DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamijo et al. (US 2016/0039222).
Regarding claim 1, Kamijo et al teaches a liquid ejecting device (figs.1-6) comprising:
a transport unit (13 including 13a,13b figs.1-6) configured to transport a medium (P) in a transport direction (Y) while nipping the medium between a first roller (13a) and a second roller (13b) configured to press the medium toward the first roller (13a);
an ejecting unit (17 figs.1-6) configured to eject a liquid onto the medium (P) at a position downstream of the transport unit in the transport direction;
a receiving groove portion (201 including 205 and 206 figs.2-6) facing the ejecting unit (17) in a height direction intersecting the transport direction (Y);
a guide portion (16,20c,20a in figs.1,2) configured to guide the medium (P) at a position downstream of the ejecting unit (17) in the transport direction (Y); and
a support portion (medium support portion of 20 upstream of 201 figs.2-6) configured to support the medium (P) at a position upstream of the receiving groove portion (201) and downstream of the transport unit (13) in the transport direction (Y),
wherein the guide portion is a guide roller (16 fig.1) that causes the transported medium (P) to change a direction of transportation (Y fig.1).
Regarding claim 2, Kamijo et al further teaches wherein the support portion (medium support portion of 20 upstream of 201 figs.2-6) is configured to support the medium at a same height as the guide portion (20a) in the height direction.
Regarding claim 4, Kamijo et al further teaches wherein the first roller (13a figs.1-6) supports the medium (P) at the same height as the guide portion (20a) in the height direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamuro et al. (US 2018/0117907) in view of Imamura (US 2015/0103124).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamuro et al teaches a liquid ejecting device (figs.1-5) comprising:
a transport unit (401,400 figs.2,1) configured to transport a medium (P) in a transport direction (Y) while nipping the medium between a first roller (400) and a second roller (401) configured to press the medium toward the first roller (400);
an ejecting unit (101,102 figs.2,1) configured to eject a liquid onto the medium (P) at a position downstream of the transport unit (401,402) in the transport direction (Y);
a receiving groove portion (receiving portion of 300 above 301 and containing 301 in fig.2) facing the ejecting unit (101,102) in a height direction intersecting the transport direction (Y);
a guide portion (402 figs.2,1) configured to guide the medium at a position downstream of the ejecting unit (101,102) in the transport direction (Y); and
a support portion (upper portion of 300 upstream of 102/301 and downstream of 400 in fig.2) configured to support the medium (P) at a position upstream of the receiving groove portion (receiving portion of 300 above 301 and containing 301 in fig.2) and downstream of the transport unit (401,402) in the transport direction (Y),
wherein the guide portion is a guide roller (402 figs.2,1 is guide roller).
Yamamuro et al does not explicitly teaches wherein the guide portion is arranged to causes the transported medium to change a direction of transportation.
However, Imamura teaches similar liquid ejecting device (fig.1) including: a guide portion (34 fig.1) configured to guide a medium (S) at a position downstream of the ejecting unit (36U) in the transport direction (Ds), wherein the guide portion (34 fig.1) is a guide roller that causes the transported medium (S) to change a direction of transportation (Ds)(fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the guide portion of Yamamuro et al as such based on the teachings of Imamura for instance to be able to feed the medium to receiving element such as reeling portion positioned at lowered position in a printer.
Regarding claim 2, Yamamuro et al as modified by Imamura further teaches wherein the support portion (upper portion of 300 upstream of 102/301 and downstream of 400 in fig.2 of Yamamuro et al) is configured to support the medium at a same height as the guide portion (402 figs.2,1) in the height direction.
Regarding claim 4, Yamamuro et al as modified by Imamura further teaches wherein the first roller (400 figs.2,1 of Yamamuro et al) supports the medium (P) at the same height as the guide portion (402) in the height direction.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamuro et al as modified by Imamura further in view of Kamijo et al. (US 2016/0039222) and/or Terada (US 2007/0145678).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamuro et al as modified by Imamura teaches the claimed invention including wherein a position of an axial center of the second roller (401 figs.2,1 of Yamamuro et al) disposed on the axial center of the first roller (400 of Yamamuro et al).
Yamamuro et al as modified above does not explicitly teaches wherein a position of an axial center of the second roller in the transport direction is disposed at a position downstream of a position of an axial center of the first roller in the transport direction.
However, Kamijo et al teaches similar liquid ejecting device (fig.1) including: a first roller (13a figs.2,4-6) and a second roller (13b), wherein a position of an axial center of the second roller (13b) in the transport direction (Y) is disposed at a position downstream of a position of an axial center of the first roller (13a) in the transport direction.
Similarly, Terada teaches similar liquid ejecting device (figs.1,3,4) including: a first roller (106 fig.1; 88 figs.5,14,19) and a second roller (105 fig.1; 87 figs.5,14,19), wherein a position of an axial center of the second roller (105 fig.1; 87 figs.5,14,19) in the transport direction is disposed at a position downstream of a position of an axial center of the first roller (106 fig.1; 88 figs.5,14,19) in the transport direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the rollers of Yamamuro et al as such based on the teachings of Kamijo et al and/or Terada for instance to better press the medium onto the platen thereby suppressing floating of medium above the platen which could touch the ejection face of the printhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-14 are allowed.
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 with respect to the new limitations in the amended claim 1. Applicant’s attention is respectfully directed to the above new rejections of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853