DETAILED ACTION
Previous Rejections
Applicants' arguments, filed 3/24/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 43-45, 47-48, and 50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leva (US 2022/0395437, Dec. 15, 2022) (hereinafter Leva).
Leva discloses a composition for the making of an emulsifiable triphasic formulation, which consists of a liquid biphasic composition and a powder solid phase, wherein said liquid biphasic composition consists of a hydrophilic phase and a lipophilic phase. The composition is particularly suitable for the use in the clinical dermatological and/or cosmetological fields (Abstract). Allowing skin fibroblasts to return to normal functioning by stimulating these cells directly (so-called bio-stimulation), or providing them with pre-formed substances (so-called bio-restructuring or bio-revitalization), means counteracting the signs of aging (¶ [0002]). The composition has a bio-stimulating and bio-restructuring activity, suitable for topical application (¶ [0011]). Leva further discloses that the hydrophilic phase of the composition it is characterized by comprising at least one organic acid (¶ [0018]). Pyruvic acid, lactic acid, and any combination thereof are suitable organic acids for use in the hydrophilic phase of the composition (¶ [0019]). Lactic acid belongs to the class of alpha-hydroxy acids and allows for a thinning of the corneum layer of the skin, resulting in faster exfoliation of surface dead cells, and greater production of collagen and elastin (¶ [0020]). Pyruvic acid is an alpha-ketoacid which, thanks to its low pH, is particularly suitable for the use thereof in dermatology as an exfoliating substance, in particular for its ability to eliminate pigmented corneocytes with a lightening effect, increasing skin brightness (¶ [0021]). In a preferred embodiment, the at least one organic acid is present in the hydrophilic phase of the composition in a total amount comprised between 0.1 % and 80% (¶ [0023]). In a preferred embodiment, the hydrophilic phase comprises the following in weight percentage with respect to the total weight of said hydrophilic phase: glycolic acid in an amount comprised between 1 % and 5% by weight (satisfies alpha hydroxy acid of claim 44); and salicylic acid in an amount less than or equal to 5% by weight (satisfies beta hydroxy acid of claim 45) (¶ [0029-0037]). In a preferred embodiment, the lipophilic phase comprises olive oil in an amount comprised between 6% and 25% by weight (satisfies fatty compound of claim 43 & 48) (¶ [0046 & 0049]). The solid powder phase of the composition is characterized by comprising hyaluronic acid and/or its salt, ferulic acid, creatine, at least one vitamin and at least one amino acid and/or one of the salts thereof (¶ [0051]). In a preferred embodiment, the solid powder phase comprises: hyaluronic acid and/or a salt thereof in a quantity comprised between 5% and 10% by weight; arginine in an amount between 0.1 % and 1 % by weight; glycine in an amount between 0.1 % and 1 % by weight; proline in an amount between 0.1 % and 1 % by weight; and valine in an amount between 0.1% and 1% by weight (satisfies polyol and amino acid of claim 43, 47, & 50) (¶ [0070-0081]).
Leva differs from the instant claims insofar as not explicitly disclosing wherein the ratio of the lactic acid to pyruvic acid is from about 9:1 to about 2:1.
However, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(A). As discussed above, Leva discloses wherein a combination of lactic acid and pyruvic acid may be used in the hydrophilic phase and discloses that their total amount in the hydrophilic phase is between 0.1 % and 80%. Accordingly, the claimed weight ratio would have been obvious from one of ordinary skill in the art selecting an amount of lactic acid and an amount of pyruvic acid from the above range and the ratio thereof overlapping with the claimed ratio.
Alternatively, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, lactic acid affects corneum layer thickness, exfoliation, and collagen/elastin production while pyruvic acid affects exfoliation, skin pigmentation, and skin brightness. As such, amounts/ratios of lactic acid and pyruvic acid are result effect variables since amounts directly impact the dermatological (i.e., therapeutic) effect. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed ratio of lactic acid to pyruvic acid to yield the desired corneum layer thickness, exfoliation, collagen/elastin production. skin pigmentation, and/or skin brightness.
2. Claim(s) 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leva (US 2022/0395437, Dec. 15, 2022) (hereinafter Leva) in view of Deckers et al. (US 2002/0106337, Aug. 8, 2002) (hereinafter Deckers).
The teachings of Leva are discussed above.
Leva differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises a polyhydroxy acid such as gluconolactone.
However, Deckers discloses emulsion formulations for topical application to the skin (Abstract). The oil body emulsions of the present invention also may be advantageously formulated with anti-wrinkle and anti-aging actives. Suitable anti-wrinkle and anti-aging actives include alpha-hydroxy acids such as lactic acid, beta hydroxy acids such as salicylic acid and polyhydroxy acids such as gluconolactone, and mixtures of these acids (¶ [0125]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the filing of the instant application, to have formulated the composition of Leva to comprise a polyhydroxy acid such as gluconolactone motivated by the desire to utilize its anti-wrinkle and anti-aging properties as taught by Deckers.
3. Claim(s) 51-52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leva (US 2022/0395437, Dec. 15, 2022) (hereinafter Leva) in view of Taniguchi et al. (US 2018/0116940, May 3, 2018) (hereinafter Taniguchi).
The teachings of Leva are discussed above.
Leva differs from the instant claims insofar as not disclosing wherein the composition comprises 6 amino acids including histidine, threonine, and/or alanine.
However, Taniguchi discloses an external dermal agent that tightens the skin, lifts up sagging skin, has no stickiness to the skin, and has a satisfactory compatibility with the skin, without giving any unfavorable feeling to users (Abstract). Sagging skin and skin wrinkling are skin changes associated with ageing (¶ [0002]). The agent may comprise amino acids (¶ [0025]). Suitable amino acids include glycine, alanine, valine, threonine, praline, arginine, histidine (¶ [0035]). The external dermal agent may be in the form of an oil/water/powder triphasic emulsion system (¶ [0038]).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. As discussed above, Leva discloses wherein the composition may comprise at least one amino acid in the solid powder phase. Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of Leva to comprise alanine, threonine, and histidine, since it they are known amino acids for use in triphasic anti-ageing dermatological compositions as taught by Taniguchi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 3/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments with respect to the lactic acid/pyruvic acid ratio, as a threshold matter, the Examiner points to the fact that the rejection was not only made on the basis that it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed ratio of lactic acid to pyruvic acid. The rejection of record was also made on the basis of overlapping ranges. As discussed above, Leva discloses wherein a combination of lactic acid and pyruvic acid may be used in the hydrophilic phase and discloses that their total amount in the hydrophilic phase is between 0.1 % and 80%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art". See MPEP 2144.05(A). Accordingly, the claimed weight ratio would have been obvious from one of ordinary skill in the art selecting an amount of lactic acid and an amount of pyruvic acid from the above range and the ratio thereof overlapping with the claimed ratio.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the Office has not established this ratio as a result effective variable, the Examiner submits that, as discussed above, Leva discloses that lactic acid affects corneum layer thickness, exfoliation, and collagen/elastin production while pyruvic acid affects exfoliation, skin pigmentation, and skin brightness. As such, amounts and subsequent ratios of those components would be result effective variables. where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). Specifically, since these components affect the skin in a dermatological composition their effect would be therapeutic and their amounts and resulting ratios would affect said therapeutic effect, making said amounts and ratios a result effective variable. As such, while it is understood that Leva does not explicitly disclose an inventive embodiment with the claimed ratio, routine experimentation to arrive at the effective ratio of the lactic/pyruvic acid disclosed by Leva would have been well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing of the instant application.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that it would not have been obvious to try and adjust/select these ratios, the Examiner submits that it indeed would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to try and select the claimed ratio based on Leva’s disclosure where Leva discloses that a combination of lactic acid and pyruvic acid may be used in the hydrophilic phase and discloses that their total amount in the hydrophilic phase is between 0.1 % and 80%. Accordingly, the claimed weight ratio would have been obvious from one of ordinary skill in the art selecting an amount of lactic acid and an amount of pyruvic acid from the above range and the ratio thereof overlapping with the claimed ratio.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Deckers fails to rectify the alleged deficiencies of Leva, the Examiner submits that Deckers cures any alleged deficiencies of Leva where Deckers discloses that gluconolactone comprises anti-wrinkle and anti-aging properties.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Taniguchi fails to rectify the alleged deficiencies of Leva, the Examiner submits that Taniguchi cures any alleged deficiencies of Leva where Taniguchi discloses that alanine, threonine, and histidine are known amino acids for use in triphasic anti-ageing dermatological compositions.
In light of the foregoing, the Examiner does not find Applicant’s arguments to be persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 43-48 and 50-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/985,915 in view of Lemke et al. (US 2009/0324693, Dec. 31, 2009) (hereinafter Lemke).
Both the instant claims and the copending claims recite a personal care composition comprising a post biotic system comprising lactic acid and pyruvic acid. The copending claims differ insofar as further disclosing wherein the post biotic system further comprises saccharide isomerate.
However, Lemke discloses a skin composition and delivery product for it (Abstract). In one embodiment, the topical skin composition may be for moisturizing the skin and may contain a humectant. Humectants are typically cosmetic ingredients used to increase the water content of the top layers of the skin or mucous membrane, by helping control the moisture exchange between the product, the skin, and the atmosphere. Suitable humectants include saccharide isomerate (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the instant claims to contain saccharide isomerate to arrive at the composition of the copending claims motivated by the desire to utilize the skin moisture control properties that humectants such as saccharide isomerate provide as taught by Lemke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
2. Claims 43-48 and 50-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of copending Application No. 18/458,702 in view of Lemke et al. (US 2009/0324693, Dec. 31, 2009) (hereinafter Lemke).
Both the instant claims and the copending claims recite a personal care composition comprising a post biotic system comprising lactic acid and pyruvic acid. The copending claims differ insofar as further disclosing wherein the composition further comprises a polysaccharide.
However, Lemke discloses a skin composition and delivery product for it (Abstract). In one embodiment, the topical skin composition may be for moisturizing the skin and may contain a humectant. Humectants are typically cosmetic ingredients used to increase the water content of the top layers of the skin or mucous membrane, by helping control the moisture exchange between the product, the skin, and the atmosphere. Suitable humectants include polysaccharides (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the instant claims to contain polysaccharides to arrive at the composition of the copending claims motivated by the desire to utilize the skin moisture control properties that humectants such as polysaccharides provide as taught by Lemke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 43-48 and 50-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-19, 23, 25, and 27 of copending Application No. 18/240,795 in view of Lemke et al. (US 2009/0324693, Dec. 31, 2009) (hereinafter Lemke).
Both the instant claims and the copending claims recite a personal care composition comprising a post biotic system comprising lactic acid and pyruvic acid. The copending claims differ insofar as further disclosing wherein the composition further comprises a polysaccharide.
However, Lemke discloses a skin composition and delivery product for it (Abstract). In one embodiment, the topical skin composition may be for moisturizing the skin and may contain a humectant. Humectants are typically cosmetic ingredients used to increase the water content of the top layers of the skin or mucous membrane, by helping control the moisture exchange between the product, the skin, and the atmosphere. Suitable humectants include polysaccharides (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the instant claims to contain polysaccharides to arrive at the composition of the copending claims motivated by the desire to utilize the skin moisture control properties that humectants such as polysaccharides provide as taught by Lemke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
4. Claims 43-48 and 50-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of copending Application No. 18/977,205 in view of Lemke et al. (US 2009/0324693, Dec. 31, 2009) (hereinafter Lemke).
Both the instant claims and the copending claims recite a personal care composition comprising a post biotic system comprising lactic acid and pyruvic acid. The copending claims differ insofar as further disclosing wherein the composition further comprises a polysaccharide.
However, Lemke discloses a skin composition and delivery product for it (Abstract). In one embodiment, the topical skin composition may be for moisturizing the skin and may contain a humectant. Humectants are typically cosmetic ingredients used to increase the water content of the top layers of the skin or mucous membrane, by helping control the moisture exchange between the product, the skin, and the atmosphere. Suitable humectants include polysaccharides (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the instant claims to contain polysaccharides to arrive at the composition of the copending claims motivated by the desire to utilize the skin moisture control properties that humectants such as polysaccharides provide as taught by Lemke.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
5. Claims 43-48 and 50-52 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,201,713 in view of Lemke et al. (US 2009/0324693, Dec. 31, 2009) (hereinafter Lemke).
Both the instant claims and the patented claims recite a personal care composition comprising a post biotic system comprising lactic acid and pyruvic acid. The patented claims differ insofar as further disclosing wherein the composition further comprises a polysaccharide.
However, Lemke discloses a skin composition and delivery product for it (Abstract). In one embodiment, the topical skin composition may be for moisturizing the skin and may contain a humectant. Humectants are typically cosmetic ingredients used to increase the water content of the top layers of the skin or mucous membrane, by helping control the moisture exchange between the product, the skin, and the atmosphere. Suitable humectants include polysaccharides (¶ [0048]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the composition of the instant claims to contain polysaccharides to arrive at the composition of the patented claims motivated by the desire to utilize the skin moisture control properties that humectants such as polysaccharides provide as taught by Lemke.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are the same as above.
The Examiner’s response above is repeated as above. Furthermore, Applicant has not submitted documentation (i.e. terminal disclaimer) in response to the double patenting rejection(s).
Therefore, the previous rejections of non-statutory double patenting are maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 33-42 are withdrawn. Claims 43-48 and 50-52 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612