DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “highly” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “highly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In this instance, it is unclear how polar the highly polar polyester must be. Claims 2-7 are further rejected based on their dependence on claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/756,155 (‘155) and claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/545,064 (‘064). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the molecular weight distribution curve characteristics of the resin taught in 18/756,155 are encompassed by the claim language of the instant application.
Claim 5 of ‘155 and claim 2 of ‘064 are the same as instant claim 2.
Claim 6 of ‘155 and claim 3 of ‘064 are the same as instant claim 3.
Claim 7 of ‘155 and claim 4 of ‘064 are the same as instant claim 4.
Claim 8 of ‘155 and claim 5 of ‘064 are the same as instant claim 5.
Claim 9 of ‘155 and claim 6 of ‘064 are the same as instant claim 6.
Claim 10 of ‘155 and claim 7 of ‘064 are the same as instant claim 7.
Regarding claims 2 and 3 of ‘155, the instant application and ‘064 both use the term “comprising” which includes the crosslinking components of those claims. The specification may be utilized as a dictionary to learn the meaning or extend the term of “comprising” in accordance with MPEP 804.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper (US 20220227994) in view of Ikura (US 20230312883 A1), Tezuka (US 20230272188 A1), and Ishii (JP2017043679A, attached with machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-7, Cooper teaches PLA (which the instant specification confirms is a highly polar polyester), an elastomeric additive such as TPEE (Abstract; p. 8, [0064]), and additives including cellulose fibers (p. 1, [0010]). The PLA may be present in amounts of at least 80 wt% (p. 2, [0015]). The TPEE may be present in amounts up to 15 wt% (p. 2, [0015]). These amounts result in ratios of polyester elastomer to highly polar polyester ranging from 15:80 to 0:100.
Cooper further teaches that the composition may be tailored for flame retardancy applications (p. 14, [0105]). However, Cooper does not specify the flame retardants that may be used, or in what amount, or what amount of cellulose fibers may be used.
In the same field of endeavor, Ikura teaches a composition of thermoplastic resin, cellulose fiber, and organic fiber different from the cellulose fiber (p. 2, [0021]-[0024]). The cellulose fiber may range in length from 10 to 3,000 microns (p. 3, [0039]). Ikura's organic fiber may be polyester (p. 3, [0045]).
A flame retardant may be added in amounts within any range that does not impair the effects of the composition (p. 4, [0065]). The thermoplastic resin (elastomer) may be present in amounts ranging from 39-80 mass%, and the cellulose fiber may be present in amounts ranging from 5-55 mass% (p. 4, [0066], [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Cooper with the cellulose fiber and ingredient amounts of Ikura to arrive at the claimed invention, and to achieve a composition having both high flexural modulus and high impact strength, as taught by Ikura (p. 2, [0026]).
Like Cooper, Ikura does not limit the flame retardant that may be used.
In the same field of endeavor, Tezuka teaches an additive composition of phosphate or phosphazene flame retardants used in conjunction with cellulose nanofibers and two or more polyester resins (p. 8, [0065]; p. 9, [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Cooper in view of Ikura and the additives of Tezuka to arrive at the claimed invention, and to improve the mechanical characteristics and color tone of the composition, as taught by Tezuka (p. 1, [0011]). These prior art ranges overlap all claimed ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art composition overlaps the prior art range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Cooper teaches that preferred elastomeric additives include a plurality of ester linkages (p. 8, [0066]).
In the same field of endeavor (polyester-based molding compositions), Ishii teaches that ES-A60NX is a polyester-based elastomer having styrene, polybutylene terephthalate, and poly(tetramethylene oxide) glycol comonomers that is suitable for use in molding compositions (p. 9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the polyester-based elastomer of Ishii for use in the composition of Cooper in view of Ikura and Tezuka to arrive at the claimed invention, and because of the art-recognized suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762