DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the re-trigger circuit acts to reset the current inrush limiting feature or that retrigger circuit is operated by positive voltage jumps) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The previous objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
The previous rejections under 35 USC 112 have been withdrawn due to the amendments made.
The previous rejection has been modified to address the amendments made.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
CLAIM 7:
In line 2, after “PTC” insert --,--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Losel (5,087,871).
In re Claims 1, 10, and 14, Losel teaches an inrush current limiter circuit for a rectifier, wherein the inrush current limiter circuit provides a flow of a current between a rectifying part of the rectifier (1, col 2 lines 35-38) and a filter capacitance (C), comprising: a power stage comprising a power stage resistor (R) and a power stage transistor (F1) disposed in parallel circuit arrangement to the power stage resistor (col 2 lines 40-43); wherein the power stage resistor is configured to conduct an amount of the current depending on a state of the power stage transistor (col 3 lines 40-58); and wherein the power stage transistor is configured to conduct an amount of the current depending on a charging of a gate capacitance (C1) of the power stage transistor (col 3 lines 40-58); and a re-trigger circuit (3) configured to detect a DC bus voltage jump and to turn the transistor off when the re-trigger circuit detects that there has been a DC bus voltage jump (col 4 lines 34-60).
In re Claims 2 and 15, Losel teaches a constant current source (4, col 2l line 60), wherein the constant current source is configured for charging the gate capacitance of the power stage transistor (col 2 lines 59-60).
In re Claims 3 and 16, Losel teaches the constant current source is configured to charge the gate capacitance power stage transistor according to a configured time constant (time constant determined by R1 and C1, col 2 lines 54-62).
In re Claims 6 and 19, Losel teaches a logic device (F2) to generate a control signal to turn the transistor off (col 4 lines 50-60).
In re Claim 9, Losel teaches that the transistor is a MOSFET (col 2 lines 41-42).
In re Claim 11, Losel teaches the power stage is arranged in the negative DC path as seen in the Figure.
In re Claim 12, Losel teaches the current source 4 is supplied over a positive DC bus voltage of the rectifier as seen in the Figure.
In re Claim 13, Losel teaches that the rectifier is a capacitor filter bridge rectifier (via C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Losel (5,087,871) in view of Boulanger et al (3,935,511).
In re Claim 8, Losel fails to specifically teach that resistor R is an NTC, PTC, or temperature independent power resistor.
Boulanger teaches an inrush current limiting circuit as seen in Figure 3 that comprises a resistor 22b in parallel with a switch CRb. Boulanger further teaches that the resistor is a PTC (col 4 lines 39-45).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the resistor R of Losel as a PTC as taught by Boulanger since it would allow the resistor R to further limit currents and prevent it from experiencing a potential overheating condition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 7, 18, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In re Claims 5 and 18, Losel fails to teach the re-trigger circuit comprises a comparator configured to compare a delayed voltage based on the DC bus voltage with an un-delayed voltage based on the DC bus voltage, and to determine that a DC bus voltage jump has been occurred when the comparison results in a difference voltage higher than a threshold value.
In re Claims 7 and 20, Losel fails to teach the re-trigger circuit comprises a Schmitt trigger configured for detection of a DC bus voltage jump.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838