DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 04/04/2026. Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 12, 14-17, 19 are amended. Claim 18 is cancelled. Claim 21 is a new claim. Claims 1-17, 19-21 are now pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: replace “. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1).
Cheng teaches an illumination module 150B [fig 3] comprising: a light source 151 (light source) [fig 3] [0032]; and a first optical element 153B (collimating lens group) [fig 3] [0032]; wherein the illumination module 150B [fig 3] is set in an optical apparatus 10B (HMD device) [fig 3] [0032]; wherein the light source 151 [fig 3] comprises a plurality of lighting units (the light source 151, for example, includes a solid-state illuminating source array 152 formed by red LEDs R, green LEDs G and blue LEDs B) [0032] and each lighting unit (of 152) [fig 2] emits a light beam IL1 [fig 3], wherein the light beam IL1 [fig 3] comprises a colored light and the light source emits a plurality of light beams (the solid-state illuminating source array 152 includes a plurality of Light-Emitting Diodes (LEDs) arranged in an array, or a plurality of Laser Diodes (LDs) arranged in an array, and the solid-state illuminating source array 152 is used for providing the illumination beam ILL In the embodiment, the solid-state illuminating source array 152 includes red LEDs R, green LEDs G and blue LEDs B) [0027]; the first optical element 153B [fig 3] comprises a plurality of optical units 152, 154 [fig 3]. Cheng further teaches a volume of the optical unit 153B [fig 3] (shown with fig. 3 below) is greater than a volume of the lighting unit 151 [fig 3] (shown with fig. 3 below). Cheng does not specifically teach the illumination module satisfies the following condition: AOU > ALUx2; wherein AOU is an area of the optical unit of the first optical element, ALU is an area of the lighting unit. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to satisfy the expression AOU > ALUx2 (as shown with fig 3 below) as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to provide even brightness and chrominance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1).
As of claim 2, Cheng teaches an illumination module [fig 3] comprising: a light source 151 [fig 3]; and a first optical element 153B (collimating lens group) [fig 3] [0032]; wherein the illumination module 150B [fig 3] is set in an optical apparatus; wherein the light source comprises a plurality of lighting units (the light source 151, for example, includes a solid-state illuminating source array) [fig 3] [0027] and each lighting unit emits a light beam IL1 [fig 3], wherein the light beam IL1 [fig 3] comprises a colored light and the light source emits a plurality of light beams (from red LEDs R, green LEDs G and blue LEDs) [0032]; wherein the first optical element 153B [fig 3] comprises a plurality of optical units (collimating lens group) [0032]; wherein each optical unit 152, 154 connects each other [fig 3] so that the light beam can enter the optical units at the same time (shown with the arrow) [fig 3]; wherein the number of the optical unit (152, 154) [fig 3] of the first optical element 153B [fig 3] is less than the number of the lighting unit 152 [fig 2].
As of claim 21, Cheng teaches each optical unit 152, 154 [fig 3] comprises a curved surface facing the light source (lens 152 has a curved surface facing the light source 151) [fig 3] and the curved surface has only one apex (curved surface of 152 has one apex touching the lens 153) [fig 3]; the first optical element 152 [fig 3] is disposed on one side of the light source 151 [fig 3]; and the light beams emitted by at least two lighting units (the light source 151, for example, includes a solid-state illuminating source array) [fig 3] [0027] are incident and passes through the same optical unit 153B [fig 3] for light mixing (red, green and blue lights).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 3, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a second optical element, a first projection lens assembly, and an image source; the light beams passes through the illumination module, and then enters the optical apparatus through the second optical element; the second optical element comprises a reflective surface and the reflective surface can partially reflect and partially transmit, or fully reflect the incident light beams; and the optical apparatus satisfies at least one of following conditions: 1.25 mm≤A2OES1/DLS2OES1≤50 mm;
2 mm≤DLS2OES1≤20 mm;
0.5%≤VIM/VOA≤19%;
2≤(DLU2OES2+DISPL1)/TIM≤17; wherein A2OES1 is an area of a first surface of the second optical element, DLS2OES1 is an interval from the light source to the first surface of the second optical element, VIM is a volume of the illumination module, VOA is a volume of the optical apparatus, DLU2OES2 is an interval from the light source to a second surface of the second optical element, DISPL1 is an interval from an image source to a light exiting surface of the first projection lens assembly, and TIM is a minimum interval from a first side surface of the light source to a second side surface of an optical element wherein the optical element is closest to the second optical element.
Claims 4-6 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 3.
As of claim 7, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the third optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; the first optical element is disposed between the light source and the third optical element, or the third optical element is disposed between the first optical element and the light source when the third optical element comprises the plurality of optical units; and any optical unit of the first optical element and the third optical element comprises two surfaces with lens structure, wherein one surface with lens structure faces the light source and the other surface with lens structure faces away from the light source, the surfaces with lens structure each has a radius of curvature, and the radiuses of curvature may be the same or different.
As of claim 8, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the third optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; the first optical element is disposed between the light source and the third optical element, or the third optical element is disposed between the first optical element and the light source when the third optical element comprises the plurality of optical units; and each optical unit of the first optical element connects each other so that the light beam can enter the optical units of the first optical element at the same time.
As of claim 9, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a second optical element, a first projection lens assembly, and an image source; the light beams passes through the illumination module, and then enters the optical apparatus through the second optical element; the second optical element comprises a reflective surface and the reflective surface can partially reflect and partially transmit, or fully reflect the incident light beams; and the optical apparatus satisfies at least one of following conditions:
1.25 mm≤A2OES1/DLS2OES1≤50 mm;
2 mm≤DLS2OES1≤20 mm;
0.5%≤VIM/VOA≤19%;
2≤(DLU2OES2+DISPL1)/TIM≤17;
2 <VOU/VLU< 550;
8 < AOU/ALU < 16;
the number of the optical unit of the first optical element is less than the number of the lighting unit; wherein A2OES1 is an area of a first surface of the second optical element, DLS2OES1 is an interval from the light source to the first surface of the second optical element, VIM is a volume of the illumination module, VOA is a volume of the optical apparatus, DLU2OES2 is an interval from the light source to a second surface of the second optical element, DISPLI is an interval from an image source to a light exiting surface of the first projection lens assembly, and TIM is a minimum interval from a first side surface of the light source to a second side surface of an optical element wherein the optical element is closest to the second optical element, VOU is a volume of the optical unit of the first optical element, VLU is a volume of the lighting unit, AOU is an area of the optical unit of the first optical element, ALU is an area of the lighting unit.
As of claim 10, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a third optical element, wherein: the third optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; and any optical unit of the first optical element and the third optical element comprises two surfaces with lens structure, wherein one surface with lens structure faces the light source and the other surface with lens structure faces away from the light source, the surfaces with lens structure each has a radius of curvature, and the radiuses of curvature may be the same or different.
As of claim 11, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a third optical element and a fourth optical element, wherein: both of the third optical element and the fourth element comprise a film; and the third optical element and the fourth optical element are disposed between the first optical element and the second optical element, and the light beams pass through the first optical element, the third optical element, and the fourth optical element in order, and then enter the second optical element.
Claims 12-20 are allowed.
As of claim 12, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the optical apparatus further comprises a second optical element, a first projection lens assembly, and an image source; wherein the light beams pass through the illumination module, and then enters the optical apparatus through the second optical element; wherein the second optical element comprises a reflective surface and the reflective surface can partially reflect and partially transmit, or fully reflect the incident light beams; and wherein the optical apparatus satisfies at least one of following conditions:
1.25 mm < A2OES 1/DLS2OES 1 < 50 mm;
2mm < DLS2OES1 < 20mm;
0.5% < VIM/VOA < 19%;
2 < (DLU2OES2+DISPL1)/TIM < 17;
wherein A2OES1 is an area of a first surface of the second optical element, DLS2OES1 is an interval from the light source to the first surface of the second optical element, VIM is a volume of the illumination module, VOA is a volume of the optical apparatus, DLU2OES2 is an interval from the light source to a second surface of the second optical element, DISPLI is an interval from an image source to a light exiting surface of the first projection lens assembly, and TIM is a minimum interval from a first side surface of the light source to a second side surface of an optical element wherein the optical element is closest to the second optical element.
Claims 13-17, 19-20 are allowed as being dependent on claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art TAKANO et al. (US 20220382137 A1) teaches a light-source optical system which includes a wavelength converter on which light of first color is incident, the wavelength converter converting at least a part of the light of first color into light of second color different from the light of first color, a first optical system disposed upstream from the wavelength converter on an optical path of the light of first color, the first optical system including optical elements, a reflection plane disposed downstream from the first optical system on the optical path, and a second optical system disposed downstream from the reflection plane on the optical path. The reflection plane reflects one of the light of first color and the light of second color, and a conditional expression “0<ΔL/D<0.2” is satisfied;
- Prior Art Lin et al. (US 20220373874 A1) teaches an illumination system including a first light source device, a supplementary light source device, a light guide device, a light splitting device, and a light converging element is provided. The first light source device provides a first light beam, a second light beam, a third light beam, and a first compensation light beam. The supplementary light source device provides at least one compensation light beam. The light guide device comprises a first reflecting element comprising a first portion and a second portion. The light splitting device comprises a first half reflecting element located between the first light source device and the light guide device on a transmission path of the second light beam.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882
3. (Original) The illumination module as claimed in claim 2, wherein: the optical apparatus comprises a second optical element, a first projection lens assembly, and an image source; the light beams passes through the illumination module, and then enters the optical apparatus through the second optical element; the second optical element comprises a reflective surface and the reflective surface can partially reflect and partially transmit, or fully reflect the incident light beams; and the optical apparatus satisfies at least one of following conditions: 1.25 mm <A2OES1/DLS2OES1< 50 mm; 2mm<DLS2OES1
20 mm; 0.5% < VIM/VOA < 19%;2
(DLU2OES2+DISPL1)/TIM
17; wherein A2OES1 is an area of a first surface of the second optical element, DLS2OES1 is an interval from the light source to the first surface of the second optical element, VIM is a volume of the illumination module, VOA is a volume of the optical apparatus, DLU2OES2 is an interval from the light source to a second surface of the second optical element, DISPLI is an interval from an image source to a light exiting surface of the first projection lens assembly, and TIM is a minimum interval from a first side surface of the light source to a second side surface of an optical element wherein the optical element is closest to the second optical element.
4. (Original) The illumination module as claimed in claim 3, further comprising a third optical element and a fourth optical element, wherein: the third optical element comprises a lens, the first optical element is disposed between the light source and the third optical element when the third optical element is the lens; and the third optical element and the fourth optical element are disposed between the first optical element and the second optical element, and the light beams pass through the first optical element, the third optical element, and the fourth optical element in order, and then enter the second optical element.
5. (Currently Amended) The illumination module as claimed in claim 4, further comprising a fifth optical element, wherein: the fifth optical element are disposed between the fourth optical element and the second optical element, and the light beams pass through the first optical element, the third optical element, the fourth optical element, and the fifth optical element in order, and then enter the second optical element.
6. (Original) The illumination module as claimed in claim 3, wherein: the optical apparatus further comprises a sixth optical element, a seventh optical element, a second projection lens assembly, and another image source; the second optical element is disposed between the image source and the first projection lens assembly; the light beams incident on the second optical element are partially reflected by the reflective surface and enters the image source, then reflected by the image source to become an image light beam, then the image light beam passes through the second optical element, and then enters the first projection lens assembly; the first projection lens assembly projects the image light beam to a screen to form an image; the sixth optical element is disposed between the second optical element and the seventh optical element; the seventh optical element is disposed between the another image source and the second projection lens assembly, and the seventh optical element comprises a reflective surface; the light beams incident on the second optical element partially transmits the reflective surface of the second optical element, then enters and passes through the sixth optical element, then enters the seventh optical element, then the transmitted light beams will be reflected by the reflective surface of the seventh optical element and enters to the another image source, then reflected by the another image source to become another image light beam, then enters and passes through the seventh optical element, and then enters the second projection lens assembly; the second projection lens assembly projects the another image light beam to the screen to form another image; the light source is a LED array light source and the LED array light source comprises the lighting units of three colors, wherein the plurality of lighting units are arranged in a grid; the first optical element, the third optical element, and the sixth optical element all are made of plastic material; and an interval between the second optical element and the seventh optical element along the incident direction of the light beams can be adjusted, so that an interval between two images projected by the first projection lens assembly and the second projection lens assembly can be changed.
7. (Original) The illumination module as claimed in claim 2, further comprising a third optical element, wherein: the third optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; the first optical element is disposed between the light source and the third optical element, or the third optical element is disposed between the first optical element and the light source when the third optical element comprises the plurality of optical units; and any optical unit of the first optical element and the third optical element comprises two surfaces with lens structure, wherein one surface with lens structure faces the light source and the other surface with lens structure faces away from the light source, the surfaces with lens structure each has a radius of curvature, and the radiuses of curvature may be the same or different.
8. (Currently Amended) The illumination module as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a third optical element, wherein: the third optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; the first optical element is disposed between the light source and the third optical element, or the third optical element is disposed between the first optical element and the light source when the third optical element comprises the plurality of optical units; and each optical unit of the first optical element connects each other so that the light beam can enter the optical units of the first optical element at the same time.
9. (Currently Amended) The illumination module as claimed in claim 1, wherein: the optical apparatus comprises a second optical element, a first projection lens assembly, and an image source; the light beams passes through the illumination module, and then enters the optical apparatus through the second optical element; the second optical element comprises a reflective surface and the reflective surface can partially reflect and partially transmit, or fully reflect the incident light beams; and the optical apparatus satisfies at least one of following conditions: 1.25 mm <A2OES1/DLS2OES1< 50 mm; 2 mm<DLS2OES1
20 mm; 0.5% < VIM/VOA < 19%;2
(DLU2OES2+DISPL1)/TIM
17; 2 <VOU/VLU< 550;8 < AOU/ALU < 16;the number of the optical unit of the first optical element is less than the number of the lighting unit; wherein A2OES1 is an area of a first surface of the second optical element, DLS2OES1 is an interval from the light source to the first surface of the second optical element, VIM is a volume of the illumination module, VOA is a volume of the optical apparatus, DLU2OES2 is an interval from the light source to a second surface of the second optical element, DISPLI is an interval from an image source to a light exiting surface of the first projection lens assembly, and TIM is a minimum interval from a first side surface of the light source to a second side surface of an optical element wherein the optical element is closest to the second optical element, VOU is a volume of the optical unit of the first optical element, VLU is a volume of the lighting unit, AOU is an area of the optical unit of the first optical element, ALU is an area of the lighting unit.
10. (Original) The illumination module as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a third optical element, wherein: the third optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; and any optical unit of the first optical element and the third optical element comprises two surfaces with lens structure, wherein one surface with lens structure faces the light source and the other surface with lens structure faces away from the light source, the surfaces with lens structure each has a radius of curvature, and the radiuses of curvature may be the same or different.
11. (Original) The illumination module as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a third optical element and a fourth optical element, wherein: both of the third optical element and the fourth element comprise a film; and the third optical element and the fourth optical element are disposed between the first optical element and the second optical element, and the light beams pass through the first optical element, the third optical element, and the fourth optical element in order, and then enter the second optical element.