DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 04/16/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, and 14-15 are amended. Claims 2, 5-7, 13, 16-18, and 20 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-4, 8-12, 14-15, and 19-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, pg. 9, that Handson does not disclose a configuration parameter configured by a user via a user configuration interface.
Examiner disagrees. Hanson teaches [0046] Fig. 2 The user can provide input to the configuration sub-system 108 via the computing device 220 that commands the configuration sub-system 108 to automatically configure the DAS 100. In some aspects, the configuration sub-system 108 can generate a configuration recommendation and include the configuration recommendation in the graphical interface provided to the computing device 220.
Applicant’s further arguments concerning the mapping relationship are moot as the newly applied reference (Harel) teaches corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one (Harel [0032] As discussed earlier in FIG. 2, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) may be associated with the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier to uniquely identify a combination of a signal channel and a remote unit among the remote units 402(1)-402(K) that communicates on the signal channel.);
Arguments regarding Salahudeen and Charmati are moot, as the references are no longer applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-12, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. (US 2015/0016441), Hanson hereinafter, in view of Harel (US 2020/0084649).
Re. Claim 1. Hanson teaches a carrier configuration method for a distributed antenna system (Hanson [0018] Systems and methods are disclosed for using a configuration sub-system to automatically configure a distributed antenna system ("DAS") or other telecommunication system.),
wherein the distributed antenna system comprises at least one access unit and at least one remote unit (Hanson [0018-0019] The configuration sub-system can automate (either in whole or in part) the routing and combining of signals between base stations in communication with a DAS and remote antennas units in the DAS. In some aspects, the configuration sub-system of a DAS can include a processing device that can analyze downlink signals received by a master unit or other unit in the DAS from one or more base stations in communication with the DAS.
[The master unit corresponds to the access unit.]), and the method comprises:
acquiring a configuration parameter of a carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit (Hanson Fig. 1, [0040] The configuration sub-system 108 can communicate with the base stations via the direct data interface to obtain data regarding one or more signal parameters of the downlink signals.
[0019] Signal parameters can include characteristics of a signal or groups of signals or other information about a signal or groups of signals. Non-limiting examples of signal parameters include a power spectral density of a received frequency band, the lowest frequency and highest frequency for the frequency band, a center frequency of all channels received by the master unit, bandwidth of all the channels, modulation types for different channels, etc.) and
configured by a user via a user configuration interface (Hanson [0046] Fig. 2 The user can provide input to the configuration sub-system 108 via the computing device 220 that commands the configuration sub-system 108 to automatically configure the DAS 100. In some aspects, the configuration sub-system 108 can generate a configuration recommendation and include the configuration recommendation in the graphical interface provided to the computing device 220.),
establishing a transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship (Hanson Figs. 1-2, [0034-0035] In another non-limiting example, the configuration sub-system 108 can output a configuration plan to a computing device 220 that describes how to route different downlink signals to different combining devices. … The output section 210 can include one or more components for routing downlink signals from the combining section 208 to the remote antenna units 104a-f. … The configuration sub-system 108 can be used to configure the output section 210 to control which combined downlink signals are routed to different remote antenna units.);
the distributed antenna system further comprises at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson Fig. 2, [0033] The input section 206 of the unit 102 can include multiple input ports for receiving downlink signals from base stations. The input section 206 can also include one or more components for communicatively coupling the input ports to the configuration sub-system 108. … The received downlink signals can be transmitted from the base stations to the unit 102 using different frequency bands, such as the frequency bands 201, 202, 203 depicted in FIG. 2.
[0044] For example, the configuration sub-system 108 (including one or both of the BSSIM 216 and the configuration engine 218) can be included in any suitable signal analysis device that is configured to process RF signals at frequencies used by the DAS 100. A non-limiting example of a suitable signal analysis device is a digital signal processer that can analyze a digitized signal and determine information about the signal.),
after acquiring the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit (Hanson [0046] Fig. 2 The user can provide input to the configuration sub-system 108 via the computing device 220 that commands the configuration sub-system 108 to automatically configure the DAS 100. In some aspects, the configuration sub-system 108 can generate a configuration recommendation and include the configuration recommendation in the graphical interface provided to the computing device 220.), the method further comprises:
performing a validity check of the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson [0047] In some aspects, a configuration recommendation may identify conflicts or other errors in the routing of signals in the DAS 100.);
the performing the validity check of the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted further comprises:
returning an error message when either or both of a one-to-many mapping relationship and a many-to-one mapping relationship exist in the mapping relationships (Hanson [0047] In some aspects, a configuration recommendation may identify conflicts or other errors in the routing of signals in the DAS 100. The configuration sub-system 108 can inform a user of the identified conflicts. … One example of a conflict or other error involves multiple sectors with overlapping frequencies being transmitted from a base station via the DAS 100.
[Informing a user of the identified conflicts corresponds to returning an error message. A base station transmitting to multiple sectors with overlapping frequencies corresponds to a one-to-many mapping relationship.]); and
each of the at least one access unit comprises at least one connection enabling end connected to the at least one remote unit (Hanson Fig. 2, [0049] The output section 210 depicted in FIG. 3 includes a switch matrix 310.
[0059] The configuration sub-system 108 can configure the switch matrix 310 to route each of the signals 401-403 to a different non-intersecting subset of remote antenna units 104a-f (i.e., to a different one of the coverage zones 106a-c).),
corresponding to which the establishing the transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship further comprises:
selecting and activating, based on the mapping relationship, a connection enabling end corresponding to the mapping relationship such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end (Hanson Fig. 2, [0035] In one non-limiting example, the configuration sub-system 108 can communicate control signals to the output section 210 that configure a switch matrix in the output section 210 to route different combined downlink signals to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration parameter includes a mapping relationship between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit; and
establishing a transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship;
the distributed antenna system further comprises at least one radio frequency channel module, corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one;
acquiring the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit in the configuration parameter;
selecting and activating, based on the mapping relationship, a connection enabling end corresponding to the mapping relationship such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end.
[To clarify, Hanson doesn’t explicitly teach a one to one mapping between a radio frequency channel module.]
However, in the related art, Harel teaches wherein the configuration parameter includes a mapping relationship between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit (Harel [0029] According to the process 300, the remote unit control circuit 200 is configured to receive the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) each corresponding to a signal channel and a remote unit communicating a respective communications signal among the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) on the signal channel (block 302).
[0032] As discussed earlier in FIG. 2, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) may be associated with the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier to uniquely identify a combination of a signal channel and a remote unit among the remote units 402(1)-402(K) that communicates on the signal channel.); and
establishing a transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship (Harel [0022] The remote unit control circuit 200 is configured to cause the channel selection circuit 202 to provide at least one selected communications signal 208 among the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) to a signal output 210 of the channel selection circuit 202. Notably, the selected communications signal 208 is associated with at least one selected signal identifier among the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
.);
corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one (Harel [0032] As discussed earlier in FIG. 2, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) may be associated with the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier to uniquely identify a combination of a signal channel and a remote unit among the remote units 402(1)-402(K) that communicates on the signal channel.);
acquiring the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit in the configuration parameter (Harel [0020] In a non-limiting example, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) are associated with a plurality of signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier, as shown below, to uniquely identify a signal channel and a remote unit communicating on the signal channel.
[0022]The remote unit control circuit 200 is configured to cause the channel selection circuit 202 to provide at least one selected communications signal 208 among the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) to a signal output 210 of the channel selection circuit 202. Notably, the selected communications signal 208 is associated with at least one selected signal identifier among the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
.
[For the for the selected communications signal to be associated with a selected signal identifier, the selected signal identifier.]); and
selecting and activating, based on the mapping relationship, a connection enabling end corresponding to the mapping relationship such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end (Harel [0022] The remote unit control circuit 200 is configured to cause the channel selection circuit 202 to provide at least one selected communications signal 208 among the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) to a signal output 210 of the channel selection circuit 202. Notably, the selected communications signal 208 is associated with at least one selected signal identifier among the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hanson with the signal identifiers of Harel. The resulting invention would provide unique identifiers for a signal channel and remote unit pair enabling channel-based remote unit monitoring and optimization (Harel [0019-0020]).
Re. Claim 3. Hanson in view Harel teaches claim 1,
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson Fig. 1, [0043] In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson [0045] The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another.
[Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson [0041] For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson [0037] The configuration sub-system 108 can be communicatively coupled to the receiver 204 and can thereby receive data about the downlink signals received via the input section 206. In some aspects, the receiver 204 can transmit data about the received downlink signals to the configuration sub-system 108.
[0049-0050] The input section 206 depicted in FIG. 3 includes a switch matrix 306. In some aspects, the switch matrix 306 can include one or more analog-to-digital converters for converting analog downlink signals into digital downlink signals. … The processing device 212 executing the configuration engine 218 can cause the receiver 204 of the unit 102 to be tuned to possible frequency bands used by the DAS 100.); and
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Harel teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Harel [0032] As discussed earlier in FIG. 2, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) may be associated with the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier to uniquely identify a combination of a signal channel and a remote unit among the remote units 402(1)-402(K) that communicates on the signal channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hanson with the signal identifiers of Harel. The resulting invention would provide unique identifiers for a signal channel and remote unit pair enabling channel-based remote unit monitoring and optimization (Harel [0019-0020]).
Re. Claim 4. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 1,
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson Fig. 1, [0043] In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson [0045] The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another.
[Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson [0041] For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.); and
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson [0055] For example, downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies that are in different sub-bands 302a-c of the frequency band 202 and therefore do not overlap. The configuration sub-system 108 can determine that the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies in the non-overlapping sub-bands 302a-c. The configuration sub-system 108 can configure the switch matrix 306 to provide the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 to the adder 308d to generate a combined signal 404. And
[0035] The output section 210 can include one or more components for routing downlink signals from the combining section 208 to the remote antenna units 104a-f. … The configuration sub-system 108 can be used to configure the output section 210 to control which combined downlink signals are routed to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Harel teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Harel [0032] As discussed earlier in FIG. 2, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) may be associated with the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier to uniquely identify a combination of a signal channel and a remote unit among the remote units 402(1)-402(K) that communicates on the signal channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hanson with the signal identifiers of Harel. The resulting invention would provide unique identifiers for a signal channel and remote unit pair enabling channel-based remote unit monitoring and optimization (Harel [0019-0020]).
Re. Claim 8. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 1,
Hanson further teaches wherein the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit further comprises either or both of a frequency selection parameter and a band selection parameter of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson [0019] Non-limiting examples of signal parameters include a power spectral density of a received frequency band, the lowest frequency and highest frequency for the frequency band, a center frequency of all channels received by the master unit, bandwidth of all the channels, modulation types for different channels, etc.
[The lowest and highest frequencies and center frequency correspond to the frequency selection parameter, and the bandwidth of all the channels corresponds to the band selection parameter.]), and
either or both of the frequency selection parameter and the band selection parameter comprises at least one of the following parameters: an uplink frequency point, a downlink frequency point, a bandwidth, and a filter delay (Hanson [0019] In some aspects, the signal parameters of the received signals, including the bandwidth and number of channels, can also be used (separately or in combination) to determine the relative signal levels of base stations signals for signals that are combined into a combined signal. The master unit or other unit can combine downlink signals in accordance with the configuration plan and provide the combined signals to remote antenna units.).
Re. Claim 9. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches a distributed antenna system (Hanson [0003] A distributed antenna system ("DAS") may include master units and remote antenna units.), comprising
at least one access unit, at least one remote unit (Hanson [0003] Master units receive downlink signals from base station and distribute downlink signals in analog or digital format to multiple remote antenna units.
[The master unit(s) corresponds to the at least one remote unit.]), and
a configuration module (Hanson [0007] In one aspect, a configuration sub-system of a distributed antenna system is provided.), wherein
the configuration module comprises a processor (Hanson [0007] The configuration subsystem can include a processing device.) and
a configuration port (Hanson [0035] The outputted configuration plan can be used by a control device in the DAS 100 to configure the unit 102 for routing combined downlink signals to remote antenna units.),
the processor is configured to perform steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson [0007] The processing device can automatically determine a configuration plan for the distributed antenna system based on the automatically identified signal parameters.), and
the configuration port is configured to configure the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of the at least one access unit (Hanson [0035]: The outputted configuration plan can be used by a control device in the DAS 100 to configure the unit 102 for routing combined downlink signals to remote antenna units.
[The control device corresponds to the configuration port; it performs the same function of configuring the unit as the configuration port.]).
Re. Claim 10. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 1,
Hanson further teaches a processing device, comprising a memory and a processor (Hanson [0036] The configuration sub-system 108 can include a processing device 212 (or group of processing devices) that includes or is communicatively coupled with a memory device 214.), wherein
the memory stores computer program instructions (Hanson [0036] The memory device 214 can be a non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing program instructions that are executable by the processing device 212.), and
the processor is configured to execute the computer program instructions to perform steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson [0036] The executable program instructions can include a base station signal identification module ("BSSIM") 216 and a configuration engine 218.).
Re. Claim 11. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 1,
Hanson further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer program instructions (Hanson [0036] The memory device 214 can be a non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing program instructions that are executable by the processing device 212.), wherein
the computer program instructions are executed by a processor to implement steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson [0036] The executable program instructions can include a base station signal identification module ("BSSIM") 216 and a configuration engine 218.).
Re. Claim 12. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches at least one processor (Hanson [0036] The configuration sub-system 108 can include a processing device 212 (or group of processing devices) that includes or is communicatively coupled with a memory device 214.),
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer program instructions stored in a memory to perform steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson [0036] The memory device 214 can be a non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing program instructions that are executable by the processing device 212. The executable program instructions can include a base station signal identification module ("BSSIM") 216 and a configuration engine 218.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach a chip, comprising at least one processor.
However, in the related art, Harel teaches a chip, comprising at least one processor (Harel [0043] FIG. 6 is a schematic diagram representation of additional detail illustrating a computer system 600 that could be employed in the remote unit control circuit 200 of FIGS. 2, 4, and 5 to support channel-based remote unit monitoring and optimization.
[0044] The computer system 600 may be a circuit or circuits included in an electronic board card, such as, a printed circuit board (PCB), a server, a personal computer, a desktop computer, a laptop computer, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a computing pad, a mobile device, or any other device, and may represent, for example, a server or a user's computer.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hanson with the signal identifiers of Harel. The resulting invention would provide unique identifiers for a signal channel and remote unit pair enabling channel-based remote unit monitoring and optimization (Harel [0019-0020]).
Re. Claim 14. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 9,
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson Fig. 1, [0043] In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson [0045] The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another.
[Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson [0041] For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson [0037] The configuration sub-system 108 can be communicatively coupled to the receiver 204 and can thereby receive data about the downlink signals received via the input section 206. In some aspects, the receiver 204 can transmit data about the received downlink signals to the configuration sub-system 108.
[0049-0050] The input section 206 depicted in FIG. 3 includes a switch matrix 306. In some aspects, the switch matrix 306 can include one or more analog-to-digital converters for converting analog downlink signals into digital downlink signals. … The processing device 212 executing the configuration engine 218 can cause the receiver 204 of the unit 102 to be tuned to possible frequency bands used by the DAS 100.); and
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Harel teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Harel [0032] As discussed earlier in FIG. 2, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) may be associated with the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier to uniquely identify a combination of a signal channel and a remote unit among the remote units 402(1)-402(K) that communicates on the signal channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hanson with the signal identifiers of Harel. The resulting invention would provide unique identifiers for a signal channel and remote unit pair enabling channel-based remote unit monitoring and optimization (Harel [0019-0020]).
Re. Claim 15. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 9,
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson Fig. 1, [0043] In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson [0045] The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another.
[Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, [0041] For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, [0041] The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.); and
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, [0055] For example, downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies that are in different sub-bands 302a-c of the frequency band 202 and therefore do not overlap. The configuration sub-system 108 can determine that the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies in the non-overlapping sub-bands 302a-c. The configuration sub-system 108 can configure the switch matrix 306 to provide the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 to the adder 308d to generate a combined signal 404. And
[0035] The output section 210 can include one or more components for routing downlink signals from the combining section 208 to the remote antenna units 104a-f. … The configuration sub-system 108 can be used to configure the output section 210 to control which combined downlink signals are routed to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Harel teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Harel [0032] As discussed earlier in FIG. 2, the communications signals 204(1)-204(N) may be associated with the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
, respectively. Each of the signal identifiers
S
I
D
1
-
S
I
D
N
may include a signal channel identifier and a remote unit identifier to uniquely identify a combination of a signal channel and a remote unit among the remote units 402(1)-402(K) that communicates on the signal channel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hanson with the signal identifiers of Harel. The resulting invention would provide unique identifiers for a signal channel and remote unit pair enabling channel-based remote unit monitoring and optimization (Harel [0019-0020]).
Re. Claim 19. Hanson in view of Harel teaches claim 9,
Hanson further teaches wherein the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit further comprises either or both of a frequency selection parameter and a band selection parameter of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, [0019] Non-limiting examples of signal parameters include a power spectral density of a received frequency band, the lowest frequency and highest frequency for the frequency band, a center frequency of all channels received by the master unit, bandwidth of all the channels, modulation types for different channels, etc.
[The lowest and highest frequencies and center frequency correspond to the frequency selection parameter, and the bandwidth of all the channels corresponds to the band selection parameter.]), and
either or both of the frequency selection parameter and the band selection parameter comprises at least one of the following parameters: an uplink frequency point, a downlink frequency point, a bandwidth, and a filter delay (Hanson [0019] In some aspects, the signal parameters of the received signals, including the bandwidth and number of channels, can also be used (separately or in combination) to determine the relative signal levels of base stations signals for signals that are combined into a combined signal. The master unit or other unit can combine downlink signals in accordance with the configuration plan and provide the combined signals to remote antenna units.).
Conclusion
/C.H.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417