DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/19/2023.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 12/19/2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3- 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3-13 recites the limitation "the meaning of the phrase”; which definitional construction renders the scope unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim without mentioned of any clear antecedent for that “the phrase”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20230189349 A1), hereinafter “Lin”; and in further view of Li et al. (US 20220256622 A1), hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 1, Lin teaches A first node for wireless communications, comprising [Lin: Abstract teaches method and device for sending data by terminal device]:
a first receiver, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being used to configure a value of a first timer [Lin: Fig. 3,4; Par. 104-107 teaches terminal device sends first information during first timer]; and
a first transmitter, transmitting a first signal; accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer [Lin: Par. 104- 108 further teaches transmitting information during running of the first timer];
wherein the first signal is used for an RRC connection [Lin: Fig. 3]; the RRC connection is related to a first cell; compared to the first cell being in first state, when the first cell is in second state, a start of the first timer is later [Lin: Fig.2; Par. 80- 88 teaches of detecting idle state, Par. 90- 98 further teaches of UE establish RRC connection resume after transmitting request; if resume is not completed within certain time UE to enter an idle state (second state)];
However, Lin does not broadcast information transmitted by the first cell in the first state is more than broadcast information transmitted in the second state.
Nevertheless, LI, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches broadcast information transmitted by the first cell in the first state is more than broadcast information transmitted in the second state [Li: Figs. 6, 7; Par. 90- 113 teaches of after receiving dedicate signaling, then performing monitoring during the timer and detecting a power saving signal (second state is less since power saving is a state with less broadcast information)].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Li for further optimize power saving and connection during different sate data transmission. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Li in the Lin system in order to provide monitoring and dynamic adjustment of timer behavior based on signaling and power saving conditions [Li: Abstract].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Lin in view of Li further teaches an expiration of the first timer is used to trigger connection failure [Lin: Par. 9 teaches first timer is used to represent a time window of RRC connection establishment resume].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a second signal, and the second signal being used to wake up the first cell [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB];
wherein the second signal is a physical-layer signal; after the first cell is waken up, the first cell enters the first state; the meaning of the phrase of compared to the first cell in first state, when the first cell is in second state, a start of the first timer being later comprises: when the first cell is in the second state, the first timer starts after the first cell is waken up [Lin: Fig. 4; Par. 104- 108 teaches of RRC connection resume after receiving first information from terminal during running of a first timer].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a second signal, and the second signal being used to wake up the first cell [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB];
wherein the second signal is a physical-layer signal; after the first cell is waken up, the first cell enters the first state; the meaning of the phrase of compared to the first cell in first state, when the first cell is in second state, a start of the first timer being later comprises: when the first cell is in the second state, the first timer starts after the first cell is waken up [Lin: Fig. 4; Par. 104- 108 teaches of RRC connection resume after receiving first information from terminal during running of a first timer].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Lin in view of Li further teaches the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to request an establishment of an RRC connection or to request a resume of an RRC connection [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB]; the first signal comprises an RRC message [Lin: Fig. 3 illustrates of RRC messages transmission between UE and eNB]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: receiving a response to the first signal [; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the first signal is transmitted, the first timer is started; when the first cell is in the second state and when the first signal is transmitted and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 11; Par. 195- 205 teaches of during the running of first timer, terminal device send first information to cell where cell is responded to connection establishment resume].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Lin in view of Li further teaches the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to request an establishment of an RRC connection or to request a resume of an RRC connection [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB]; the first signal comprises an RRC message [Lin: Fig. 3 illustrates of RRC messages transmission between UE and eNB]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: receiving a response to the first signal [; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the first signal is transmitted, the first timer is started; when the first cell is in the second state and when the first signal is transmitted and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 11; Par. 195- 205 teaches of during the running of first timer, terminal device send first information to cell where cell is responded to connection establishment resume].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 3. Lin in view of Li further teaches the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to request an establishment of an RRC connection or to request a resume of an RRC connection [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB]; the first signal comprises an RRC message [Lin: Fig. 3 illustrates of RRC messages transmission between UE and eNB]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: receiving a response to the first signal [; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the first signal is transmitted, the first timer is started; when the first cell is in the second state and when the first signal is transmitted and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 11; Par. 195- 205 teaches of during the running of first timer, terminal device send first information to cell where cell is responded to connection establishment resume].
Regarding claim 8, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first receiver, receiving a first message; the first message comprising a reconfiguration of RRC [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB];
wherein the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to modify an RRC connection, and the first signal is used to indicate that a reconfiguration of RRC is completed [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of RRC connection establish resume]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: a random access process for the first cell is successfully completed [Lin: Fig. 10 illustrate time window of first timer with start and stop]; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the first message is received, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 2, 4];
when the first cell is in the second state and when the first message is received and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started; a successful application of the first message triggers a transmission of the first signal [Lin: Figs. 3, 4; Par. 80- 120 teaches of receiving first signal, monitoring and RRC connection establishment resume and releasing of RRC connection based on the decision of switching state].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first receiver, receiving a first message; the first message comprising a reconfiguration of RRC [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB];
wherein the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to modify an RRC connection, and the first signal is used to indicate that a reconfiguration of RRC is completed [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of RRC connection establish resume]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: a random access process for the first cell is successfully completed [Lin: Fig. 10 illustrate time window of first timer with start and stop]; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the first message is received, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 2, 4];
when the first cell is in the second state and when the first message is received and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started; a successful application of the first message triggers a transmission of the first signal [Lin: Figs. 3, 4; Par. 80- 120 teaches of receiving first signal, monitoring and RRC connection establishment resume and releasing of RRC connection based on the decision of switching state].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 3. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first receiver, receiving a first message; the first message comprising a reconfiguration of RRC [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB];
wherein the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to modify an RRC connection, and the first signal is used to indicate that a reconfiguration of RRC is completed [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of RRC connection establish resume]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: a random access process for the first cell is successfully completed [Lin: Fig. 10 illustrate time window of first timer with start and stop]; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the first message is received, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 2, 4];
when the first cell is in the second state and when the first message is received and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started; a successful application of the first message triggers a transmission of the first signal [Lin: Figs. 3, 4; Par. 80- 120 teaches of receiving first signal, monitoring and RRC connection establishment resume and releasing of RRC connection based on the decision of switching state].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first receiver, receiving a first message; the first message comprising a conditional reconfiguration of RRC [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB]; storing the first message; as a response to a condition associated with a conditional reconfiguration of the RRC comprised in the first message being satisfied, executing the stored first message [Lin: Fig. 2; Par. 83 teaches RRC connection release message is transmitted to UE after receiving first message];
wherein the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to modify an RRC connection, and the first signal is used to indicate that a reconfiguration of RRC is completed [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of RRC connection establish resume]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: a random access process for the first cell is successfully completed [Lin: Fig. 10 illustrate time window of first timer with start and stop]; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the stored first message is applied, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 2, 4];; when the first cell is in the second state and when the stored first message is applied and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started; a successful application of the first message triggers a transmission of the first signal [Lin: Figs. 3, 4; Par. 80- 120 teaches of receiving first signal, monitoring and RRC connection establishment resume and releasing of RRC connection based on the decision of switching state].
Regarding claim 12, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first receiver, receiving a first message; the first message comprising a conditional reconfiguration of RRC [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB]; storing the first message; as a response to a condition associated with a conditional reconfiguration of the RRC comprised in the first message being satisfied, executing the stored first message [Lin: Fig. 2; Par. 83 teaches RRC connection release message is transmitted to UE after receiving first message];
wherein the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to modify an RRC connection, and the first signal is used to indicate that a reconfiguration of RRC is completed [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of RRC connection establish resume]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: a random access process for the first cell is successfully completed [Lin: Fig. 10 illustrate time window of first timer with start and stop]; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the stored first message is applied, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 2, 4];; when the first cell is in the second state and when the stored first message is applied and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started; a successful application of the first message triggers a transmission of the first signal [Lin: Figs. 3, 4; Par. 80- 120 teaches of receiving first signal, monitoring and RRC connection establishment resume and releasing of RRC connection based on the decision of switching state].
Regarding claim 13, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 3. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first receiver, receiving a first message; the first message comprising a conditional reconfiguration of RRC [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of sending RRC connection resume signal/information to eNB]; storing the first message; as a response to a condition associated with a conditional reconfiguration of the RRC comprised in the first message being satisfied, executing the stored first message [Lin: Fig. 2; Par. 83 teaches RRC connection release message is transmitted to UE after receiving first message];
wherein the meaning of the phrase of the first signal being used for an RRC connection is: the first signal is used to modify an RRC connection, and the first signal is used to indicate that a reconfiguration of RRC is completed [Lin: Par. 76 teaches of RRC connection establish resume]; a stopping condition of the first timer comprises: a random access process for the first cell is successfully completed [Lin: Fig. 10 illustrate time window of first timer with start and stop]; the meaning of the phrase of accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer comprises: when the first cell is in the first state and when the stored first message is applied, the first timer is started [Lin: Fig. 2, 4];; when the first cell is in the second state and when the stored first message is applied and the first cell is waken up, the first timer is started; a successful application of the first message triggers a transmission of the first signal [Lin: Figs. 3, 4; Par. 80- 120 teaches of receiving first signal, monitoring and RRC connection establishment resume and releasing of RRC connection based on the decision of switching state].
Regarding claim 14, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a first random access signal [Lin: Fig. 3];
wherein candidate resources used for transmitting the first random access signal are related to whether the first cell is in the first state or the second state [Lin: Fig. 3; Par. 87- 95 teaches of deciding to switch to an idle state].
Regarding claim 15, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a first random access signal [Lin: Fig. 3];
wherein candidate resources used for transmitting the first random access signal are related to whether the first cell is in the first state or the second state [Lin: Fig. 3; Par. 87- 95 teaches of deciding to switch to an idle state].
Regarding claim 16, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a third signal, and the third signal being used to request system information; accompanying a transmission of the third signal, starting a second timer [Lin: Fig. 11; Par. 111, 196 , 202 teaches of using second timer for third information];
wherein the third signal is only transmitted when the second timer is not running; the behavior of starting a second timer comprises setting a value of the second timer, and a start of the second timer is related to whether the first cell is in the first state or the second state [Lin: Par. 202 further teaches of using third signal when second timer and first timer stop].
Regarding claim 17, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 2. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a third signal, and the third signal being used to request system information; accompanying a transmission of the third signal, starting a second timer [Lin: Fig. 11; Par. 111, 196 , 202 teaches of using second timer for third information];
wherein the third signal is only transmitted when the second timer is not running; the behavior of starting a second timer comprises setting a value of the second timer, and a start of the second timer is related to whether the first cell is in the first state or the second state [Lin: Par. 202 further teaches of using third signal when second timer and first timer stop].
Regarding claim 18, the combined Lin in view of Li teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 3. Lin in view of Li further teaches the first transmitter, transmitting a third signal, and the third signal being used to request system information; accompanying a transmission of the third signal, starting a second timer [Lin: Fig. 11; Par. 111, 196 , 202 teaches of using second timer for third information];
wherein the third signal is only transmitted when the second timer is not running; the behavior of starting a second timer comprises setting a value of the second timer, and a start of the second timer is related to whether the first cell is in the first state or the second state [Lin: Par. 202 further teaches of using third signal when second timer and first timer stop].
Regarding claim 19, Lin teaches A second node for wireless communications, comprising: a second transmitter, transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling being used to configure a value of a first timer; and a second receiver, receiving a first signal [Lin: Abstract teaches method and device for sending data by terminal device]:
[Lin: Fig. 3,4; Par. 104-107 teaches terminal device sends first information during first timer]; and
wherein the first timer is started accompanying the first signal; the first signal is used for an RRC connection [Lin: Par. 104- 108 further teaches transmitting information during running of the first timer];
the RRC connection is related to a first cell; compared to the first cell being in first state, when the first cell is in second state, a start of the first timer is late [Lin: Fig.2; Par. 80- 88 teaches of detecting idle state, Par. 90- 98 further teaches of UE establish RRC connection resume after transmitting request; if resume is not completed within certain time UE to enter an idle state (second state)];
However, Lin does not broadcast information transmitted by the first cell in the first state is more than broadcast information transmitted in the second state.
Nevertheless, LI, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches broadcast information transmitted by the first cell in the first state is more than broadcast information transmitted in the second state [Li: Figs. 6, 7; Par. 90- 113 teaches of after receiving dedicate signaling, then performing monitoring during the timer and detecting a power saving signal (second state is less since power saving is a state with less broadcast information)].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Li for further optimize power saving and connection during different sate data transmission. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Li in the Lin system in order to provide monitoring and dynamic adjustment of timer behavior based on signaling and power saving conditions [Li: Abstract].
Regarding claim 20, Lin teaches A method in a first node for wireless communications, comprising: receiving a first signaling, the first signaling being used to configure a value of a first timer; [Lin: Fig. 3,4; Par. 104-107 teaches terminal device sends first information during first timer]; and
transmitting a first signal; accompanying the first signal, starting the first timer; [Lin: Par. 104- 108 further teaches transmitting information during running of the first timer];
wherein the first signal is used for an RRC connection; the RRC connection is related to a first cell; compared to the first cell being in first state, when the first cell is in second state, a start of the first timer is later; [Lin: Fig.2; Par. 80- 88 teaches of detecting idle state, Par. 90- 98 further teaches of UE establish RRC connection resume after transmitting request; if resume is not completed within certain time UE to enter an idle state (second state)];
However, Lin does not broadcast information transmitted by the first cell in the first state is more than broadcast information transmitted in the second state.
Nevertheless, LI, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches broadcast information transmitted by the first cell in the first state is more than broadcast information transmitted in the second state [Li: Figs. 6, 7; Par. 90- 113 teaches of after receiving dedicate signaling, then performing monitoring during the timer and detecting a power saving signal (second state is less since power saving is a state with less broadcast information)].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Li for further optimize power saving and connection during different sate data transmission. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Li in the Lin system in order to provide monitoring and dynamic adjustment of timer behavior based on signaling and power saving conditions [Li: Abstract].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412