Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention, “The present disclosure is reasonable in structural design” and “the food-processing appliance can realize not only meat mincing but also juicing functions such as juicing oranges, thereby being convenient to use and having improved practicality.”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Paragraph 0025 should be in the detailed description instead of the brief description of drawings section. See MPEP § 608.01(f) and 37CFR1.74.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 are objected to because of the following informalities:
It is recommended that applicant maintain the full title of a part throughout the claims to improve clarity. For example, examiner recommends “hollow shaft tube” not be shortened to “shaft tube”. This would also apply to “replaceable blending unit” being shortened to “blending unit”.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “control unit”, “power unit”, and “blending unit” in claim 1. It is noted that, the claim limitations “power unit” and “blending unit” are provided with sufficient structure in claims 7 and 2 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Unteregger (US 20030037685 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Unteregger teaches, a dual-purpose food-processing appliance, comprising a blending body (Fig 1 (2)), wherein the blending body is provided with an assembly space (Fig 1 (4)) and a control unit (Fig 1 (3), para [0022] A drive motor (M) is accommodated in the tower-shaped region (3) and is capable of driving a drive shaft 5 into rotation); a power unit (Fig 1 (M) motor, (5) drive shaft, (11) small belt pulley, (12) large belt pulley, (13) shaft, (14) transmission gear), wherein the power unit is assembled in the blending body, and a transmission shaft (Fig 1 (17)) on the power unit penetrates into the assembly space; a blending cup (Fig 1 (20)), wherein the blending cup is mounted in the assembly space, and a hollow shaft tube (Fig 1 (28), para [0026] The first bowl 20 further comprises a tubular inner portion 28 which rises from the bottom wall 22 into the interior of the bowl, which has a first end 29 remote from the bottom wall 22 and a second end 30 facing the bottom wall 22, and which is open at both ends 29 and 30.) is disposed at an inner bottom of the blending cup: and a replaceable blending unit (Fig 1 (42)(60)), wherein the blending unit is placed in the blending cup and sleeved on the shaft tube (Fig 1 (28)(42)(60)), and the transmission shaft passes through the shaft tube to be connected with the blending unit (para [0031] ...each transmission piece 60, 61 is constructed such that it renders it possible to realize an operational connection with the second drive means 17 and with a tool 42...).
Regarding claim 2, Unteregger teaches, the dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 1, wherein the blending unit is a meat mincing appliance or a juicing appliance interchangeable with the meat mincing appliance (Fig 1 (42)(60); para [0028]).
Regarding claim 3, Unteregger teaches, the dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 2, wherein the meat mincing appliance comprises a blending shaft sleeved on the shaft tube (Fig 1 (28)(42)(60)), and at least 2 blending blades distributed on the blending shaft (Fig 1 (43)(44)), wherein the blending shaft is provided with an insertion shaft (Fig 1 (67); para [0033] …the first transmission piece 60 is provided with a bearing stud 67, which bearing stud 67 is designed for cooperating with the bearing sleeve 26 provided in the lid C for the first bowl 20.), and the transmission shaft is inserted into the blending shaft (Fig 1 (17)(42)).
Regarding claim 9, Unteregger teaches, the dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 1, wherein the blending body is further provided with a control button electrically connected with the control unit (para [0037] The motor M may then be switched on, which will drive...)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unteregger (US 20030037685 A1), in view of Ho (GB 2275415 A).
Regarding claim 4, Unteregger teaches, the dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 2. But, Unteregger fails to teach a filtering portion, and a blender connected in the filtering portion, wherein a sleeve connected with the transmission shaft is connected to a bottom end of the blender, the sleeve is inserted into the shaft tube, and a plurality of convex ribs are disposed on the blender in a staggered manner respectively.
Ho teaches, a juicing appliance comprising a filtering portion (Fig 1 (5) The filter), and a blender (Fig 1 (4)) connected in the filtering portion, wherein a sleeve connected with the transmission shaft is connected to a bottom end of the blender (Fig 1 (4)(43), Fig 7; page 11, para 2, In the assembled juicer, the hexagonal shaft 43 passes through the second indent 49 of the juice container 2 and then passes through the short cylindrical tube 27 in the centre of the funnel 6. The cylindrical tube 27 of the funnel 6 in turn, passes through the hole 18 in the centre of the filter 5 and then through the central aperture 58 in the centre of the base 6 of the first reamer 4), the sleeve is inserted into the shaft tube (page 11, para 2, The hexagonal shaft 43 is fully rotatable within the second indent 49 of the juice container 2 and within the cylindrical tube 27 of the funnel 6), and a plurality of convex ribs are disposed on the blender in a staggered manner respectively (Fig 1 (9); page 6, para 4, ...the octagonal platform 7 supports a parabolic cone 8 having eight, evenly spaced, reaming edges 9.).
Unteregger discloses that it is known in the art for food processors to be able to switch between different parts or tools in order to process different foods (para [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to include a juicer attachment option, as disclosed by Ho, to the food processor of Unteregger to increase the utility of Unteregger by allowing it to process different foods.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Unteregger and Ho teach, the dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 4, and further teaches a plurality of filtering holes, disposed at the bottom of the filtering portion respectively (Ho; Fig 1(19) slits, (5) filter).
Regarding clam 7, Unteregger teaches, the dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 1, wherein the power unit comprises a motor (see rejection of claim 1 above). But Unteregger fails to teach the power unit comprising a driving gear connected with the motor, and a driven gear fitting with the driving gear, wherein the driving gear and the driven gear are arranged side by side, and the driven gear is connected with the transmission shaft.
Ho teaches, a power unit for a food processing device comprising a motor (Fig 5 (44)), a driving gear connected with the motor, and a driven gear fitting with the driving gear, wherein the driving gear and the driven gear are arranged side by side, and the driven gear is connected with the transmission shaft (Fig 5 (57) gears; page 12, para 3, The output torque of the motor 44 is magnified by a train of gears 57 (Figures 5, 7 and 8) and is then transmitted to the hexagonal shaft 43).
It is well known in food processing devices for a food processing device to include a power unit that has a motor, and a means of transmitting the power (such as a train of gears) from said motor to an output shaft. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date, to try using a gear train to transmit power from a motor to an output shaft as shown by Ho, instead of the belt pulleys described by Unteregger. A person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue this known potential solution with a reasonable expectation of success given their technical grasp. Further, the use of a gear train and a belt pulley system were known equivalents at the time of filing and it would have been obvious to substitute one for the other to achieve the predictable result of transferring power from a motor to the output shaft.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Unteregger and Ho teach, the dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 4, and further teaches, a limiting handle that is disposed on the side of an upper edge of the filtering portion for facilitating grabbing (Ho; Fig 1, Fig 7 (22) flat projection or small handle).
The flat projection or small handle (22) described by Ho is attached to the upper wall (21) of the filter (5). Regarding the combination of Unteregger and Ho teaching a handle disposed on one side while the claim requires the limiting handle being disposed on both sides, i.e. there effectively being two handles, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily conclude that having a second handle on the opposite side of the filter would not change the part’s ability to be grabbed. Further, similar to pots, pans etc. It is common within the food processing and cooking arts to place handles on one or both sides of a cooking tool (cup, pot, pan, etc.). Since no new or unexpected result is produced from adding a second handle, the mere duplication of this part has no patentable significance. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date, to try adding a second handle opposite, the small handle (22) on the upper wall of the filter described in Ho to facilitate grabbing.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unteregger (US 20030037685 A1), in view of Ho (GB 2275415 A), and further in view of Hensel (US 20120103203 A1).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Unteregger and Ho teach, The dual-purpose food-processing appliance according to claim 4, wherein the blender is disposed in a hemispherical structure (Ho; Fig 1 (8), page 6 para 4, ...the octagonal platform 7 supports a parabolic cone 8...), at least two supporting sheets extend from an outer edge of the blender (Ho; Fig 1 (12); page 4, para 3, ...a pair of opposing flat projections or stirrers 12 are located on the first reamer 4, each stirrer 12 extending from either side of the circular base 6 of the first reamer 4, parallel to the surface of the circular base 6). But the combination of Unteregger and Ho fail to teach the supporting sheets being pressed against the inner surface of the filtering portion.
Hensel teaches, a blender disposed in a hemispherical structure (Fig 6(b) (50)), at least two supporting sheets extend from an outer edge of the blender (Fig 6(b) (252)), and the supporting sheets are pressed against an inner surface of the filtering portion (Fig 3).
Hensel - Figure 3 (Annotated)
Hensel discloses that the paddles are primarily used to sweep the strainer free from extraneous pulp as the reamer rotates (para [0049]).
It is well known in juicing devices for juicing devices with rotating reamers to include paddles or scrapers attached to the reamer as close as possible to the bottom of the filter, in order to clear solids from the holes of the filter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill, in the art as of the effective filing date, to modify the combination of Unteregger and Ho to include paddles or sheets attached to the reamer close the bottom of the filter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilcock (WO 2021140333 A1) teaches, a food processing appliance, wherein a food processing tool can be interchanged with a juicing tool comprising a citrus reamer.
Hoare et al. (US 20170095122 A1) teaches, a combination juicer and blender device, comprising a rotating reamer, a blender portion, and a motor, disclosing multiple mechanisms for transferring power from the motor to the blender portion (This transmission mechanism 24 may be a clutch mechanism, a dog gear mechanism, a solenoid or mechanically activated gear mechanism, belt drive or the like).
/C.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761