DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant states that Bonne does not teach odorous gas particles because Bonne only teaches a flow of fluid 30 in paragraph [0028]. MPEP 2141.02 states “Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole”. Bonne describes in paragraphs [0043] the sensor system 20 of Figure 1, where the analyte concentration is generated while sample gas or analyte 30 is flowing. Furthermore, paragraphs [0041 and 0051-0052] further states that the detector 19 of sensor 10 is an electrochemical sensor and that the electrochemical sensor signal output is due to the flow of ammonia, which is known in the art to be an odorous gas. Therefore, Bonne does teach that the fluid flow is that of ammonia gas, which is an odorous gas that gas particles/analytes. For such reason, the 103 rejection of claim 1 is deemed proper.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant states that the prior art of Lee merely discloses a processor that controls a cooler 24c to cool a heater absorbent 24a, and that Lee does not teach a gas trap and that is also silent to controlling the cooler 24c to cool such gas trap. The applicant also states that Lee is directed to storage appliances rather than gas sensing systems. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In the instant case, Bonne teaches using an absorber along with using cooling methods to absorb the analyte in paragraphs [0026 and 0030]; thus, having the absorber and the cooling structure as the gas trap. Lee teaches a cooler 24c for cooling the absorbent 24a after being heated in paragraphs [0077-0079]. Also, paragraphs [0077-0079] explains the steps of heating and cooling the absorbent 24a, i.e. gas trap, in order to inject or pass the concentrated gas to the gas sensor of sensor device 27, See Figure 5. Therefore, the combination of Bonne and Lee is proper for rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the Applicant states that Bonne does not teach odorous gas particles having a low concentration below a certain level to flow because Bonne only teaches a flow of fluid 30 in paragraph [0028]. MPEP 2141.02 states “Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole”. Bonne describes in paragraph [0043] that the sensor system 20 of Figure 1, where the analyte concentration is generated while sample gas or analyte 30 is flowing and paragraphs [0041 and 0051-0052] further states that the detector 19 of sensor 10 is an electrochemical sensor and that the electrochemical sensor signal output is due to the flow of ammonia, which is known in the art to be an odorous gas. In addition, paragraphs [0028 and 0030-0031] states that the PC 11 is used to accumulate gas analytes before injecting said analytes 30 to sensor 10, where the gas that is injected to sensor 10 is considered a gas with high concentration, i.e. gas with a concentration at a desired certain level. Therefore, the gas that is supplied to the inlet of the prechamber, which is prior to said analyte concentration, is then considered “a gas having a low concentration below a certain level”. Therefore, Bonne does teach that the fluid flow is that of ammonia gas, which is an odorous gas that gas particles/analytes, and that the gas is considered “a gas having a low concentration below a certain level”. For such reason, the rejection of claim 11 is deemed proper.
Regarding claim 11, the Applicants states that Bonne is silent on whether the adsorber 14 of the modulator 11 may collect odorous gas particles and silent on whether the sample analyte 30 may be the odorous gas particles. MPEP 2141.02 states “Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue requires interpreting the claim language, and considering both the invention and the prior art references as a whole”. Bonne describes in paragraph [0043] that the sensor system 20 of Figure 1, where the analyte concentration is generated while sample gas or analyte 30 is flowing and paragraphs [0041 and 0051-0052] further states that the detector 19 of sensor 10 is an electrochemical sensor and that the electrochemical sensor signal output is due to the flow of ammonia, which is known in the art to be an odorous gas. Also, paragraph [0026] states that the adsorber 14 absorbs analytes 30, where the analytes 30 are from a gas such as ammonia, as stated above. Therefore, adsorber 14 of the modulator 11 may collect analyte from ammonia gas, i.e. odorous gas particles, and the sample analyte 30 pertains to the analytes of the ammonia gas, i.e. odorous gas particles. For such reason, the rejection of claim 11 is deemed proper.
Regarding newly added independent claim 21, the Applicant states that none of the prior art made of record teaches the limitation of "wherein the inlet comprises a plurality of inlets, and a total cross- sectional area of the plurality of inlets is formed to be larger than a cross-sectional area of the flow pipe, such that a low-concentration odorous gas below a predetermined level is concentrated into a high-concentration odorous gas above the predetermined level and then supplied to the odor sensor SO as to be sensed by the odor sensor". MPEP 2111 states “During patent examination, the pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification”. As seen in the 103 rejection of claim 21 below, by implementing the plurality of inlets of Liu into Bonne and Lee’s apparatus, the resulting structural configuration will permit that a low-concentration odorous gas below a predetermined level is concentrated into a high-concentration odorous gas above the predetermined level and then supplied to the odor sensor so as to be sensed by the odor sensor; thus, meeting the claim limitation of claim 21. Therefore, the 103 rejection of claim 21 is deemed proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonne et al. (US 2008/0163674; hereinafter “Bonne”; cited in the IDS filed on 07/11/2024; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 11, Bonne teaches an odor measurement method ([0022-0032]), comprising:
allowing an odorous gas (30; Figure 1) having a low concentration below a certain level to flow through a flow pipe (pipe that accommodates element 14; Figure 1) connecting an inlet (inlet of prechamber 11; See Figure 1) of a prechamber (11) to an outlet of the prechamber (outlet of prechamber 11; Figure 1);
collecting ([0023, 0026, 0028]), by a gas trap (14; Figure 1; [0026, 0028, 0030]) mounted on the flow pipe (See Figure 1), odorous gas particles for a predetermined time ([0023, 0026, 0028]);
desorbing the odorous gas particles ([0032]) collected in the gas trap after a predetermined time ([0032]);
supplying the odorous gas particles (30) desorbed from the gas trap (14) into an odor sensor chamber (10) having an odor sensor (19) installed therein ([0031-0032]); and
sensing, by the odor sensor (19), the odorous gas introduced into the odor sensor chamber ([0028 and 0030-0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Bonne teaches driving a first heater (13; Figure 1) under control of a controller (the heater 13 is connected to electronics 36 and the heater 13 is controlled to by energized and turned off; therefore, electronics 36 must control the activation and deactivation of heater 13; [0031-0032]) so as to allow the odorous gas particles to be desorbed from the gas trap (14; [0028 and 0030-0032]) through heating of the gas trap ([0028 and 0030-0032]) when desorbing the odorous gas particles collected in the gas trap after the predetermined time ([0028 and 0030-0032]).
Regarding claim 16, wherein collecting, by the gas trap (14) mounted on the flow pipe (See Figure 1), the odorous gas particles (30) for the predetermined time is repeatedly performed when a concentration of the odorous gas sensed by the odor sensor is below a certain level (the collection of the particles in the gas trap 14 is repeated throughout time due to small concentration, as demonstrated in Figure 2; [0031-0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonne et al. (US 2008/0163674; hereinafter “Bonne”; previously relied upon by the Examiner) in view of Lee et al. (US 2020/0333310; hereinafter “Lee”; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Bonne teaches an odor measurement apparatus (20; Figure 1), comprising:
a prechamber (11; Figure 1; [0022-0023]) comprising:
an inlet (inlet of prechamber 11; See Figure 1) disposed at a first side of the prechamber (left side of prechamber 11) and configured to allow an odorous gas (30) to be introduced into the prechamber (See Figure 1; [0022 and 0027-0028]); and
an outlet (outlet of prechamber 11; Figure 1) disposed at a second side of the prechamber (right side of prechamber 11) and configured to allow the odorous gas (30) to be discharged from the prechamber (See Figure 1; [0022 and 0027-0028]);
a flow pipe (pipe that accommodates element 14; Figure 1) configured to connect the inlet to the outlet (See Figure 1);
a gas trap (14; Figure 1; [0026, 0028, 0030]) mounted on the flow pipe (See Figure 1) and configured to collect odorous gas particles ([0023, 0026, 0028]);
a first heater (13; Figure 1; [0028, 0031]) mounted on the prechamber (11) and configured to heat the gas trap ([0032]);
an odor sensor chamber (10; Figure 1) connected to the outlet of the prechamber through a connection pipe (the chamber 10 is connected to chamber 11 through a connection pipe; See Figure 1);
an odor sensor (19; Figure 1; [0028]) mounted in the odor sensor chamber (10; See Figure 1) and configured to sense the odorous gas desorbed from the gas trap ([0022, 0028-0029]); and
a controller configured to perform operating control of the first heater (the heater 13 is connected to electronics 36 and the heater 13 is controlled to by energized and turned off; therefore, electronics 36 must control the activation and deactivation of heater 13; [0031-0032]).
Bonne teaches the controller and the prechamber but does not expressly teach
a first cooler mounted on the prechamber and configured to cool the gas trap and the controller configured to perform operating control the first cooler.
However, Lee teaches that is known in the art to have a cooler (24c; Figure 2) mounted on the prechamber (chamber where elements 24a-24c are located/placed; See Figure 2) and the controller ([0062]) configured to perform operating control of the cooler (24c; [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Lee’s cooler implemented in Bonne’s prechamber in order to cool the absorbent (See Lee [0050, 0062, 0072]).
Claims 3 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonne and Lee in further view of Liu et al. (CN 114878259; hereinafter “Liu”; English translation provided by the Examiner; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bonne and Lee teaches the prechamber but does not expressly teach wherein the prechamber further comprises at least three inlets formed therein and configured to allow the odorous gas having a low concentration below a certain level to be smoothly introduced into the prechamber.
However, Liu teaches that is known for gas sampling devices (Figure 1) to have a chamber (where the 3 inlets are placed; See Figure 1) to have at least three inlets (1-3; Figure 1) formed therein and configured to allow the odorous gas to be introduced into the prechamber (gas is permitted to enter the chamber through the 3 inlets 1-3; See Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Liu’s three inlets implemented on Bonne and Lee’s prechamber in order to control the amount of gas odor being introduced into the prechamber.
Note: by implementing the three inlets of Liu into Bonne’s prechamber, the resulting structural configuration will permit a gas having a low concentration below a certain level to be smoothly introduced into the prechamber; thus, meeting the claim limitation of claim 3.
Regarding claim 21, Bonne teaches an odor measurement apparatus (20; Figure 1), comprising:
a prechamber (11; Figure 1; [0022-0023]) comprising:
an inlet (inlet of prechamber 11; See Figure 1) disposed at a first side of the prechamber (left side of prechamber 11) and configured to allow an odorous gas (30; Figure 1; [0042-0043, 0051]) to be introduced into the prechamber (See Figure 1; [0022 and 0027-0028]); and
an outlet (outlet of prechamber 11; Figure 1) disposed at a second side of the prechamber (right side of prechamber 11) and configured to allow the odorous gas (30) to be discharged from the prechamber (See Figure 1; [0022 and 0027-0028]);
a flow pipe (pipe that accommodates element 14; Figure 1) configured to connect the inlet to the outlet (See Figure 1);
a gas trap (14; Figure 1; [0026, 0028, 0030]) mounted on the flow pipe (See Figure 1) and configured to collect odorous gas particles ([0023, 0026, 0028]);
a first heater (13; Figure 1; [0028, 0031]) mounted on the prechamber (11) and configured to heat the gas trap ([0032]);
an odor sensor chamber (10; Figure 1) connected to the outlet of the prechamber through a connection pipe (the chamber 10 is connected to chamber 11 through a connection pipe; See Figure 1);
an odor sensor (19; Figure 1; [0028, 0041, 0051-0052]) mounted in the odor sensor chamber (10; See Figure 1) and configured to sense the odorous gas desorbed from the gas trap ([0022, 0028-0029]); and
a controller configured to perform operating control of the first heater (the heater 13 is connected to electronics 36 and the heater 13 is controlled to by energized and turned off; therefore, electronics 36 must control the activation and deactivation of heater 13; [0031-0032]).
Bonne teaches the inlet, the flow pipe, the odor sensor, the controller and the prechamber but does not expressly teach a first cooler mounted on the prechamber and configured to cool the gas trap, the controller configured to perform operating control the first cooler; wherein the inlet comprises a plurality of inlets, and a total cross-sectional area of the plurality of inlets is formed to be larger than a cross-sectional area of the flow pipe, such that a low-concentration odorous gas below a predetermined level is concentrated into a high-concentration odorous gas above the predetermined level and then supplied to the odor sensor so as to be sensed by the odor sensor.
However, Lee teaches that is known in the art to have a cooler (24c; Figure 2) mounted on the prechamber (chamber where elements 24a-24c are located/placed; See Figure 2) and the controller ([0062]) configured to perform operating control of the cooler (24c; [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Lee’s cooler implemented in Bonne’s prechamber in order to cool the absorbent (See Lee [0050, 0062, 0072]).
The combination of Bonne and Lee teach the inlet, the flow pipe and the odor sensor but does not expressly teach wherein the inlet comprises a plurality of inlets, and a total cross-sectional area of the plurality of inlets is formed to be larger than a cross-sectional area of the flow pipe, such that a low-concentration odorous gas below a predetermined level is concentrated into a high-concentration odorous gas above the predetermined level and then supplied to the odor sensor so as to be sensed by the odor sensor.
However, Liu teaches that is known for gas sampling devices (Figure 1) to have a plurality of inlets (1-3; Figure 1) and a total cross-sectional area of the plurality of inlets (1-3; Figure 1) is formed to be larger than a cross-sectional area of the flow pipe (See annotated Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Liu’s plurliaty of inlets and associated structure to be implemented on Bonne and Lee’s apparatus in order to control the amount of gas odor being introduced into the prechamber.
Note: by implementing the plurality of inlets of Liu into Bonne and Lee’s apparatus, the resulting structural configuration will permit that a low-concentration odorous gas below a predetermined level is concentrated into a high-concentration odorous gas above the predetermined level and then supplied to the odor sensor so as to be sensed by the odor sensor; thus, meeting the claim limitation of claim 21.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonne and Lee in further view of Bonne (US 2005/0142662; hereinafter “Bonne 2”; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 4, Bonne teaches a discharge pipe (pipe connected to the outlet/discharge of the odor sensor chamber 10; Figure 1) of the odor sensor chamber (10) is connected to a suction pump (12; [0022, 0031]; Figure 1).
The combination of Bonne and Lee teaches the suction pump but does not expressly teach the suction pump driven under control of the controller.
However, Bonne 2 teaches that is known in the art to have a suction pump (53; Figure 2) driven under control of a controller (130; Figure 1; [0052-0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention top have Bonne 2’s controlling of the suction pump implemented on Bonne and Lee’s suction pump and associated controller in order to operate the pump an in a manner that reduces power consumption of the suction pump while still being able to sample gas, thus increasing overall efficiency of the system/apparatus (See Bonne 2 [0052-0053]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonne and Lee in further view of Britt et al. (US 2019/0072523; hereinafter “Britt”; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 5, Bonne and Lee and teaches the odor sensor chamber but does not expressly teach a second heater and a second cooler mounted on the odor sensor chamber, and wherein the second heater is configured to heat the odor sensor under control of the controller, and the second cooler is configured to cool the odor sensor under the control of the controller.
However, Britt teaches a second heater and a second cooler ([0029-0030]) mounted on the odor sensor (10 and 12; Figure 1), and wherein the second heater ([0029-0030]) is configured to heat the odor sensor under control of the controller (18 and 20; Figure 1; [0029-0030]), and the second cooler ([0029-0030]) is configured to cool the odor sensor under the control of the controller (18 and 20; Figure 1; [0029-0030]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Britt’s second heat and second cooler along with the associated function implemented to Bonne and Lee’s odor sensor in order to control the temperature of the odor sensor to a desired operating temperature in order to reach a transition temperature of the sensor (See Britt [0029-0030]).
Note: By implementing Britt’s second heater and a second cooler to the gas sensor of Bonne, the resulting structural configuration will have the second heater and the second cooler mounted on the odor sensor chamber.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonne and Lee in further view of Finlay et al. (US 2009/0090197; hereinafter “Finlay”; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bonne and Lee teaches the gas trap but does not expressly teach the gas trap comprises a case and a porous body, and wherein the case is open at opposite sides of the case, and the porous body is installed in the case so as to adsorb the odorous gas particles.
However, Finaly teaches the gas trap (1005a; Figures 10a-10b) comprises a case (Figure 10A) and a porous body ([0005, 0070]), and wherein the case is open at opposite sides of the case (See Figures 10a-10b), and the porous body ([0005, 0070]) is installed in the case so as to adsorb the odorous gas particles ([0005, 0070]; Figures 10a-10b).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Finaly’s case and porous body implemented as Bonne and Lee’s gas trap in order to protect the porous material from external forces that might damage said porous material.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonne in view of Lee.
Regarding claim 12, Bonne teaches allowing the odorous gas particles (30) to be adsorbed on the gas trap (14; [0026]) through cooling of the gas trap (adsorption of the gas particles 30 on the gas trap 30 is done at a temperature lower than the temperature of the desorption of the gas trap 14, i.e. adsorption through cooling; [0024, 0026]) when collecting the odorous gas particles for the predetermined time ([0024, 0026]).
Bonne teaches cooling of the gas trap but does not teach driving a first cooler under control of a controller.
However, Lee teaches that is known in the art to drive a first cooler (24c; Figure 2) under control of a controller ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Lee’s cooler and associated controller implemented in Bonne’s system in order to cool the absorbent in an automated manner which does not involve human interaction (See Lee [0050, 0062, 0072]).
Claims 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Bonne and Lee in further view of Britt.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bonne and Lee teaches the odor sensor within the odor sensor chamber and the odorous gas introduced into the odor sensor chamber but does not expressly teach driving, under control of a controller, a second cooler mounted on the odor sensor chamber so as to allow the odorous gas particles to be adsorbed on a surface of the odor sensor through cooling of the odor sensor when sensing the odorous gas.
However, Britt teaches driving, under control of a controller (18 and 20; Figure 1; [0029-0030]), a second cooler ([0029-0030]) mounted on the odor sensor (10 and 12; Figure 1) so as to allow the odorous gas particles to be adsorbed on a surface of the odor sensor through cooling of the odor sensor when sensing the odorous gas (lowering the temperature of the sensing material of the sensor will permit more analytes to adsorb to said sensing film; [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Britt’s second along with the associated controller implemented to Bonne and Lee’s odor sensor in order to control the temperature of the odor sensor to a desired operating temperature in order to reach a transition temperature of the sensor (See Britt [0029-0030]).
Note: By implementing Britt’s second cooler to the gas sensor of Bonne, the resulting structural configuration will have the second cooler mounted on the odor sensor chamber.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bonne and Lee teaches the odor sensor within the odor sensor chamber and the odorous gas introduced into the odor sensor chamber but does not expressly teach driving, under control of a controller, a second heater mounted on the odor sensor chamber so as to allow the odorous gas particles to be desorbed from a surface of the odor sensor through heating of the odor sensor after sensing the odorous gas.
However, Britt teaches driving, under control of a controller (18 and 20; Figure 1; [0029-0030]), a second heater ([0029-0030]) mounted on the odor sensor (10 and 12; Figure 1) so as to allow the odorous gas particles to be desorbed from a surface of the odor sensor through heating of the odor sensor after sensing the odorous gas (increasing the temperature of the sensing material of the sensor will permit more analytes to desorb from said sensing film; [0006]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Britt’s second heater along with the associated controller implemented to Bonne and Lee’s odor sensor in order to control the temperature of the odor sensor to a desired operating temperature in order to reach a transition temperature of the sensor (See Britt [0029-0030]).
Note: By implementing Britt’s second heater to the gas sensor of Bonne, the resulting structural configuration will have the second heater mounted on the odor sensor chamber.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonne in view of Lee in further view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0236093; hereinafter “Zhang”; previously relied upon by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 18, Bonne teaches an odor measurement apparatus (20; Figure 1), comprising:
a prechamber (11; Figure 1; [0022-0023]) comprising:
an inlet (inlet of prechamber 11; See Figure 1) disposed at a first side of the prechamber (left side of prechamber 11) and configured to allow an odorous gas (30) to be introduced into the prechamber (See Figure 1; [0022 and 0027-0028]); and
an outlet (outlet of prechamber 11; Figure 1) disposed at a second side of the prechamber (right side of prechamber 11) and configured to allow the odorous gas (30) to be discharged from the prechamber (See Figure 1; [0022 and 0027-0028]);
a flow pipe (pipe that accommodates element 14; Figure 1) configured to connect the inlet to the outlet (See Figure 1);
a gas trap (14; Figure 1; [0026, 0028, 0030]) mounted on the flow pipe (See Figure 1) and configured to collect odorous gas particles ([0023, 0026, 0028]);
a first heater (13; Figure 1; [0028, 0031]) mounted on the prechamber (11) and configured to heat the gas trap ([0032]);
an odor sensor chamber (10; Figure 1) connected to the outlet of the prechamber through a connection pipe (the chamber 10 is connected to chamber 11 through a connection pipe; See Figure 1);
an odor sensor (19; Figure 1; [0028]) mounted in the odor sensor chamber (10; See Figure 1) and configured to sense the odorous gas desorbed from the gas trap ([0022, 0028-0029]); and
a controller configured to perform operating control of the first heater (the heater 13 is connected to electronics 36 and the heater 13 is controlled to by energized and turned off; therefore, electronics 36 must control the activation and deactivation of heater 13; [0031-0032]).
Bonne teaches the odor measurement apparatus having the controller and the prechamber but does not expressly teach
a first cooler mounted on the prechamber and configured to cool the gas trap and the controller configured to perform operating control the first cooler and a vehicle comprising an odor measurement apparatus.
However, Lee teaches that is known in the art to have a cooler (24c; Figure 2) mounted on the prechamber (chamber where elements 24a-24c are located/placed; See Figure 2) and the controller ([0062]) configured to perform operating control of the cooler (24c; [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Lee’s cooler implemented in Bonne’s prechamber in order to cool the absorbent (See Lee [0050, 0062, 0072]).
The combination of Bonne and Lee teach the odor measurement apparatus but does not expressly teach a vehicle comprising an odor measurement apparatus.
However, Zhang teaches that is known in the art to have a vehicle (2; Figure 1; [0061-0065, 0132]) comprising an odor measurement apparatus (11; Figure 1; [0061-0065, 0132]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Bonne and Lee’s odor measurement device implemented on a vehicle, as taught by Zhang, in order to obtain an odor measurement system that is transportable and permits odor measurement at different inspecting sites (See Zhang [0133-0134]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In claim 2, the specific limitations of "a bypass pipe comprising: a first end connected to the connection pipe; and a second end connected to a discharge pipe of the odor sensor chamber; a first three-way valve mounted at a connection point between the connection pipe and the first end of the bypass pipe and controlled by the controller; and a second three-way valve mounted at a connection point between the discharge pipe and the second end of the bypass pipe and controlled by the controller" in combination with the remaining limitations as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 17, the specific limitations of "bypassing the odorous gas through a bypass pipe when the concentration of the odorous gas sensed by the odor sensor is below the certain level, and wherein the bypass pipe connects a connection pipe connected to the outlet of the prechamber and to a discharge pipe of the odor sensor chamber" in combination with the remaining limitations as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTHONY W MEGNA FUENTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/DANIEL S LARKIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855