DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/19/2023 and 02/18/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0056419 in view of CN115000647A to Ding et al.
With respect to claim 1, Hagiyama et al. teach a battery cell, comprising: an electrode assembly 21 and a housing 29 for accommodating the electrode assembly; the electrode assembly 21 comprising a positive electrode plate 11 and 13, a negative electrode plate 12 and 15 and a separator 16 stacked together along a stacking direction; the separator 16 being provided between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate; wherein the positive electrode plate comprises at least one first positive electrode plate 13, at least one second positive electrode plate 13, a first positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from an edge of each first positive electrode plate, and a second positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from an edge of each second positive electrode plate; the each first positive electrode plate comprising a first positive electrode current collector 11 and a first positive electrode active material layer 13 provided on the first positive electrode current collector 11; the each second positive electrode plate comprising a second positive electrode current collector 11 and a second positive electrode active material layer 13 provided on the second positive electrode current collector 11, the second positive electrode current collector 11 being made of aluminum (a metal material) (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach the first positive electrode current collector comprising a polymer layer and a conductive layer, the conductive layer being provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the polymer layer in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly.
However, Ding et al. teach a lithium ion battery comprising a composite base foil (the first positive electrode current collector) comprising a ductile insulating layer (a polymer layer) and a conductive layer, the conductive layer being provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the polymer layer in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly (Ding et al.: Page 4, Paragraphs 2-3).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hagiyama et al. with the teaching above from Ding et al. with the motivation of having a means such it improve the ductility of the current collector.
With respect to claim 2, Hagiyama et al. teach the battery cell, wherein, along the stacking direction, an electrode plate on one of outermost sides of the electrode assembly is the first positive electrode plate (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 3, Hagiyama et al. teach the battery cell, wherein, along the stacking direction, electrode plates on both of the outermost sides of the electrode assembly are the first positive electrode plates (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 4, Hagiyama et al. teach the battery cell, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first conducting plate 25: the first positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from the edge of the each first positive electrode plate and the second positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from the edge of the each second positive electrode plate converge to connect at a first welding portion: a first end of the first conducting plate 25 is connected to the first welding portion, and a second end of the first conducting plate 25 extends out of the housing 29 (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 5, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach, but Ding et al. teach the battery cell, wherein the polymer layer comprises polyamide (Ding et al.: Page 3, Paragraph 1).
With respect to claim 6, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach, but Ding et al. teach the battery cell, wherein, the conductive layer is a vapor deposition layer; the material of the conductive layer comprises aluminum; the material of the second positive electrode current collector comprises consisting of aluminum (Ding et al.: Page 5, Paragraph 2-3).
Hagiyama et al. in view of Ding et al. do not teach the material of the conductive layer comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of copper, copper alloy, nickel, nickel alloy, titanium, titanium alloy, silver and silver alloy.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the material of the conductive layer comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of copper, copper alloy, nickel, nickel alloy, titanium, titanium alloy, silver and silver alloy, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to claim 9, Hagiyama et al. teach a battery, comprising a battery cell; the battery cell, comprising: an electrode assembly 21 and a housing 29 for accommodating the electrode assembly; the electrode assembly 21 comprising a positive electrode plate 11 and 13, a negative electrode plate 12 and 15 and a separator 16 stacked together along a stacking direction; the separator 16 being provided between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate; wherein the positive electrode plate comprises at least one first positive electrode plate 13, at least one second positive electrode plate 13, a first positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from an edge of each first positive electrode plate, and a second positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from an edge of each second positive electrode plate; the each first positive electrode plate comprising a first positive electrode current collector 11 and a first positive electrode active material layer 13 provided on the first positive electrode current collector 11; the each second positive electrode plate comprising a second positive electrode current collector 11 and a second positive electrode active material layer 13 provided on the second positive electrode current collector 11, the second positive electrode current collector 11 being made of aluminum (a metal material) (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach the first positive electrode current collector comprising a polymer layer and a conductive layer, the conductive layer being provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the polymer layer in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly.
However, Ding et al. teach a lithium ion battery comprising a composite base foil (the first positive electrode current collector) comprising a ductile insulating layer (a polymer layer) and a conductive layer, the conductive layer being provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the polymer layer in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly (Ding et al.: Page 4, Paragraphs 2-3).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hagiyama et al. with the teaching above from Ding et al. with the motivation of having a means such it improves the ductility of the current collector.
With respect to claim 10, Hagiyama et al. teach the battery, wherein, along the stacking direction, an electrode plate on one of outermost sides of the electrode assembly is the first positive electrode plate (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 11, Hagiyama et al. teach the battery, wherein, along the stacking direction, electrode plates on both of the outermost sides of the electrode assembly are the first positive electrode plates (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 12, Hagiyama et al. teach the battery, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first conducting plate 25: the first positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from the edge of the each first positive electrode plate and the second positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from the edge of the each second positive electrode plate converge to connect at a first welding portion: a first end of the first conducting plate 25 is connected to the first welding portion, and a second end of the first conducting plate 25 extends out of the housing 29 (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 13, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach, but Ding et al. teach the battery, wherein the polymer layer comprises polyamide (Ding et al.: Page 3, Paragraph 1).
With respect to claim 14, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach, but Ding et al. teach the battery, wherein, the conductive layer is a vapor deposition layer; the material of the conductive layer comprises aluminum; the material of the second positive electrode current collector comprises consisting of aluminum (Ding et al.: Page 5, Paragraph 2-3).
Hagiyama et al. in view of Ding et al. do not teach the material of the conductive layer comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of copper, copper alloy, nickel, nickel alloy, titanium, titanium alloy, silver and silver alloy.
However, it would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have the material of the conductive layer comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of copper, copper alloy, nickel, nickel alloy, titanium, titanium alloy, silver and silver alloy, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to claim 17, Hagiyama et al. teach an electrical device, comprising a battery and a load, the battery being used for supplying power to the load: the battery comprising a battery cell; the battery cell, comprising: an electrode assembly 21 and a housing 29 for accommodating the electrode assembly; the electrode assembly 21 comprising a positive electrode plate 11 and 13, a negative electrode plate 12 and 15 and a separator 16 stacked together along a stacking direction; the separator 16 being provided between the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate; wherein the positive electrode plate comprises at least one first positive electrode plate 13, at least one second positive electrode plate 13, a first positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from an edge of each first positive electrode plate, and a second positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from an edge of each second positive electrode plate; the each first positive electrode plate comprising a first positive electrode current collector 11 and a first positive electrode active material layer 13 provided on the first positive electrode current collector 11; the each second positive electrode plate comprising a second positive electrode current collector 11 and a second positive electrode active material layer 13 provided on the second positive electrode current collector 11, the second positive electrode current collector 11 being made of aluminum (a metal material) (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach the first positive electrode current collector comprising a polymer layer and a conductive layer, the conductive layer being provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the polymer layer in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly.
However, Ding et al. teach a lithium ion battery comprising a composite base foil (the first positive electrode current collector) comprising a ductile insulating layer (a polymer layer) and a conductive layer, the conductive layer being provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the polymer layer in a thickness direction of the electrode assembly (Ding et al.: Page 4, Paragraphs 2-3).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hagiyama et al. with the teaching above from Ding et al. with the motivation of having a means such it improves the ductility of the current collector.
With respect to claim 18, Hagiyama et al. teach the electrical device, wherein, along the stacking direction, an electrode plate on one of outermost sides of the electrode assembly is the first positive electrode plate (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 19, Hagiyama et al. teach the electrical device, wherein, along the stacking direction, electrode plates on both of the outermost sides of the electrode assembly are the first positive electrode plates (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 20, Hagiyama et al. teach the electrical device, wherein the electrode assembly comprises a first conducting plate 25: the first positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from the edge of the each first positive electrode plate and the second positive electrode tab 11 extending outwards from the edge of the each second positive electrode plate converge to connect at a first welding portion: a first end of the first conducting plate 25 is connected to the first welding portion, and a second end of the first conducting plate 25 extends out of the housing 29 (Hagiyama et al.: Sections [0021] and [0086]; Fig. 1).
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0056419 in view of CN115000647A to Ding et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication 2023/0136476 to Takamatsu.
With respect to claim 7, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach the battery cell, wherein, the first positive electrode current collector further comprises a protective layer, and the protective layer is provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the conductive layer in the thickness direction of the electrode assembly; the protective layer is formed of an inorganic filler, and the inorganic filler comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide, boehmite, titanium dioxide, zirconium oxide, silicon dioxide and lithium iron phosphate.
However, Takamatsu teaches a battery cell, wherein, the first positive electrode current collector 22t further comprises a protective layer 22p, and the protective layer 22p is provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the conductive layer of Ding et al. in the thickness direction of the electrode assembly; the protective layer 22p is formed of an inorganic filler, and the inorganic filler comprises alumina (aluminum oxide) (Takamatsu: Section [0046]; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hagiyama et al. with the teaching above from Takamatsu with the motivation of having a means such it improves the safety of the battery.
With respect to claim 15, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach the battery, wherein, the first positive electrode current collector further comprises a protective layer, and the protective layer is provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the conductive layer in the thickness direction of the electrode assembly; the protective layer is formed of an inorganic filler, and the inorganic filler comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of aluminum oxide, boehmite, titanium dioxide, zirconium oxide, silicon dioxide and lithium iron phosphate.
However, Takamatsu teaches a battery cell, wherein, the first positive electrode current collector 22t further comprises a protective layer 22p, and the protective layer 22p is provided on at least one of two opposite surfaces of the conductive layer of Ding et al. in the thickness direction of the electrode assembly; the protective layer 22p is formed of an inorganic filler, and the inorganic filler comprises alumina (aluminum oxide) (Takamatsu: Section [0046]; Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hagiyama et al. with the teaching above from Takamatsu with the motivation of having a means such it improves the safety of the battery.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2016/0056419 in view of CN115000647A to Ding et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication 2019/0252660 to Jiao et al.
With respect to claim 8, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach the battery cell, wherein, the housing is a packaging bag and the packaging bag is an aluminum-plastic film.
However, Jiao et al. teach a battery cell, wherein, the housing is a packaging bag and the packaging bag is an aluminum-plastic film (Jiao et al.: Section [0054]).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hagiyama et al. with the teaching above from Jiao et al. with the motivation of having a means such aluminum plastic film is a common material for packing battery.
With respect to claim 16, Hagiyama et al. do not specifically teach the battery, wherein, the housing is a packaging bag and the packaging bag is an aluminum-plastic film.
However, Jiao et al. teach a battery cell, wherein, the housing is a packaging bag and the packaging bag is an aluminum-plastic film (Jiao et al.: Section [0054]).
It would have been obvious as of the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to have modified Hagiyama et al. with the teaching above from Jiao et al. with the motivation of having a means such aluminum plastic film is a common material for packing battery.
Conclusion
/LINGWEN R ZENG/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 9/5/2026