DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16, 28 and 31-43 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim 43 recites, means for accessing a radio frequency (RF) exposure map associated with at least one antenna of the wireless device (support for the corresponding feature can be found in [0165]) and means for transmitting, from the at least one antenna, a signal at a transmit power determined based at least in part on the RF exposure map in compliance with an RF exposure limit (support for the corresponding feature can be found in [0163]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13, 14, 16, 28, 31-38, 40, 41 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al. (US 20220086774, hereinafter “Lu”) and further in view of Nadakuduti et al. (US 20220070795, hereinafter “Nadaku”).
Regarding claim 1, Lu discloses,
A method of wireless communication by a wireless device, comprising:
accessing a radio frequency (RF) exposure map associated with at least one antenna of the wireless device, wherein the RF exposure map includes a representation of a maximum RF exposure for a region of the RF exposure map (“a UE may identify the region in which the UE is located or operating and select various settings for RF exposure compliance based on the region ... RF exposure limit based on the region ... certain regions may use a maximum or peak RF exposure limit”, [0023]; “RF exposure manager that provides configurable RF exposure compliance based on a region in which the UE is located” [0029]; “SAR distribution ... stored in the memory to enable a processor ... to assess RF exposure in real time ... Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location” [0052]; “the FCC specifies a SAR limit of 1.6 W/kg ... The ICNIRP 1998 standard has a SAR limit of 2-0 W/ kg” [0064]; “a specific region may have a lower RF exposure limit or a smaller time window than other regions” [0069]); and
transmitting, from the at least one antenna, a signal at a transmit power determined based at least in part on the RF exposure map in compliance with an RF exposure limit (“UE may select the parameter e.g., the time window, RF exposure limit, that matches a regulatory value used for RF exposure compliance in the identified region” [0076]; “UE may transmit a signal at a transmission power level based at least in part on at least one of the selected mode or the selected one or more parameters” [0077]).
However, Lu does not explicitly disclose, the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Nadaku discloses, the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure (the RF exposure distributions may be represented by the expression: RFexp(s,x,y,z,i), where s represents a particular surface or position, (x, y, z) represent a given location, and i represents a particular transmit configuration, such as a specific antenna or transmit beam, [0108]-[0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by specifically providing the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure, as taught by Nadaku for the purpose of developing techniques to enable the wireless communication device to assess RF exposure from the wireless communication device in real time and adjust the transmission power of the wireless communication device accordingly to comply with the RF exposure limit [0003].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of RF exposure contributions from a plurality of antennas of the wireless device (Each of the SAR distributions may correspond to a respective one of multiple transmit scenarios supported by the wireless communication device for the first technology. The transmit scenarios may correspond to various combinations of antennas (e.g., antennas 252a through 252r of FIG. 2 or antenna 306 of FIG. 3), frequency bands, channels and/or body positions, [0051]; [0052] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of the RF exposure contributions arranged in at least two dimensions (Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0052]; Each PD distribution includes a set of PD values, where each PD value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0058]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure contributions are across a range of frequencies (SAR measurements may be performed for each one of multiple frequency bands to generate a SAR distribution for each one of the multiple frequency bands. In this example, a SAR distribution for a transmit scenario in which two or more frequency bands are active may be generated by combining the SAR distributions for the two or more active frequency bands, [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4), further Lu discloses,
wherein the range of frequencies comprises sub-6 gigahertz (GHz) bands, millimeter wave (mmWave) bands, or a combination thereof ([0050]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure contributions include first RF exposure contributions from sub-6 gigahertz (GHz) bands and second RF exposure contributions from millimeter wave (mmWave) bands (the wireless communication device may simultaneously transmit signals using a first wireless communication technology operating at or below 6 GHz (e.g., 3G, 4G, 5G, etc.) and a second wireless communication technology operating above 6 GHz (e.g., mmWave 5G in 24 to 60 GHz bands, IEEE 802.11ad or 802.11ay), [0050]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of RF exposure contributions across a plurality of surfaces of the wireless device (Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0052]; Each PD distribution includes a set of PD values, where each PD value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of RF exposure contributions from at least one antenna of the wireless device relative to one or more RF exposure scenarios (the transmit scenarios may be specified by a set of parameters. The set of parameters may include one or more of the following: an antenna parameter indicating one or more antennas used for transmission (i.e., active antennas), a frequency band parameter indicating one or more frequency bands used for transmission (i.e., active frequency bands), a channel parameter indicating one or more channels used for transmission (i.e., active channels), a body position parameter indicating the location of the wireless communication device relative to the user's body location (head, trunk, away from the body, etc.), and/or other parameters, [0054]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein the region is representative of (i) one or more points of a larger exposure region associated with the at least one antenna or (ii) one or more values of RF exposure contributions associated with the at least one antenna (Different regions or regulatory/standards bodies (e.g., the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) for the United States; the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) for Canada; or the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) standard followed by the European Union (EU)) may specify different RF exposure compliance limits (SAR and PD). In certain cases, the different regions or regulatory/standards bodies may also specify different time windows for averaging or otherwise calculating RF exposure. Also, some regulatory bodies (e.g., the ICNIRP in the 2020 standard) may specify an additional compliance limit in terms of a brief RF exposure limit, [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein the representation of the maximum RF exposure for the region allows determination of the transmit power of the at least one antenna to ensure compliance with the RF exposure limit (The parameters for RF exposure compliance may include a time window, an RF exposure limit, and/or (enforcement of) brief RF exposure limits, for example. In certain cases, the UE may select the parameter (e.g., the time window, RF exposure limit, or (enforcement of) brief RF exposure limits) that matches a regulatory value used for RF exposure compliance in the identified region. Selection of the regulatory value for the identified region may enable the UE to transmit at the maximum permissible transmit power in compliance with the RF exposure limits for the region, [0076]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map includes the representation of the maximum RF exposure for each of a plurality of regions including the region (Different regions or regulatory/standards bodies (e.g., the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) for the United States; the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) for Canada; or the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) standard followed by the European Union (EU)) may specify different RF exposure compliance limits (SAR and PD). In certain cases, the different regions or regulatory/standards bodies may also specify different time windows for averaging or otherwise calculating RF exposure. Also, some regulatory bodies (e.g., the ICNIRP in the 2020 standard) may specify an additional compliance limit in terms of a brief RF exposure limit, [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein accessing the RF exposure map comprises accessing the RF exposure map among a plurality of RF exposure maps, wherein each of the RF exposure maps is representative of a different exposure scenario or a different set of exposure scenarios for the wireless device (Each of the SAR distributions may correspond to a respective one of multiple transmit scenarios supported by the wireless communication device for the first technology. The transmit scenarios may correspond to various combinations of antennas (e.g., antennas 252a through 252r of FIG. 2 or antenna 306 of FIG. 3), frequency bands, channels and/or body positions, [0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 13), further Lu discloses,
wherein each of the RF exposure maps has a different combination of one or more active antennas among a plurality of antennas of the wireless device (Each of the SAR distributions may correspond to a respective one of multiple transmit scenarios supported by the wireless communication device for the first technology. The transmit scenarios may correspond to various combinations of antennas (e.g., antennas 252a through 252r of FIG. 2 or antenna 306 of FIG. 3), frequency bands, channels and/or body positions, [0051]; [0052] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure limit includes a time-averaged specific absorption rate (SAR) limit, a time-averaged power density (PD) limit, or any combination thereof (Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0052]; Each PD distribution includes a set of PD values, where each PD value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0058]).
Regarding claim 28, Lu discloses,
An apparatus for wireless communication (FIG. 7 illustrates a communications device 700 (e.g., the UE 120)), comprising:
one or more memories collectively storing executable instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (computer-readable medium/memory 712 stores code for transmitting 714, code for identifying 716, and/or code for selecting 718, [0101]), the one or more processors being collectively configured to execute the executable instructions (the computer-readable medium/memory 712 is configured to store instructions (e.g., computer-executable code) that when executed by the processor 704, cause the processor 704 to perform the operations 400 illustrated in FIG. 4, [0101]) to cause the apparatus to
access a radio frequency (RF) exposure map associated with at least one antenna of the wireless device, wherein the RF exposure map includes a representation of a maximum RF exposure for a region of the RF exposure map (“a UE may identify the region in which the UE is located or operating and select various settings for RF exposure compliance based on the region ... RF exposure limit based on the region ... certain regions may use a maximum or peak RF exposure limit”, [0023]; “RF exposure manager that provides configurable RF exposure compliance based on a region in which the UE is located” [0029]; “SAR distribution ... stored in the memory to enable a processor ... to assess RF exposure in real time ... Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location” [0052]; “the FCC specifies a SAR limit of 1.6 W/kg ... The ICNIRP 1998 standard has a SAR limit of 2-0 W/ kg” [0064]; “a specific region may have a lower RF exposure limit or a smaller time window than other regions” [0069]); and
control transmission of, from the at least one antenna, a signal at a transmit power determined based at least in part on the RF exposure map in compliance with an RF exposure limit (“UE may select the parameter e.g., the time window, RF exposure limit, that matches a regulatory value used for RF exposure compliance in the identified region” [0076]; “UE may transmit a signal at a transmission power level based at least in part on at least one of the selected mode or the selected one or more parameters” [0077]).
However, Lu does not explicitly disclose, the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Nadaku discloses, the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure (the RF exposure distributions may be represented by the expression: RFexp(s,x,y,z,i), where s represents a particular surface or position, (x, y, z) represent a given location, and i represents a particular transmit configuration, such as a specific antenna or transmit beam, [0108]-[0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by specifically providing the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure, as taught by Nadaku for the purpose of developing techniques to enable the wireless communication device to assess RF exposure from the wireless communication device in real time and adjust the transmission power of the wireless communication device accordingly to comply with the RF exposure limit [0003].
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of RF exposure contributions from a plurality of antennas of the wireless device (Each of the SAR distributions may correspond to a respective one of multiple transmit scenarios supported by the wireless communication device for the first technology. The transmit scenarios may correspond to various combinations of antennas (e.g., antennas 252a through 252r of FIG. 2 or antenna 306 of FIG. 3), frequency bands, channels and/or body positions, [0051]; [0052] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of the RF exposure contributions arranged in at least two dimensions (Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0052]; Each PD distribution includes a set of PD values, where each PD value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0058]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 31), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure contributions are across a range of frequencies (SAR measurements may be performed for each one of multiple frequency bands to generate a SAR distribution for each one of the multiple frequency bands. In this example, a SAR distribution for a transmit scenario in which two or more frequency bands are active may be generated by combining the SAR distributions for the two or more active frequency bands, [0056]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of RF exposure contributions across a plurality of surfaces of the wireless device (Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0052]; Each PD distribution includes a set of PD values, where each PD value may correspond to a different location (e.g., on the model of the human body) [0058]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map is representative of RF exposure contributions from at least one antenna of the wireless device relative to one or more RF exposure scenarios (the transmit scenarios may be specified by a set of parameters. The set of parameters may include one or more of the following: an antenna parameter indicating one or more antennas used for transmission (i.e., active antennas), a frequency band parameter indicating one or more frequency bands used for transmission (i.e., active frequency bands), a channel parameter indicating one or more channels used for transmission (i.e., active channels), a body position parameter indicating the location of the wireless communication device relative to the user's body location (head, trunk, away from the body, etc.), and/or other parameters, [0054]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Lu discloses,
wherein the region is representative of (i) one or more points of a larger exposure region associated with the at least one antenna or (ii) one or more values of RF exposure contributions associated with the at least one antenna (Different regions or regulatory/standards bodies (e.g., the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) for the United States; the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) for Canada; or the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) standard followed by the European Union (EU)) may specify different RF exposure compliance limits (SAR and PD). In certain cases, the different regions or regulatory/standards bodies may also specify different time windows for averaging or otherwise calculating RF exposure. Also, some regulatory bodies (e.g., the ICNIRP in the 2020 standard) may specify an additional compliance limit in terms of a brief RF exposure limit, [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Lu discloses,
wherein the representation of the maximum RF exposure for the region allows determination of the transmit power of the at least one antenna to ensure compliance with the RF exposure limit (The parameters for RF exposure compliance may include a time window, an RF exposure limit, and/or (enforcement of) brief RF exposure limits, for example. In certain cases, the UE may select the parameter (e.g., the time window, RF exposure limit, or (enforcement of) brief RF exposure limits) that matches a regulatory value used for RF exposure compliance in the identified region. Selection of the regulatory value for the identified region may enable the UE to transmit at the maximum permissible transmit power in compliance with the RF exposure limits for the region, [0076]-[0077]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Lu discloses,
wherein the RF exposure map includes the representation of the maximum RF exposure for each of a plurality of regions including the region (Different regions or regulatory/standards bodies (e.g., the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) for the United States; the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) for Canada; or the International Commission on Non-Ionizing Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) standard followed by the European Union (EU)) may specify different RF exposure compliance limits (SAR and PD). In certain cases, the different regions or regulatory/standards bodies may also specify different time windows for averaging or otherwise calculating RF exposure. Also, some regulatory bodies (e.g., the ICNIRP in the 2020 standard) may specify an additional compliance limit in terms of a brief RF exposure limit, [0063]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), further Lu discloses,
to access the RF exposure map, the one or more processors are collectively configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to access the RF exposure map among a plurality of RF exposure maps; and each of the RF exposure maps is representative of a different exposure scenario or a
different set of exposure scenarios for the wireless device (Each of the SAR distributions may correspond to a respective one of multiple transmit scenarios supported by the wireless communication device for the first technology. The transmit scenarios may correspond to various combinations of antennas (e.g., antennas 252a through 252r of FIG. 2 or antenna 306 of FIG. 3), frequency bands, channels and/or body positions, [0051]-[0054]).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 40), further Lu discloses,
wherein each of the RF exposure maps has a different combination of one or more active antennas among a plurality of antennas of the wireless device (Each of the SAR distributions may correspond to a respective one of multiple transmit scenarios supported by the wireless communication device for the first technology. The transmit scenarios may correspond to various combinations of antennas (e.g., antennas 252a through 252r of FIG. 2 or antenna 306 of FIG. 3), frequency bands, channels and/or body positions, [0051]; [0052] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 43, Lu discloses,
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising:
means for accessing a radio frequency (RF) exposure map associated with at least one antenna of the wireless device, wherein the RF exposure map includes a representation of a maximum RF exposure for a region of the RF exposure map (“a UE may identify the region in which the UE is located or operating and select various settings for RF exposure compliance based on the region ... RF exposure limit based on the region ... certain regions may use a maximum or peak RF exposure limit”, [0023]; “RF exposure manager that provides configurable RF exposure compliance based on a region in which the UE is located” [0029]; “SAR distribution ... stored in the memory to enable a processor ... to assess RF exposure in real time ... Each SAR distribution includes a set of SAR values, where each SAR value may correspond to a different location” [0052]; “the FCC specifies a SAR limit of 1.6 W/kg ... The ICNIRP 1998 standard has a SAR limit of 2-0 W/ kg” [0064]; “a specific region may have a lower RF exposure limit or a smaller time window than other regions” [0069]); and
means for transmitting, from the at least one antenna, a signal at a transmit power determined based at least in part on the RF exposure map in compliance with an RF exposure limit (“UE may select the parameter e.g., the time window, RF exposure limit, that matches a regulatory value used for RF exposure compliance in the identified region” [0076]; “UE may transmit a signal at a transmission power level based at least in part on at least one of the selected mode or the selected one or more parameters” [0077]).
However, Lu does not explicitly disclose, the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure.
In the same field of endeavor, Nadaku discloses, the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure (the RF exposure distributions may be represented by the expression: RFexp(s,x,y,z,i), where s represents a particular surface or position, (x, y, z) represent a given location, and i represents a particular transmit configuration, such as a specific antenna or transmit beam, [0108]-[0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lu by specifically providing the RF exposure map comprising spatial data structure, as taught by Nadaku for the purpose of developing techniques to enable the wireless communication device to assess RF exposure from the wireless communication device in real time and adjust the transmission power of the wireless communication device accordingly to comply with the RF exposure limit [0003].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view Naka and further in view of Kazmi (US 20120231784, hereinafter “Kazmi”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Lu and Nadaku does not discloses, determining the transmit power using backoff information applied to the RF exposure map.
In the same field of endeavor, Kazmi discloses, determining the transmit power using backoff information applied to the RF exposure map (If the signaled value represents an absolute value of the SAR which the UE is required to meet (e.g., 1.5 W/kg), then the UE may map the SAR value into a required power backoff or maximum power reduction. The mapping can be based on a pre-defined lookup table. The mapping may depend upon the UE implementation. Eventually, the UE needs to apply the mapped value to meet the SAR requirement, [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lu and Nadaku by specifically providing determining the transmit power using backoff information applied to the RF exposure map, as taught by Kazmi for the purpose of providing dynamic SAR emission control for a radio user equipment (UE) [0017].
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Lu and Nadaku discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 28), however the combination of Lu and Nadaku does not discloses, wherein the one or more processors are further collectively configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to determine the transmit power using backoff information applied to the RF exposure map.
In the same field of endeavor, Kazmi discloses, wherein the one or more processors are further collectively configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to determine the transmit power using backoff information applied to the RF exposure map (If the signaled value represents an absolute value of the SAR which the UE is required to meet (e.g., 1.5 W/kg), then the UE may map the SAR value into a required power backoff or maximum power reduction. The mapping can be based on a pre-defined lookup table. The mapping may depend upon the UE implementation. Eventually, the UE needs to apply the mapped value to meet the SAR requirement, [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Lu and Nadaku by specifically providing wherein the one or more processors are further collectively configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to determine the transmit power using backoff information applied to the RF exposure map, as taught by Kazmi for the purpose of providing dynamic SAR emission control for a radio user equipment (UE) [0017].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 and 42 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 15, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, Lu and Nakadu, teaches:
“the method comprising obtaining a total transmit power of past time intervals within a time window associated with the RF exposure limit; determining a provisional transmit power for a future time interval within the time window; converting a sum of the provisional transmit power and the total transmit power to a time-averaged RF exposure value for the time window based on the RF exposure map; and adjusting the provisional transmit power such that the time-averaged RF exposure value satisfies the RF exposure limit, wherein transmitting the signal comprises transmitting the signal at the transmit power being less than or equal to the adjusted provisional transmit power that satisfies the RF exposure limit”, in combination with the other limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 42, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, Lu and Nakadu, teaches:
“the apparatus comprising obtain a total transmit power of past time intervals within a time window associated with the RF exposure limit; determine a provisional transmit power for a future time interval within the time window; convert a sum of the provisional transmit power and the total transmit power to a time-averaged RF exposure value for the time window based on the RF exposure map; and adjust the provisional transmit power such that the time-averaged RF exposure value satisfies the RF exposure limit, wherein to transmit the signal, the one or more processors are collectively configured to execute the executable instructions to cause the apparatus to transmit the signal at the transmit power being less than or equal to the adjusted provisional transmit power that satisfies the RF exposure limit”, in combination with the other limitations of claim 28.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 11917549: A wireless device receives radio resource control messages indicating: a first maximum total transmit power of a first group comprising first cell(s) of a first frequency band; and a second maximum total transmit power of a second group comprising second cell(s) of a second frequency band. A first total power for transmission of first signal(s) via the first group exceeding the first maximum total transmit power is determined. Second total power for transmission of second signal(s) via the second group exceeding the second maximum total transmit power is determined.
WO 2022251774: Various aspects of the present disclosure generally relate to wireless communication. In some aspects, a user equipment (UE) may identify a first transmit power limit based at least in part on at least one of a specific absorption rate limit, a maximum permissible exposure limit, or a power density limit. The UE may modify, based at least in part on a scaling factor associated with a time interval, the first transmit power limit to obtain a modified first transmit power limit. The UE may transmit a signal based at least in part on the modified first transmit power limit.
WO 2022225607: In embodiments, a wireless device may determine a downlink path loss based on a downlink signal received from a base station, send via an uplink (UL) receive (Rx) point an initial access signal using a first uplink transmit power based on the downlink path loss, receive an initial access response signal including a transmit power control (TPC) command and an uplink transmit power adjustment, and send a signal to the base station via the UL Rx point using a second uplink transmit power based on the TPC command and the uplink transmit power adjustment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641