Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “leading edge” and “trailing edge” in Claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “two adjacent arc-shaped plates” in Line 9. It shall be “the two adjacent arc-shaped plates”
Claim 2 recites “front end surface” in Ling 8 and “two adjacent arc-shaped plates” in Line 11. They shall be “the front end surface” and “the two adjacent arc-shaped plates”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are: Claim 1 recites the splicing end surface that are horizontally adjacent and vertically misaligned”. Since the drier is not a fixed position apparatus, the horizontal and vertical direction of the dryer varies. The Office considers that the “horizontal” direction is parallel to the central axis of the nozzle body and the “vertical” direction is perpendicular to the central axis of the nozzle body. Claim 1 shall be amended to accurately recite the structure. The Office considers that the horizontal direction is the axial direction and the vertical direction is the radial direction.
Claims 2-10 are rejected due to their virtual dependency to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2021/082806 to Zou.
In Reference to Claim 1
Zou discloses an air-suction nozzle for an electric hair drier, comprising a nozzle body Fig. 1, 100), wherein the nozzle body is a cylindrical structure provided with a ventilation cavity (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) one end of the nozzle body is provided with a closed end (Fig. 2, 22), and the other end thereof is provided with an air inlet (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) communicated with the ventilation cavity; the nozzle body is formed by splicing or integrally molding a plurality of arc-shaped plates (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) arranged around a central axis of the nozzle body, edges of two adjacent arc-shaped plates are spliced in a staggered manner (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) to form a splicing end surface, and the splicing end surface is divided into a superimposed surface (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) and a misaligned surface (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner); and at least one fluid outlet (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) is uniformly distributed (As showed in Fig. 2, air outlets are uniformly distributed along the length direction) on the misaligned surface, two adjacent arc-shaped plates form cambered surfaces at the splicing end surface that are horizontally adjacent and vertically misaligned, the vertically misaligned cambered surfaces (Fig. 2, annotated by the examiner) are not overlapped, and due to air flow, hair is automatically twined around the surface of the nozzle body (As showed in Fig. 2, air from the outlet will follow the curved surface).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou.
In Reference to Claims 6 and 7
Zou discloses the air nozzle.
Zou does not teach the ventilation cavity gradually shrinks and having an acute angle α is formed between each of the guide plates and an axis line of the ventilation cavity.
According to MPEP: the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the size and shape of the nozzle in order to maximize the efficiency of the nozzle.
In Reference to Claim 8
Zou discloses the arc-shaped lates are staggered together.
Zou does not teach the method of staggering.
According to MPEP: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process."
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 7/28/26