Status of the claims
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/15/2025. Claim 10 has been cancelled. Claims 1-25 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 11-20, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020182591 A1 hereinafter Ferreira.
Regarding claim 1, Ferreira teaches a robotic machine apparatus for movement within an environment (An automated guided vehicle or automatic guided vehicle (AGV) is a robot. Paragraph [0005813]), said robotic machine including a movement navigation system including at least one signal transmitting means to emit a signal from internally of the apparatus (LIDAR Sensor Systems thus can be mounted both externally and internally of a vehicle. Paragraph [0005859]) and through a window to the said environment (The optics arrangement 17000 may be included (e.g., integrated or embedded) in the LIDAR Sensor System. Paragraph [0002110] A LIDAR Data Processing System may comprise functions of signal processing, signal optimization (signal/noise), data analysis, object detection, object recognition, information exchange with edge and cloud computing, data banks, data libraries and other sensing devices (for example other LIDAR Devices, radar, camera, ultrasound, biometrical feedback data, driver control devices, car-to-car (C2C) communication, car-to-environment (C2X) communication, geolocation data (GPS). Paragraph [0005862]), at least one receiving means located internally of the apparatus to receive a return signal which has passed through said window or another window from an object in and/or a surface of said environment (The system 9800 may include at least one optics arrangement 9802. The optics arrangement 9802 may be configured to provide light to the sensor 52. For example, the optics arrangement 9802 may be configured to collect light and direct it onto the surfaces of the sensor pixels of the sensor 52. The optics arrangement 9802 may be disposed in the receiving path of the system 9800. The optics arrangement 9802 may be an optics arrangement for the LIDAR Sensor System 10. Paragraph [0001349]), and signal processing means to allow the said received signal to be processed and used to determine the position of the robotic machine with respect to said object and/or surface of said environment and so allow the guidance of the movement of said apparatus and wherein (FIG. 59 shows a LIDAR sensor system 5900 according to various embodiments. In various embodiments, the LIDAR sensor system is a Flash LIDAR system. In various embodiments, the LIDAR system is a Scanning LIDAR system. The LIDAR sensor system 5900 may include a la ser source 5902 which has at least one laser diode for the production of light, a first optics arrangement 5906, a spatial light modulator 5910, a second op tics arrangement 5908, and a spatial light modulator controller 5914. It is to be noted that the signal processing and/or the generating of control signals to control the spatial light modulator 5910 (e.g. by the spatial light modulator controller 5914) may be implemented using Artificial Intelligence, e.g. Deep Learning algorithms (e.g. using one or more neural networks). In combination, the components of the LIDAR sensor system 5900 create a field of view 5912 of the LIDAR system 5900. The LIDAR sensor system 5900 may include additional components such as are necessary to detect an optical pro file with a clear signal and a high intensity contrast or high signal to noise ratio. Paragraph [0001846]) , at least one corrective lens is positioned intermediate the said at least one transmitting means and said window and/or intermediate said window and said receiving means (In various embodiments, the optics arrangement 17000 may include a correction lens 17102. The correction lens 17102 may be arranged downstream of the actuator 17006 (e.g., along the first direction 17052, illustratively with respect to the direction into which the plurality of redirected light beams 17004r travel, e.g. along a direction along which the optical axis 17008 of the optics arrangement 17000 may be aligned). The correction lens 17102 may be configured to reduce the first output angle of a (e.g., redirected) light beam 17004r downstream of the actuator 17006 entering the correction lens 17102 to direct the light beam 17004r into the field of emission 170010 with a second output angle with respect to the optical axis 17008 of the optics arrangement 17000. Illustratively, the correction lens 17102 may receive the light beams output downstream of the actuator 17006 towards the field of emission 17010 (e.g., each at a respective incidence angle). The correction lens 17102 may be configured such that each received light beam 17004r is output by the correction lens 17102 as an output light beam making a respective (e.g., second) output angle with the perpendicular to the surface of the correction lens 17102 (illustratively, the perpendicular to the surface may be aligned along the first direction 17052). The (second) output angle from the correction lens 17102 may be the (e.g., adapted or re- duced) illumination angle of the optics arrangement 17000 (e.g., of the LIDAR Sensor System 10). The (second) output angle from the correction lens 17102 may be smaller than the (first) output angle from the actuator 17006. Paragraph [0002130]) and the said window has internal and external surfaces and at least one of said surfaces is curved. (By way of example, the correction lens 17102 may have a curved surface 17102s (e.g., a first curved surface and a second curved surface, opposite to one another along the first direction 17052). Paragraph [0002140])
Regarding claim 2, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein said at least one corrective lens is provided in addition to further optical lens provided between the said transmission means and window and between the said receiving means and window. (Fig. 171 A, additional corrective lens 17102. FIG. 171 A shows a side view of the optics arrangement 17000 in a schematic representation in accordance with various embodiments. FIG. 171 B shows a top view of the optics arrangement 17000 in a schematic representation in accordance with various embodiments. Paragraph [0002127])
Regarding claim 3, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 2. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein said at least one corrective lens is located intermediate the said further optical lens and the window and/or another window. (Fig. 171 A, additional corrective lens 17102. FIG. 171 A shows a side view of the optics arrangement 17000 in a schematic representation in accordance with various embodiments. FIG. 171 B shows a top view of the optics arrangement 17000 in a schematic representation in accordance with various embodiments. Paragraph [0002127])
Regarding claim 4, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the said at least one corrective lens is provided to correct or at least reduce distortion of the transmitted and/or the received signal caused by the same passing through the said at least one window. (In various embodiments, the optics arrangement 17000 may include a correction lens 17102. The correction lens 17102 may be arranged downstream of the actuator 17006 (e.g., along the first direction 17052, illustratively with respect to the direction into which the plurality of redirected light beams 17004r travel, e.g. along a direction along which the optical axis 17008 of the optics arrangement 17000 may be aligned). The correction lens 17102 may be configured to reduce the first output angle of a (e.g., redirected) light beam 17004r downstream of the actuator 17006 entering the correction lens 17102 to direct the light beam 17004r into the field of emission 170010 with a second output angle with respect to the optical axis 17008 of the optics arrangement 17000. Illustratively, the correction lens 17102 may receive the light beams output downstream of the actuator 17006 towards the field of emission 17010 (e.g., each at a respective incidence angle). The correction lens 17102 may be configured such that each received light beam 17004r is output by the correction lens 17102 as an output light beam making a respective (e.g., second) output angle with the perpendicular to the surface of the correction lens 17102 (illustratively, the perpendicular to the surface may be aligned along the first direction 17052). The (second) output angle from the correction lens 17102 may be the (e.g., adapted or reduced) illumination angle of the optics arrangement 17000 (e.g., of the LIDAR Sensor System 10). The (second) output angle from the correction lens 17102 may be smaller than the (first) output angle from the actuator 17006. Paragraph [0002130])
Regarding claim 5, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the said at least one corrective lens is a cylindrical lens. (The optics arrangement 17000 may include a collimator lens 17002, for example a cylindrical lens. Paragraph [0002111])
Regarding claim 7, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein a said corrective lens is provided and located between the window and said optical lens for the signal transmission means and a corrective lens is provided and located between said window and the optical lens for said signal receiving means. (The correction lens 17102 may have a focal length, e.g. de noted as focal length f.sub.2. The correction lens 17102 may be arranged down- stream of the actuator 17006 at a third distance a along the first direction 17052. A distance b (e.g., indicated by the symbol b) may be a fourth distance between the correction lens 17102 and the point in the field of emission 17010 to which a light beam is directed, e.g. at which the light beam is focused. The focal length f.sub.2 of the correction lens 17102 may be equal to the third distance a and to the fourth distance b. Paragraph [0002132] Examiner notes that Ferreira teaches a plurality of corrective lenses positioned in the optical path. At least one corrective lens is located between the window and the optical lens for the transmission means, and another is located between the window and the optical lens for the receiving means.)
Regarding claim 8, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein a said corrective lens is positioned so that the same lens is positioned intermediate the optical lens for the signal transmission means and the window and the optical lens for the signal receiving means and the window. (The correction lens 17102 may have a focal length, e.g. de noted as focal length f.sub.2. The correction lens 17102 may be arranged down- stream of the actuator 17006 at a third distance a along the first direction 17052. A distance b (e.g., indicated by the symbol b) may be a fourth distance between the correction lens 17102 and the point in the field of emission 17010 to which a light beam is directed, e.g. at which the light beam is focused. The focal length f.sub.2 of the correction lens 17102 may be equal to the third distance a and to the fourth distance b. Paragraph [0002132])
Regarding claim 9, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the said transmitted signal is a laser beam. (The light source 42 may be configured to emit light (e.g., a light signal, such as a laser signal). Paragraph [0004548])
Regarding claim 11, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the said at least one window is formed with at least first and second layers. (A meta-lens 7812 for various embodiments may exhibit more than one layer with meta-material structures, e.g. it may exhibit more than two layers, e.g. more than three layers, e.g. in the range from about three layers to about five layers. With such a configuration it is possible to focus echo light which comes from different incident angular segments onto the same focus point. Paragraph [0002724])
Regarding claim 12, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 11. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein a first layer is provided as an infrared bandpass filter (As described above, the above mentioned embodiments may be complemented by a filter, e.g. a bandpass filter, which is configured to transmit portions of the light which should be detected by the photo diode near to the surface of the carrier (e.g. of the visible spectrum) such as e.g. red light for vehicle taillights as well as portions of the light having the wave length of the used LIDAR source (e.g. laser source). Paragraph [0001150]) and a second layer is provided as a protective layer. (In various embodiments, additionally or alternatively, the op tics arrangement 17000 may optionally include a diffusive element 17206, as illustrated in FIG. 172C. The diffusive element 17206 may be arranged downstream of the correction lens 17102 (e.g., between the correction lens 17102 and the field of emission 17010). The diffusive element 17206 may homogenize the angular distribution of the intensity of the emitted light (e.g., mainly along the third direction 17056), as illustrated in the graph 17208. The graph 17208 may include a first axis 17208a associated with the emission angle, and a second axis 17208i associated with the light intensity. The graph 17208 may include a curve 17208d representing the angular distribution of the intensity of the emitted light provided by a diffusive element, e.g. by the diffusive element 17206. The diffusive element 17206 may be a one-dimensional diffusing element, for example a diffusing disc or a diffusing screen. In case the light source 42 emits infrared light, the diffusive element 17206 may be configured to operate in the infrared light range. Paragraph [0002155])
Regarding claim 13, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 12. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the first layer forms an internal surface of the window and the second layer forms an external surface of the window. (A meta-lens 7812 for various embodiments may exhibit more than one layer with meta-material structures, e.g. it may exhibit more than two layers, e.g. more than three layers, e.g. in the range from about three layers to about five layers. With such a configuration it is possible to focus echo light which comes from different incident angular segments onto the same focus point. Paragraph [0002724] Examiner notes that based on the structure of a lens that one layer would have to be internal and the other external)
Regarding claim 14, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 13. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the first and second layers are separated by an air gap. (In case the first sensor pixel 11620-1 and the second sensor pixel 11620-2 are included in a respective sub-sensor 52-1 , 52-2, the dis tance b may be larger than an extension of the sensor pixels (e.g., it may be larger than a width or a height of the sensor pixels). Illustratively, the distance b may include a gap between the first sub-sensor 52-1 and the second sub-sensor 52-2. In case the first sensor pixel 11620-1 and the second sen sor pixel 11620-2 are included in a same sensor array, the distance, b, may substantially correspond to an extension of a sensor pixel (e.g., to a width of a sensor pixel) or to a multiple of the extension of a sensor pixel. Paragraph [0002859] A meta-lens 7812 for various embodiments may exhibit more than one layer with meta-material structures, e.g. it may exhibit more than two layers, e.g. more than three layers, e.g. in the range from about three layers to about five layers. With such a configuration it is possible to focus echo light which comes from different incident angular segments onto the same focus point. Paragraph [0002724] Examiner notes that including a gap between the lens / sensors would inherently teach an air gap)
Regarding claim 15, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein a head is located internally of the said apparatus. (By way of example, this asymmetric configuration may be implemented in a vehicle including more than one LIDAR system (e.g., including not only a central forward-facing LIDAR system). The field of view of the LIDAR systems may overlap (e.g., at least partially). The main emphasis of each of these LIDAR systems (e.g., a region having higher efficiency) may for example be shifted towards one of the edges. As an example, a LIDAR system may be arranged in the left head lamp (also referred to as headlight) of a vehicle and another LIDAR system may be arranged in the right head lamp of the vehicle. As another example, two frontal (e.g., front-facing) Paragraph [0001225])
Regarding claim 16, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 15. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein any or any combination of the transmitting means, receiving means, and optical lens are located on the said head. (By way of example, this asymmetric configuration may be implemented in a vehicle including more than one LIDAR system (e.g., i cluding not only a central forward-facing LIDAR system). The field of view of the LIDAR systems may overlap (e.g., at least partially). The main emphasis of each of these LIDAR systems (e.g., a region having higher efficiency) may for example be shifted towards one of the edges. As an example, a LIDAR system may be arranged in the left head lamp (also referred to as headlight) of a vehicle and another LIDAR system may be arranged in the right head lamp of the vehicle. As another example, two frontal (e.g., front-facing) Paragraph [0001225])
Regarding claim 17, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 15. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the said at least one window is cylindrical with a longitudinal axis which is coplanar with a centre axis of said head. (The micro-lenses illustratively divide the light distribution into a plurality of micro light sources which together result in a larger profile vertically (in order to form a vertical laser line) and thus increase the apparent size of the (virtual) source. In the horizontal direction, in various embodiments, the light beam 9010 is not shaped in order to achieve a narrow laser line. Therefore, the above mentioned lenslets 8914 have a cylindrical shape along the horizontal direction. In addition, the micro-lenses may homogenize the laser line of the emitted laser light beam, i.e. generate a uniform intensity distribution along the vertical direction. [0001947] FIG. 90 further shows an enlarged top view of a portion 9012 of the MLA 9004 and the light beam 9010. FIG. 90 shows that the light beam 9010 is not deflected in horizontal direction while passing through the MLA 9004. Paragraph [0001946] Examiner notes that Ferreira discloses a Lidar system having lenslets with a cylindrical shape along the horizontal direction, which serves as the window through which the signal is transmitted. The cylindrical axis of the lenslets is aligned with the horizontal beam path of the LiDAR system, which corresponds to the center axis of the head.)
Regarding claim 18, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 17. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein at least the said transmitting means and receiving means are rotatable about said centre axis. (A possible solution to improve the above-mentioned situation may be to provide a rotating LIDAR system. In a rotating LIDAR system the light emitter(s) (e.g., the laser emitter) and the light receiver(s) (e.g., the sensor) may be arranged on a common platform (e.g., a common movable support), which may typically rotate 360°. In such a system, the light receiver sees (in other words, faces) at each time point the same direction into which the light emitter has emitted light (e.g., LIDAR light). Therefore, the sensor always detects at one time instant only a small horizontal solid angle range. This may reduce or prevent the above-described problem. The same may be true for a system in which the detected light is captured by means of a movable mirror (e.g., an additional MEMS mirror in the receiver path) or another similar (e.g., movable) component. However, a rotating LIDAR system and/or a system including an additional movable mirror require movable components (e.g., movable portions). This may increase the complexity, the susceptibility to mechanical instabilities and the cost of the system. [0002794] Another possible solution may be to provide a receiver optics arrangement for a LIDAR system as described, for example, in relation to FIG. 98 to FIG. 102B. Paragraph [0002793] Examiner notes that Ferreira discloses a rotating LiDAR system in which the transmitting and receiving means (laser emitter and sensor) are mounted on a movable platform that rotates around the center axis)
Regarding claim 19, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 18. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the said head and optical lens also rotate about said centre axis. (A possible solution to improve the above-mentioned situation may be to provide a rotating LIDAR system. In a rotating LIDAR system the light emitter(s) (e.g., the laser emitter) and the light receiver(s) (e.g., the sensor) may be arranged on a common platform (e.g., a common movable support), which may typically rotate 360°. In such a system, the light receiver sees (in other words, faces) at each time point the same direction into which the light emitter has emitted light (e.g., LIDAR light). Therefore, the sensor always detects at one time instant only a small horizontal solid angle range. This may reduce or prevent the above-described problem. The same may be true for a system in which the detected light is captured by means of a movable mirror (e.g., an additional MEMS mirror in the receiver path) or another similar (e.g., movable) component. However, a rotating LIDAR system and/or a system including an additional movable mirror require movable components (e.g., movable portions). This may increase the complexity, the susceptibility to mechanical instabilities and the cost of the system. [0002794] Another possible solution may be to provide a receiver optics arrangement for a LIDAR system as described, for example, in relation to FIG. 98 to FIG. 102B. Paragraph [0002793] Examiner notes that Ferreira discloses a rotating LiDAR system in which the system is mounted on a movable platform that rotates around the center axis which thus includes the head and optical lenses)
Regarding claim 20, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 15. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the said head is, or is provided within a protective housing for said movement navigation system. (By way of example, this asymmetric configuration may be implemented in a vehicle including more than one LIDAR system (e.g., including not only a central forward-facing LIDAR system). The field of view of the LIDAR systems may overlap (e.g., at least partially). The main emphasis of each of these LIDAR systems (e.g., a region having higher efficiency) may for example be shifted towards one of the edges. As an example, a LIDAR system may be arranged in the left head lamp (also referred to as headlight) of a vehicle and another LIDAR system may be arranged in the right head lamp of the vehicle. As another example, two frontal (e.g., front-facing) Paragraph [0001225])
Regarding claim 23, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the movement navigation system (Among these sensing systems, LIDAR sensing systems are expected to play a vital role, as well as camera-based systems, possibly supported by radar and ultrasonic systems. With respect to a specific perception task, these systems may operate more or less independently of each other. However, in order to increase the level of perception (e.g. in terms of accuracy and range), signals and data acquired by different sensing systems may be brought together in so-called sensor fusion systems. Merging of sensor data is not only necessary to refine and consolidate the measured results but also to increase the confidence in sensor results by resolving possible inconsistencies and contradictories and by providing a certain level of redundancy. Unintended spurious signals and intentional adversarial attacks may play a role in this context as well. Paragraph [0007]) is connected to control drive means connected to a plurality of wheels or rollers to enable the guided travel of the apparatus across a surface of the said environment and allow the control and guidance of the movement to be performed remotely from the location of said apparatus. (From the above description, it becomes clear also that future mobility has to be able to handle vast amounts of data, as several tens of gigabytes may be generated per driving hour. This means that autonomous driving systems have to acquire, collect and store data at very high speed, usually complying with real-time conditions. Furthermore, future vehicles have to be able to interpret these data, i.e. to derive some kind of contextual meaning within a short period of time in order to plan and execute required driving maneuvers. This demands complex software solutions, making use of advanced algorithms. It is expected that autonomous driving systems will including more and more elements of artificial intelligence, machine and self learning, as well as Deep Neural Networks (DNN) for certain tasks, e.g. visual image recognition, and other Neural Processor Units (NFU) methods for more complex tasks, like judgment of a traffic situation and generation of de- rived vehicle control functions, and the like. Data calculation, handling, storing and retrieving may require a large amount of processing power and hence electrical power. Paragraph [00010])
Regarding claim 24, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 1. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the movement navigation system is an autonomous movement navigation system. (the method and/or the device may be configured to provide reliable (e.g., safe) and robust control of a vehicle (e.g., a vehicle with autonomous driving capabilities). Paragraph [0005204])
Regarding claim 25, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 24. Ferreira additionally teaches wherein the autonomous movement navigation system is a Light Detection and Ranging (LiDAR) navigation system. (The vehicle may be a vehicle with partially or fully autonomous driving capabilities (e.g., a vehicle capable of operating at a SAE-level 3 or higher, e.g. as defined by the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE), for example in SAE J3016-2018: Taxonomy and definitions for terms related to driving automation systems for on-road motor vehicles). Illustratively, the illumination and sensing system 17300 may be a head- lamp-integrated sensor system. Paragraph [0005435] The system 17300 may include a LIDAR system 17302. Paragraph [0005436])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of CN 105751031B hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding claim 6, Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 5. Ferreira does not teach wherein the said at least one corrective lens is a plano-convex cylindrical correction lens.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the said at least one corrective lens is a plano-convex cylindrical correction lens. (The invention claims a plano-convex cylindrical lens processing method Abstract)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lens system disclosed by Ferreira to include the use of plano-convex cylindrical lens’ of Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this would enable the system of Ferreira to increase precision and reliability of the lens as suggested by Zhang in the background technology section.
Claims 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreira in view of JP 2009229458 A hereinafter Meyer.
Regarding claim 21. Ferreira teaches the apparatus according to claim 15. Ferreira does not teach wherein the said head is provided with a counterweight located at the opposing side of the head from that on which the said optical lens is located.
However, Meyer teaches wherein said head is provided with a counterweight located at the opposing side of the head from that on which the said optical lens is located. (The support 43 is firmly fixed to the device cover 6 of the floor dust collector 1. A weight 44 having a weight that is sufficiently heavier than the weight of the triangulation measurement system is provided under a common surface integrally formed by the rotation axes a and b orthogonal to each other. As a result of this configuration, the gravity of the weight 44 of the triangular measurement system T is ensured to maintain a horizontal state even when the floor dust collector 1 is tilted, for example, when the floor dust collector 1 is over the door threshold. Description of embodiments)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lidar system disclosed by Ferreira to include the counterweight located at the opposing side of the head from that on which said optical lens is located of Meyer. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because this would enable the system of Ferreira to offset the load and maintain stability during rotation as suggested by Meyer in the description of the embodiments section.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Ferreira and Meyer teaches the apparatus according to claim 21. Meyer additionally teaches wherein the weight of the counterweight is selected to counter the weight of the at least one optical lens and allow substantially uniform rotation of the head when in use. (The support 43 is firmly fixed to the device cover 6 of the floor dust collector 1. A weight 44 having a weight that is sufficiently heavier than the weight of the triangulation measurement system is provided under a common surface integrally formed by the rotation axes a and b orthogonal to each other. As a result of this configuration, the gravity of the weight 44 of the triangular measurement system T is ensured to maintain a horizontal state even when the floor dust collector 1 is tilted, for example, when the floor dust collector 1 is over the door threshold. Description of embodiments)
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered.
Applicants’ amendment overcomes the claim objection to claim 13.
Applicants’ argument with regards to the 102 rejection from pages 2-5 of the remarks filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ferreira fails to disclose a window having a curved surface through
which the transmitted and received signal passes, and further argues that Ferreira does not recognize or correct distortion introduced by such curvature. These arguments are not persuasive because they improperly import functional limitations from the specification into the claims.
As amended, claim 1 merely requires a window having internal and external surfaces, at least one of which is curved, through which the transmitted and received signals pass. The claim does not require that the window itself be configured to correct optical distortion. Ferreira explicitly discloses a LiDAR system in which transmitted and received signals pass through a window separating internal optical components from the external environment. Ferreira further discloses optical elements in the signal path having curved surfaces. Accordingly, Ferreira discloses that the said window has internal and external surfaces and at least one of said surfaces is curved as recited in amended claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with regards to the 103 rejection from pages 5 to 9 of the remarks document filed 12/15/2025 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Ferreira and Zhang fails to disclose or suggest correcting distortion introduced by a curved window. This argument is not persuasive because claim 6 does not require that the corrective lens corrected distortion be introduced by a curved window.
Claim 6 recites that the corrective lens is a plano-convex cylindrical correction lens. Ferreira discloses a LIDAR system including corrective lenses in the optical path but does not limit the geometry of the corrective lens. Zhang explicitly teaches a plano-convex cylindrical correction lens. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the lens system of Ferreira to include the plano-convex cylindrical correction lens of Zhang, as this represents the predictable use of a known optical element to improve optical precision as suggested by Zhang. Accordingly, claim 6 remains unpatentable over Ferreira in view of Zhang.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.J.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/ANSHUL SOOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667