Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the penultimate paragraph, -- be – should be inserted after both instances of “configured to”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the EXACT structure allowing an expansion card to be inserted into the riser cable (claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
35 USC 112 Rejections
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The EXACT structure allowing an expansion card to be inserted into the riser cable (claim 1) is not disclosed.
35 USC 102 Rejections
Claim(s) 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen et al 8535077.
Regarding claim 14, Shen et al (front page) discloses a riser cable holder, configured to support a riser cable, the riser cable holder comprising: a main body 13, configured to support the riser cable; a first holder 3; and a second holder 5, wherein the first holder and the second holder are respectively connected to different positions of the main body, the first holder and the second holder are in asymmetric arrangement relative to the main body, and the first holder and the second holder are configured to be detachably engaged with the riser cable. Note that the riser cable is not positively recited and thus Shen et al is deemed to disclose the positively recited structure.
Regarding claim 15, Shen et al discloses the first holder includes a mount portion 32, an extension portion 3 and a holding portion 34, the mount portion and the holding portion are respectively connected to two opposite ends of the extension portion, the mount portion is pivotably disposed on the main body, and the holding portion is configured to be detachably engaged with the riser cable.
Regarding claim 16, Shen et al discloses the first holder 3 further comprises a pushing portion 33, the pushing portion and the holding portion 34 protrude from the extension portion 3 along a same direction, the pushing portion is spaced apart from the holding portion and is located closer to the mount portion than the holding portion, and the holding portion and the pushing portion are configured to respectively in contact with two opposite sides of the riser cable.
Regarding claim 17, Shen et al discloses the main body 13 has a first blocking portion and a second blocking portion (both unnumbered) spaced apart from each other, the first blocking portion and the second blocking portion respectively correspond to the extension portion 3 and the pushing portion 33 for limiting a pivotable range of the first holder.
Claims Defining Over Prior Art
Claims 1-13 are allowed.
Claims 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art discloses or teaches an expansion card, inserted into the riser cable; nor the extension portion has two second contact ribs located opposite to each other, and the two second contact ribs are configured to be respectively in contact with the two first contact ribs; nor a length that the second engagement block protrudes from the second connection arm is smaller than a length that the first engagement block protrudes from the first connection arm; nor the engagement component is configured to be disposed on the circuit board, and the engagement component is configured to be engaged with the engagement recess; in combination with the rest of the subject matter of the respective independent claim.
/GARY F PAUMEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834