DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to the amendment filed 6/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 7-10, 12-14, 16, 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koida (US20230367109) in view of Abe (US20160147049).
Regarding claim 1, Koida teaches a zoom lens (figs.1-18, abstract, a zoom optical system) comprising, in order from an object side to an image side (fig. 9, paragraph [0170], the zoom optical system ZL5 includes, sequentially from the object side):
a first lens unit (fig. 9, a lens group G1) having a positive refractive power (paragraph [0170] a first lens group G1 having positive refractive power);
a front group including one or two lens unit (fig. 9, a second lens group G2) and having a negative refractive power as a whole (paragraph [0170] a second lens group G2 having negative refractive power); and
a rear group (fig. 9, lens groups G3+G4+G5+G6 has been referred to as a rear group; paragraph [0170], the rear lens group GL includes, sequentially from the object side, a third lens group G3 having positive refractive power, a fourth lens group G4 having positive refractive power, a fifth lens group G5 having negative refractive power, and a sixth lens group G6 having positive refractive power) including an aperture stop (fig. 9, aperture stop S) and one or more lens unit (fig. 9, lens group G3+G4+G5+G6),
wherein each distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming (see fig. 9, paragraph [0173], In the zoom optical system ZL5, the second lens group G2, the third lens group G3, the fourth lens group G4, the fifth lens group G5, and the sixth lens group G6 move along the optical axis so that the spaces between the lens groups change at zooming),
wherein the first lens unit is fixed relative to an image plane during focusing (paragraph [0111], the first lens group G1 is preferably fixed relative to the image plane at zooming; paragraph; [0117] any lens other than the focusing group preferably has a position fixed relative to the image plane at focusing),
wherein the first lens unit (fig. 9, lens group G1) includes a positive lens (the lens L11; paragraph [0171] the first lens group G1 includes, sequentially from the object side, a biconvex positive lens L11) disposed closest to an object (see Koida fig. 9, lens L11 disposed closest to the object),
wherein at least four lens units move during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end (see fig. 9, at least four lens groups move during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end; paragraph [0173], In the zoom optical system ZL5, the second lens group G2, the third lens group G3, the fourth lens group G4, the fifth lens group G5, and the sixth lens group G6 move along the optical axis so that the spaces between the lens groups change at zooming ),
wherein at the telephoto end, a combined refractive power from the positive lens (fig. 9, the lens L11) to a lens (the Lens L25) disposed closest to an image in the front group (fig. 9, the lens group G2 is negative (see paragraph [0176], data of table 13, a combined refractive power from lens L11 to lens L25, the focal length is approximately -233), and
wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
0.10 < dsw/Ldw < 0.50 (0.505; paragraph [0176] data of table 13, dsw/Ldw =122.9/243.361 = 0.505 ---which is very close to the value of 0.5; the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, See MPEP 2144.05(I); Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Nabber, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)).
1.45 < nd1max ≤ 1.80 (1.795; described below), and
3 < d1a/dUa < 300 (3.895; described below),
where dsw is a distance on an optical axis (see fig. 9, the optical axis) from the aperture stop (fig. 9, the aperture stop) to the image plane (fig. 9, image plane I) at the wide-angle end (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, dsw = sum of object plane 21 to 37 = 122.9), Ldw is a total length of the zoom lens (fig. 9, the zoom lens) at the wide-angle end (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, Ldw = sum of object plane 1 to 35 = 243.361), nd1max is a maximum refractive index of lenses included in the first lens unit (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, nd1max = 1.795), d1a is a maximum value of air intervals in the first lens unit (fig. 9, lens group G1) in an entire zoom range (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, d1a = 25), and dUa is a maximum value of air intervals in the front group (fig. 9, lens group G2) in the entire zoom range (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, dUa = 6.418).
But Koida does not explicitly teach wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
1.7 < βUt/βUw < 20.0,
where βUt is a lateral magnification of the front group at the telephoto end, and βUw is a lateral magnification of the front group at the wide-angle end.
However, Abe teaches the analogous zoom lens (Abe, abstract, a zoom lens includes, in order from an object side: first to fifth lens units respectively having positive, negative, positive, positive, and positive or negative refractive powers), and further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
1.7 < βUt/βUw < 20.0 (8.75; Abe, fig.1, βUt/βUw = β2t/β2w; paragraph [0069], the conditional expression 4: 1.2 < (β2t/β2w)/(ft/fw) < 3; paragraph [0072], the conditional expression 4, the partial responsibility in varying magnification of the second lens unit L2; paragraph [0094], data of table 1, the conditional expression 4 of Numerical Embodiment 1, (β2t/β2w)/(ft/fw) = 0.5; paragraph [0088], data of table Numerical Embodiment 1, fw=9.76, ft=170.79, thus, (β2t/β2w) = 8.75),
where βUt is a lateral magnification of the front group (Abe, fig. 1, lens unit L2 has been referred to as the front group) at the telephoto end, and βUw is a lateral magnification of the front group at the wide-angle end (Abe, fig. 1, paragraph [0069] where β2 w and β2t respectively denote lateral magnifications of the second lens unit L2 at the wide angle end and the telephoto end).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Koida to have lateral magnification of the front group with the specific value as taught by Abe for the purpose to reduce the effective diameter of the front lens while realizing the high zoom ratio. (Abe, paragraph [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
1.75 < ndUv < 2.40 (1.903658; fig. 5, lens L24, paragraph [0176], data of table 13, ndUv = 1.903658),
where ndUv is a refractive index of a lens (fig. 9, lens L24) made of a material having a maximum refractive index among lenses included in the front group (see Koida, fig. 9, lens group G2, and paragraph [0176], data of table 13, the lens L24 made of a material having a maximum refractive index among lenses included in the lens group G2, ndUv = 1.903658).
Regarding claim 4, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein e following inequality is satisfied:
56 < vd1a < 100 (60.06, described below),
where νd1a is an average value of Abbe numbers in a d-line of lenses included in the first lens unit (see fig. 9, lens group G1, paragraph [0176], data of table 13, νd1a = average value of Abbe numbers = 60.06).
Regarding claim 7, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
2.4 < f1/fLA < 10.0 (2.54, described below),
where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit (fig. 9, lens group G1, paragraph [0176] data of table 13, f1 = focal length of the first lens group = 195.061), and fLA is a focal length of a lens unit (fig. 9, lens group G3) disposed closest to the object in the rear group (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, fLA= focal length of the G3 =76.696).
Regarding claim 8, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein he following inequality is satisfied:
-0.35 < fU/ft < -0.05 (-0.11, described below),
where fU is a focal length of the front group (fig. 9, lens group G2) at the telephoto end (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, fU= focal length of the G2 = -51.823), and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at the telephoto end (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, ft= focal length of the telephoto end =484.999).
Regarding claim 9, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.01 < skt/ft < 0.35 (0.11, described below),
where skt is a back focus at the telephoto end (see fig. 9, paragraph [0176] data of table 13, skt = BF of the telephoto end = 54.193), and ft is a focal length of the zoom lens at the telephoto end (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, ft= focal length of the telephoto end = 484.999).
Regarding claim 10, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-9.0 < f1/fU < -1.6 (-3.76; f1/fU=195.061/-51.823),
Where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit (see Koida, fig. 9, paragraph [0176] data of table 13, f1 = focal length of the G1 = 195.061), and fU is a focal length of the front group at the telephoto end (see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, fU= focal length of the G2 = -51.823).
Regarding claim 12, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein he first lens unit (Koida, fig. 9, the G1) is composed of four or less lenses (three lenses L11, L12 and L13).
Regarding claim 13, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the first lens unit (Koida, fig. 9, the G1) is composed of one negative lens (fig. 9, the lens L13; see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, the focal length of the lens L13 is about -187.3) and two or three positive lenses (the lens L11 and L12; see paragraph [0176] data of table 13, the focal length of the lens L11 is about 213.6, the focal length of the lens L12 is about 183.7).
Regarding claim 14, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the front group (Koida, fig. 9, the G2) is composed of three or four spherical lenses including at least one positive lens (see Koida, fig. 9, paragraph [0176] data of table 13, four spherical lenses L21, L22, L23, L24 including at least one positive lens L21, the focal length of the lens L21 is about 97.6).
Regarding claim 16, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein a lens (Koida fig. 9, lens L62) disposed closest to the image in the zoom lens is a lens having a convex shape on the image side (see fig. 9, paragraph [0176] data of table 13, the lens L62 having a convex shape on the image side).
Regarding claim 19, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the zoom lens includes the first lens unit (fgi.9, the G1), a second lens unit (fig. 9, the lens group G2) having a negative refractive power (paragraph [0170], the second lens group G2 having negative refractive power), and the rear group (fig. 9, lens group G3+G4+G5+G6), which are arranged in order from the object side to the image side (paragraph [0170] the zoom optical system ZL5 includes, sequentially from the object side).
Regarding claim 27, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein an image pickup apparatus comprising:
a zoom lens according to claim 1 (described in claim 1); and
an image sensor configures to capture an image formed by the zoom lens (see Koida, fig.17, paragraph [0113] the image unit 3 and an image of the subject is generated; a camera that is an optical apparatus including the zoom optical system ZL according to the present embodiment will be described below with reference to FIG. 17),
wherein the zoom lens comprising, in order from an object side to an image side:
a first lens unit having a positive refractive power;
a front group including one or two lens unit and having a negative refractive power as a whole; and
a rear group including an aperture stop and one or more lens unit,
wherein each distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming,
wherein the first lens unit is fixed relative to an image plane during focusing,
wherein the first lens unit includes a positive lens disposed closest to an object,
wherein at least four lens units move during zooming from a wide-angle end to a telephoto end,
wherein at the telephoto end, a combined refractive power from the positive lens to a lens disposed closest to an image in the front group is negative, and
wherein the following inequalities are satisfied:
0.10 < dsw/Ldw < 0.50,
1.45 < nd1max ≤ 1.80, and
3 < d1a/dUa < 300,
where dsw is a distance on an optical axis from the aperture stop to the image plane at the wide-angle end, Ldw is a total length of the zoom lens at the wide-angle end, nd1max is a maximum refractive index of lenses included in the first lens unit, d1a is a maximum value of air intervals in the first lens unit in an entire zoom range, and dUa is a maximum value of air intervals in the front group in the entire zoom range (described in claim 1, this claim recites similar limitations as corresponding independent claim 1 and is rejected using the same teachings and rationale).
Further, Abe teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
1.7 < βUt/βUw < 20.0 (8.75; Abe, fig.1, βUt/βUw = β2t/β2w; paragraph [0069], the conditional expression 4: 1.2 < (β2t/β2w)/(ft/fw) < 3; paragraph [0072], the conditional expression 4, the partial responsibility in varying magnification of the second lens unit L2; paragraph [0094], data of table 1, the conditional expression 4 of Numerical Embodiment 1, (β2t/β2w)/(ft/fw) = 0.5; paragraph [0088], data of table Numerical Embodiment 1, fw=9.76, ft=170.79, thus, (β2t/β2w) = 8.75),
where βUt is a lateral magnification of the front group (Abe,fig.1, lens unit L2 has been referred to as the front group) at the telephoto end, and βUw is a lateral magnification of the front group at the wide-angle end (Abe, fig.1, paragraph [0069] where β2 w and β2t respectively denote lateral magnifications of the second lens unit L2 at the wide angle end and the telephoto end).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Koida to have lateral magnification of the front group with the specific value as taught by Abe for the purpose to reduce the effective diameter of the front lens while realizing the high zoom ratio. (Abe, paragraph [0071]).
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koida (US20230367109) in view of Abe (US20160147049), and further in view of Tabata et al. (US20210199939).
Regarding claim 3, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Koida further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
0.56 < θgFUv < 0.68 (0.59; described below),
where θgFUv is a partial dispersion ratio of a lens (Koida, fig. 9, lens L24) made of a material having a maximum refractive index among lenses included in the front group (see Koida, fig. 9, lens group G2, and paragraph [0176], data of table 13, the lens L24 made of a material having a maximum refractive index, 1.903658, among lenses included in the lens group G2, vd = 31.32; as evidenced by Tabata et al. of US20210199939, fig.1, zoom lens, paragraph [0081], the extraordinary dispersion for the g line and the F line of a lens, glass material; paragraph [0082] partial dispersion ratio PgF; PgF = 0.648−0.0018×vd; thus, θgFUv = 0.648−0.0018×vd = 0.59).
Regarding claim 11, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Koida does not explicitly teach wherein a lens unit disposed closest to the object in the rear group is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming.
However, Tabata teaches the analogous zoom lens (Tabata, abstract, a zoom lens includes, in order from an object side, a first lens group that is positive, a second lens group that is negative, a third lens group that is positive, and a fourth lens group that is positive), and further teaches wherein a lens unit (Tabata, fig.3, third lens group G3 has been referred to as a lens unit) disposed closest to the object in the rear group (Tabata, fig.3, the lens groups G3+G4+G5+G6 has been referred to as the rear group) is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming (Tabata, fig.3, paragraph [0152], during zooming; the first lens group G1 and the third lens group G3 are fixed on an optical axis direction).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Koida to have the lens unit disposed closest to the object in the rear group is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming as taught by Tabata for the purpose to correct chromatic aberration over a wide wavelength range, and it is possible to obtain a compact zoom lens having high optical performance (Tabata, paragraph [0042]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koida (US20230367109) in view of Abe (US20160147049), and further in view of Tohchi et al. (US20100171849).
Regarding claim 5, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Koida does not explicitly teach wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-35.00 < βUt < -0.45,
where βUt is a lateral magnification of the front group at the telephoto end.
However, Tohchi teaches the analogous zoom lens (Tohchi, abstract, a zoom lens system, in order from an object side to an image side, comprising a first lens unit of positive power, a second lens unit of negative power, a third lens unit of positive power, and a fourth lens unit of positive power), and further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied:
-35.00 < βUt < -0.45 (-1.14; Tohchi, fig.1, paragraph [0515], data of table I-25; example 1-1, condition 5, a-2, 10, thus, βUt = m2T = -1.14) ,
where βUt is a lateral magnification of the front group (Tohchi, fig.1, second lens unit has been referred to as the front group) at the telephoto end (Tohchi, paragraph [0440] m2T is a lateral magnification of the second lens unit at a telephoto).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Koida to have lateral magnification of the front group with the specific value as taught by Tohchi for the purpose of constructing a compact zoom lens system having satisfactory optical performance (Tohchi, paragraph [0442]).
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koida (US20230367109) in view of Abe (US20160147049), and further in view of Okumura (US20140211029).
Regarding claim 15, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Koida does not explicitly teach wherein a lens unit disposed closest to the image in the zoom lens is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming.
However, Okumura teaches the analogous zoom lens (Okumura, abstract, a zoom lens including, in order from an object side; a positive first lens unit, a negative second lens unit; and a positive third lens unit), and further teaches wherein a lens unit (Okumura, fig.1, lens unit L6 has been referred to as a lens unit) disposed closest to the image (Okumura, fig.1, the image I) in the zoom lens (Okumura, fig.1, the zoom lens) is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming (Okumura, paragraph [0046] Embodiment 1, the sixth lens unit L6 do not move during zooming).
Thus ,it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Koida to have a lens unit disposed closest to the image in the zoom lens is fixed relative to the image plane during zooming as taught by Okumura (since Koida teaches in paragraph [0116], Specifically, such a configuration is a configuration in which a lens group having a position fixed relative to the image plane at zooming is added closest to the image) for the purpose of reducing the blur of a picked-up image by vibrating a part of lens units of the imaging optical system is required to have a large correction amount of the blur of a picked-up image and to have a small movement amount of a lens unit to be vibrated for correcting the blur of a picked-up image (Okumura, paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 17, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Koida does not explicitly teach wherein the aperture stop is disposed closer to the image than a lens unit disposed closest to the object in the rear group.
However, Okumura teaches the analogous zoom lens (Okumura, abstract, a zoom lens including, in order from an object side; a positive first lens unit, a negative second lens unit; and a positive third lens unit), and further teaches wherein the aperture stop (Okumura, fig.1, aperture stop S ) is disposed closer to the image than a lens unit (Okumura, fig.1, lens unit L3 has been referred to as a lens unit) disposed closest to the object in the rear group (Okumura, fig.1, lens units L3+L4+L5+L6 has been referred to as the rear group).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Koida to have the aperture stop is disposed closer to the image than a lens unit disposed closest to the object in the rear group as taught by Okumura for the purpose of reducing the blur of a picked-up image by vibrating a part of lens units of the imaging optical system is required to have a large correction amount of the blur of a picked-up image and to have a small movement amount of a lens unit to be vibrated for correcting the blur of a picked-up image (Okumura, paragraph [0006]).
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koida (US20230367109) in view of Abe (US20160147049), and further in view of Yonezawa et al. (US20230112183).
Regarding claim 18, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Koida does not explicitly teach wherein a lens disposed adjacent to the image side of the aperture stop is composed of an element having a convex shape on the object side.
However, Yonezawa teaches the analogous zoom lens (Yonezawa, abstract, The zoom lens consists of a first lens group, a front group, a middle group, and a rear group, in order from an object side. The first lens group has a positive refractive power), and further teaches wherein a lens (Yonezawa, fig.1, lens L31 has been referred to as a lens) disposed adjacent to the image side of the aperture stop (Yonezawa, fig.1, aperture stop St) is composed of an element having a convex shape on the object side (see Yonezawa, fig.1, lens L31 disposed adjacent to the image side of the aperture stop St is composed of an element having a convex shape on the object side).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Koida to have the specific the aperture stop of position as taught by Yonezawa for the purpose to have a high magnification, is reduced in size, and maintains favorable optical performance, (Yonezawa, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, combination Koida-Abe discloses the invention as described in Claim 19, Koida does not explicitly teach wherein the rear group is composed of a third lens unit having a positive refractive power, a fourth lens unit having a positive refractive power, a fifth lens unit having a negative refractive power, a sixth lens unit having a positive refractive power, a seventh lens unit having a negative refractive power, and an eighth lens unit having a positive refractive power.
However, Yonezawa teaches the analogous zoom lens (Yonezawa, abstract, The zoom lens consists of a first lens group, a front group, a middle group, and a rear group, in order from an object side. The first lens group has a positive refractive power), and further teaches wherein the rear group (Yonezawa, fig.1, groups GB+GC has been referred to as the rear group) is composed of a third lens unit (Yonezawa, fig.1, the lens L31 has been referred to as a third lens unit) having a positive refractive power (see Yonezawa, fig.1, paragraph [0313] data of table 1, a focal length of lens L31 is approximately 27.5), a fourth lens unit (Yonezawa, fig.1, lenses L32+L33 has been referred to as fourth lens unit) having a positive refractive power (see Yonezawa, fig.1, paragraph [0313] data of table 1, a focal length of lenses L32+L33 is approximately 40.9), a fifth lens unit (Yonezawa, fig.1, lens group G4 has been referred to as a fifth lens unit) having a negative refractive power (Yonezawa, fig.1, paragraph [0302], fourth lens group G4 that has a negative refractive power), a sixth lens unit (Yonezawa, fig.1, lens L51 has been referred to as a sixth lens unit) having a positive refractive power (see Yonezawa, fig.1, paragraph [0313] data of table 1, a focal length of lens L51 is approximately 31.8), a seventh lens unit (Yonezawa, fig.1, lens L52 has been referred to as a seventh lens unit) having a negative refractive power (see Yonezawa, fig.1, paragraph [0313] data of table 1, a focal length of lens L52 is approximately -33.5), and an eighth lens unit (Yonezawa, fig.1, lens L53 has been referred to as a eighth lens unit) having a positive refractive power (see Yonezawa, fig.1, paragraph [0313] data of table 1, a focal length of lens L53 is approximately 68.5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Koida to have add the specific lens groups as taught by Yonezawa for the purpose to have a high magnification, is reduced in size, and maintains favorable optical performance (Yonezawa, paragraph [0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, see Remarks Page. 8-12 with respect to the 35 U.S.C.&&102 and 103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Abe does not cure the deficiencies of Koida with respect to the above-noted features of amended independent claim 1. Rather, Abe is directed to a zoom lens having a short total lens length, a wide angle of view, a high zoom ratio, and high optical characteristics, and Abe expressly identifies shortening the total lens length as a problem to be addressed.
In response to applicant's argument(s) of 1
The test for obviousness is not whether the features may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In this case, Abe teaches the analogous zoom lens (Abe, abstract, a zoom lens includes, in order from an object side: first to fifth lens units respectively having positive, negative, positive, positive, and positive or negative refractive powers), and further teaches wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.7 < βUt/βUw < 20.0 (8.75; Abe, fig.1, βUt/βUw = β2t/β2w; paragraph [0069], the conditional expression 4: 1.2 < (β2t/β2w)/(ft/fw) < 3; paragraph [0072], the conditional expression 4, the partial responsibility in varying magnification of the second lens unit L2; paragraph [0094], data of table 1, the conditional expression 4 of Numerical Embodiment 1, (β2t/β2w)/(ft/fw) = 0.5; paragraph [0088], data of table Numerical Embodiment 1, fw=9.76, ft=170.79, thus, (β2t/β2w) = 8.75), where βUt is a lateral magnification of the front group (Abe,fig.1, lens unit L2 has been referred to as the front group) at the telephoto end, and βUw is a lateral magnification of the front group at the wide-angle end (Abe, fig. 1, paragraph [0069] where β2 w and β2t respectively denote lateral magnifications of the second lens unit L2 at the wide angle end and the telephoto end).
Further, See MPEP § 2114.04, the system claim interpretation se the claimed structure must be present in the system regardless of whether the condition is met and the function is actually performed.
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the zoom lens of Koida to have lateral magnification of the front group with the specific value as taught by Abe for the purpose to reduce the effective diameter of the front lens while realizing the high zoom ratio (Abe, paragraph [0071]).
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872