DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2023 and 02/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “the first main wall portion” in claim 1, lines 6, 7, 13, and 34-35 should read “the rectangular first main wall portion”.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “the second main wall portion” in claim 1, lines 7, 10, and 35 should read “the rectangular second main wall portion”.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “the four side wall portions” in claim 1, lines 10-11 should read “the four rectangular side wall portions”.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “the opening” in claim 1, lines 14 and 25 should read “the rectangular opening”.
Further regarding claim 1, the recitation “the lid member” in claim 1, lines 15, 26, and 31-32 should read “the rectangular lid member”.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “the first main wall portion” in claim 3, lines 7, 8, 14, 35-36, and 42 should read “the rectangular first main wall portion”.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the second main wall portion” in claim 3, lines 8, 11, 36, and 42-43 should read “the rectangular second main wall portion”.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the four side wall portions” in claim 3, lines 11-12 should read “the four rectangular side wall portions”.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the bent lid peripheral portion” in claim 3, lines 44-45 should read “the lid peripheral portion”.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the lid member” in claim 3, lines 16, 27, 32-33, and 40-41 should read “the rectangular lid member”.
Further regarding claim 3, the recitation “the bent opening peripheral portion” in claim 3, lines 44-45 should read “the opening peripheral portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura (Pub. No. US 20180294446 A1) in view of Wyser (Pub. No. US 6232015 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches a power storage device (1, Fig. 1, see [0034]) comprising: a case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034]) having a rectangular box shape (see Fig. 1 where 2 has a rectangular box shape); and an electrode body (3, Fig. 3, see [0034]) housed in the case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034], see Fig. 3, where 3 is housed in 2), the case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034]) having: a rectangular first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038]), a rectangular second main wall portion (22a, Fig. 3, see [0039]) opposite the first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038], see Fig. 3 where 21a and 22a are opposite each other), and four rectangular side wall portions (22b on each side, Fig. 3/4, see [0039] where 22b extends around the entire periphery, therefore 22b on each side would be 1 of 4 rectangular side wall portions) each connecting between the first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038]) and the second main wall portion (22a, Fig. 3, see [0039], see Fig. 3/4 where 22b extends between 22a and connects to 21b which is connected to 21a) and expanding in a case thickness direction (direction between 21a and 22a, Fig. 3/4 where 22b extends in the direction between 21a and 22a), the case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034]) including: a case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]) that forms the second main wall portion (22a, Fig. 3, see [0039]) and the four side wall portions (22b on each side, Fig. 3/4, see [0039] where 22b extends around the entire periphery, therefore 22b on each side would be 1 of 4 rectangular side wall portions) and has a bottomed rectangular frame shape (see Figs. 3 and 4 where the cross section is rectangular in both directions as also seen in Fig. 2 where the entire structure is rectangular in shape and the examiner considers the structure a frame shape) with a rectangular opening (see Fig. 3 and 4 show the cross section in both directions has an opening in 22 where 3 sits), in which the electrode body (3, Fig. 3, see [0034]) is housed (see Figs. 3 and 4 where 3 sits in the opening in 22); and a rectangular lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]) that forms the first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038]) and closes the opening (see Fig. 3 and 4 show the cross section in both directions has an opening in 22 where 3 sits), the lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]) including: an inner surface (inner surface of 21a facing 3, Fig. 3) facing to the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]), and a lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) welded over an entire circumference (welding over the entire periphery, see [0040]) to an opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below) of the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]), and the electrode body (3, Fig. 3, see [0034]) being housed in the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]) in an orientation with the electrode-body thickness direction (thickness of 3 is in direction of 22 to 21, Fig. 3) extending parallel to the case thickness direction (direction between 21a and 22a, Fig. 3/4 where 22b extends in the direction between 21a and 22a), wherein the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below) of the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]) is bent over an entire circumference to inside of the opening (see Fig. 3 and 4 show the cross section in both directions has an opening in 22 where 3 sits, note the opening peripheral portion in Fig. 3 below is bent up and makes up the opening, therefore it considered bent towards the opening), the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) of the lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]) is bent over the entire circumference toward the inner surface (inner surface of 21a facing 3, see Fig. 3 below where the lid peripheral portion is bent down and toward the inner surface), the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) and the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below) are hermetically joined to each other (see [0054] where the case is airtight by welding) while the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) is stacked on the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below where one is stacked on top of the other) on outside (see Fig. 3 below where the lid peripheral portion is outside the opening peripheral portion) in a thickness direction (direction between 21a and 22a, Fig. 3) over a ring-band shaped range extending over the entire circumference (see Figs. 3 and 4 and [0038], the lid peripheral portion extends around the circumference and therefore stacked on the opening peripheral portion around the entire circumference) and in expanding directions (expanding directions, Fig. 2 below) of the lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]), but fails to teach the electrode body including an electrode laminated portion having a rectangular parallelepiped shape in which electrode sheets are laminated in an electrode-body thickness direction and the case has elasticity and elastically compresses the electrode laminated portion of the electrode body in the electrode-body thickness direction by the first main wall portion and the second main wall portion.
However, Wyser teaches electrode body (2, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines 37-43]) including an electrode laminated portion (laminated portion, Fig. 3 below) having a rectangular parallelepiped shape (see laminated portion in Fig. 3 below, as the jelly roll battery is 3 dimensional, the below outlined laminated portion is considered a rectangular parallelepiped) in which electrode sheets (anodes and cathodes, see [Col. 1, lines 31-39] which describes the general structure of a jelly roll type battery in regards to the layering of the electrode sheets, it is the examiner’s position this same layering structure is used for the battery 2 in Fig. 3) are laminated in an electrode-body thickness direction (thickness direction, Fig. 3 below) and the case (10, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines 13-15]) has elasticity (see [Col. 4, lines [57-60] shows the concave pressed walls 11 and 13 of 10 act like the elastic plates of the prior art, therefore it is considered to have elasticity) and elastically compresses the electrode laminated portion (laminated portion, Fig. 3 below, see [Col. 4, lines 57-60] where 11 and 13 act like elastic compression plates by absorbing expansion of the battery) of the electrode body (2, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines 37-43]) in the electrode-body thickness direction (thickness direction, Fig. 3 below) by the first main wall portion (13, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines [57-60]) and the second main wall portion (11, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines [57-60]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kimura to substitute the electrode storage device for a jelly roll type battery as taught by Wyser as an art effective equivalent electric storage device for the similar purpose of acting as a battery cell of the power storage device (see [Col. 2, lines 11-16]). Further Kimura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0030] of Kimura) and the electric power device is not limited as long as it can store power (see [0035] of Kimura).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kimura such that the first rectangular main wall portion 21a and the second rectangular main wall portion 22a include a concave portion as taught by Wyser to act as elastic plates to absorb variations in volume during charging and discharging cycles (see [Col. 4, lines 57-60]). Further Kimura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0030] of Kimura).
Regarding claim 2, Kimura in view of Wyser teaches wherein the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) and the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above) are hermetically welded together (see [0054] where the case is made airtight by welding around the entire periphery) by a ring-shaped welded portion (see Figs. 5-12 show different perspectives of the weld, see [0056] where the weld portions 41-44 overlap each other in 51-54 giving one continuous ring of weld all the way around the periphery) having a ring shape extending continuously over an entire circumference (see Figs. 5-12 show different perspectives of the weld, see [0056] where the weld portions 41-44 overlap each other in 51-54 giving one continuous ring of weld all the way around the periphery).
Regarding claim 3, Kimura teaches a method of producing a power storage device (1, Fig. 1, see [0002], [0013] and [0044]) wherein the power storage device comprises: a case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034]) having a rectangular box shape (see Fig. 1 where 2 has a rectangular box shape); and an electrode body (3, Fig. 3, see [0034]) housed in the case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034], see Fig. 3, where 3 is housed in 2), the case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034]) having: a rectangular first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038]), a rectangular second main wall portion (22a, Fig. 3, see [0039]) opposite the first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038], see Fig. 3 where 21a and 22a are opposite each other), and four rectangular side wall portions (22b on each side, Fig. 3/4, see [0039] where 22b extends around the entire periphery, therefore 22b on each side would be 1 of 4 rectangular side wall portions) each connecting between the first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038]) and the second main wall portion (22a, Fig. 3, see [0039], see Fig. 3/4 where 22b extends between 22a and connects to 21b which is connected to 21a) and expanding in a case thickness direction (direction between 21a and 22a, Fig. 3/4 where 22b extends in the direction between 21a and 22a), the case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034]) including: a case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]) that forms the second main wall portion (22a, Fig. 3, see [0039]) and the four side wall portions (22b on each side, Fig. 3/4, see [0039] where 22b extends around the entire periphery, therefore 22b on each side would be 1 of 4 rectangular side wall portions) and has a bottomed rectangular frame shape (see Figs. 3 and 4 where the cross section is rectangular in both directions as also seen in Fig. 2 where the entire structure is rectangular in shape and the examiner considers the structure a frame shape) with a rectangular opening (see Fig. 3 and 4 show the cross section in both directions has an opening in 22 where 3 sits), in which the electrode body (3, Fig. 3, see [0034]) is housed (see Figs. 3 and 4 where 3 sits in the opening in 22); and a rectangular lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]) that forms the first main wall portion (21a, Fig. 3, see [0038]) and closes the opening (see Fig. 3 and 4 show the cross section in both directions has an opening in 22 where 3 sits), the lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]) including: an inner surface (inner surface of 21a facing 3, Fig. 3) facing to the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]), and a lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) welded over an entire circumference (welding over the entire periphery, see [0040]) to an opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below) of the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]), and the electrode body (3, Fig. 3, see [0034]) being housed in the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]) in an orientation with the electrode-body thickness direction (thickness of 3 is in direction of 22 to 21, Fig. 3) extending parallel to the case thickness direction (direction between 21a and 22a, Fig. 3/4 where 22b extends in the direction between 21a and 22a), wherein the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below) of the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]) is bent over an entire circumference to inside of the opening (see Fig. 3 and 4 show the cross section in both directions has an opening in 22 where 3 sits, note the opening peripheral portion in Fig. 3 below is bent up and makes up the opening, therefore it considered bent towards the opening), the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) of the lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]) is bent over the entire circumference toward the inner surface (inner surface of 21a facing 3, see Fig. 3 below where the lid peripheral portion is bent down and toward the inner surface), the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) and the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below) are hermetically joined to each other (see [0054] where the case is airtight by welding) while the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) is stacked on the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below where one is stacked on top of the other) on outside (see Fig. 3 below where the lid peripheral portion is outside the opening peripheral portion) in a thickness direction (direction between 21a and 22a, Fig. 3) over a ring-band shaped range extending over the entire circumference (see Figs. 3 and 4 and [0038], the lid peripheral portion extends around the circumference and therefore stacked on the opening peripheral portion around the entire circumference) and in expanding directions (expanding directions, Fig. 2 below) of the lid member (21, Figs. 3 and 4, see [0038]), wherein the method comprises: housing the electrode body (3, Fig. 3, see [0034]) into the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039], see [0046] where 3 is interposed between 21 and 22, see Fig. 3 where 3 is inside 22); and joining (laser welding, see [0046]) the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) and the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 below) of the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]) hermetically to each other over an entire circumference (see [0054] the case is made airtight by the welding) to form the case (2, Fig. 1, see [0034]), but fails to teach the electrode body including an electrode laminated portion having a rectangular parallelepiped shape in which electrode sheets are laminated in an electrode-body thickness direction and the case has elasticity and elastically compresses the electrode laminated portion of the electrode body in the electrode-body thickness direction by the first main wall portion and the second main wall portion; while the lid member is overlaid on the case body and the electrode body housed in the case body, a space between the first main wall portion provided by the lid member and the second main wall portion of the case body is reduced to compress the electrode laminated portion of the electrode body in the electrode-body thickness direction, and the bent lid peripheral portion is overlaid on and pressed against the bent opening peripheral portion over the entire circumference.
However, Wyser teaches an electrode body (2, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines 37-43]) including an electrode laminated portion (laminated portion, Fig. 3 below) having a rectangular parallelepiped shape (see laminated portion in Fig. 3 below, as the jelly roll battery is 3 dimensional, the below outlined laminated portion is considered a rectangular parallelepiped) in which electrode sheets (anodes and cathodes, see [Col. 1, lines 31-39] which describes the general structure of a jelly roll type battery in regards to the layering of the electrode sheets, it is the examiner’s position this same layering structure is used for the battery 2 in Fig. 3) are laminated in an electrode-body thickness direction (thickness direction, Fig. 3 below) and the case (10, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines 13-15]) has elasticity (see [Col. 4, lines [57-60] shows the concave pressed walls 11 and 13 of 10 act like the elastic plates of the prior art, therefore it is considered to have elasticity) and elastically compresses the electrode laminated portion (laminated portion, Fig. 3 below, see [Col. 4, lines 57-60] where 11 and 13 act like elastic compression plates by absorbing expansion of the battery) of the electrode body (2, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines 37-43]) in the electrode-body thickness direction (thickness direction, Fig. 3 below) by the first main wall portion (13, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines [57-60]) and the second main wall portion (11, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines [57-60]) while the lid member (top half of case 10, Fig. 4) is overlaid on the case body (bottom half of case 10, see Fig. 4) and the electrode body (2, Fig. 4, see [Col. 4, lines 37-43]) housed in the case body (bottom half of case 10, Fig. 4), a space (space between 13 and 11, Fig. 4) between the first main wall portion (13, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines [57-60]) provided by the lid member (top half of case 10, Fig. 4) and the second main wall portion (11, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines [57-60]) of the case body (bottom half of case 10, see Fig. 4) is reduced to compress (see [Col. 4, lines [43-50] show the pressing of the side walls 11 and 13 to compress the roll 2) the electrode laminated portion (laminated portion, Fig. 3 below) of the electrode body (2, Fig. 3, see [Col. 4, lines 37-43]) in the electrode-body thickness direction (thickness direction, Fig. 3 below).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kimura to substitute the electrode storage device for a jelly roll type battery as taught by Wyser as an art effective equivalent electric storage device for the similar purpose of acting as a battery cell of the power storage device (see [Col. 2, lines 11-16]). Further Kimura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0030] of Kimura) and the electric power device is not limited as long as it can store power (see [0035] of Kimura).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kimura such that first rectangular main wall portion 21a and the second rectangular main wall portion 22a are pressed to form a concave portion to elastically compress 3 as taught by Wyser so that 22a and 21 act as elastic plates to absorb variations in volume during charging and discharging cycles (see [Col. 4, lines 57-60]). Further Kimura teaches that modifications can be made (see [0030] of Kimura).
Therefore, Kimura in view of Wyser teaches the bent lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) is overlaid (see Fig. 3 above where the lid and peripheral portions are stacked on each other) on and pressed against (see Fig. 3 above the portions are overlaid, further during the pressing step taught by modification above, the portions would be pressed against each other) the bent opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above where one is stacked on top of the other) over the entire circumference (see [0038] these portions extends around the entire battery case).
Regarding claim 4, Kimura in view of Wyser teaches wherein the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) and the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above where one is stacked on top of the other) are hermetically welded together (see [0054] where the case is made airtight by welding around the entire periphery) by a ring-shaped welded portion (see Figs. 5-12 show different perspectives of the weld, see [0056] where the weld portions 41-44 overlap each other in 51-54 giving one continuous ring of weld all the way around the periphery) having a ring shape extending continuously over an entire circumference (see Figs. 5-12 show different perspectives of the weld, see [0056] where the weld portions 41-44 overlap each other in 51-54 giving one continuous ring of weld all the way around the periphery), and joining the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) and the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above where one is stacked on top of the other) includes welding the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038]) to the opening peripheral portion (opening peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above where one is stacked on top of the other) by the ring-shaped welded portion (see Figs. 5-12 show different perspectives of the weld, see [0056] where the weld portions 41-44 overlap each other in 51-54 giving one continuous ring of weld all the way around the periphery) by irradiating the lid peripheral portion (lid peripheral portion, see Fig. 3 above, note this portion extends around the entire battery case as seen in [0038], see [0050] where the laser beam is irradiating the four side surfaces continuously, see side surfaces in Fig. 1 are sides of lid peripheral portion) with a laser beam (laser beam, see [0050]) from an opposite-depth direction (welded from outside of case inward, see Figs. 5-12 show weld on outside of case), opposite a depth direction (inside of case body to outside case body, Fig. 3) of the case body (22, Fig. 3, see [0039]).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723