DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicant’s Response, dated 3 September 2026, which papers have been made of record.
Claims 1-29 are currently presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially parallel” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “parallel” is understood do have a specific geometric meaning, and while modification of the term is permitted, the modification must provide reasonable clarity to one having ordinary skill in the art as to what deviations from actually parallel are contemplated by Applicant and would be predictably understood by one having ordinary skill in the art. The examiner does not find a specific definition for the term “substantially” nor “substantially parallel” which provides reasonable clarity as to the deviations contemplated at the time of filing.
The term “generally” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally planar” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “planar” is understood do have a specific geometric meaning “of or lying in a plane,” and while modification of the term is permitted, the modification must provide reasonable clarity to one having ordinary skill in the art as to what deviations from actually planar are contemplated by Applicant and would be predictably understood by one having ordinary skill in the art. The examiner does not find a specific definition for the term “generally” nor “generally planar” which provides reasonable clarity as to the deviations contemplated at the time of filing.
Each of claims 2-29 depend from claim 1, and therefore are rejected for at least the reasons presented above with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 20-24, 27 and 29
Claims 1-5, 8, 20-24, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication 2002/0150434 to Sommerfeld et al. (hereinafter “Sommerfeld”).
Regarding claim 1, Sommerfeld discloses a pocket hole jig system (100) for drilling a pocket hole in a workpiece (1204; see Fig. 12A), the system comprising: a base (102); the base having an upper surface (see Fig. 4; unnumbered upper surface including apertures 110 and 108) that forms a generally planar work surface (see Fig. 2); an upright assembly (103); the upright assembly operably connected to the base (102; see paragraph [0031]); a clamping assembly (202); the clamping assembly operably connected to the base (102; see paragraph [0042]); the clamping assembly having a handle assembly (206); the clamping assembly having a workpiece support member (212); a drill guide assembly (104); the drill guide assembly operably connected to the upright assembly (103; see paragraph [0031]); wherein the upright assembly (103) includes a guide (defined by fastener 116; see Figs. 3 and 5); wherein the guide provides a path of travel for the drill guide assembly (104) at an angle downward and forward towards the workpiece support member (see Fig. 3) and upward and away from the workpiece support member (212; see Fig. 5); wherein operation of the clamping assembly causes movement of the workpiece support member (212) in a path substantially parallel (see alternative positions shown in Fig. 2) to the generally planar work surface (top surface of base 102) of the upper surface of the base.
Regarding claim 2, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Sommerfeld discloses that a clamping face (vertically planar face of body 104; best seen in Fig. 4) of the drill guide assembly (104) and a clamping face of the workpiece support member (212; see paragraph [0042]) are configured to clamp a workpiece (1204) therebetween (see Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 3, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Sommerfeld discloses that a clamping face (vertically planar face of body 104; best seen in Fig. 4) of the drill guide assembly (104) and a clamping face of the workpiece support member (212) are configured to clamp a workpiece (1204) therebetween and wherein the drill guide assembly (104) is adjustable to correspond to a thickness of a workpiece (1204; see paragraph [0033], body 104 “can also be any suitable size and shape”).
Regarding claim 4, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the generally planar work surface (upper surface of body 102) of the upper surface of the base (102) is configured to support an end of the workpiece (see Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 5, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the guide (defined by fastener 116; see Figs. 3 and 5) extends outward (see Figs. 3 and 5) in a generally planar fashion from a rearward side of the upright assembly (103). The examiner notes that the generally planar fashion can be interpreted as extending along a plane through the upright assembly.
Regarding claim 8, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the drill guide assembly (defined by fastener 116) is configured to stop at a plurality of predetermined positions along the guide of the upright assembly (compare positions at Figures 3 and 5; stopping is the result of engagement with the spacer 502).
Regarding claim 20, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the workpiece support member (212) moves a predetermined distance between a fully disengaged position (see Fig. 3) and a fully clamped position (see position of member 212 shown in phantom in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, and further Sommerfeld discloses that a clamping face (vertically planar face of body 104; best seen in Fig. 4) of the drill guide assembly (104) and a clamping face of the workpiece support member (212; see paragraph [0042]) are configured to clamp a workpiece (1204) therebetween (see Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 22, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, and further Sommerfeld discloses that a clamping face (vertically planar face of body 104; best seen in Fig. 4) of the drill guide assembly (104) and a clamping face of the workpiece support member (212) are configured to clamp a workpiece (1204) therebetween and wherein the drill guide assembly (104) is adjusted to correspond to a thickness of the workpiece (1204; see paragraph [0033], body 104 “can also be any suitable size and shape”).
Regarding claim 23, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the generally planar work surface (upper surface of body 102) of the upper surface of the base (102) is configured to support an end of the workpiece (see Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 24, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the guide (defined by fastener 116; see Figs. 3 and 5) extends outward (see Figs. 3 and 5) in a generally planar fashion from a rearward side of the upright assembly (103). The examiner notes that the generally planar fashion can be interpreted as extending along a plane through the upright assembly.
Regarding claim 27, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the drill guide assembly (defined by fastener 116) is configured to stop at a plurality of predetermined positions along the guide of the upright assembly (compare positions at Figures 3 and 5; stopping is the result of engagement with the spacer 502), and wherein the plurality of predetermined positions correspond to predetermined workpiece thicknesses (compare Figures 3 and 5, clamping mechanism 212 shown capable of supporting different thicknesses).
Regarding claim 29, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, and further Sommerfeld discloses that the upright assembly (103) is fixed in place on the base (102).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 9-19, 25-26, and 28
Claims 6-7, 9-19, 25-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sommerfeld as applied to claims 1 and 20 above, and further in view of United States Patent Application Publication 2017/0087644 to Pelkey (hereinafter “Pelkey”).
Regarding claim 6, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose that the guide is formed of a pair of rails which extend outward from the upright assembly at opposing sides of the upright assembly. Instead, Sommerfeld teaches a guide which is defined by a fastener 116 (see Figs. 3 and 5).
It is known in the art of pocket hole jig systems having guides formed with rails.
For example, Pelkey teaches a pocket jig system (10) having an upright assembly (28). Pelkey teaches its upright has a guide (guide rails 216 and guide handle 108). The guide includes a pair of rails (216) which extend from the upright assembly (28; rails 216 extend from one side of the upright assembly and handle 108 extends from the other, opposite side). The guide allows for selective positioning of drill guides (84, 86) with respect to a workpiece (92) and a base (24) of a pocket hole jig.
It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Sommerfeld to include a another and conventional guide assembly such as the guide assembly taught by Pelkey. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting device would facilitate predictable and secure positioning of the drill guides with respect to the base in a predictable manner which controls the position of a drill guide assembly with respect to the pocket jig system in a known manner. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide another conventional guide which positions the drill guides in a known manner, without modification of the principles of operation Sommerfeld.
Thus, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose that the drill guide assembly includes an engagement member configured to engage with and slide along the guide of the upright assembly. Sommerfeld’s drill guide assembly (104) travels along the guide (fastener 116), but does not fairly teach that the drill guide assembly slides.
It is known in the art of pocket hole jig systems having guides on which drill guide assembly slide.
For example, Pelkey teaches a pocket jig system (10) having an upright assembly (28). Pelkey teaches its upright has a guide (guide rails 216 and guide handle 108). The guide includes a pair of rails (216) which extend from the upright assembly (28; rails 216 extend from one side of the upright assembly and handle 108 extends from the other, opposite side). The guide allows for selective positioning of drill guides (84, 86) by sliding (see paragraph [0058]) along the body of the pocket hole jig. Pelkey teaches that it’s drill guides may be positioned with high precision (see paragraph [0058]).
It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Sommerfeld to include a another and conventional guide assembly such as the guide assembly taught by Pelkey. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting device would facilitate predictable and secure positioning of the drill guides with respect to the base in a predictable manner which controls the position of a drill guide assembly with respect to the pocket jig system and facilitates high precision placement of the drill guides.. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide another conventional guide which positions the drill guides in a known manner, providing desirable positioning control as suggested by Pelkey.
Thus, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, however Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose that the guide includes a plurality of recesses, and wherein the plurality of recess along the guide correspond to predetermined workpiece thicknesses.
However, it is known in the art of pocket jig systems to provide recesses in a guide member corresponding to predetermined workpiece thicknesses.
For example, Pelkey teaches a pocket jig system (10) having a guide (guide rails 216 and guide handle 108). Pelkey teaches the guide (216) includes a plurality of recesses (see Fig. 19; gap between interior sides of rails 216). The drill guide portions (84, 86) are positioned on the guide (see Figs. 9, 10, 11) and secured to the guide via the rails and the recesses therebetween.
It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Sommerfeld to include a another and conventional guide assembly such as the guide assembly taught by Pelkey. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting device would facilitate predictable and secure positioning of the drill guides with respect to the base in a predictable manner which controls the position of a drill guide assembly with respect to the pocket jig system in a known manner. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide another conventional guide which positions the drill guides in a known manner, without modification of the principles of operation Sommerfeld. The examiner notes that the phrase “the plurality of recesses along the guide correspond to predetermined workpiece thicknesses does not require a direct mathematical correspondence equal to the dimensions of the recesses. The recesses taught by Pelkey may be interpreted as mapping to thicknesses of a workpiece a plurality of step functions.
Thus, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 1, and further Sommerfeld teaches that operation of handle assembly (206) on the clamping assembly causes movement of the workpiece support member (212) in a path substantially parallel (see alternative positions shown in Fig. 2) to the generally planar work surface (top surface of base 102) of the upper surface of the base. However, Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose that the drill guide assembly is configured to stop at a plurality of predetermined positions along the guide of the upright assembly.
However, it is known in the art of pocket hole jig systems to provide drill guides configured to stop at a plurality of predetermined positions.
For example, Pelkey teaches a drill guide configured to stop at a plurality of predetermined positions. Pelkey teaches a pocket hole drill guide system (10) having a drill guide assembly (84, 86) positioned on an upright (28) such that the drill guide assembly is secured to the upright via a rail and groove system (see Fig. 3 and 14). The drill guide assembly is limited to a plurality of positions by a securing handle (108) and a groove (112), the handle 108 facilitating control of the position of the drill guides by the user’s hand.
It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Sommerfeld to include a drill guide control mechanism such as the drill guide assembly taught by Pelkey. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting device would facilitate predictable and secure positioning of the drill guides with respect to the base.
Thus, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Pelkey teaches that a clamping face (horizontal surface of guide portions 102; see Fig. 1) of the drill guide assembly (84, 86) and a clamping face of the workpiece support member (surface 96 of member 18 in Pelkey) are configured to clamp a workpiece (92) therebetween. In the combination, the clamping body 212 of Sommerfeld would clamp a workpiece against the equivalent drill guide clamping surface.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Pelkey teaches that a clamping face (horizontal surface of guide portions 102; see Fig. 1) of the drill guide assembly (84, 86) and a clamping face of the workpiece support member (surface 96 of member 18 in Pelkey) are configured to clamp a workpiece (92) therebetween and wherein the drill guide assembly (84, 86) is adjusted to corresponding to a thickness of the workpiece (92; compare Figures 9, 10, 11). In the combination, the clamping body 212 of Sommerfeld would clamp a workpiece against the equivalent drill guide clamping surface.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Sommerfeld teaches that the generally planar work surface of the upper surface (upper surface of base in Fig. 2) of the base (102) is configured to support an end of the workpiece (see Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Pelkey teaches that the guide (guide rails 216 and guide handle 108) extends outward in a generally planar fashion from a rearward side of the upright assembly (28; rails 216 extend from one side of the upright assembly and handle 108 extends from the other, opposite side). The examiner notes that the generally planar fashion can be interpreted as extending along a plane through the upright assembly.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Pelkey teaches that the guide is formed of a pair of rails (216; see Figs. 14 and 19) which extend outward from the upright assembly at opposing sides of the upright assembly (see Fig. 14; rails appear to extend outwardly from the respective sides with respect to an upright 28).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Pelkey teaches that the drill guide assembly (84, 86) includes an engagement member (notches 218) configured to engage with and slide along the guide (rails 216) of the upright assembly (28).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Pelkey teaches that the plurality of predetermined positions correspond to predetermined workpiece thicknesses (see Figs. 9, 10, and 11, illustrated thicknesses of workpiece 92 understood to correspond to at least one predetermined thickness; see also paragraphs [0018], [0019], and [0020] which disclose thicknesses of “narrow,” “medium,” and “wide”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Pelkey teaches that the guide (216) includes a plurality of recesses (see Fig. 19; gap between interior sides of rails 216), and wherein the drill guide assembly (84, 86) is configured to stop at the plurality of recesses (each guide member will stop at the rails).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 10, and further Sommerfeld teaches that the upright assembly (103) is fixed in place on the base (102).
Regarding claim 25, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, however Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose that the guide is formed of a pair of rails which extend outward from the upright assembly at opposing sides of the upright assembly. Instead, Sommerfeld teaches a guide which is defined by a fastener 116 (see Figs. 3 and 5).
It is known in the art of pocket hole jig systems having guides formed with rails.
For example, Pelkey teaches a pocket jig system (10) having an upright assembly (28). Pelkey teaches its upright has a guide (guide rails 216 and guide handle 108). The guide includes a pair of rails (216) which extend from the upright assembly (28; rails 216 extend from one side of the upright assembly and handle 108 extends from the other, opposite side). The guide allows for selective positioning of drill guides (84, 86) with respect to a workpiece (92) and a base (24) of a pocket hole jig.
It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Sommerfeld to include a another and conventional guide assembly such as the guide assembly taught by Pelkey. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting device would facilitate predictable and secure positioning of the drill guides with respect to the base in a predictable manner which controls the position of a drill guide assembly with respect to the pocket jig system in a known manner. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide another conventional guide which positions the drill guides in a known manner, without modification of the principles of operation Sommerfeld.
Thus, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 25.
Regarding claim 26, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 26, however Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose that the drill guide assembly includes an engagement member configured to engage with and slide along the guide of the upright assembly. Sommerfeld’s drill guide assembly (104) travels along the guide (fastener 116), but does not fairly teach that the drill guide assembly slides.
It is known in the art of pocket hole jig systems having guides on which drill guide assemblies slide.
For example, Pelkey teaches a pocket jig system (10) having an upright assembly (28). Pelkey teaches its upright has a guide (guide rails 216 and guide handle 108). The guide includes a pair of rails (216) which extend from the upright assembly (28; rails 216 extend from one side of the upright assembly and handle 108 extends from the other, opposite side). The guide allows for selective positioning of drill guides (84, 86) by sliding (see paragraph [0058]) along the body of the pocket hole jig. Pelkey teaches that it’s drill guides may be positioned with high precision (see paragraph [0058]).
It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Sommerfeld to include a another and conventional guide assembly such as the guide assembly taught by Pelkey. (See MPEP 2143(1)(C)). The resulting device would facilitate predictable and secure positioning of the drill guides with respect to the base in a predictable manner which controls the position of a drill guide assembly with respect to the pocket jig system and facilitates high precision placement of the drill guides.. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide another conventional guide which positions the drill guides in a known manner, providing desirable positioning control as suggested by Pelkey.
Thus, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 26.
Regarding claim 28, Sommerfeld discloses the limitations of claim 20, however Sommerfeld does not explicitly disclose that the guide includes a plurality of recesses, and wherein the plurality of recess along the guide correspond to predetermined workpiece thicknesses.
However, it is known in the art of pocket jig systems to provide recesses in a guide member corresponding to predetermined workpiece thicknesses.
For example, Pelkey teaches a pocket jig system (10) having a guide (guide rails 216 and guide handle 108). Pelkey teaches the guide (216) includes a plurality of recesses (see Fig. 19; gap between interior sides of rails 216). The drill guide portions (84, 86) are positioned on the guide (see Figs. 9, 10, 11) and secured to the guide via the rails and the recesses therebetween.
It would have been obvious to modify the apparatus taught by Sommerfeld to include a another and conventional guide assembly such as the guide assembly taught by Pelkey. (See MPEP 2143(1)(A)). The resulting device would facilitate predictable and secure positioning of the drill guides with respect to the base in a predictable manner which controls the position of a drill guide assembly with respect to the pocket jig system in a known manner. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide another conventional guide which positions the drill guides in a known manner, without modification of the principles of operation Sommerfeld. The examiner notes that the phrase “the plurality of recesses along the guide correspond to predetermined workpiece thicknesses does not require a direct mathematical correspondence equal to the dimensions of the recesses. The recesses taught by Pelkey may be interpreted as mapping to thicknesses of a workpiece a plurality of step functions.
Thus, the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey teaches the limitations of claim 28.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant's arguments filed 3 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-29 were previously rejected for reciting the relative terms “substantially parallel” and “generally planar.” Applicant acknowledges the rejections, and asserts that the terms are not inherently indefinite where a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand the scope of the claimed invention.
The examiner agrees.
Applicant follows this assertion by arguing that there terms would be understood. Applicant suggests that the terms would be understood within “normal manufacturing tolerances and operational variations expected within woodworking jig systems.” Applicant provides no citations suggesting that this is the conventional understanding of the terms.
These arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b). Applicant’s assertions as to what a PHOSITA would understand “as is conventional in this art” are not supported by any citations suggesting that PHOSITAs consider variations from the geometric meaning of the term “parallel” in the manner suggested by Applicant.
Applicant next argues that the examiner is inconsistent because the rejections of the claims over art recite the claimed terms.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejections over art rely on the examiner’s best understanding. The illogical extreme of Applicant’s argument would be that any claims which have been rejected for indefiniteness could not also be rejected using art. One would expect that relying on the claims to be definite before rejecting them over art would extend prosecution timelines. In the interest of compact prosecution, even where terms in the claims are understood to be indefinite, it benefits both Applicants and the Office to present rejections over pertinent art, for efficiency.
The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 112(b) is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 3 September 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 3 and 17 under 35 USC 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Rejection of 3 June 2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed 3 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-5, 8, 20-24, 27, and 29 were previously rejected as anticipated by Sommerfeld.
Applicant asserts that Sommerfeld fails to disclose a “guide.” Applicant asserts that claim 1 requires the guide to define and constrain a path of travel. Applicant argues that “it is an active guidance function requiring structural elements that direct and constrain the movement of the drill guide along an angled path.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 is an apparatus claim, not a method claim. There is no “active” function of the apparatus, which is understood to be met even where the recited apparatus is located in storage and not actively in use.
Applicant notes that the Office Action of 3 June 2026 maps the guide to a fastener, 116. Applicant asserts “a fastener is not a guide.” “Applicant respectfully submits that at fastener 116, as described in Sommerfeld, does not constitute a structural guide that defines and constrains a path of travel for a drill guide assembly.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments that the guide “direct and constrain the movement of the drill guide along an angled path” is not founded on the language of the claim. The claim recites “the guide provides a path of travel for the drill guide assembly at an angle downward and forward towards the workpiece support member and upward and away from the workpiece support member.” The word “constrain” does not appear to be present in the claim.
The examiner notes that at least Figures 2 and 5 show the fastener 116 defining the path of travel at an angle which travels downward and forward (down and right, in Figs. 2 and 5) and upward and away (upward and left) as recited in the claim. The examiner takes no position on whether the guide constrains the path of travel, because the claim does not require such. Movement of the drill guide assembly between the positions shown in Figures 2 and 5 correspond to orientation of the guide 116.
The rejection of claim 1 is maintained.
Applicant next addresses claim 3. Applicant argues that “the ability to manufacture a component in various sizes is entirely different from an assembly that is structurally adjustable during use to correspond to a specific workpiece thickness.” Applicant asserts that Sommerfeld teaches manufacturing flexibility, rather than an adjustable drill guide assembly.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim limitation “wherein the drill guide assembly is adjustable to correspond to a thickness of a workpiece.” Sommerfeld teaches that its drill guide assembly apparatus may secure any conventional workpiece, and provides a variety of different workpiece dimensions for workpiece 1204 (see paragraph [0054]) which may be secured therein. Further, Sommerfeld teaches that the component identified by the Office as the drill guide assembly may be moved between at least two positions (compare rightmost surface of member 104 in configuration of Fig. 2 and Fig. 5) to accommodate workpieces of particular thicknesses (see also paragraph [0057]; further clamping member 202 may be adjusted to allow for accommodation of different components). The different positioning of the drill guide 104 fairly reads on the claimed limitation, and further the device of Sommerfeld explicitly allows for both manufacturing adjustments and positioning adjustments to accommodate different workpieces.
The rejection of claim 3 is maintained.
Applicant next addresses claim 8.
Applicant asserts that Sommerfeld “showing two positioned in two separate figures does not establish that the system is configured to stop at a plurality of predetermined positions.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. A plurality may mean “two,” which is a plural number. Sommerfeld thus explicitly shows a plurality of positions at which its system stops.
Applicant further argues that spacer 502 performs no “stopping function.”
The examiner reiterates: the elected claims are directed to an apparatus. There are no active method functions claimed. Claim 8 recites “wherein the drill guide is configured to stop at a plurality of predetermined positions along the guide of the upright assembly.” When the member 502 is positioned between the members 102 and 104, the members cannot move further. Their positions are stopped or limited at least by the presence of member 502, as shown in the Figures. This reads on the claim.
The rejection of claim 8 is maintained.
Applicant next points to claim 27, and asserts that the Office “conflates general adjustability with specific structural requirement that predetermined stopping positions correspond to predetermined workpiece thicknesses. Capability to accommodate different thicknesses does not establish the required correspondence between defined stopping positions and defined workpiece thicknesses.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Figures 3 and 5 show a clamping portion 202 positioned in apparently the same position, while the rightmost surface of the guide member 104 is laterally shifted by a thickness of the rightmost wall of the member 104. Different workpiece thicknesses can be positioned therein. The detent of member 104 is shown in both Figures as being positioned relative to the raised notch 103 of the base member 102 which secures the member 104 in a predetermined location (see paragraph [0031]). Two predetermined stopping positions are illustrated, reading on the claimed plurality of predetermined positions.
The rejection of claim 27 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 3 September 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 6-7, 9-19, 25-26, and 28 were previously rejected over the combination of Sommerfeld and Pelkey.
Applicant argues that the Office has not provided a sufficient rationale for combining the teachings of Sommerfeld and Pelkey. Applicant argues that the Office has not provided specific, substantiated reasoning.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner points to MPEP 2143(1)(A) in the Office Action of 3 June, explains that the relative positioning of the drill guide components allows for positioning drill guides relative to a base in a predictable manner, and both Sommerfeld and Pelkey teach pocket jig systems with upright assemblies which allow for selective positioning of their respective drill guides. The MPEP further instructs that a person having ordinary skill in the art has ordinary creativity (see MPEP 2141.03(I)), such that the teachings of multiple prior art references can be fit together like pieces of a puzzle. Two conventional adjustment devices used in two similar pocket hole jig systems could be reasonably replaced without extensive explanation.
Applicant argues that there is a “fundamental structural change” between a fastener and a rail, but does not articulate why this would be a fundamental structural change.
The examiner respectfully asks: what is the fundamental structural change between two angular positioning guide member types and why would they not be considered a minor modification? To the best of the examiner’s understanding, each type of guide structure allows for the positioning of the drill guides along an angular path, and both are prior art such that, as suggested by the MPEP above, a person having ordinary skill in the art and creativity would be capable of and motivated to substitute one angular guide member for another even without a specific suggestion from the reference, resulting in the same or similar repositioning of the jig components relative to one another.
Applicant next points to claims 9 and 28. Applicant asserts that the Office has failed to identify a plurality of recesses between rails 216. Applicant asserts “a single gap between two parallel rails is not a ‘plurality of recesses.’”
The examiner agrees. However, the Office Action of 3 June 2026 pointed specifically to Figure 19 of Pelkey, annotated and reproduced below.
The “two” rails have a separation of gap 292 between them, such that there are at least a first and a second gap, as described in the annotated figure above, as well as the third gap 292, further separating the rails. The examiner believes two gaps constitutes a plurality of recesses, even where Applicant and the examiner both agree that a single gap would not.
The rejections of claims 9 and 28 are maintained.
Applicant next addresses amended claim 17.
Applicant asserts that the amended claim’s newly recited “predetermined workpiece thicknesses” “must be affirmatively established in the prior art” rather than presumed and that predetermined workpiece thicknesses are allegedly not addressed by Pelkey.
The examiner disagrees. Pelkey at Figures 9 and 11 illustrates different workpiece (92) thicknesses. Pelkey describes the workpieces as being of narrow, medium, and wide thickness (see paragraphs [0018]-[0020]). The examiner notes that a review of Applicant’s Specification does not appear to particularly limit the predetermined thicknesses of its own invention. It is unclear what greater level of specificity than “narrow, medium, and wide” Applicant contends must be demonstrated by the prior art to teach the claimed limitation. In the absence of such clarity, Pelkey is understood to teach the thicknesses as claimed and as argued by Applicant. While the positions disclosed by Pelkey are not necessarily discrete and finite, the claims do not require a plurality of discrete, spaced apart positions which correspond to discrete workpiece thicknesses.
During the telephone conversation of 28 October 2026, Applicant and the examiner discussed whether the predetermined positions of claim 10 and the predetermined workpiece thicknesses could read on a continuously adjustable guide. No agreement was reached with respect to alternative clarifying language.
The rejection of claim 17 is maintained.
Applicant alleges that the dependent claims 10-16, 18-19, and 25-26 are allowable for allegedly depending from claims 10 and 20.
The rejections of claims 10 and 20 are maintained, and thus the rejections of the dependent claims are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARRELL C FORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3725