DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byrne (US 2008/0127518) in view of Levy (US 2,288,199).
Regarding Claim 1, Byrne discloses a footbed system comprising: a footbed (30) having a first length; and a removeable foot support (60) defining a base having a height and having a second length that is less than the first length of the footbed (as seen in Fig.2); wherein the footbed system comprises a first configuration with the removeable foot support (i.e. when 60 is attached to 30); wherein the footbed system comprises a second configuration without the removeable foot support (i.e. when 60 is removed from 30); wherein a shoe (10) into which the footbed system is placed accommodates a larger foot girth in the second configuration than in the first configuration due to the height added by the removeable foot support in the first configuration (as seen in Fig.1; para.53 & 64-65). Byrne does not disclose a bumper extending from a forward edge of the base of the removeable foot support to define an interior side wall of the bumper that extends vertically from the base, the bumper having a thickness and a height. However, Levy teaches a footbed (16,17) with a removable foot support (10) comprising a bumper (11) extending from a forward edge of the base of the removeable foot support to define an interior side wall (i.e. interior surface of 11 facing user’s toes) of the bumper that extends vertically from the base, the bumper having a thickness and a height (as seen in Fig.1 & 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the removeable foot support of Byrne to have a bumper, as taught by Levy, in order to provide a foot support that delivers increased protection to a user's toes for enhanced comfort during use. When in combination, Byrne and Levy teach wherein the shoe accommodates a larger foot length in the second configuration than in the first configuration due to the thickness added by the bumper in the first configuration.
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Byrne discloses a footbed system of claim 1, wherein the removable foot support is configured to be positioned adjacent and overlying an upper surface of the footbed (Byrne: Fig.1 & 2 and Levy: Fig.1 & 4; i.e. 11 of Levy overlies an upper surface of the footbed).
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Byrne further discloses a footbed system of claim 1, wherein the removable foot support (60) is configured to be positioned adjacent and underlying a lower surface (34) of the footbed (30) and the bumper is configured to extend from below the footbed to above the footbed (Byrne: Fig.1 & 2 and Levy: Fig.1 & 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Byrne discloses a footbed system of claim 1, wherein the removable foot support (60) is coupled to the footbed (30) with one of peel off adhesion and hook and loop fasteners (45/74; para.69-70, as seen in Fig.3).
Regarding Claim 5, Byrne discloses a footbed system of claim 1, wherein the removeable foot support (60) is tapered at or toward a rearward edge of the removeable foot support (i.e. second & third 60 from 30 in Fig.6 taper toward a rear edge) to create a smooth transition between the removeable foot support and the footbed to facilitate underfoot comfort (as seen in Fig.4 & 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Levy further teaches a footbed system of claim 1, wherein the bumper has a bumper height greater than a height of the footbed (as seen in Fig.1 & 4).
Regarding Claim 7, Byrne discloses a kit for adjusting the size or fit of a shoe comprising: a footbed (30); a removeable foot support (60); and an alternate removeable foot support (second 60); wherein the footbed system comprises a second configuration with the alternate removeable foot support having a portion of the alternate removeable foot support position vertically lower than the footbed (as seen in Fig.6); wherein a shoe (10) into which the footbed system is placed has a different size or fit in the second configuration than in the first configuration (as seen in Fig.1; para.53 & 64-65); and wherein the removeable foot support is tapered at or toward a rearward edge of the removeable foot support (i.e. second & third 60 from 30 in Fig.6 taper toward a rear edge) to create a smooth transition between the removeable foot support and the footbed (as seen in Fig.4 & 6). Byrne does not disclose the removeable foot support further comprising a bumper; wherein a footbed system comprises a first configuration with the removeable foot support positioned above the footbed. However, Levy teaches a footbed (16,17) with a removable foot support (10) comprising a bumper (11), wherein a footbed system comprises a first configuration with the removeable foot support positioned above the footbed (i.e. 11 of Levy overlies an upper surface of the footbed) and the bumper positioned vertically higher than the footbed (as seen in Fig.1 & 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the removeable foot support of Byrne to have a bumper, as taught by Levy, in order to provide a foot support that delivers increased protection to a user's toes for enhanced comfort during use. When in combination, Byrne and Levy teach an alternate removeable foot support comprising a second bumper and a portion of the second bumper positioned vertically higher than the footbed.
Regarding Claim 8, Byrne discloses a kit of claim 7, wherein the removable foot support is configured to be positioned adjacent and overlying an upper surface of the footbed (Byrne: Fig.1 & 2 and Levy: Fig.1 & 4; i.e. 11 of Levy overlies an upper surface of the footbed).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Byrne further discloses a kit of claim 7, wherein the removable foot support (60) is configured to be positioned adjacent and underlying a lower surface (34) of the footbed (30) and the bumper is configured to extend from below the footbed to above the footbed (Byrne: Fig.1 & 2 and Levy: Fig.1 & 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Byrne discloses a kit of claim 7, wherein the removable foot support (60) is coupled to the footbed (30) with one of peel off adhesion and hook and loop fasteners (45/74; para.69-70, as seen in Fig.3).
Regarding Claim 12, Levy further teaches a kit of claim 7, wherein the bumper has a bumper height greater than a height of the footbed (as seen in Fig.1 & 4).
Response to Arguments
In view of Applicant's amendment, the search has been updated, and new prior art has been identified and applied. Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MEGAN E LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732