Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eum (KR 20190043298).
Regarding Claim 15, Eum discloses an adjustable support pillow (intended usage), comprising: a pair of fabric sheets (11 and1 2) cut from a cutting apparatus equipped with computerized controls to cut one or more of the pair of fabric sheets (product-by-process), wherein the pair of fabric sheets includes a first rectangular fabric sheet (11) and a second rectangular fabric sheet (12), wherein the first rectangular fabric sheet has a first and a third side having a length, and a second and a fourth side having a width, wherein the second rectangular fabric sheet is dimensioned in accordance with the length and the width (see Fig. 1), a plurality of pockets (31) configured to contain particles of a filling material (50), wherein the plurality of pockets are created via a sewing device by directly joining (via 20) the pair of fabric sheets along a pattern (product-by-process), wherein the plurality of pockets is formed along multiple longitudinal marks on the first rectangular fabric sheet from the second to the fourth side of the first rectangular fabric sheet, and along multiple transverse marks on the first rectangular fabric sheet from the first to the third side of the first rectangular fabric sheet (see transverse and longitudinal boundary lines shown by dotted lines in Fig. 1), wherein the sewing device sews along a bottommost unenclosed transverse mark and also along the multiple longitudinal marks up until the multiple longitudinal marks intersect the bottommost unenclosed transverse mark (see 40 along perimeter and shown in-section in Fig. 2); and the particles of the filling material configured to be inserted into each pocket of the plurality of pockets (see Fig. 2) subsequent to the plurality of pockets being formed (product-by-process limitation) , via a filling system (product-by-process) that ensures even distribution within each pocket of the plurality of pockets (see Figs. 1 and 2), wherein the sewing device is further employed, after the particles of the filling material is inserted (product-by-process), to join all four corresponding sides of the pair of fabric sheets, wherein, after all four corresponding sides (see “Closure member 40 closes the edges of the blanket fabric 10” ) of the pair of fabric sheets are joined, wherein the pair of fabric sheets is foldable to align one segment of the pair of fabric sheets beneath another segment of the pair of fabric sheets to hold the segments of the pair of fabric sheets in a folded configuration (the blanket is foldable). “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” [citations omitted] See MPEP 2113.
Regarding Claim 16, the filling system in claim 15 is only claimed as part of a product-by-process limitation and imparts no structure to the claimed “adjustable support pillow”. Therefore, limitations directed toward the filling system are afforded no patentable weight.
Regarding Claim 17, Eum discloses wherein the pattern is configured in a grid or rounded or triangular shape (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Eum discloses wherein the pair of fabric sheets are made of cotton, polyester, linen, bamboo, silk, microfiber, satin, nylon, spandex, and/or a nylon/spandex blend (see “The upper fabric 11 and the lower fabric 12 may both be fabric fabrics of dense woven fabric with a density of 300 t or more, or may include fabrics of microfiber material.”
Regarding Claim 21, Eum discloses wherein the sewing device is configured to form the plurality of pockets by stitching across a plurality of intersecting grid lines formed by the multiple first longitudinal marks and the multiple transverse marks (see Fig. 1), and wherein each pocket is fully enclosed (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eum (KR 20190043298)).
Regarding Claim 19, Eum fails to disclose the use of an overlock stitch. Examiner takes Official Notice that overlock stitches are well-known within the art. See “ISO 4915” Class 500 stitch types. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use an overlock stitch as required by Claim 19. The motivation to use an overlock stitch would be to prevent fraying.
Regarding Claim 20, Eum fails to disclose wherein the filling material includes one or more of memory foam, cork, cotton, latex, polyester fiber fill, and/or microbeads of polyfoam. Examiner takes Official Notice that such filling material listed in Claim 20 are well-known within the art. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed use any of the aforementioned materials. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-8 and 10-14 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Applicant has overcome previous rejections under 35 USC 112 in the Office Action mailed September 2nd, 2025. Reasons for allowance are detailed in the aforementioned Office Action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 15-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC J KURILLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619