DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of IDS filed on02/21/2024.
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is no antecedent basis for the limitation “ the presence”. The applicant is respectfully to substitute “the presence” with “a presence”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 9-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annampedu (US 2021/0129703) in view of Pringle et al. (US 2013/0179383).
Re Claims 1 and 13-14: Annampedu teaches method and apparatus to manage electric vehicle charging stations and parking spaces, which includes detecting by a charging station for electric vehicles the presence {herein Annampedu teaches ultrasonic sensors for detecting the presence or absence of electric vehicle in the parking space} of an electric vehicle available for establishing a wireless data connection (¶ 6+, 22-31+); the charging station determining whether the electric vehicle is registered {herein If the owner information is known to the charging station 401, then the charging station may also communicate to the owner by electronic means such as a text message, email, or a telephonic voice call} as eligible for using the charging station based on the identification data (¶ 24+, 34+); and the charging station authorizing the charging of the electric vehicle in response to determining that the electric vehicle is registered as eligible for using the charging station (¶ 34+).
Annampedu fails to specifically teach a wireless data connection, the charging station initiating establishing a wireless data connection with the electric vehicle; the charging station receiving via the wireless data connection identification data identifying the electric vehicle.
In view of Pringle et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ into the teachings of Annampedu a wireless data connection so as to wirelessly transmit and receive data from the control center with regards to each detected electric vehicle in a designated parking space. Such medication would be beneficial by automatically confirm the identity of the vehicle and issue a signal of eligibility for accessing and using the charging station.
Re Claim 2: Annampedu as modified by Pringle et al. teaches system and method, herein the charging station denies {herein Electric current won't flow in the charging cable for a variety of reasons: For example, if the vehicle is a non-electric vehicle, or if the vehicle is an electric vehicle but is not compatible with the charging cable plug type and/or not authorized to charge from this charging station and/or didn't setup proper payment methods for drawing electric power at this location} charging of the electric vehicle in response to determining that the electric vehicle is not registered as eligible for using the charging station based on the identification data (¶ 6+).
Re Claims 5, 6-7 and 12: The teachings of Annampedu have been discussed above. Annampedu teaches if the vehicle is an electric vehicle but is not compatible with the charging cable plug type and/or not authorized to charge from this charging station and/or didn't setup proper payment methods (see ¶ 6+). Therefore, one skilled in the art may agree that “setup proper payment” can be a form of registration.
Annampedu is also silent with regards to register a vehicle, and a vehicle identification number and the registration data.
Pringle et al. teaches method of authentication is to pre-register the vehicle’s license plate number and vehicle identification number (VIN) (see ¶ 95-96+).
In view of Pringle et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ into the teachings of Annampedu so as to create a database for prequalifying authorized vehicles to utilize reserved parking spaces to electric vehicles.
Re Claim 9: Annampedu as modified by Pringle et al. teaches system and method, wherein the charging station, in response to authorizing the charging of the electric vehicle, enables a charging function of the charging station and/or enables a plug-and-charge function of the charging station (¶ 6-7+).
Re Claim 10: Annampedu as modified by Pringle et al. teaches system and method, wherein the charging station periodically scans {herein an ultrasonic sensor 101 emits short, high-frequency sound pulses 102 at regular intervals of time in a periodic manner} for the presence of an electric vehicle available for establishing a wireless data connection (¶ 21+).
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annampedu (US 2021/0129703) as modified by Pringle et al. (US 2013/0179383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tarchinski et al. (US 2020/0353839).
The teachings of Annampedu have been discussed above. Annampedu also teaches that If the owner information is known to the charging station 401, then the charging station may also communicate to the owner by electronic means such as a text message, email, or a telephonic voice call (see ¶ 24+).
Annampedu fails to specifically teach wherein the charging station, in response to determining that the electric vehicle is not registered as eligible for using the charging station based on the identification data, prompts the electric vehicle and/or a user to prove of eligibility for using the charging station.
Tarchinski et al. teaches intelligent motor vehicles, charging systems and control logic for governing vehicles grid integration operations, wherein the charging station, in response to determining that the electric vehicle is not registered as eligible for using the charging station based on the identification data, prompts the electric vehicle and/or a user to prove of eligibility for using the charging station (¶ 35-36+).
In view of Tarchinski et al.’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ into the teachings of Annampedu that determining that the electric vehicle is not registered as eligible for using the charging station based on the identification data, prompts the electric vehicle and/or a user to prove of eligibility for using the charging station so as to verify the authenticity and eligibility of the driver prior to allowing access and utilization of the charging station.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annampedu (US 2021/0129703) as modified by Pringle et al. (US 2013/0179383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shin (US 2022/0212559 A).
The teachings of Annampedu have been discussed above. Annampedu also teaches a cable 406 (see fig.# 4a; ¶ 24+).
Annampedu fails to specifically teach the charging station, in response to authorizing the charging of the electric vehicle, enables a charging function of the charging station and/or enables a plug-and-charge function of the charging station.
Shin teaches EV user authorization method and system, which includes the charging station, in response to authorizing the charging of the electric vehicle, enables a charging function of the charging station and/or enables a plug-and-charge function of the charging station (¶ 49+, 94-100+, 124+).
In view of Shin’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ into the teachings of Annampedu that the charging station, in response to authorizing the charging of the electric vehicle, enables a charging function of the charging station and/or enables a plug-and-charge function of the charging station so as to allow a user-friendly and secure interface between the electric vehicle and a charging station making individual authorization for each charging process unnecessary.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Annampedu (US 2021/0129703) as modified by Pringle et al. (US 2013/0179383) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ahtikari (US 2022/0032812).
The teachings of Annampedu have been discussed above.
Annampedu fails to specifically teach that the charging station receives charge mode setting information from the vehicle via the wireless data connection and sets operation parameters for a/the charging function according to the charge mode setting information.
Ahtikari teaches electric vehicle charging, wherein the charging station receives charge mode setting information from the vehicle via the wireless data connection and sets operation parameters for a/the charging function according to the charge mode setting information (see fig.# 3; ¶ 40-44+, 61+).
In view of Ahtikari’s teachings, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention to employ into the teachings of Annampedu that the charging station receives charge mode setting information from the vehicle via the wireless data connection and sets operation parameters for a/the charging function according to the charge mode setting information so as to set specific criteria for managing and using the charging station. Such modification would be beneficial by providing logistic and/or software onto the charging station so as to render certain services and/or inquiries after detecting the presence of the electric vehicle on a parking space in order to either allowing charging upon eligibility or alerting proper authority for removal of the electric vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dow et al. (US 2017/0106763) teaches electric vehicle automatic charging station.
Penilla et al. (US 2016/0031338) teaches method for electric vehicle(EV) charge location visual indicator, notifications of charge state and cloud applications.
Grabar et al. (US 2016/0075249) teaches method and apparatus for user authentication in electric vehicle wireless charging.
Jasti (US 2023/0264593) teaches smart electric vehicle charging system and method for situational monitoring and alerting.
/EDWYN LABAZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876