Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1 and 2) as being anticipated by MIKAMI (US 20220006082).
Regarding claim 1, Mikami teaches, a positive electrode active material having a layered rock salt structure (the layered rock-salt crystal structure included in the positive electrode active material, 0144). Wherein the layered rock salt structure includes as constituting elements: at least one transition metal element of Ni, Co and Mn; Mg; Li; and O (embodiment of the present invention is a positive electrode active material containing lithium, cobalt, and oxygen…embodiment of the present invention further contains magnesium, 0087). The Mg content in the positive electrode active material is 0.1 mass % or more and 5.0 mass % or less (concentration of magnesium with respect to cobalt atoms in the positive electrode active material is preferably higher than or equal to 0.1 atomic % and lower than or equal to 6.0 atomic %, 0088); mass % of Mg in the positive electrode active material of prior art was calculated to be 1.42% based on atomic % described (see amounts of components in paragraph 0443). The layered rock salt structure has c-axis length of 13.46 Å or more and 14.20 Å or less (in the positive electrode active material of the present invention it is preferable that the lattice constant of the c-axis be greater than or equal to 14.045×10.sup.−1° m (14.045 Å) and less than or equal to 14.065×10.sup.−10 m (14.065 Å), 0091).
Regarding claim 2, Mikami teaches, a method of manufacturing a positive electrode active material, the method comprising: obtaining a first mixture including at least one transition-metal element of Ni, Co and Mn and Li, and free of Mg, firing the first mixture, (in the section, manufacturing method of positive electrode active material, FIG. 8 is described to have a mixture of Li and a transitional metal undergoing a first heat treatment or baking, 0167-0181). To obtain a precursor having a layered rock salt structure, (the composite oxide containing lithium and the transition metal in Step S25 preferably has a layered rock-salt crystal structure, 0189). Mikami teaches that Cobalt is favorably used as the transition metal (0178). Mixing the precursor with a Mg source to obtain a second mixture (in Step S31, the first mixture obtained in Step S14 and the composite oxide containing lithium and the transition metal obtained in Step S25 are mixed, 0190 and FIG. 9). Firing the second mixture to obtain a positive electrode active material having a layered rock salt structure and containing 0.1 mass% or more and 5.0 mass% or less of Mg (in Step S34, heat treatment is performed on the second mixture, 0196 and FIG.9). As previously noted Mikami teaches forming a material comprising 1.42% mass Mg (0443).
Regarding claim 3, Mikami teaches forming a secondary battery with a positive electrode and a negative electrode (0022). Such positive electrode has the claimed composition as noted above for the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS EDENILSON VENTURA HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745