DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on May 18, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that examining all claims would not place an undue burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because, as set forth in the Requirement for Restriction (paragraph 6), there would be a serious search burden on the examiner because the inventions require a different field of search. For example, search different classes/subclasses and employing different search strategies or search queries. Additionally, the Groups are directed to inventions having separate classifications. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/544,832. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims only vary in scope with respect to the monomers capable of undergoing ring opening metathesis polymerization. Namely, the present claims generically claim these monomers, whereas the claims of US ‘832 require the specific monomer specie of tricyclopentadiene. This claimed specie in US ‘832 anticipates the generically claimed monomer of the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/544,853. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘853 requires a curing accelerator, which is not required in the present claims. However, the present claims are in open claim language, i.e., “comprising” (claim 1, line 1); thus, the claims of US ‘853 anticipates the present claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Materia Inc. (WO 2022/036044).
Regarding Claim 1, Materia teaches a coating composition (para [0002], the use of the compositions of the invention as coatings…) comprising: an epoxy resin (para [0182], …compositions of this invention may be optionally formulated with other reactive chemistries to form co-cured coatings… co-cured epoxy can form from a bisepoxide and a hardener such as an anhydride, amine, or thiol); monomers capable of undergoing ring opening metathesis polymerization (para [0101], Examples of cyclic olefins thus include…tricyclopentadiene); an amine curing agent (para [0183], The coating compositions may also contain at least one curing agent; para [0182], …a hardener such as an anhydride, amine,…); and a metathesis catalyst (para [0002], at least one olefin metathesis catalyst). Materia provides coating compositions cured by ring opening metathesis polymerization comprising reacting at least one cyclic olefin with at least one metathesis catalyst but does not disclose a specific example or embodiment wherein each of the claimed components are formulated in a single embodiment. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to formulate each component into the coating composition through routine experimentation to form a co-cured coating with interpenetrating polymer networks, which is specifically suggested in paragraph [0182].
Regarding Claim 2, Materia teaches the coating composition can further comprise a solvent (para [0116], In addition to the reactive components, non-polymerizable components include, aromatic hydrocarbons such as xylene); a filler; an adhesion promoter; a rheology modifier; and at least one pigment (para [0157], Suitable additives include, but are not limited to… fillers, rheology modifiers,… pigments,… adhesion promoters,…).
Claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Materia Inc. (WO 2022/036044) in view of either Haag et al. (US Pub 2020/0140727) or Saito et al. (US Pub 2017/0130006).
Regarding claim 3, Materia does not disclose a coating composition kit comprising a (A) first part comprising an epoxy resin and a metathesis catalyst; and (B) a second part comprising monomers capable of undergoing ring opening metathesis polymerization and an amine curing agent. However, Materia does disclose that the composition of the monomers capable of undergoing ring opening metathesis polymerization can be formulated with other reactive chemistries to form co-cured coatings, such as an epoxy resin [0182]. Haag discloses that it is known in the epoxy art to provide the composition components in two-parts such that there is a resin part (side A) and a curative part (side B) [0007]. Additionally, Saito discloses that it is known in the epoxy art to provide the composition components in two-parts wherein a first part includes the epoxy resin and a second part includes the curing components [0177]. These known two-part kits are useful for preventing the initiation of curing during storage and transportation of the coating composition. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to separate the catalysts and curing agent from the reactive monomers and epoxy resin into a two-part kit, ensuring they remain stable until ready to use.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Materia discloses that the composition can include an aromatic hydrocarbon solvent (para [0116], In addition to the reactive components, non-polymerizable components include, aromatic hydrocarbons such as xylene…); and optionally at least one additive selected from the group consisting of fillers, adhesion promoters, rheology modifiers, and pigments (para [0157], Suitable additives include, but are not limited to… fillers, binders, thixotropes, rheology modifiers,… pigments,… dyes, fibers, reinforcement materials,… adhesion promoters,…). However, Materia does not explicitly teach wherein the first part (A) further comprises a solvent; and optionally at least one additive selected from the group consisting of fillers, adhesion promoters, rheology modifiers, and pigments. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to test which part (A or B) should further comprises a solvent and optional components by routine experimentation.
Regarding claim 6, Materia teaches the coating composition kit of claim 3, further comprises at least one additive selected from the group consisting of fillers and rheology modifiers (para [0157], Suitable additives include, but are not limited to… fillers, binders, thixotropes, rheology modifiers,… pigments,… dyes, fibers, reinforcement materials,… adhesion promoters,…). However, Materia does not explicitly teach wherein the second part (B) further comprises at least one additive selected from the group consisting of fillers and rheology modifiers. It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to test which part (A or B) should further comprises the additive by routine experimentation.
Regarding claims 7-9, Materia discloses overlapping amounts of the metathesis catalyst [0152], filler [0161], adhesion promoter [0165], pigments [0161], and rheology modifier [0157]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “ In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). While Materia discloses that the composition can include an epoxy resin and solvent, Materia is silent as to the amounts of these materials. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “Generally, differences in concentration…will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration…is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the present application, it would have been obvious to have discovered the workable ranges of the epoxy resin component, motivated by the desire to obtain a co-cured coating composition having desired properties associated with a composition containing monomers capable of undergoing ring opening metathesis polymerization and an epoxy resin that can form an interpenetrating polymer network [0182]. Additionally, it would have been obvious to have discovered the workable ranges of the solvent component, motivated by the desire to obtain a coating composition having desired viscosity or flow properties.
Regarding claims 10-12, Materia discloses overlapping amounts of monomers capable of undergoing ring opening metathesis polymerization [0111], filler [0161], and rheology modifier [0157]. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “ In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). While Materia discloses that the composition can include an amine curing agent, Materia is silent as to the amount. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, “Generally, differences in concentration…will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration…is critical. ‘[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.’" In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to test which part (A or B) should further comprises these components, and optimize their weight percentages by routine experimentation.
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781