DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (USPG Pub No. 2019/0324229) in view of Okumura (USPG Pub No. 2012/0044576).
Regarding claim 1, Kikuchi discloses a zoom lens comprising (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 36, Line 1), in order from an object side to an image side (see Fig. 7), a first lens unit (Unit 1) having negative refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), a second lens unit (Unit 3) having positive refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), and an aperture stop (“Stop”) (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming (see Fig. 7), wherein the first lens unit (Unit 1) includes at least four lenses (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.05 ≤ St/TDt ≤ 0.45 0.30 ≤ fG1/f1 ≤ 0.98 (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”, “Various data”, “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”) where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit, fG1 is a focal length of a first negative lens closest to an object in the first lens unit, St is a distance on an optical axis from a surface closest to the object of the first lens unit to the aperture stop at a telephoto end, and TDt is a distance on the optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object of the zoom lens at the telephoto end to a lens surface closest to an image plane of the zoom lens at the telephoto end (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”, “Various data”, “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”). Kikuchi discloses the claimed invention except for at least four single lenses. In the same field of endeavor, Okumura discloses at least four single lenses (First Numerical Example). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Kikuchi with at least four single lenses of Okumura for the purpose of achieving high optical performance (Paragraphs 10, 11).
Regarding claim 3, Kikuchi further discloses wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 1.90
nd1m ≤ 2.40 23 ≤ vd1m ≤ 40 (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”) where nd1m is a refractive index for d-line of a lens made of a material having a largest refractive index for the d-line among at least one lens (Lens 2) included in the first lens unit, and vd1m is an Abbe number based on the d-line of the material (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”).
Regarding claim 5, Kikuchi further discloses wherein the first lens unit (Unit 1) includes, in order from the object side to the image side, the first negative lens (Lens 1) and a second negative lens (Lens 2) that are successively arranged, and wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.35 ≤ |fG1/fG2| ≤ 0.64 where fG1N and fG2N are focal lengths of the first negative lens and the second negative lens, respectively (Numerical Data 4: “Single lens data”).
Regarding claim 6, Kikuchi further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 1.8 ≤ |f1|/skm ≤ 4.2 where skm is a minimum value of a back focus in an entire zoom range of the zoom lens (Numerical Data 4: “Various data”, “Lens unit data”).
Regarding claim 10, Kikuchi further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:0.15
fw/fR
0.40 where fw is a focal length of the zoom lens at a wide-angle end, and fR is a focal length of a lens unit closest to the image plane of the zoom lens (Numerical Data 4: “Various data”, “Lens unit data”).
Regarding claim 11, Kikuchi further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.2 ≤ V ≤ 1.0 where V is a third-order aberration coefficient of distortion at a wide-angle end in the zoom lens (see Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 13, Kikuchi discloses an image pickup apparatus (see Fig. 11, Paragraph 44, Lines 6-7) comprising: a zoom lens (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 44, Line 6); and an image sensor configured to receive an optical image formed by the zoom lens (Paragraph 44, Lines 6-10), wherein the zoom lens comprising (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 36, Line 1), in order from an object side to an image side (see Fig. 7), a first lens unit (Unit 1) having negative refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), a second lens unit (Unit 3) having positive refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), and an aperture stop (“Stop”) (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming (see Fig. 7), wherein the first lens unit (Unit 1) includes at least four lenses (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.05 ≤ St/TDt ≤ 0.45 0.30 ≤ fG1/f1 ≤ 0.98 (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”, “Various data”, “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”) where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit, fG1 is a focal length of a first negative lens closest to an object in the first lens unit, St is a distance on an optical axis from a surface closest to the object of the first lens unit to the aperture stop at a telephoto end, and TDt is a distance on the optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object of the zoom lens at the telephoto end to a lens surface closest to an image plane of the zoom lens at the telephoto end (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”, “Various data”, “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”). Kikuchi discloses the claimed invention except for at least four single lenses. In the same field of endeavor, Okumura discloses at least four single lenses (First Numerical Example). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the image pickup apparatus of Kikuchi with at least four single lenses of Okumura for the purpose of achieving high optical performance (Paragraphs 10, 11).
Claims 2, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (USPG Pub No. 2019/0324229) in view of Yamasaki (USPG Pub No. 2006/0061872).
Regarding claim 2, Kikuchi discloses a zoom lens comprising (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 36, Line 1), in order from an object side to an image side (see Fig. 7), a first lens unit (Unit 1) having negative refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), a second lens unit (Unit 3) having positive refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), and an aperture stop (“Stop”) (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming (see Fig. 7), wherein the first lens unit (Unit 1) consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first negative lens (Lens 1) (Numerical Data 4: “Single lens data”), a second negative lens (Lens 2), a third negative lens (L3) having a biconcave shape (Surfaces 5-6), and a positive lens (Lens 4) (Numerical Data 4: “Single lens data”, “Surface data”), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.30 ≤ fG1/f1 ≤ 0.86 (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”) where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit, fG1 is a focal length of the first negative lens, and SFX is a shape factor of a lens element adjacent to and on the object side of the aperture stop (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”). Kikuchi discloses the claimed invention except for 1.1 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00. In the same field of endeavor, Yamasaki discloses 1.1 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00 (Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Kikuchi with 1.1 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00 of Yamasaki for the purpose of providing a zoom lens that compensates for aberrations while miniaturizing the overall lens system (Paragraph 105) and offering high zooming magnification (Paragraph 148).
Regarding claim 12, Kikuchi further discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.050 ≤ St/TDt ≤ 0.405 (Numerical Data 5: “Surface data”) where St is a distance on an optical axis from a surface closest to the object of the first lens unit to the aperture stop at a telephoto end, and TDt is a distance on the optical axis from a lens surface closest to the object of the zoom lens at the telephoto end to a lens surface closest to an image plane of the zoom lens at the telephoto end (Numerical Data 5: “Surface data”).
Regarding claim 14, Kikuchi discloses an image pickup apparatus (see Fig. 11, Paragraph 44, Lines 6-7) comprising: a zoom lens (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 44, Line 6); and an image sensor configured to receive an optical image formed by the zoom lens (Paragraph 44, Lines 6-10), wherein the zoom lens comprising (see Fig. 7, Paragraph 36, Line 1), in order from an object side to an image side (see Fig. 7), a first lens unit (Unit 1) having negative refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), a second lens unit (Unit 3) having positive refractive power (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”), and an aperture stop (“Stop”) (Numerical Data 4: “Surface data”), wherein a distance between adjacent lens units changes during zooming (see Fig. 7), wherein the first lens unit (Unit 1) consists of, in order from the object side to the image side, a first negative lens (Lens 1) (Numerical Data 4: “Single lens data”), a second negative lens (Lens 2), a third negative lens (L3) having a biconcave shape (Surfaces 5-6), and a positive lens (Lens 4) (Numerical Data 4: “Single lens data”, “Surface data”), and wherein the following inequalities are satisfied: 0.30 ≤ fG1/f1 ≤ 0.86 (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”) where f1 is a focal length of the first lens unit, fG1 is a focal length of the first negative lens, and SFX is a shape factor of a lens element adjacent to and on the object side of the aperture stop (Numerical Data 4: “Lens unit data”, “Single lens data”). Kikuchi discloses the claimed invention except for 1.1 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00. In the same field of endeavor, Yamasaki discloses 1.1 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00 (Table 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the image pickup apparatus of Kikuchi with 1.1 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00 of Yamasaki for the purpose of providing a zoom lens that compensates for aberrations while miniaturizing the overall lens system (Paragraph 105) and offering high zooming magnification (Paragraph 148).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (USPG Pub No. 2019/0324229) in view of Okumura (USPG Pub No. 2012/0044576) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shimomura et al. (USPG Pub No. 2019/0265451), hereinafter “Shimomura”.
Regarding claim 4, Kikuchi and Okumura disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.57 ≤ θgF1m ≤ 0.64 where θgF1m is a partial dispersion ratio between d-line and F-line of a lens made of a material having a largest refractive index for the d-line among at least one lens included in the first lens unit. In the same field of endeavor, Shimomura discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.57 ≤ θgF1m ≤ 0.64 where θgF1m is a partial dispersion ratio between d-line and F-line of a lens made of a material having a largest refractive index for the d-line among at least one lens included in the first lens unit (Unit 2) (Numerical Embodiment 1: “Surface data”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Kikuchi and Okumura with wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.57 ≤ θgF1m ≤ 0.64 where θgF1m is a partial dispersion ratio between d-line and F-line of a lens made of a material having a largest refractive index for the d-line among at least one lens included in the first lens unit of Shimomura for the purpose of correcting aberration (Paragraph 53, Lines 6-7). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (USPG Pub No. 2019/0324229) in view of Okumura (USPG Pub No. 2012/0044576) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wakazono et al. (USPG Pub No. 2015/0131164), hereinafter “Wakazono”.
Regarding claim 7, Kikuchi and Okumura disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.98 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00 where SFX is a shape factor of a lens element adjacent to and on the object side of the aperture stop. In the same field of endeavor, Wakazono discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.98 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00 where SFX is a shape factor of a lens element (Surfaces 28-29) adjacent to and on the object side of the aperture stop (“Stop”) (Numerical Embodiment 2: “Surface data”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Kikuchi and Okumura with wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.98 ≤ SFX ≤ 3.00 where SFX is a shape factor of a lens element adjacent to and on the object side of the aperture stop of Wakazono for the purpose of providing a zoom lens which can realize both high magnification and reduction in size and weight (Paragraph 8). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikuchi (USPG Pub No. 2019/0324229) in view of Okumura (USPG Pub No. 2012/0044576) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Inoue (USP No. 9,291,804).
Regarding claim 8, Kikuchi and Okumura discloses the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the following inequality is satisfied:1.0 ≤ fX/f1 ≤ 2.4 where fX is a focal length of a lens element adjacent to and located on the object side of the aperture stop. In the same field of endeavor, Inoue discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied:1.0 ≤ fX/f1 ≤ 2.4 where fX is a focal length of a lens element (Lens 9) adjacent to and located on the object side of the aperture stop (“stop”) (Numerical Example 3: “Zoom lens unit data”, “Single lens data”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Kikuchi and Okumura with wherein the following inequality is satisfied:1.0 ≤ fX/f1 ≤ 2.4 where fX is a focal length of a lens element adjacent to and located on the object side of the aperture stop of Inoue for the purpose of providing a zoom lens that is compact with satisfactory optical performance (Col. 2, Lines 16-18). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, Kikuchi and Okumura disclose the claimed invention, but do not specify wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.4 ≤ |f1|/fLRw ≤ 0.7 where fLRw is a combined focal length at a wide-angle end of at least one lens unit disposed closer to the image plane than the aperture stop. In the same field of endeavor, Inoue discloses wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.4 ≤ |f1|/fLRw ≤ 0.7 where fLRw is a combined focal length at a wide-angle end of at least one lens unit (Unit 6) disposed closer to the image plane than the aperture stop (“stop”) (Numerical Example 3: “Zoom lens unit data”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the zoom lens of Kikuchi and Okumura with wherein the following inequality is satisfied: 0.4 ≤ |f1|/fLRw ≤ 0.7 where fLRw is a combined focal length at a wide-angle end of at least one lens unit disposed closer to the image plane than the aperture stop of Inoue for the purpose of providing a zoom lens that is compact with satisfactory optical performance (Col. 2, Lines 16-18). Furthermore, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Okumura and Yamasaki cure the deficiencies of Kikuchi and address the subject matter challenged by Applicant. Kikuchi in view of Okumura and Kikuchi in view of Yamasaki meet the structural requirements of the zoom lenses as presented above. For these reasons, the claims remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 6/25/2026