Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi et al. (US 2024/0421836) in view of Kang et al. (US 2018/0159583).
Referring to Claim 1, Takeuchi teaches a radio frequency front end (RFFE) (fig. 1) system comprising:
a first receive (Rx) path configured to concurrently pass Global Positioning System (GPS) band L1 (GPS-L1) and band 24 (B24) (see paragraph 125 and Par.127 which shows a combination of GPS-L1 and Band 24 being used in a receive band where the combination of reception of both bands together implies concurrent passing of both bands), the first Rx path including a first antenna 2a (fig. 1), a first filter 311 (fig. 1), a first low noise amplifier (LNA) 211 (fig. 1).
Takeuchi does not teach a second filter following the first antenna, first filter, and a first LNA. Kang teaches a second filter 273a (fig. 5) following the first antenna 210 (fig. 5), first filter 232 (fig. 5), and a first LNA 270a (fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
Referring to Claim 3, Takeuchi also teaches the first filter is configured to pass radio frequency (RF) signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz (see paragraph 67 which shows signals in bands between 1525MHz and 1606MHz).
Referring to Claim 4, Takeuchi teaches a filter passing radio RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz (see paragraph 67 which shows signals in bands between 1525MHz and 1606MHz). Since the second filter of Kang is the same type of filter as the filter in Takeuchi (as described in paragraph 16), a skilled artisan would be able to implement the second filter of Kang to the path of Takeuchi to enable the passing of the RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
Referring to Claim 5, Takeuchi teaches a second receive (Rx) path (see path 102 in fig. 1) configured to concurrently pass GPS-L1 and B24 (see paragraph 125 which shows a combination of GPS-L1 and Band 24 being used in a receive band where the combination of reception of both bands together implies concurrent passing of both bands), the second Rx path including a second antenna 2b (fig. 1), a third filter 322 (fig. 1), and a second LNA 221 (fig. 1). Kang teaches a fourth filter (see 273b of fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
Referring to Claim 7, Takeuchi teaches the third filter is configured to pass RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz and wherein the fourth filter is configured to pass radio RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz (see paragraph 67 which shows signals in bands between 1525MHz and 1606MHz passable by third filter 326. Since the fourth filter 273b of Kang is the same type of filter as the filter in Takeuchi (as described in paragraph 16), a skilled artisan would be able to implement the second filter of Kang to the path of Takeuchi to enable the passing of the RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
Claim(s) 2, 6, 12, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi and Kang and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2011/0175789).
Referring to Claim 2, the combination of Takeuchi and Kang does not teach the first Rx path including a first antenna diplexer coupled between the first antenna and the first filter. Lee teaches the first Rx path including a first antenna diplexer 1012 (fig. 10) coupled between the first antenna 1004 (fig. 10) and the first filter 1062 (fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Lee to the modified device of Takeuchi and Kang in order to better operate the device using varying frequencies.
Referring to Claim 6, Lee also teaches the second Rx path further including a second antenna diplexer 1016 (fig. 10) coupled between the second antenna 1008 (fig. 10) and the third filter 1058 (fig. 10).
Referring to Claim 12, Takeuchi teaches a wireless device including a transceiver, and a radio frequency front end (RFFE) (fig. 1) system, the RFFE system comprising:
a first receive (Rx) path configured to concurrently pass Global Positioning System (GPS) band L1 (GPS-L1) and band 24 (B24) (see paragraph 125 and Par.127 which shows a combination of GPS-L1 and Band 24 being used in a receive band where the combination of reception of both bands together implies concurrent passing of both bands), the first Rx path including a first antenna 2a (fig. 1), a first filter 311 (fig. 1), a first low noise amplifier (LNA) 211 (fig. 1).
Takeuchi does not teach a second filter following the first antenna, first filter, and a first LNA. Kang teaches a second filter 273a (fig. 5) following the first antenna 210 (fig. 5), first filter 232 (fig. 5), and a first LNA 270a (fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
The combination of Takeuchi and Kang does not teach the first Rx path including a first antenna diplexer coupled between the first antenna and the first filter. Lee teaches the first Rx path including a first antenna diplexer 1012 (fig. 10) coupled between the first antenna 1004 (fig. 10) and the first filter 1062 (fig. 10). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Lee to the modified device of Takeuchi and Kang in order to better operate the device using varying frequencies.
Referring to Claim 14, Takeuchi also teaches the first filter is configured to pass radio frequency (RF) signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz (see paragraph 67 which shows signals in bands between 1525MHz and 1606MHz) and wherein the second filter is configured to pass radio RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz (see paragraph 67 which shows signals in bands between 1525MHz and 1606MHz). Since the second filter of Kang is the same type of filter as the filter in Takeuchi (as described in paragraph 16), a skilled artisan would be able to implement the second filter of Kang to the path of Takeuchi to enable the passing of the RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
Referring to Claim 15, Kang also teaches the first filter as a single filter (see single filter 232 in fig. 5) and wherein the second filter is a single filter (see single filter 273a in fig. 5).
Referring to Claim 16, Takeuchi teaches a second receive (Rx) path (see path 102 in fig. 1) configured to concurrently pass GPS-L1 and B24 (see paragraph 125 which shows a combination of GPS-L1 and Band 24 being used in a receive band where the combination of reception of both bands together implies concurrent passing of both bands), the second Rx path including a second antenna 2b (fig. 1), a third filter 322 (fig. 1), and a second LNA 221 (fig. 1). Kang teaches a fourth filter (see 273b of fig. 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
Referring to Claim 17, Lee also teaches the second Rx path further including a second antenna diplexer 1016 (fig. 10) coupled between the second antenna 1008 (fig. 10) and the third filter 1058 (fig. 10).
Referring to Claim 18, Takeuchi teaches the third filter is configured to pass RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz and wherein the fourth filter is configured to pass radio RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz (see paragraph 67 which shows signals in bands between 1525MHz and 1606MHz passable by third filter 326. Since the fourth filter 273b of Kang is the same type of filter as the filter in Takeuchi (as described in paragraph 16), a skilled artisan would be able to implement the second filter of Kang to the path of Takeuchi to enable the passing of the RF signals in the frequency range between 1525MHz and 1606MHz. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Kang to the device of Takeuchi in order to maintain operability of the device while keeping the size of the device smaller.
Claim(s) 8-11, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeuchi, Kang, and Lee, and further in view of Ichitsubo et al. (US 2016/0079934).
Referring to Claim 8, Takeuchi teaches a second transmit (Tx) path configured to pass B24 (see transmit path 106 in fig. 7 configured to pass B24 as shown in paragraph 125), the second Tx path including a second PA (see 111 of fig. 7), and a third switch coupled between the second PA and the third filter (see switch 324 between PA 111 and filter 323 in fig. 7). The combination of Takeuchi, Kang, and Lee does not teach a fourth switch coupled between the second antenna and the third filter, the third filter forming a second duplexer. Ichitsubo teaches a fourth switch coupled between the second antenna and the third filter, the third filter forming a second duplexer (see switch 130 between filter 132a and antenna 30 in addition to switch 114 between PA 112 and filter 132a in fig. 1E and paragraph 39 which shows the filter 132a as a duplexer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Ichitsubo to the modified device of Takeuchi, Kang, and Lee in order to maintain a reasonable complexity of the device which maintains a lower cost.
Referring to Claim 9, Takeuchi also teaches the second duplexer configured to duplex B24 (see filter 321 between switch 329 and antenna 2b in fig. 9 which makes filter 321 a second duplexer and paragraph 125 which shows Band 24 being used).
Claim 19 has similar limitations as claims 8 and 9 put together.
Referring to Claim 10, Takeuchi teaches a first transmit (Tx) path configured to pass B24 (see transmit path 107 in fig. 9 configured to pass B24 as shown in paragraph 125), the first Tx path including a first PA (see 112 of fig. 9). The combination of Takeuchi, Kang, and Lee does not teach a first switch coupled between the second PA and the third filter and a second switch coupled between the first antenna and the first filter, the first filter forming a first duplexer. Ichitsubo teaches a first switch coupled between the second PA and the third filter and a second switch coupled between the first antenna and the first filter, the first filter forming a first duplexer (see switch 130 between filter 134a and antenna 30 in addition to switch 114 between PA 112 and filter 134a in fig. 1E and paragraph 39 which shows the filter 132a as a duplexer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the teachings of Ichitsubo to the modified device of Takeuchi, Kang, and Lee in order to maintain a reasonable complexity of the device which maintains a lower cost.
Referring to Claim 11, Takeuchi also teaches the first duplexer configured to duplex B24 (see filter 328 between switch 329 and antenna 2b in fig. 9 which makes filter 328 a second duplexer and paragraph 125 which shows Band 24 being used).
Claim 20 has similar limitations as claims 10 and 11 put together.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 and 14-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 3/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argued that Takeuchi and Kang are not combinable references further stating that Takeuchi is already operable. However, applying the filter of Kang to the device of Takeuchi following the LNA does not make the device of Takeuchi inoperable. In fact, it improves the operations of the device of Takeuchi for the reasons stated in the above rejection. Therefore, the combination is proper.
Conclusion
/EUGENE YUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648