DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 12/09/2025 have been entered. Claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
In view of amendments filed 12/09/2025, the objection to specification has been withdrawn. Further, the rejection to claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hanson et al. (US 2015/0016441), Hanson hereinafter, in view of Salahuddeen et al. (US 2021/0007039), Salahuddeen hereinafter, further in view of Chamarti (US 20180351608).
Re. Claim 1, Hanson teaches a carrier configuration method for a distributed antenna system (Hanson, ¶0018: Systems and methods are disclosed for using a configuration sub-system to automatically configure a distributed antenna system ("DAS") or other telecommunication system.), wherein
the distributed antenna system comprises at least one access unit and at least one remote unit (Hanson, ¶¶0018-0019: The configuration sub-system can automate (either in whole or in part) the routing and combining of signals between base stations in communication with a DAS and remote antennas units in the DAS. In some aspects, the configuration sub-system of a DAS can include a processing device that can analyze downlink signals received by a master unit or other unit in the DAS from one or more base stations in communication with the DAS. [The master unit corresponds to the access unit.]), and the method comprises:
acquiring a configuration parameter of a carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unitThe configuration sub-system 108 can communicate with the base stations via the direct data interface to obtain data regarding one or more signal parameters of the downlink signals. And 0019: Signal parameters can include characteristics of a signal or groups of signals or other information about a signal or groups of signals. Non-limiting examples of signal parameters include a power spectral density of a received frequency band, the lowest frequency and highest frequency for the frequency band, a center frequency of all channels received by the master unit, bandwidth of all the channels, modulation types for different channels, etc.),
establishing a transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit In another non-limiting example, the configuration sub-system 108 can output a configuration plan to a computing device 220 that describes how to route different downlink signals to different combining devices. … The output section 210 can include one or more components for routing downlink signals from the combining section 208 to the remote antenna units 104a-f. … The configuration sub-system 108 can be used to configure the output section 210 to control which combined downlink signals are routed to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration parameter includes a mapping relationship between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit; and establishing a transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches wherein the configuration parameter includes a mapping relationship between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit (Salahuddeen, ¶¶0116: The method 700 may proceed at step 704 where the at least one processor determines a mapping of each of the sets of data to at least one of the plurality of [remote units] RUs 106. This mapping may be based on PRB groups, frequency reuse layers, and/or the channel(s) to which the respective set of data relates to.); and
establishing a transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship (Salahuddeen, Fig. 16, ¶0199: FIG. 16 is a flow diagram illustrating a method 1600 for sending data across a fronthaul interface and fronthaul network 116 in a C-RAN 100 using deep packet inspection (DPI). The method 1600 may be performed by at least one processor in an ETHERNET switch in the fronthaul 116 in the C-RAN 100. ¶¶0201-0209: The method 1600 begins at optional step 1602 where at least one processor receives a packet of data. The method 1600 proceeds at optional step 1604 where the at least one processor identifies at least one bit pattern for each of at least one [remote unit] RU 106 the packet is intended for. … The method 1600 proceeds at step 1606 where the at least one processor performs deep packet inspection (DPI) on the packet in order to determine whether an RUid bitmask 602 is present in the packet, the RUid bitmask 602 indicating the at least one [remote unit] RU 106 that the packet is intended for. … The method 1600 proceeds at step 1608 where, when the RUid bitmask 602 is present in the packet, the at least one processor communicates at least a portion of the packet to each of the at least one [remote unit] RU 106 based on a comparison of the RUid bitmask 602 with the bit pattern(s) for the respective RU 106.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Neither Hanson nor Salahuddeen explicitly teaches configured by a user via a user configuration interface.
However, in the related art, Chamarti teaches configured by a user via a user configuration interface (Chamarti, 0043: FIGS. 19A and 19B are diagrams of exemplary graphical user interfaces (GUI) that facilitate configuring and/or reconfiguring distribution of MIMO communications streams in a DCS, such as the DCS in FIGS. 15A and 15B and according to any of the exemplary interleaved MIMO communications services discussed herein, displayed on a display in a computer system in response to a processor executing of software instructions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Hanson as modified by the teaching of Salahuddeen with the graphical user interface of Chamarti. The resulting invention would provide for configuring or reconfiguring the distribution of MIMO communications streams based on the layout of the installation (Chamarti, 0100).
Re. Claim 2, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches wherein the distributed antenna system further comprises at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, Fig. 2, ¶0033: The input section 206 of the unit 102 can include multiple input ports for receiving downlink signals from base stations. The input section 206 can also include one or more components for communicatively coupling the input ports to the configuration sub-system 108. … The received downlink signals can be transmitted from the base stations to the unit 102 using different frequency bands, such as the frequency bands 201, 202, 203 depicted in FIG. 2. ¶0044: For example, the configuration sub-system 108 (including one or both of the BSSIM 216 and the configuration engine 218) can be included in any suitable signal analysis device that is configured to process RF signals at frequencies used by the DAS 100. A non-limiting example of a suitable signal analysis device is a digital signal processer that can analyze a digitized signal and determine information about the signal.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one (Salahuddeen, ¶0203: When an [remote unit] RU 106 hosts more than one carrier, the [remote unit] RU 106 implements a radio unit instance, or modules implemented with a processor, for each carrier, all of which share the same physical ETHERNET port on the RU 106. Also when an [remote unit] RU 106 hosts more than one carrier, each radio unit instance communicates with a different BC 104, DU 105, or CU 103, which assigns the radio unit instance an RUid.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 3, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 2.
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, Fig. 1, ¶0043: In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson, ¶0045: The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another. [Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, ¶0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, 0041: For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, ¶0037: The configuration sub-system 108 can be communicatively coupled to the receiver 204 and can thereby receive data about the downlink signals received via the input section 206. In some aspects, the receiver 204 can transmit data about the received downlink signals to the configuration sub-system 108. And 0049-0050: The input section 206 depicted in FIG. 3 includes a switch matrix 306. In some aspects, the switch matrix 306 can include one or more analog-to-digital converters for converting analog downlink signals into digital downlink signals. … The processing device 212 executing the configuration engine 218 can cause the receiver 204 of the unit 102 to be tuned to possible frequency bands used by the DAS 100.); and
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, 0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Salahuddeen, ¶0229: The method 1800 begins at step 1802 where [remote units] RU begins a discovery process (e.g., upon powering up) and sends an ETHERNET broadcast packet. At step 1804, each radio unit instance (RPI) is assigned an RUid by one or more BCs 104 (or DUs 105 or CUs 103), e.g., via a SOAP connection with one of the radio unit instances. Additionally, an E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), various L1 and ETHERNET parameters of the radio unit instances may also be configured. At step 1806, each RPI will inform the ETHERNET switch of its downlink multicast IP address range of interest, UDP port number range of interest and the RUID (32/64 bit value) of interest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 4, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 2.
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, Fig. 1, ¶0043: In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson, ¶0045: The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another. [Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, 0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, ¶0041: For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, 0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.); and
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, ¶0055: For example, downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies that are in different sub-bands 302a-c of the frequency band 202 and therefore do not overlap. The configuration sub-system 108 can determine that the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies in the non-overlapping sub-bands 302a-c. The configuration sub-system 108 can configure the switch matrix 306 to provide the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 to the adder 308d to generate a combined signal 404. And 0035: The output section 210 can include one or more components for routing downlink signals from the combining section 208 to the remote antenna units 104a-f. … The configuration sub-system 108 can be used to configure the output section 210 to control which combined downlink signals are routed to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Salahuddeen, ¶0229: The method 1800 begins at step 1802 where RU begins a discovery process (e.g., upon powering up) and sends an ETHERNET broadcast packet. At step 1804, each radio unit instance (RPI) is assigned an RUid by one or more BCs 104 (or DUs 105 or CUs 103), e.g., via a SOAP connection with one of the radio unit instances. Additionally, an E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), various L1 and ETHERNET parameters of the radio unit instances may also be configured. At step 1806, each RPI will inform the ETHERNET switch of its downlink multicast IP address range of interest, UDP port number range of interest and the RUID (32/64 bit value) of interest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 5, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 2.
Hanson further teaches wherein after acquiring the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit (Hanson, ¶0046: Fig. 2 The user can provide input to the configuration sub-system 108 via the computing device 220 that commands the configuration sub-system 108 to automatically configure the DAS 100. In some aspects, the configuration sub-system 108 can generate a configuration recommendation and include the configuration recommendation in the graphical interface provided to the computing device 220.), the method further comprises:
performing a validity check of the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, ¶0047: In some aspects, a configuration recommendation may identify conflicts or other errors in the routing of signals in the DAS 100.).
Re. Claim 6, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 5.
Hanson further teaches wherein the performing the validity check of the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted further comprises:
returning an error message when either or both of a one-to-many mapping relationship and a many-to-one mapping relationship exist in the mapping relationships (Hanson, ¶0047: In some aspects, a configuration recommendation may identify conflicts or other errors in the routing of signals in the DAS 100. The configuration sub-system 108 can inform a user of the identified conflicts. … One example of a conflict or other error involves multiple sectors with overlapping frequencies being transmitted from a base station via the DAS 100. [Informing a user of the identified conflicts corresponds to returning an error message. A base station transmitting to multiple sectors with overlapping frequencies corresponds to a one-to-many mapping relationship.]).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach acquiring the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit in the configuration parameter.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches acquiring the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit in the configuration parameter (Salahuddeen, ¶0229: The method 1800 begins at step 1802 where [remote units] RU begins a discovery process (e.g., upon powering up) and sends an ETHERNET broadcast packet. At step 1804, each radio unit instance (RPI) is assigned an RUid by one or more BCs 104 (or DUs 105 or CUs 103), e.g., via a SOAP connection with one of the radio unit instances. Additionally, an E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), various L1 and ETHERNET parameters of the radio unit instances may also be configured. At step 1806, each RPI will inform the ETHERNET switch of its downlink multicast IP address range of interest, UDP port number range of interest and the RUID (32/64 bit value) of interest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 7, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 1,
Hanson further teaches wherein each of the at least one access unit comprises at least one connection enabling end connected to the at least one remote unit (Hanson, Fig. 2, ¶0049: The output section 210 depicted in FIG. 3 includes a switch matrix 310. And 0059: The configuration sub-system 108 can configure the switch matrix 310 to route each of the signals 401-403 to a different non-intersecting subset of remote antenna units 104a-f (i.e., to a different one of the coverage zones 106a-c).), corresponding to which the establishing the transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship further comprises:
selecting and activating, a connection enabling such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end (Hanson, Fig. 2, 0035: In one non-limiting example, the configuration sub-system 108 can communicate control signals to the output section 210 that configure a switch matrix in the output section 210 to route different combined downlink signals to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach selecting and activating, based on the mapping relationship, a connection enabling end corresponding to the mapping relationship such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches selecting and activating, based on the mapping relationship, a connection enabling end corresponding to the mapping relationship such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end (Salahuddeen, ¶¶0206-0209: The method 1600 proceeds at step 1606 where the at least one processor performs deep packet inspection (DPI) on the packet in order to determine whether an RUid bitmask 602 is present in the packet, the RUid bitmask 602 indicating the at least one RU 106 that the packet is intended for. … The method 1600 proceeds at step 1608 where, when the RUid bitmask 602 is present in the packet, the at least one processor communicates at least a portion of the packet to each of the at least one [remote unit] RU 106 based on a comparison of the RUid bitmask 602 with the bit pattern(s) for the respective [remote unit] RU 106.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 8. Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches wherein the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit further comprises either or both of a frequency selection parameter and a band selection parameter of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, ¶0019: Non-limiting examples of signal parameters include a power spectral density of a received frequency band, the lowest frequency and highest frequency for the frequency band, a center frequency of all channels received by the master unit, bandwidth of all the channels, modulation types for different channels, etc. [The lowest and highest frequencies and center frequency correspond to the frequency selection parameter, and the bandwidth of all the channels corresponds to the band selection parameter.]), and
either or both of the frequency selection parameter and the band selection parameter comprises at least one of the following parameters: an uplink frequency point, a downlink frequency point, a bandwidth, and a filter delay (Hanson, 0019: In some aspects, the signal parameters of the received signals, including the bandwidth and number of channels, can also be used (separately or in combination) to determine the relative signal levels of base stations signals for signals that are combined into a combined signal. The master unit or other unit can combine downlink signals in accordance with the configuration plan and provide the combined signals to remote antenna units.).
Re. Claim 9, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches a distributed antenna system (Hanson, ¶0003: A distributed antenna system ("DAS") may include master units and remote antenna units.), comprising
at least one access unit, at least one remote unit (Hanson, ¶0003: Master units receive downlink signals from base station and distribute downlink signals in analog or digital format to multiple remote antenna units. [The master unit(s) corresponds to the at least one remote unit.]), and
a configuration module (Hanson, ¶0007: In one aspect, a configuration sub-system of a distributed antenna system is provided.), wherein
the configuration module comprises a processor (Hanson, ¶0007: The configuration subsystem can include a processing device.) and
a configuration port (Hanson, ¶0035: The outputted configuration plan can be used by a control device in the DAS 100 to configure the unit 102 for routing combined downlink signals to remote antenna units.),
the processor is configured to perform steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson, ¶0007: The processing device can automatically determine a configuration plan for the distributed antenna system based on the automatically identified signal parameters.), and
the configuration port is configured to configure the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of the at least one access unit (Hanson, ¶0035: The outputted configuration plan can be used by a control device in the DAS 100 to configure the unit 102 for routing combined downlink signals to remote antenna units. [The control device corresponds to the configuration port; it performs the same function of configuring the unit as the configuration port.]).
Re. Claim 10, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches a processing device, comprising a memory and a processor (Hanson, ¶0036: The configuration sub-system 108 can include a processing device 212 (or group of processing devices) that includes or is communicatively coupled with a memory device 214.), wherein
the memory stores computer program instructions (Hanson, ¶0036: The memory device 214 can be a non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing program instructions that are executable by the processing device 212.), and
the processor is configured to execute the computer program instructions to perform steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson, ¶0036: The executable program instructions can include a base station signal identification module ("BSSIM") 216 and a configuration engine 218.).
Re. Claim 11, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer program instructions (Hanson, ¶0036: The memory device 214 can be a non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing program instructions that are executable by the processing device 212.), wherein
the computer program instructions are executed by a processor to implement steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson, ¶0036: The executable program instructions can include a base station signal identification module ("BSSIM") 216 and a configuration engine 218.).
Re. Claim 12, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 1.
Hanson further teaches at least one processor Hanson, ¶0036: The configuration sub-system 108 can include a processing device 212 (or group of processing devices) that includes or is communicatively coupled with a memory device 214.),
wherein the processor is configured to execute computer program instructions stored in a memory to perform steps of the carrier configuration method for the distributed antenna system of claim 1 (Hanson, ¶0036: The memory device 214 can be a non-transitory computer-readable medium for storing program instructions that are executable by the processing device 212. The executable program instructions can include a base station signal identification module ("BSSIM") 216 and a configuration engine 218.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach a chip, comprising at least one processor.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches a chip, comprising at least one processor (Salahuddeen, ¶0230: For example, where a computing device is described as performing an action, the computing device may carry out this action using at least one processor executing instructions stored on at least one memory. Storage devices suitable for tangibly embodying computer program instructions and data include all forms of non-volatile memory, including by way of example semiconductor memory devices, such as EPROM, EEPROM, and flash memory devices; magnetic disks such as internal hard disks and removable disks; magneto-optical disks; and DVD disks. Any of the foregoing may be supplemented by, or incorporated in, specially-designed application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs). [The ASIC corresponds to the chip.]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 13. Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 9.
Hanson further teaches wherein the distributed antenna system further comprises at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, Fig. 2, ¶0033: The input section 206 of the unit 102 can include multiple input ports for receiving downlink signals from base stations. The input section 206 can also include one or more components for communicatively coupling the input ports to the configuration sub-system 108. … The received downlink signals can be transmitted from the base stations to the unit 102 using different frequency bands, such as the frequency bands 201, 202, 203 depicted in FIG. 2. And ¶0044: For example, the configuration sub-system 108 (including one or both of the BSSIM 216 and the configuration engine 218) can be included in any suitable signal analysis device that is configured to process RF signals at frequencies used by the DAS 100. A non-limiting example of a suitable signal analysis device is a digital signal processer that can analyze a digitized signal and determine information about the signal.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one (Salahuddeen, ¶0203: When an [remote unit] RU 106 hosts more than one carrier, the [remote unit] RU 106 implements a radio unit instance, or modules implemented with a processor, for each carrier, all of which share the same physical ETHERNET port on the [remote unit] RU 106. Also when an [remote unit] RU 106 hosts more than one carrier, each radio unit instance communicates with a different BC 104, DU 105, or CU 103, which assigns the radio unit instance an RUid.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 14, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 13.
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, Fig. 1, ¶0043: In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson, 0045: The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another. [Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, 0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, 0041: For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, 0037: The configuration sub-system 108 can be communicatively coupled to the receiver 204 and can thereby receive data about the downlink signals received via the input section 206. In some aspects, the receiver 204 can transmit data about the received downlink signals to the configuration sub-system 108. And 0049-0050: The input section 206 depicted in FIG. 3 includes a switch matrix 306. In some aspects, the switch matrix 306 can include one or more analog-to-digital converters for converting analog downlink signals into digital downlink signals. … The processing device 212 executing the configuration engine 218 can cause the receiver 204 of the unit 102 to be tuned to possible frequency bands used by the DAS 100.); and
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, 0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Salahuddeen, ¶0229: The method 1800 begins at step 1802 where RU begins a discovery process (e.g., upon powering up) and sends an ETHERNET broadcast packet. At step 1804, each radio unit instance (RPI) is assigned an RUid by one or more BCs 104 (or DUs 105 or CUs 103), e.g., via a SOAP connection with one of the radio unit instances. Additionally, an E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), various L1 and ETHERNET parameters of the radio unit instances may also be configured. At step 1806, each RPI will inform the ETHERNET switch of its downlink multicast IP address range of interest, UDP port number range of interest and the RUID (32/64 bit value) of interest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 15, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 13.
Hanson further teaches wherein a process of establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit comprises:
acquiring frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, Fig. 1, ¶0043: In other aspects, for a more complex DAS 100, the configuration sub-system 108 can automatically configure the DAS 100 using the frequency bands of operation, the frequency occupancy for each channel, the power of each channel, and information describing sectors received by the unit 102 from base stations via a direct data interface.) and
frequency band mapping information of the distributed antenna system (Hanson, 0045: The configuration engine 218 can be used to configure the DAS 100 by determining which downlink signals are to be routed to which of the remote antenna units 104a:f. … Transmitting multiple sectors from the base station using a DAS 100 can involve transmitting different downlink signals (i.e., signals directed to different end user devices) that occupy the same frequency spectrum. The different downlink signals occupying the same frequency spectrum can be transmitted in spatially distinct coverage areas to reduce or prevent interference with one another. [Determining which signals can be routed to which spatially distinct coverage area serves a function equivalent to frequency band mapping information of the DAS as it dictates which frequencies can transmitted by which remote antennas.]), wherein
the frequency band mapping information comprises frequency band information of the at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, 0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.) and
frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, 0041: For example, the configuration engine 218 can execute a decoding algorithm to decode signals identified by the BSSIM 216 in different frequency bands used by the DAS 100.);
acquiring at least one remote unit matching with the frequency band information of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, 0041: The configuration engine 218 can use information about the received downlink signals to determine which downlink signals from which base stations are to be routed to which remote antenna units 104a-f.); and
acquiring at least one radio frequency channel module matching with the frequency band information of the at least one remote unit (Hanson, 0055: For example, downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies that are in different sub-bands 302a-c of the frequency band 202 and therefore do not overlap. The configuration sub-system 108 can determine that the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 have frequencies in the non-overlapping sub-bands 302a-c. The configuration sub-system 108 can configure the switch matrix 306 to provide the downlink signals received via the inputs 7-9 to the adder 308d to generate a combined signal 404. And 0035: The output section 210 can include one or more components for routing downlink signals from the combining section 208 to the remote antenna units 104a-f. … The configuration sub-system 108 can be used to configure the output section 210 to control which combined downlink signals are routed to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches establishing the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit (Salahuddeen, ¶0229: The method 1800 begins at step 1802 where RU begins a discovery process (e.g., upon powering up) and sends an ETHERNET broadcast packet. At step 1804, each radio unit instance (RPI) is assigned an RUid by one or more BCs 104 (or DUs 105 or CUs 103), e.g., via a SOAP connection with one of the radio unit instances. Additionally, an E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), various L1 and ETHERNET parameters of the radio unit instances may also be configured. At step 1806, each RPI will inform the ETHERNET switch of its downlink multicast IP address range of interest, UDP port number range of interest and the RUID (32/64 bit value) of interest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 16. Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 13,
Hanson further teaches wherein after acquiring the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit (Hanson, ¶0046: The user can provide input to the configuration sub-system 108 via the computing device 220 that commands the configuration sub-system 108 to automatically configure the DAS 100. In some aspects, the configuration sub-system 108 can generate a configuration recommendation and include the configuration recommendation in the graphical interface provided to the computing device 220.), the method further comprises:
performing a validity check of the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, ¶0047: In some aspects, a configuration recommendation may identify conflicts or other errors in the routing of signals in the DAS 100.).
Re. Claim 17, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 16.
Hanson further teaches wherein the performing the validity check of the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted further comprises:
returning an error message when either or both of a one-to-many mapping relationship and a many-to-one mapping relationship exist in the mapping relationships (Hanson, ¶0047: In some aspects, a configuration recommendation may identify conflicts or other errors in the routing of signals in the DAS 100. The configuration sub-system 108 can inform a user of the identified conflicts. … One example of a conflict or other error involves multiple sectors with overlapping frequencies being transmitted from a base station via the DAS 100. [Informing a user of the identified conflicts corresponds to returning an error message. A base station transmitting to multiple sectors with overlapping frequencies corresponds to a one-to-many mapping relationship.]).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach acquiring the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit in the configuration parameter.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches acquiring the mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit in the configuration parameter (Salahuddeen, ¶0229: The method 1800 begins at step 1802 where RU begins a discovery process (e.g., upon powering up) and sends an ETHERNET broadcast packet. At step 1804, each radio unit instance (RPI) is assigned an RUid by one or more BCs 104 (or DUs 105 or CUs 103), e.g., via a SOAP connection with one of the radio unit instances. Additionally, an E-UTRA Absolute Radio Frequency Channel Number (EARFCN), various L1 and ETHERNET parameters of the radio unit instances may also be configured. At step 1806, each RPI will inform the ETHERNET switch of its downlink multicast IP address range of interest, UDP port number range of interest and the RUID (32/64 bit value) of interest.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 18, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 9.
Hanson further teaches wherein each of the at least one access unit comprises at least one connection enabling end connected to the at least one remote unit (Hanson, Fig. 2, ¶0049: The output section 210 depicted in FIG. 3 includes a switch matrix 310. And 0059: The configuration sub-system 108 can configure the switch matrix 310 to route each of the signals 401-403 to a different non-intersecting subset of remote antenna units 104a-f (i.e., to a different one of the coverage zones 106a-c).), corresponding to which the establishing the transmission channel between the at least one access unit and the at least one remote unit according to the mapping relationship further comprises:
selecting and activating, a connection enabling end such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end (Hanson, Fig. 2, 0035: In one non-limiting example, the configuration sub-system 108 can communicate control signals to the output section 210 that configure a switch matrix in the output section 210 to route different combined downlink signals to different remote antenna units.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach selecting and activating, based on the mapping relationship, a connection enabling end corresponding to the mapping relationship such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches selecting and activating, based on the mapping relationship, a connection enabling end corresponding to the mapping relationship such that each of the at least one access unit is connected to the at least one remote unit corresponding to the connection enabling end (Salahuddeen, Fig. 16, ¶¶0206-0209: The method 1600 proceeds at step 1606 where the at least one processor performs deep packet inspection (DPI) on the packet in order to determine whether an RUid bitmask 602 is present in the packet, the RUid bitmask 602 indicating the at least one RU 106 that the packet is intended for. … The method 1600 proceeds at step 1608 where, when the RUid bitmask 602 is present in the packet, the at least one processor communicates at least a portion of the packet to each of the at least one RU 106 based on a comparison of the RUid bitmask 602 with the bit pattern(s) for the respective RU 106.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Re. Claim 19, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 9.
Hanson further teaches wherein the configuration parameter of the carrier to be transmitted of at least one access unit further comprises either or both of a frequency selection parameter and a band selection parameter of the carrier to be transmitted (Hanson, ¶0019: Non-limiting examples of signal parameters include a power spectral density of a received frequency band, the lowest frequency and highest frequency for the frequency band, a center frequency of all channels received by the master unit, bandwidth of all the channels, modulation types for different channels, etc. [The lowest and highest frequencies and center frequency correspond to the frequency selection parameter, and the bandwidth of all the channels corresponds to the band selection parameter.]), and
either or both of the frequency selection parameter and the band selection parameter comprises at least one of the following parameters: an uplink frequency point, a downlink frequency point, a bandwidth, and a filter delay (Hanson, 0019: In some aspects, the signal parameters of the received signals, including the bandwidth and number of channels, can also be used (separately or in combination) to determine the relative signal levels of base stations signals for signals that are combined into a combined signal. The master unit or other unit can combine downlink signals in accordance with the configuration plan and provide the combined signals to remote antenna units.).
Re. Claim 20, Hanson in view of Salahuddeen and Chamarti teaches claim 12.
Hanson further teaches wherein the distributed antenna system further comprises at least one radio frequency channel module (Hanson, Fig. 2, ¶0033: The input section 206 of the unit 102 can include multiple input ports for receiving downlink signals from base stations. The input section 206 can also include one or more components for communicatively coupling the input ports to the configuration sub-system 108. … The received downlink signals can be transmitted from the base stations to the unit 102 using different frequency bands, such as the frequency bands 201, 202, 203 depicted in FIG. 2. And ¶0044: For example, the configuration sub-system 108 (including one or both of the BSSIM 216 and the configuration engine 218) can be included in any suitable signal analysis device that is configured to process RF signals at frequencies used by the DAS 100. A non-limiting example of a suitable signal analysis device is a digital signal processer that can analyze a digitized signal and determine information about the signal.).
Yet, Hanson does not explicitly teach corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one.
However, in the related art, Salahuddeen teaches corresponding to which the mapping relationship further comprises mapping relationships between the at least one radio frequency channel module and the at least one remote unit corresponding one to one (Salahuddeen, ¶0203: When an RU 106 hosts more than one carrier, the RU 106 implements a radio unit instance, or modules implemented with a processor, for each carrier, all of which share the same physical ETHERNET port on the RU 106. Also when an RU 106 hosts more than one carrier, each radio unit instance communicates with a different BC 104, DU 105, or CU 103, which assigns the radio unit instance an RUid.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the automatic configuration sub-system for distributed antenna systems of Hanson with the deep packet inspection in a fronthaul network of a cloud radio access network of Salahuddeen. The resulting invention would provide tailored transmission of downlink traffic when frequency reuse is implemented in a cloud radio access network (Salahuddeen, ¶0037).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417