DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 12/19/2023.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 12/19/2023 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4,5, 11, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “at least part of characteristics of the first function” in claims 4,5,11,12 and 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim and it fails to specify which characteristics or how much of the characteristics of the function is specified. The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (US 20180262938 A1), hereinafter “Liu”; and in further view of Qi et al. (US 20210234662 A1), hereinafter “Qi”.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches A first node for wireless communications, characterized in comprising [Liu: Abstract teaches method for signaling CSI and reference signals by UE]:
a first processor, which receives a reference signal in a first reference signal resource sub-pool, the first reference signal resource sub-pool comprising at least one reference signal resource [Liu: Fig. 5; Par. 64- 70 teaches receive one or more values of CSI-RS resources where index indicated CQI report configurations], and determines a first function according to the receiving behavior in the first reference signal resource sub-pool [Liu: Par. 64- 68 teaches perform matching and generated reports based on the values of the indexes]; and
a first transmitter, which transmits a first information block, the first information block being used to determine the first function [Liu: Fig. 6; Par. 666 teaches send CSI report];
the first processor, which receives a second information block, the second information block being used to determine whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 68 teaches of receiving and matching/ determining of CQI report values and transmitting CSI report with lowest value of collision and type of priority];
However, Liu does not teach wherein the first transmitter, which transmits a third information block, the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI, the first compressed CSI being an input to the first function for generating a first CSI.
Nevertheless, Qi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches the first transmitter, which transmits a third information block, the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI, the first compressed CSI being an input to the first function for generating a first CSI [Qi: Fig. 3A, 3B; Par. 72- 75 teaches of comparing compressed CSI reports, dividing into the groups/blocks and generating single CSI report based on that].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of QI for compressed CSI reporting with wireless devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of QI in the Liu system in order to efficiently compressing CSI feedback signaling [Qi: Par. 7].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Liu in view of Qi further teaches characterized in that the first processor determines a second function according to the receiving behavior in the first reference signal resource sub-pool; wherein an output by the second function comprises the first compressed CSI [QI; par. 72 -75 further teaches comparing the compressed CSI reports based on the correlation and reporting ang generating of single CSI report out of different groups].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Liu in view of Qi further teaches characterized in that the first transmitter transmits a fourth information block, the fourth information block indicating a second compressed CSI, the second compressed CSI being an input to a first enhancement function for generating a second CSI; wherein the first function is used for generating the first enhancement function; the second information block is used to determine whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first enhancement function [See Liu; Par. 64- 68 and QI Figs. 3A-3B].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Liu in view of Qi further teaches characterized in that the second information block indicates at least part of characteristics of the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 68 teaches indicating values of the indexes].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Liu in view of Qi further teaches characterized in that the second information block indicates at least part of characteristics of the first enhancement function [Liu: Fig. 5].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Liu in view of Qi further teaches characterized in that the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, the first transmission configuration state implicitly indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 66 teaches measurements of values of each indexes indicating corresponding CSI-RS resources].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Liu in view of Qi further teaches characterized in that the first transmitter transmits a fifth information block, the fifth information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource is suitable to be associated with the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 66].
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches A second node for wireless communications, characterized in comprising: [Liu: Abstract teaches method for signaling CSI and reference signals by UE]:
a second transmitter, which transmits a reference signal in a first reference signal resource sub-pool, the first reference signal resource sub-pool comprising at least one reference signal resource [Liu: Fig. 5; Par. 64- 70 teaches receive one or more values of CSI-RS resources where index indicated CQI report configurations], and a target receiver of the first reference signal resource sub-pool determining a first function according to a receiving behavior in the first reference signal resource sub-pool [Liu: Par. 64- 68 teaches perform matching and generated reports based on the values of the indexes]; and
a first receiver, which receives a first information block, the first information block being used to determine the first function [Liu: Fig. 6; Par. 666 teaches send CSI report];
the second transmitter, which transmits a second information block, the second information block being used to determine whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 68 teaches of receiving and matching/ determining of CQI report values and transmitting CSI report with lowest value of collision and type of priority];
However, Liu does not teach the first receiver, which receives a third information block, the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI, the first compressed CSI being an input to the first function for generating a first CSI.
Nevertheless, Qi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches the first receiver, which receives a third information block, the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI, the first compressed CSI being an input to the first function for generating a first CSI [Qi: Fig. 3A, 3B; Par. 72- 75 teaches of comparing compressed CSI reports, dividing into the groups/blocks and generating single CSI report based on that].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of QI for compressed CSI reporting with wireless devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of QI in the Liu system in order to efficiently compressing CSI feedback signaling [Qi: Par. 7].
Regarding claim 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 7.
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches A method in a first node for wireless communications, characterized in comprising: [Liu: Abstract teaches method for signaling CSI and reference signals by UE]:
receiving a reference signal in a first reference signal resource sub-pool, the first reference signal resource sub-pool comprising at least one reference signal resource [Liu: Fig. 5; Par. 64- 70 teaches receive one or more values of CSI-RS resources where index indicated CQI report configurations], determining a first function according to the receiving behavior in the first reference signal resource sub-pool [Liu: Par. 64- 68 teaches perform matching and generated reports based on the values of the indexes]; and
transmitting a first information block, the first information block being used to determine the first function [Liu: Fig. 6; Par. 666 teaches send CSI report];
receiving a second information block, the second information block being used to determine whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 68 teaches of receiving and matching/ determining of CQI report values and transmitting CSI report with lowest value of collision and type of priority];
However, Liu does not teach transmitting a third information block, the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI, the first compressed CSI being an input to the first function for generating a first CSI.
Nevertheless, Qi, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches transmitting a third information block, the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI, the first compressed CSI being an input to the first function for generating a first CSI [Qi: Fig. 3A, 3B; Par. 72- 75 teaches of comparing compressed CSI reports, dividing into the groups/blocks and generating single CSI report based on that].
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of QI for compressed CSI reporting with wireless devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of QI in the Liu system in order to efficiently compressing CSI feedback signaling [Qi: Par. 7].
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Liu in view of Qi further teaches characterized in that the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, the first transmission configuration state implicitly indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 66 teaches measurements of values of each indexes indicating corresponding CSI-RS resources].
Regarding claim 20, the combined Liu in view of Qi teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 15. Liu in view of Qi further teaches transmitting a fifth information block, the fifth information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource is suitable to be associated with the first function [Liu: Par. 64- 66].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412