetic signal periodically” does not distinguish the claim. Bluetooth is a wireless technology that uses radio frequency waves, which are electromagnetic waves, to transmit information between devices. Accordingly, because the recited Bluetooth-based system of Zhu already disclosed the same feature/structure that is capable of performing the intended use of the claimed limitation of “broadcasting an electro-magnetic signal…. “, it renders the claim obvious.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Zhu et al. (US 20190349758 A1), hereinafter “Zhu”; and in further view of Chu et al. (US 9730255 B1), hereinafter “Chu”.
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches A terminal device, comprising [Zhu: Fig. 5; user device500]:
a speaker, configured to broadcast an audio signal, wherein the audio signal comprises an identifier of the terminal device [Zhu: Par. 27; Fig. 3;6 teaches host STA periodically broadcast ultrasound signal which include SSID];
a Bluetooth communication transceiver, configured to broadcast an electro-magnetic signal periodically, wherein the electro-magnetic signal comprises an encoded message [Zhu: Figs 3, 6; Par. 27 and 85 teaches of receiving/transmitting of ultrasound signal with authentication request/response to determine/generate key using Bluetooth which broadcast an electromagnetic signal in periodically manner].
However, Zhu does not teach a processing apparatus electrically coupled to the Bluetooth communication transceiver and the speaker, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to encode a first message, according to the identifier, to generate the encoded message.
Nevertheless, Chu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches a processing apparatus electrically coupled to the Bluetooth communication transceiver and the speaker, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to encode a first message, according to the identifier, to generate the encoded message [Chu: Col. 10; Lines 55- 65 teaches Bluetooth in the electronic device decode the Unique ID through audio interface for establish connection].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chu for pairing devices using ultrasonic signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chu in the Zhu system in order to pair and identified the matching devices in the proximity [Chu: Abstract].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein the first message comprises connection configuration information of the terminal device [Zhu: Fig. 3 illustrates communicating configuration information].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches receive a connecting request corresponding to the connection configuration information through the Bluetooth communication transceiver and establish a connection according to the connecting request [Zhu: Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein the audio signal comprises an ultrasonic signal supported by data over sound technology, wherein a frequency of the ultrasonic signal is greater than 20,000 Hz [Chu: Col 8-9 teaches of using 20 kHz ultrasonic signal for communication].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein the electro-magnetic signal comprises an electro-magnetic wave signal supported by Bluetooth communication technology [Zhu: Par. 27 & 85 teaches of using ultrasound signal communication with Bluetooth technology].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein the identifier comprises one of the following: a serial number and a media access control (MAC) address [Zhu: par. 70 disclosed operate MAC communication].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein the speaker is configured to broadcast the audio signal periodically, [Zhu: Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 3. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein when the terminal device is in a standby state, the processing apparatus is configured to execute the specific application [Zhu: Par. 35 teaches of devices have device state status].
Regarding claim 9, Zhu teaches A terminal device, comprising [Zhu: Fig. 5; user device500]:
an audio receiver, configured to receive a first audio signal, wherein the first audio signal comprises a first identifier [Zhu: Par. 27; Fig. 3;6 teaches host STA periodically broadcast ultrasound signal which include SSID];
a Bluetooth communication transceiver, configured to receive an electro-magnetic signal that is broadcasted periodically, wherein the electro-magnetic signal comprises an encoded message [[Zhu: Figs 3, 6; Par. 27 and 85 teaches of receiving/transmitting of ultrasound signal with authentication request/response to determine/generate key using Bluetooth which broadcast an electromagnetic signal in periodically manner]
However, Zhu does not teach a processing apparatus electrically coupled to the Bluetooth communication transceiver and the audio receiver, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to decode the encoded message according to the first identifier to obtain a first message.
Nevertheless, Chu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches a processing apparatus electrically coupled to the Bluetooth communication transceiver and the audio receiver, wherein the processing apparatus is configured to decode the encoded message according to the first identifier to obtain a first message [Chu: Col. 10; Lines 55- 65 teaches Bluetooth in the electronic device decode the Unique ID through audio interface for establish connection].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chu for pairing devices using ultrasonic signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chu in the Zhu system in order to pair and identified the matching devices in the proximity [Chu: Abstract].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 9. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein the terminal device is configured to receive the first audio signal comprising the first identifier at a first time point and a second audio signal comprising a second identifier at a second time point, wherein in response to the first time point being later than the second time point [Zhu: Par. 82 disclosed using SSID(s) for authentication data], the processing apparatus is configured to execute a specific application to select the first identifier from the first identifier and the second identifier to decode the encoded message according to the first identifier [Zhu: Fig.4; Par. 82-86 teaches determining signal based on SSID associated with wireless device/network and establish connection based on the authentication process].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 10. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches wherein the first message comprises connection configuration information, and wherein in response to obtaining the connection configuration information, the processing apparatus is configured to execute the specific application to transmit a connecting request corresponding to the connection configuration information, through the Bluetooth communication transceiver, to establish a connection [Zhu: Figs. 3-4; Par. 27; Par. 82-89]
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, Zhu teaches A system for forming a communication link, comprising: a first terminal device and a second terminal device,
the first terminal device, comprising[Zhu: Fig. 5; user device500]:
a speaker, configured to broadcast a first audio signal, wherein the first audio signal comprises a first identifier of the first terminal device [Zhu: Par. 27; Fig. 3;6 teaches host STA periodically broadcast ultrasound signal which include SSID];
a first Bluetooth communication transceiver, configured to broadcast an electro-magnetic signal periodically, wherein the electro-magnetic signal comprises an encoded message [[Zhu: Figs 3, 6; Par. 27 and 85 teaches of receiving/transmitting of ultrasound signal with authentication request/response to determine/generate key using Bluetooth which broadcast an electromagnetic signal in periodically manner].
the second terminal device, comprising:
an audio receiver, configured to receive the first audio signal from the first terminal device [Zhu: Fig. 3];
a second Bluetooth communication transceiver, configured to receive the electro-magnetic signal that is broadcasted periodically from the first terminal device [Fig. 3]
However, Zhu does not teach a first processing apparatus electrically coupled to the first Bluetooth communication transceiver and the speaker, wherein the first processing apparatus is configured to encode a first message according to the first identifier to generate the encoded message;
a second processing apparatus electrically coupled to the second Bluetooth communication transceiver and the audio receiver, wherein the second processing apparatus is configured to decode the encoded message according to the first identifier to obtain the first message.
Nevertheless, Chu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches the first Bluetooth communication transceiver and the speaker, wherein the first processing apparatus is configured to encode a first message according to the first identifier to generate the encoded message [Chu: Fig. 8] ;
a second processing apparatus electrically coupled to the second Bluetooth communication transceiver and the audio receiver, wherein the second processing apparatus is configured to decode the encoded message according to the first identifier to obtain the first message [Chu: Col. 10; Lines 55- 65 teaches Bluetooth in the electronic device decode the Unique ID through audio interface for establish connection].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chu for pairing devices using ultrasonic signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chu in the Zhu system in order to pair and identified the matching devices in the proximity [Chu: Abstract].
Regarding claim 16, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches the first message comprises connection configuration information, wherein the second terminal device is configured to obtain the connection configuration information [Zhu: Par. 27 teaches UE transmitting connection configuration information to electronic device in the network] and transmit a connecting request corresponding to the connection configuration information to the first terminal device, through the second Bluetooth communication transceiver, to establish a connection with the first terminal device [Zhu: Fig. 4; Par. 80- 85 further teaches requesting and authenticating device using Bluetooth communication with ultrasound signal].
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 10.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, Zhu teaches A method for forming a communication link, comprising [Zhu: Fig. 5; user device500]:
broadcasting an audio signal by a speaker of a first terminal device, wherein the audio signal comprises an identifier of the first terminal device [Zhu: Par. 27; Fig. 3;6 teaches host STA periodically broadcast ultrasound signal which include SSID];
broadcasting an electro-magnetic signal periodically by a first Bluetooth communication transceiver of the first terminal device, wherein the electro-magnetic signal comprises an encoded message [[Zhu: Figs 3, 6; Par. 27 and 85 teaches of receiving/transmitting of ultrasound signal with authentication request/response to determine/generate key using Bluetooth which broadcast an electromagnetic signal in periodically manner];
However, Zhu does not teach encoding a first message according to the identifier to generate the encoded message by a first processing apparatus of the first terminal device.
Nevertheless, Chu, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches encoding a first message according to the identifier to generate the encoded message by a first processing apparatus of the first terminal device [Chu: Fig. 8; Col. 10; Lines 55- 65 teaches Bluetooth in the electronic device decode the Unique ID through audio interface for establish connection].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Chu for pairing devices using ultrasonic signal. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Chu in the Zhu system in order to pair and identified the matching devices in the proximity [Chu: Abstract].
Regarding claim 20, the combined Zhu in view of Chu teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 19. Zhu in view of Chu further teaches receiving the audio signal by an audio receiver of a second terminal device;
receiving an electro-magnetic signal by a second Bluetooth communication transceiver of the second terminal device [Zhu: Fig. 4; Par. 27 teaches of using Bluetooth technology with ultrasound signal to communicate with electronic devices];
decoding the encoded message according to the identifier to obtain the first message by a second processing apparatus of the second terminal device [Chu: Fig. 8; Col. 10; Lines 55- 65 teaches Bluetooth in the electronic device decode the Unique ID through audio interface for establish connection], wherein the first message comprises connection configuration information [Zhu: Fig. 4];
transmitting, by the second device terminal, a connecting request corresponding to the connection configuration information to the first terminal device to establish a connection with the first terminal device [Zhu: Fig. 3; step 306 request connection using authorization information request sending to terminal device]; and
disconnecting the connection between the second terminal device and the first terminal device when the second terminal device does not receive one of the audio signals and the electro-magnetic signal during a predetermined time period [Zhu: Fig. 3; further illustrate determining the connection whether secure key are authenticated].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412