DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention I, drawn to claims 1-22, in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground that examination of method claims 23-27 would not be burdensome. This is not found persuasive because the method steps as recited in claims 23-27 have acquired a separate patentability category, namely the method of assembling. As noted in the restriction requirement (mailed 2/20/2026), “[e]ach invention requires a unique and separate search including different search terms and different classification areas.”
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 12, and 14-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,210,810 A Darden et al. (herein “Darden”, cited on the IDS of 5/09/2024).
Darden discloses a fiber optic connector assembly (20) comprising:
a housing (housing 83) comprising a rear end and a front end (see annotated fig. 2) with a longitudinal passageway (dotted line 67) extending from the rear end to the front end, wherein the rear end extends from a wall (see annotated fig. 2);
a connector sleeve (annotated fig. 2) comprising a first end, a reduced diameter portion (at rings 132) at the first end, a rear wall (annotated fig. 2), and a second end extending from the rear wall (see bracket), wherein:
the first end of the connector sleeve is disposed over the rear end of the housing (83); and
the reduced diameter portion of the connector sleeve and the wall of the housing define a primary groove (annotated fig. 2); and
a boot (strain relief 30, bend limiter 31, and metallic insert 37) having an insertion end, wherein the boot is disposed over a portion of the second end of the connector sleeve such that the insertion end of the boot and the rear wall of the connector sleeve define a secondary groove (annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Darden discloses the assembly further comprising a ferrule assembly (80) comprising a ferrule holder (102), a ferrule (“plug 90”) disposed in the ferrule holder, and a ferrule spring (106), wherein the ferrule assembly is disposed within the longitudinal passageway at the front end of the housing.
Regarding claim 4, Darden discloses a cable adapter (52) comprising a front end having a fiber opening (where fiber 22 extends through), a strength member enclosure (28), and a rear end comprising two wings (tabs 58), wherein the cable adapter is disposed within the second end of the connector sleeve (shown in annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Darden discloses in Fig. 2, an optical cable (24) comprising a jacket (29), one or more strength members (KEVLAR yarn) within the jacket, and an optical fiber (22) within the jacket, wherein:
the one or more strength members terminate within the strength member enclosure (28); and
the optical fiber extends through the fiber opening (shown in Fig. 2) (col. 3, line 56 – col. 4, line3).
Regarding claim 12, Darden discloses a fiber optic connector assembly (20) comprising:
a housing (housing 83) comprising a rear end and a front end (see annotated fig. 2) with a longitudinal passageway (dotted line 67) extending from the rear end to the front end, wherein the rear end extends from a wall (see annotated fig. 2);
a connector sleeve (annotated fig. 2) comprising a first end, a reduced diameter portion (at rings 132) at the first end, a rear wall (annotated fig. 2), and a second end extending from the rear wall (see bracket), wherein:
the first end of the connector sleeve is disposed over the rear end of the housing (83); and
the reduced diameter portion of the connector sleeve and the wall of the housing define a primary groove (annotated fig. 2); and
the second end of the connector sleeve comprises an engagement groove (the valley or root of the thread is considered engagement groove)
a boot (strain relief 30, bend limiter 31, and metallic insert 37) having an insertion end and a barb (crest of the thread) at an interior surface of the insertion end, wherein the boot is disposed over a portion of the second end of the connector sleeve such that the insertion end of the boot and the rear wall of the connector sleeve define a secondary groove (annotated fig. 2) and the barb is disposed within the engagement groove (see engagement of element 48 and 46 in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Darden discloses the assembly further comprising a ferrule assembly (80) comprising a ferrule holder (102), a ferrule (“plug 90”) disposed in the ferrule holder, and a ferrule spring (106), wherein the ferrule assembly is disposed within the longitudinal passageway at the front end of the housing.
Regarding claim 15, Darden discloses a cable adapter (52) comprising a front end having a fiber opening (where fiber 22 extends through), a strength member enclosure (28), and a rear end comprising two wings (tabs 58), wherein the cable adapter is disposed within the second end of the connector sleeve (shown in annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Darden discloses in Fig. 2, an optical cable (24) comprising a jacket (29), one or more strength members (KEVLAR yarn) within the jacket, and an optical fiber (22) within the jacket, wherein:
the one or more strength members terminate within the strength member enclosure (28); and
the optical fiber extends through the fiber opening (shown in Fig. 2) (col. 3, line 56 – col. 4, line3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9-11, 13, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,210,810 A Darden et al. (herein “Darden”, cited on the IDS of 5/09/2024).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, Darden discloses the invention of claim 1 and claim 12, wherein the external body as annotated in fig. 2 above is referenced as coupling nut 150. However, Darden is silent to the material makeup of the coupling nut 150 is metal. However, using metal is well known and has known properties including strength and durability in harsh environments, and the use thereof would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. The benefits of using metal as the coupling nut (“connector sleeve”) include durability in harsh environments.
Regarding claims 9, 10, 20, and 21, Darden discloses a primary sealing member (O-ring 132) disposed near the first end of the sleeve and a secondary sealing member (tapered sealing member 33) disposed within the secondary groove (see annotated Fig. 2).
Darden is silent as to a sealing member in the primary groove. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention, to use sealing members throughout the connector assembly, anywhere needed, especially where, due to movement, an additional sealing element might be necessary. Darden is already using sealing elements and understands the benefits of providing an adequate seal.
Regarding claim 11, Darden discloses the secondary sealing member comprises a straight portion (wedge 35) and a tapered portion (33) extending from an end of the straight portion (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Darden discloses the secondary sealing member comprises a straight portion (wedge 35) and a tapered portion (33) extending from an end of the straight portion (see Fig. 2).
Claim(s) 6-8 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 5,210,810 A Darden et al. (herein “Darden”, cited on the IDS of 5/09/2024) in view of US 2020/0096705 A1 Rosson (herein “Rosson”, cited on the IDS of 5/09/2024).
Regarding claims 6 and 17 Darden is silent as to specifically using adhesive to connect the elements. However, Rosson discloses in Figs. 47-49, the housing further comprises a housing adhesive aperture (59A); the cable adapter further comprises an adapter adhesive aperture (59R); the housing adhesive aperture is aligned with the adapter adhesive aperture (shown in Figs. 48 and 48A); and an adhesive is disposed within the housing adhesive aperture, the adapter adhesive aperture, and the strength member enclosure (para [0156]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to use adhesive as taught by Rosson, or any other known securing means, to ensure all of the elements stay in place and are secure. Rosson teaches this allows for a secure and sealed fit.
Regarding claims 7 and 18 Rosson discloses in Figs. 47-49, a first adhesive annulus is between an outer surface of the rear end of the housing and an inner surface of the connector sleeve; a second adhesive annulus is between an outer surface of the front end of the cable adapter and an inner surface of the rear end of the housing; and the adhesive is disposed within the first adhesive annulus and the second adhesive annulus (para [0156], wherein “cable adapter 59 comprises passageway 59P from a cable adapter front end 59F to a cable adapter rear end 59R”, thus the annulus extends through and is on both sides). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to use adhesive structure as taught by Rosson, or any other known securing means, to ensure all of the elements stay in place and are secure. Rosson teaches this allows for a secure and sealed fit.
Regarding claim 8, Darden discloses a boot (strain relief 30, bend limiter 31, and metallic insert 37) having an insertion end and a barb (crest of the thread) at an interior surface of the insertion end, wherein the boot is disposed over a portion of the second end of the connector sleeve such that the insertion end of the boot and the rear wall of the connector sleeve define a secondary groove (annotated fig. 2) and the barb is disposed within the engagement groove (see engagement of element 48 and 46 in fig. 2).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Darden is silent as to, but Rosson discloses in Figs. 4A-E, the second end of the connector sleeve comprises an engagement groove (22); the fiber optic connector assembly further comprises a heat shrink member (99) disposed over the optical cable and a portion of the second end of the connector sleeve up to the engagement groove (para [0015). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to use a heat shrink tube as taught by Rosson, or any other known securing means, to ensure all of the elements stay in place and are secure. Rosson teaches this allows for a secure and sealed fit.
Conclusion
/MARY A EL-SHAMMAA/ Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874