DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s Amendment filed on 04/04/2026. Claims 1, 3-4 are amended. Claim 18 is cancelled. Claims 1-17, 19-21 are now pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) in view of KATO et al. (US 2020/0096850 A1; KATO).
As of claim 2, Cheng teaches an illumination module [fig 3] comprising: a light source 151 [fig 3]; and a first optical element 153B (collimating lens group) [fig 3] [0032]; wherein the illumination module 150B [fig 3] is set in an optical apparatus 10B [fig 3]; wherein the light source comprises a plurality of lighting units (the light source 151, for example, includes a solid-state illuminating source array) [fig 3] [0027] and each lighting unit emits a light beam IL1 [fig 3], wherein the light beam IL1 [fig 3] comprises a colored light and the light source emits a plurality of light beams (from red LEDs R, green LEDs G and blue LEDs) [0032]; wherein the first optical element 153B [fig 3] comprises a plurality of optical units (collimating lens group) [0032].
Cheng does not teach each optical unit connects each other so that the light beam can enter the optical units at the same time; wherein the number of the optical unit of the first optical element is less than the number of the lighting unit.
KATO teaches a light source device [fig 1] having each optical unit connects each other (lens 104 may be a lens group composed of a plurality of lenses) [0048] (lens group shown with fig 1 below) so that the light beam (the plurality of laser light sources 12) [0048] can enter the optical units at the same time; wherein the number of the optical unit (3 lenses as shown with fig 1 below) of the first optical element 104 [fig 1] is less than the number of the lighting unit 12 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each optical unit connects each other so that the light beam can enter the optical units at the same time; wherein the number of the optical unit of the first optical element is less than the number of the lighting unit as taught by KATO to the illumination module as disclosed by Cheng to achieve higher luminance of the light source device (KATO; [0066]).
As of claim 21, Cheng teaches each optical unit 152, 154 [fig 3] comprises a curved surface facing the light source (lens 152 has a curved surface facing the light source 151) [fig 3] and the curved surface has only one apex (curved surface of 152 has one apex touching the lens 153) [fig 3]; the first optical element 152 [fig 3] is disposed on one side of the light source 151 [fig 3]; and the light beams emitted by at least two lighting units (the light source 151, for example, includes a solid-state illuminating source array) [fig 3] [0027] are incident and passes through the same optical unit 153B [fig 3] for light mixing (red, green and blue lights).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 3, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a second optical element, a first projection lens assembly, and an image source; the light beams passes through the illumination module, and then enters the optical apparatus through the second optical element; the second optical element comprises a reflective surface and the reflective surface can partially reflect and partially transmit, or fully reflect the incident light beams; and the optical apparatus satisfies at least one of following conditions:
1.25 mm≤A2OES1/DLS2OES1≤50 mm;
2 mm≤DLS2OES1≤20 mm; wherein A2OES1 is an area of a first surface of the second optical element, DLS2OES1 is an interval from the light source to the first surface of the second optical element.
Claims 4-6 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 3.
As of claim 7, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the third optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; the first optical element is disposed between the light source and the third optical element, or the third optical element is disposed between the first optical element and the light source when the third optical element comprises the plurality of optical units; and any optical unit of the first optical element and the third optical element comprises two surfaces with lens structure, wherein one surface with lens structure faces the light source and the other surface with lens structure faces away from the light source, the surfaces with lens structure each has a radius of curvature, and the radiuses of curvature may be the same or different.
Claims 1, 8-17, 19-20 are allowed.
As of claim 1, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a plurality of lighting units and each lighting unit emits a light beam, wherein the light beam comprises a colored light and the light source emits a plurality of light beams; wherein the first optical element comprises a plurality of optical units; wherein the illumination module satisfies at least one of following conditions: 0.3 < V1OE/VLS <2.2; 0.6 < (TLS+T1OE)/DLS1OE ≤ 8.9; 0.2% <V1OE/VIM< 50%; wherein V1OE is a volume of the first optical element, VLS is a volume of the light source, TLS is a thickness of the light source, TLS is a thickness of the first optical element, T1OE is a thickness of the first optical element, DLS1OE is a shortest interval from the light source to the first optical element, and VIM is a volume of the illumination module.
Claims 8-11 are allowed as being dependent on claim 1.
As of claim 12, the closest prior art Cheng (US 2019/0377185 A1) teaches a head-mounted display (HMD) device according to an embodiment of the invention. Referring to FIG. 1, the projection apparatus 100A of the embodiment includes an illumination system 150A and an image device 130, and the projection apparatus 100A is used in the HMD device 10A. In the embodiment, the image device 130 is, for example, a light valve, and the light valve, for example, includes a Digital Micro-mirror Device (DMD), which is used for converting an illumination beam IL1 (a first illumination beam) coming from the illumination system 150A into an image beam ML. In an embodiment, the image device 130, for example, includes a Liquid Crystal On Silicon (LCoS) display device, and the type of the image device 130 is not limited by the invention. In the embodiment, along a transmission path OA of the image beam ML, the image beam ML is transmitted to a projection target (not shown), which is, for example, a human eye, through the lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110. The lens module 140 and the waveguide element 110 shown in FIG. 1 are only used as examples, and are not intended to be a limitation of the invention. In the embodiment, the waveguide element 110 has a light incident end 112 and a light emerging end 114. The light incident end 112 is configured to receive the image beam ML. The image beam ML is transmitted through the waveguide element 110 and emitted from the light emerging end 114. Positions of the light incident end 112 and the light emerging end 114 of the waveguide element 110 are not limited, and the positioned may be changed as required by the relative position among the projection apparatus, the waveguide element and the projection target. Moreover, the number of the waveguide elements is not limited by the disclosure, and the number is determined by a design of the HMD device. For example, if the HMD device has two waveguide elements, one waveguide element has the light incident end, and another waveguide element has the light emerging end. As such, the light emerging end and the light incident end may not be limited to be on the same waveguide element. The image beam ML exiting the projection apparatus 100A is converged to a stop ST, and is transmitted to the waveguide element 110. In the embodiment, the stop ST is located outside the projection apparatus 100A. For example, it may be located at the light incident end 112 of the waveguide element 110. In other embodiments, the position of the stop ST may be between the projection apparatus and the waveguide element, or the position of the stop ST may be inside the waveguide element. The image beam L may have a minimum cross-section area at the location of the stop. For example, in the embodiment, the stop ST, for example, has a round shape, which is located on a plane formed by an X-axis and a Y-axis, and the size of the stop ST in an X-axis direction is the same as that in a Y-axis direction. In the embodiment, the shape and the size of the stop ST are only an example, which are not used for limiting the invention. In the embodiment, the image beam ML exits the projection apparatus 100A and is converged to the stop ST, and is diverged after passing through the stop ST. In the embodiment, along the transmission path of the light beam, the image device 130 is located between the illumination system 150A and the stop ST. Cheng does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the optical apparatus further comprises a second optical element, a first projection lens assembly, and an image source; wherein the light beams pass through the illumination module, and then enters the optical apparatus through the second optical element; wherein the second optical element comprises a reflective surface and the reflective surface can partially reflect and partially transmit, or fully reflect the incident light beams; and wherein the optical apparatus satisfies at least one of following conditions:
1.25 mm < A2OES 1/DLS2OES 1 < 50 mm;
2mm < DLS2OES1 < 20mm;
0.5% < VIM/VOA < 19%;
2 < (DLU2OES2+DISPL1)/TIM < 17;
wherein A2OES1 is an area of a first surface of the second optical element, DLS2OES1 is an interval from the light source to the first surface of the second optical element, VIM is a volume of the illumination module, VOA is a volume of the optical apparatus, DLU2OES2 is an interval from the light source to a second surface of the second optical element, DISPLI is an interval from an image source to a light exiting surface of the first projection lens assembly, and TIM is a minimum interval from a first side surface of the light source to a second side surface of an optical element wherein the optical element is closest to the second optical element.
Claims 13-17, 19-20 are allowed as being dependent on claim 12.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As of claim 2, the Applicant argues that “the first optical element comprises a plurality of optical units, and each optical unit connects each other so that the light beam can enter the optical units at the same time." The Examiner respectfully argues that KATO et al. (US 2020/0096850 A1; KATO) teaches each optical unit connects each other (lens 104 may be a lens group composed of a plurality of lenses) [0048] (lens group shown with fig 1 below) so that the light beam (the plurality of laser light sources 12) [0048] can enter the optical units at the same time; wherein the number of the optical unit (3 lenses as shown with fig 1 below) of the first optical element 104 [fig 1] is less than the number of the lighting unit 12 [fig 1] which renders Applicant’s arguments moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art TAKANO et al. (US 20220382137 A1) teaches a light-source optical system which includes a wavelength converter on which light of first color is incident, the wavelength converter converting at least a part of the light of first color into light of second color different from the light of first color, a first optical system disposed upstream from the wavelength converter on an optical path of the light of first color, the first optical system including optical elements, a reflection plane disposed downstream from the first optical system on the optical path, and a second optical system disposed downstream from the reflection plane on the optical path. The reflection plane reflects one of the light of first color and the light of second color, and a conditional expression “0<ΔL/D<0.2” is satisfied;
- Prior Art Lin et al. (US 20220373874 A1) teaches an illumination system including a first light source device, a supplementary light source device, a light guide device, a light splitting device, and a light converging element is provided. The first light source device provides a first light beam, a second light beam, a third light beam, and a first compensation light beam. The supplementary light source device provides at least one compensation light beam. The light guide device comprises a first reflecting element comprising a first portion and a second portion. The light splitting device comprises a first half reflecting element located between the first light source device and the light guide device on a transmission path of the second light beam.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882