DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect amended claims 1, 10, 19, filed on 04/27/2026have been considered but they are not persuasive.
However, examiner found some amended limitations are taught by references previous introduced.
In Remark page 9, lines 23-12, applicant argued that Neither Cramer nor Kishore disclose automatically rendering a graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view and simultaneously displaying, adjacent the single view, a corresponding textual presentation representing information relating to the two or more modular server components represented in the graphical presentation, in the explicit manner now recited.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. In fact, in [0036] FIG. 3 illustrates a display 300 similar to display 274. Display 274 presents image information 302 from a camera/video system” and [0036] “FIG.3, augmented reality overlay 304 provides information that identifies the server rack and the elements within the server rack over image information 302” and [0047] “the augmented reality display may provide some indication, such as by displaying an icon over the datacenter element or by flashing a rendering of the datacenter element on the augmented reality overlay” Kishore teaches automatically render (flashing a rendering) a display a scaled down images (e.g. Fig. 3 is a scaled down image of the server rack 210, (Fig. 2) on the display 274 via a camera/video system), associated with two or more modular server components (server-1, server-2, storage) in a single view (Fig. 3).
Furthermore, in Fig. 2, paragraph [0030], Kishore “Mobile service device 260 includes a display 274” and [0035] “based upon various inputs to mobile service device 260, including image data from camera/video system 266, configuration information from one or more of datacenter equipment 220, 230, and 240 via communication links 282, from datacenter management system 250 via communication link 284” and [0036] FIG. 3 illustrates a display 300 similar to display 274. Display 274 presents image information 302 from a camera/video system that show what is presently within the field of view of the camera/video system, augmented reality overlay 304 provides information that identifies the server rack and the elements within the server rack over image information 302” Kishore teaches simultaneously display (display 274/display 300, Fig. 3) adjacent the single view (304), a corresponding textual presentation representing information (image information 302 from a camera/video system via augmented reality overlay 304) relating to the two or more modular server components represented in the graphical presentation (that identifies the server rack and the elements corresponding to texture represent information relating to two or more modular server components e.g. MGMT; TORS; server 1 (Fig. 3) = datacenter equipment -1 (Fig. 2); server 2 (Fig. 3) = datacenter equipment- 2 (Fig. 2); Storage; PSU, in the image 300 (Fig. 3).
Independent claims 10 and 19 have been amended similarly to claim 1 and are rejected as the explanation above.
Dependent claims 3-9, 12-18, 20-22 depend on independent claims 1, 10 and 19 and rejected as current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Cramer et al. (U.S. 2012/0166958 A1) in view of Kishore et al. (U.S. 2020/0250430 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 (Currently amended), Cramer discloses an apparatus (Cramer, [0057] “apparatus (systems)” comprising:
at least one processing device (Cramer, [0053] “a computer, processing device”) comprising a processor coupled to a memory (Cramer, [0065] “Computer programs are stored in main memory 110, the computer programs, when run, enable the processor 102 to perform the features of the computer system”;
the at least one processing device being configured to:
for a modular server environment (Cramer, [0023] FIG. 1A shows a block diagram of an information technology system 10” Cramer teaches an information technology system 10 (referred to as a modular server environment) comprising one or more modular servers (Cramer, [0023] FIG. 1A, The system 10 comprises The management server 11 is connected to multiple server systems 13 to be monitored” The modular server environment (system 10) includes multiple server system 13 (referred to a server system 13 as a modular server) with each of the one or more modular servers comprising a chassis with a plurality of modular server components installed therein (Cramer, [0033] “a server system 13 has multiple GUI elements 25” and [0037] “FIG. 2A illustrates UI elements 25, each UI element including a physical topology GUI element 25A and a session thumbnails 25B for a managed computing resource (e.g., blade server) The UI elements 25 represent physical topology (chassis map) of computing resources in a chassis (e.g., chassis 47)” Cramer teaches a modular server (server system 13) include a chassis (chassis 47) with plurality of modular server components (e.g., blade servers (referred to as UI elements 25, computing resources) GUI element 25A, session thumbnails 25B), obtain images respectively associated with two or more of the modular server components ([0037] “FIG. 2A illustrates UI elements 25, each UI element including a physical topology GUI element 25A and a session thumbnails 25B for a managed computing resource (e.g., blade server) The UI elements 25 represent physical topology (chassis map) of computing resources in a chassis (e.g., chassis 47)” Cramer teaches Fig. 2A, obtain images associated with the modular server components e.g., GUI element 25, blade servers (UI elements), session thumbnails 25 within a chassis 47;
scale down the images respectively associated with the two or more modular server components (Cramer, [0036] “The session thumbnail 25B provides information for that server system 13, as described further below. A thumbnail is a reduced version of a window in a GUI, wherein the thumbnail occupies a smaller area of the display screen than the windows itself and typically displays a subset of the information of the window” Cramer teaches the session thumbnail 25B can scale down ( reduced version of a window in a GUI) to occupies a smaller area of the display screen e.g., an image respectively associated with two or more modular server components (Figs. 2A, 2B) ; and
wherein the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components comprise two or more thumbnail snapshots (Cramer, Fig. 2A, 2B, [0036] “The session thumbnail 25B provides information for that server system 13. A thumbnail is a reduced version of a window in a GUI, wherein the thumbnail occupies a smaller area of the display screen than the windows itself and typically displays a subset of the information of the window” and [0037] Specifically, the session window 17 in FIG. 2A illustrates UI elements 25 including a session thumbnails 25B for a managed computing resource (e.g., blade server)” Cramer teaches two session thumbnail snapshots 25B (in Storage 01, 02, Fig. 2A) can scale down ( reduced version of a window in a GUI) to occupies a smaller area of the display screen e.g., an image respectively associated with two or more modular server components (Storages 1, 2, Figs. 2A, 2B); and
However, Cramer does not explicitly teach automatically render a graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view and simultaneously display, adjacent the single view, a corresponding textual presentation representing information relating to the two or more modular server components represented in the graphical presentation;
the automatically rendered graphical presentation comprises a modular server component management preview grid.
Kishore teaches automatically render a graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view (Kishore, [0036] FIG. 3 illustrates a display 300 similar to display 274. Display 274 presents image information 302 from a camera/video system” and [0036] “FIG.3, augmented reality overlay 304 provides information that identifies the server rack and the elements within the server rack over image information 302” and [0047] “the augmented reality display may provide some indication, such as by displaying an icon over the datacenter element or by flashing a rendering of the datacenter element on the augmented reality overlay” Kishore teaches automatically render (flashing a rendering) a display a scaled down images (e.g. Fig. 3 is a scaled down image of the server rack 210, (Fig. 2) on the display 274), associated with two or more modular server components (server-1, server-2, storage) in a single view (Fig. 3) and simultaneously display, adjacent the single view, a corresponding textual presentation representing information relating to the two or more modular server components represented in the graphical presentation (Kishore, Fig. 2, [0030] “Mobile service device 260 includes a display 274” and [0035] “based upon various inputs to mobile service device 260, including image data from camera/video system 266, configuration information from one or more of datacenter equipment 220, 230, and 240 via communication links 282, from datacenter management system 250 via communication link 284” and [0036] FIG. 3 illustrates a display 300 similar to display 274. Display 274 presents image information 302 from a camera/video system that show what is presently within the field of view of the camera/video system, augmented reality overlay 304 provides information that identifies the server rack and the elements within the server rack over image information 302” Kishore teaches simultaneously display (display 274/display 300, Fig. 3) adjacent the single view (304), a corresponding textual presentation representing information (image information 302 from a camera/video system via augmented reality overlay 304) relating to the two or more modular server components represented in the graphical presentation (that identifies the server rack and the elements corresponding to texture represent information relating to two or more modular server components e.g. MGMT; TORS; server 1 (Fig. 3) = datacenter equipment -1 (Fig. 2); server 2 (Fig. 3) = datacenter equipment- 2 (Fig. 2); Storage; PSU, in the image 300 (Fig. 3).
the automatically rendered graphical presentation comprises a modular server component management preview grid (Kishore, [0022] “The network resource can include a grid management system” and [0047] “the datacenter management system sends the path information to the service technician's mobile service device to render an augmented reality display of the path information” and [0040] “FIG. 5 illustrates an expanded view of datacenter 200, including server rack 210…including three rows of server racks. Each row is depicted as including eight server racks similar to server rack 210” and Fig. 6, [0044] “where the absolute map of datacenter 600 is not known, the location feature can be utilized to automatically define the absolute location of a corner of the datacenter, without the need for user input” and [0047] “the augmented reality display may provide flashing a rendering of the datacenter element on the augmented reality overlay” Kishore the automatically rendered graphical presentation of a modular server component as a grid management system displays an expanded view of server rack 210 as a grid in data center (Figs. 5, 6).
Cramer and Kishore are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Cramer to combine with automatically render a graphic/image (as taught by Kishore) in order to automatically render displaying image associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view because Kishore can provide automatically render (flashing a rendering) a display an images associated with two or more modular server components (server-1, server-2, storage) in a single view (Kishore, Fig. 3, [0036], [0047]). Doing so, it may provide the variations in information handling systems (referred to as a modular server environment) allow for information handling systems to be general or configured for a specific user or specific use such as financial transaction processing, reservations, enterprise data storage, or global communications (Kishore, [0003]).
Regarding Claim 2 (Canceled).
Regarding Claim 3, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the images associated with the two or more modular server components comprise respective visual status information associated with the two or more modular server components (Cramer, [0046] Block 33: At a management server, determine status of each computing resource being managed” and [0047] Block 34: Refresh one more UI elements based on the status information from the management server” and Fig. 2C, [0049] Block 36: Based on the user interaction with a UI element, display additional information related to the UI element (e.g., popup window, tabbed panel, etc.) for the corresponding managed resource” Cramer teaches a management server monitors visual status information associated with two or more server components e.g., UI elements 25 as blade servers, Fig. 2C, popup window status.
Regarding Claim 4, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the two or more modular server components comprise two or more blade servers and the respective visual status information for the two or more blade servers comprises respective visual operating system status for the two or more blade servers (Cramer, [0037] “FIG. 2A, for a managed computing resource (e.g., blade server) The UI elements 25 represent physical topology (chassis map) of computing resources in a chassis (e.g., chassis 47)” and [0047] Block 34: Refresh one more UI elements based on the status information from the management server” and Fig. 2B, [0049] Block 36: Based on the user interaction with a UI element, display additional information related to the UI element (e.g., popup window, tabbed panel, etc.)” Cramer teaches a management server monitors visual status information associated with two or more server components and displays visual operating system status of blade servers e.g., UI elements 25 as blade servers, Fig. 2B, tabbed panel of the operating system status of blade server.
Regarding Claim 5, the apparatus of claim 4 Cramer does not explicitly teach wherein the two or more modular server components comprise two or more storage servers and the respective visual status information for the two or more storage servers comprises respective visual operating system status for the two or more blade servers.
However, Kishore teaches the two or more modular server components comprise two or more storage servers and the respective visual status information for the two or more storage servers comprises respective visual operating system status for the two or more blade servers (Kishore, [0025] “FIG. 2, Server rack 210 includes datacenter equipment 220, 230, and 240, datacenter equipment 220 may represent a top-of-rack switch, datacenter equipment 230 may represent a blade server, and datacenter equipment 240 may represent a storage server. Each of datacenter equipment 220, 230, and 240 includes a respective BMC 222, 232, and 242” and Fig. 2, [0027] “datacenter equipment 230 represents a blade server, configuration information 234 may include the make and model of the server, a service tag, a number of blades, and other physical information related to the server, may include location information for the blade server in server rack 210 and for the server rack in datacenter 200, may include information related to the health of the blade server in terms of physical operational status and in terms of logical operational status such as error and alert status information” Kishore teaches includes storage servers (datacenter equipment’s, Fig. 2) with status information (location, physical information, service tag) and blade server with operating system status (health of the blade server of physical operation status, logical operation status such as error, alert status information).
Cramer and Kishore are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the apparatus of claim 1, Cramer does not explicitly teach wherein obtaining images respectively associated with the two or more of the modular server components further comprises converting video respectively associated with the two or more modular server components to the images.
However, Kishore teaches converting video respectively associated with the two or more modular server components to the images (Kishore, Fig. 2, [0045] “mobile service device 630 includes a camera/video system similar to camera/video system 266, operates to compare image data from the camera/video system with image objects from the image library, to verify the location of the mobile service device within datacenter 600” and Fig. 6, [0043] “the map of datacenter 600 is not known, the relative location of mobile service device 630 within the datacenter can be determined. Further, mobile service device 630 can be utilized to convert the unknown relative map of datacenter 600 into a known map of the datacenter” and [0042] FIG. 6. The user is shown at various times (T0, T,1, T2, T3, T4) as being in different locations within datacenter 600. Mobile service device 630, server racks 610, and the datacenter equipment within the server racks are configured with short-range communication modules” Kishore teaches converting video of the unknown relative map of datacenter 600 into a known map of the datacenter. The user is shown at various times (T0, T,1, T2, T3, T4) of modular server components (referred to as server rack A0 to A3) as being mapped in different locations within datacenter 600 in image.
Cramer and Kishore are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, the apparatus of claim 1, Cramer does not explicitly teach wherein automatically rendering the graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view further comprises translating the scaled down images for positioning in the single view based on one or more video capabilities associated with a display device upon which the single view is rendered.
Kishor teaches translating the scaled down images for positioning in the single view based on one or more video capabilities associated with a display device upon which the single view is rendered (Kishore, Fig. 6, [0043] “the map of datacenter 600 is not known, the relative location of mobile service device 630 within the datacenter can be determined. Further, mobile service device 630 can be utilized to convert the unknown relative map of datacenter 600 into a known map of the datacenter” and [0042] FIG. 6. The user is shown at various times (T0, T,1, T2, T3, T4) as being in different locations within datacenter 600. Mobile service device 630, server racks 610, and the datacenter equipment within the server racks are configured with short-range communication modules” and [0047] In block 712, the datacenter management system sends the path information from one of blocks 708 and 710 to the service technician's mobile service device to render an augmented reality display of the path information” Kishore teaches converting video of the unknown relative map of datacenter 600 into a known map of the datacenter. The user is shown at various times (T0, T,1, T2, T3, T4) of modular server components (server rack A0 to A3) as being in different locations within datacenter 600 in image” Kishor teaches translating (referred to as a mapping) the scaled down images for positioning of server racks (A0, A1, A2) are mapped to various time (T0, T1,T2) based on the video capabilities (the mobile service device 630) with render an augmented reality display of the path information.
Cramer and Kishore are combinable see rationale in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to refresh the single view based on changes to the two or more modular server components (Cramer, [0050] “displaying information (e.g., server system status) from the management server 11 to the administration console 12 over the communication link for one or more UI elements 25 (e.g., thumbnail 25B) needing refresh. The quantity of refresh information requested/received for each monitored server system can be a function of the display status (e.g., visible portion, thumbnail, window) of the session at the administration console for the monitored server system” Cramer teaches refresh the single view of the display status (e.g., visible portion, thumbnail, window) of the session of two or more modular server components (e.g., UI elements 25 needing refresh).
Regarding Claim 9, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processing device is further configured to enable selection of any of the scaled down images to expand displayed information associated with the modular server component corresponding to the selected scaled down image (Cramer, [0039] “to enlarge and work with a particular GUI element thumbnail 25B, the user may click on a thumbnail 25B of a session (e.g., a remote session) using a pointer 26, to launch the session into a content element comprising new popup window 29B that displays information for the remote session of a corresponding server system 13” Cramer teaches expand (enlarge) displayed information associated with the modular server component corresponding to the selected scaled down image e.g., the user may click on a thumbnail 25B of a session (e.g., a remote session) using a pointer 26, to launch the session into a content element comprising new popup window 29B that displays information for the remote session of a corresponding server system 13.
Regarding Claim 10 (Currently amended), a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses a computer program product (Cramer, [0057] “computer program product”) comprising a non-transitory processor-readable storage medium having stored therein program code of one or more software programs, [0058] “These computer program instructions may also be stored in a computer readable medium that can direct a computer” wherein the program code when executed by at least one processing device [0057] “These computer program instructions may be provided to a processor of a general purpose computer” causes the at least one processing device to:
for a modular server environment comprising one or more modular servers with each of the one or more modular servers comprising a chassis with a plurality of modular server components installed therein, obtain images respectively associated with two or more of the modular server components;
scale down the images respectively associated with the two or more modular server components; and
automatically render a graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view and simultaneously display, adjacent the single view, a corresponding textual presentation representing information relating to the two or more modular server components represented in the graphical presentation;
wherein the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components comprise two or more thumbnail snapshots and the automatically rendered graphical presentation comprises a modular server component management preview grid.
Claim 10 is substantially similar to claim 1 is rejected based on similar analyses
Regarding Claim 11 (Canceled).
Regarding Claim 12, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the computer program product of claim 10, wherein the images associated with the two or more modular server components comprise respective visual status information associated with the two or more modular server components.
Claim 12 is substantially similar to claim 3 is rejected based on similar analyses
Regarding Claim 13, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the two or more modular server components comprise two or more blade servers and the respective visual status information for the two or more blade servers comprises respective visual operating system status for the two or more blade servers.
Claim 13 is substantially similar to claim 4 is rejected based on similar analyses
Regarding Claim 14, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the computer program product of claim 12, wherein the two or more modular server components comprise two or more storage servers and the respective visual status information for the two or more storage servers comprises respective visual operating system status for the two or more blade servers.
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 5 is rejected based on similar analyses
Regarding Claim 15, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the computer program product of claim 10, wherein obtaining images respectively associated with the two or more of the modular server components further comprises converting video respectively associated with the two or more modular server components to the images.
Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 6 is rejected based on similar analyses
Regarding Claim 16, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the computer program product of claim 10, wherein automatically rendering the graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view further comprises translating the scaled down images for positioning in the single view based on one or more video capabilities associated with a display device upon which the single view is rendered.
Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 7 is rejected based on similar analyses
Regarding Claim 17, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the computer program product of claim 10, wherein the program code when executed by at least one processing device further causes the at least one processing device to refresh the single view based on changes to the two or more modular server components.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 8 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 18, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the computer program product of claim 10, wherein the program code when executed by at least one processing device further causes the at least one processing device to enable selection of any of the scaled down images to expand displayed information associated with the modular server component corresponding to the selected scaled down image.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 9 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 19 (Currently amended), a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses a method (Cramer, [0057] “methods”) comprising:
for a modular server environment comprising one or more modular servers with each of the one or more modular servers comprising a chassis with a plurality of modular server components installed therein, obtaining images respectively associated with two or more of the modular server components;
scaling down the images respectively associated with the two or more modular server components; and
automatically rendering a graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view and simultaneously display, adjacent the single view, a corresponding textual presentation representing information relating to the two or more modular server components represented in the graphical presentation;
wherein the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components comprise two or more thumbnail snapshots and the automatically rendered graphical presentation comprises a modular server component management preview grid.
wherein the method is performed by at least one processing device comprising a processor coupled to a memory.
Claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 1 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 20, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the method of claim 19, wherein automatically rendering the graphical presentation displaying the scaled down images associated with the two or more modular server components in a single view further comprises translating the scaled down images for positioning in the single view based on one or more video capabilities associated with a display device upon which the single view is rendered.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 7 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 21, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising refreshing the single view based on changes to the two or more modular server components (Cramer, Fig. 1, [0034] “the monitoring module 19 at the administration console 12 is configured to refresh one or more GUI elements 25 in the session window 17 with full/partial refresh information from the management server 11 [0046] “FIG. 3. Block 33: At a management server, determine status of each computing resource being managed. [0047] Block 34: Refresh one more UI elements based on the status information from the management server” and [0049] Block 36: Based on the user interaction with a UI element, display additional information related to the UI element (e.g., popup window, tabbed panel, etc.) for the corresponding managed resource” Cramer teaches refreshing the single view based on changes to the two or more modular server components (refresh one or more GUI elements 25 in the session window 17 with full/partial refresh information from the management server 11)
Regarding Claim 22, a combination of Cramer and Kishore discloses the method of claim 19, further comprising enabling selection of any of the scaled down images to expand displayed information associated with the modular server component corresponding to the selected scaled down image (Cramer, Fig. 2A, 2B, [0036] “The session thumbnail 25B provides information for that server system 13. A thumbnail is a reduced version of a window in a GUI, wherein the thumbnail occupies a smaller area of the display screen than the windows itself and typically displays a subset of the information of the window” and [0037] Specifically, the session window 17 in FIG. 2A illustrates UI elements 25 including a session thumbnails 25B for a managed computing resource (e.g., blade server)” Cramer teaches enabling selection of any of the scaled down images corresponding to the selected scaled down image e.g., selected two session thumbnail snapshots 25B in Storage 01, 02, Fig. 2A that is occupied in a smaller area of the display screen an image to expand displayed information associated with two or more modular server components (Storages 1, 2, Figs. 2A, 2B).
Conclusion
/KHOA VU/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611